DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant amendment/Remarks made in amendment in which the following is noted: claims 1, 6, 12, and 17 are amended and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1 – 18 are currently pending and an Office action on the merits follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not disclose at least serializing the target image into a third serial signal at the host computer; and deserializing the third serial signal at the head-mounted display device.
However, serializing data (in the direction of the host computer to the HMD) over the multiplexed data stream 539 would be obvious to improving error resilience to attain optimal user experience (DEY [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4 and 12 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lahr et al (Publication number: US 2022/0397955 A1), hereafter Lahr, in view of DEY et al; (Publication number: US 2025/0023659 A1), hereafter DEY, in view of Aggarwal et al; (Publication number: US 2019/0313039 A1), hereafter Aggarwal.
Regarding claim 1:
Lahr discloses a device for extended reality (Lahr Figure 2 200), comprising:
a head-mounted display device, a host computer (Lahr [0012] The embodiments of the present disclosure advantageously reduce motion-to-photon delay by warping an enhanced image using a second head pose measured before the image is displayed. FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating a HWD system 200, in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. The HWD system 200 comprises a HWD 210 and an image rendering computing device 227 communicatively coupled to the HWD 210 (i.e., a split-rendering system). The HWD 210 may include one or more image sensors 213, one or more head position sensors 215, and a head position computing device 217.), and a wired connection between the head-mounted display device and the host computer (Lahr [0016] At a first time, the image sensor(s) 213 may detect an image, and the head position sensor(s) 215 may generate head position measurements 245. The head position computing device 217 may then determine a first head pose associated with the head position measurements 245. The image and the first head pose may be transmitted to the image rendering computing device 227. The image rendering computing device 227 may be communicatively coupled to the HWD 210 and the head position computing device 217 (e.g., wirelessly or by a wired connection). In some embodiments, the image rendering computing device 227 may be part of an avionics system of an aircraft.), wherein the head-mounted display device comprises a plurality of sensors (Lahr [0014] The one or more head position sensors 215 may be configured to measure the user's head motion using a combination of accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetometer(s), global positioning system (GPS) sensors, altimeters, etc. The head position sensor(s) 215 may generate measurements based on the translation and rotation of the user (e.g., in six degrees of freedom). In some embodiments, the head position sensor(s) 215 may be one or more inertial measurement units (IMUs). In other embodiments, the head position sensor(s) 215 comprise one or more IR trackers or cameras near the user. In general, the one or more head position sensor(s) 215 may be any device that measures the orientation and position of the head of the user of the HWD 210 over time.) and a display screen (Lahr [0019] After the pose-augmentation 270 by the head position computing device 217, the enhanced image may be presented to the user of the HWD 210 on a display. The display may comprise, for example, a monocular or binocular display, and may be a transparent display, a semi-transparent display, or an opaque display. In some embodiments, the display may be embedded in glasses, goggles, a helmet, and may include cathode ray tubes (CRTs), liquid crystal displays (LCDs), or organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs). In some embodiments, the display may comprise a projector.);
the plurality of sensors are configured to acquire original data (Lahr [0014] The one or more head position sensors 215 may be configured to measure the user's head motion using a combination of accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetometer(s), global positioning system (GPS) sensors, altimeters, etc. The head position sensor(s) 215 may generate measurements based on the translation and rotation of the user (e.g., in six degrees of freedom). In some embodiments, the head position sensor(s) 215 may be one or more inertial measurement units (IMUs). In other embodiments, the head position sensor(s) 215 comprise one or more IR trackers or cameras near the user. In general, the one or more head position sensor(s) 215 may be any device that measures the orientation and position of the head of the user of the HWD 210 over time);
the host computer is configured to receive data transmitted through the wired connection (Lahr [0016] At a first time, the image sensor(s) 213 may detect an image, and the head position sensor(s) 215 may generate head position measurements 245. The head position computing device 217 may then determine a first head pose associated with the head position measurements 245. The image and the first head pose may be transmitted to the image rendering computing device 227. The image rendering computing device 227 may be communicatively coupled to the HWD 210 and the head position computing device 217 (e.g., wirelessly or by a wired connection). In some embodiments, the image rendering computing device 227 may be part of an avionics system of an aircraft.), determine a target image based on the received data (Lahr [0017] The image rendering computing device 227 may include processor(s) and a memory medium, as previously described. The image rendering computing device 227 may perform three-dimensional (3D) rendering to generate an enhanced image, for example, by overlaying information and/or virtual objects on the image detected by the one or more image sensor(s) 213. In some embodiments, the information may include avionics data such as communications data, navigation data, flight control data, object identification data, etc. (for example, in an AR environment). In some embodiments, the virtual objects may comprise terrain, obstacles, other aircraft, etc. (for example, in a VR environment). Additionally, the image rendering computing device 227 may embed the first pose in the enhanced image (e.g., as metadata).; and transmit the target image to the head-mounted display device, the display screen of the head-mounted display device is configured to display the target image (Lahr [0019] After the pose-augmentation 270 by the head position computing device 217, the enhanced image may be presented to the user of the HWD 210 on a display. The display may comprise, for example, a monocular or binocular display, and may be a transparent display, a semi-transparent display, or an opaque display. In some embodiments, the display may be embedded in glasses, goggles, a helmet, and may include cathode ray tubes (CRTs), liquid crystal displays (LCDs), or organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs). In some embodiments, the display may comprise a projector.)
Lahr does not disclose:
1) an aggregation unit, wherein at least some of the sensors are connected to the aggregation unit; the aggregation unit is configured to aggregate the original data acquired by the sensor connected thereto, to obtain an aggregation result, causing the aggregation result to be transmitted through the wired connection, serializing the target image into a third serial signal at the host computer; and deserializing the third serial signal at the head-mounted display device, and
2) the wired connection comprises an optical fiber, as claimed.
However, DEY discloses an extended reality aggregator low latency robust error recovery. More particularly, DEY discloses: 1) an aggregation unit (DEY Figure 5 530), wherein at least some of the sensors are connected to the aggregation unit (DEY Figure 5 sensors 511 – 514 connected to 530); the aggregation unit is configured to aggregate the original data acquired by the sensor connected thereto, to obtain an aggregation result, causing the aggregation result to be transmitted through the wired connection (DEY [0069] In one example, an aggregator 530 (a.k.a. Aggregator-SW), which includes a first input interface (RX-0) 531, a second input interface (RX-1) 532, a third input interface (RX-2) 533 and a fourth input interface (RX-3) 534, performs multiplexing (i.e., aggregation) of data transmission from the plurality of sensors 510 using a multiplexer or arbiter 535 to produce a multiplexed data stream 539 which is sent to an output interface 536 (a.k.a. Transmit TX). In one example, the aggregator 530 is also connected to an aggregator memory 550 (a.k.a. Aggregator-SW). In one example, the aggregator 530 (a.k.a. Aggregator-HW) is aggregator hardware. In one example, the aggregator memory 550 maintains aggregator software.), and serializing the target image into a third serial signal at the host computer; and deserializing the third signal at the head-mounted display device (Dey Figure 5 535 connected to 536 teaches serializing; and Dey Figure 5 541 outputs to 542 – 545; serializing the data transmission in the reverse direction) as claimed. It would have been obvious to modify Lahr to include: 1) an aggregation unit, wherein at least some of the sensors are connected to the aggregation unit; the aggregation unit is configured to aggregate the original data acquired by the sensor connected thereto, to obtain an aggregation result, causing the aggregation result to be transmitted through the wired connection, as claimed and serializing the target image into a third serial signal at the host computer; and deserializing the third serial signal at the head-mounted display device. Those skilled in the art would appreciate improving error resilience to attain optimal user experience (DEY [0002]).
Further, Aggarwal discloses systems and methods for synchronizing image sensors. More particularly, Aggarwal discloses a wired connection comprises an optical fiber (Aggarwal [0055] Eyewear device 602 may be coupled to controller device 606 over one or more networks 604. Network 604 may include, but is not limited to, any one of a combination of different types of suitable communications networks such as, for example, public networks (e.g., the Internet), private networks, wireless networks, cellular networks, or any other suitable private and/or public networks. Further, any portion of network 604 may have any suitable communication range associated therewith and may include, for example, global networks (e.g., the Internet), metropolitan area networks (MANS), wide area networks (WANs), local area networks (LANs), or personal area networks (PANS). In addition, any portion of network 604 may include any type of medium over which network traffic may be carried including, but not limited to, coaxial cable, twisted-pair wire, optical fiber, a hybrid fiber coaxial (HFC) medium, microwave terrestrial transceivers, radio frequency communication mediums, white space communication mediums, ultra-high frequency communication mediums, satellite communication mediums, or any combination thereof.), as claimed.
It would have been obvious to further modify Lahr (in view of DEY) wherein 2) the wired connection comprises an optical fiber, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate a high bandwidth, low attenuation wired link.
Regarding claim 2:
Lahr (in view of DEY and Aggarwal) discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the sensors connected to the aggregation unit comprise at least one of the following: an eye tracking sensor, a gesture camera, a pose sensor, and a time-of-flight sensor (Lahr [0014] The one or more head position sensors 215 may be configured to measure the user's head motion using a combination of accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetometer(s), global positioning system (GPS) sensors, altimeters, etc).
Regarding claim 3:
Lahr (in view of DEY and Aggarwal) discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the aggregation unit is configured to aggregate the original data acquired by the sensor connected thereto, to obtain the aggregation result (DEY [0069] In one example, an aggregator 530 (a.k.a. Aggregator-SW), which includes a first input interface (RX-0) 531, a second input interface (RX-1) 532, a third input interface (RX-2) 533 and a fourth input interface (RX-3) 534, performs multiplexing (i.e., aggregation) of data transmission from the plurality of sensors 510 using a multiplexer or arbiter 535 to produce a multiplexed data stream 539 which is sent to an output interface 536 (a.k.a. Transmit TX). In one example, the aggregator 530 is also connected to an aggregator memory 550 (a.k.a. Aggregator-SW). In one example, the aggregator 530 (a.k.a. Aggregator-HW) is aggregator hardware. In one example, the aggregator memory 550 maintains aggregator software.
Regarding claim 4:
Lahr (in view of DEY and Aggarwal) discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the head-mounted display device further comprises a first serializer (DEY Figure 5 535), and the host computer comprises an image processing unit and a first deserializer (disclosed in combination by Lahr Figure 2 230 and DEY Figure 5 541);
the first serializer is connected to the aggregation unit (DEY Figure 5 535 connected to 536);
the first deserializer is connected to the image processing unit (disclosed in combination by DEY Figure 5 541 outputs to 542 – 545 and Lahr Figure 2 230);
the first serializer is configured to convert the aggregation result into a first serial signal, and transmit the first serial signal to the first deserializer through the optical fiber (disclosed in combination by Aggarwal optical fiber and DEY [0070] In one example, the aggregator 530 detects a packet data corruption event in a series of frames of data transmission from a plurality of sensors. In one example, the detection employs an error correction code (ECC), for example, a linear block code, a convolutional code, a concatenated code or a capacity approaching code. In one example, the detection employs an error detection code (EDC) for example, a CRC code. In one example, the detection employs a payload count value, for example, a byte count or a bit count. In one example, an error in one packet or line in the fourth sensor interface 524 is detected and aggregator 530 replaces the error with a dummy data line and sends an error message via a UD packet at the fourth input interface 534.); and
the first deserializer is configured to receive the first serial signal, perform deserialization on the first serial signal, and transmit a signal obtained by the deserialization to the image processing unit (disclosed in combination by Lahr Figure 2 230 and DEY Figure 5 541).
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 4.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lahr et al (Publication number: US 2022/0397955 A1), hereafter Lahr, in view of DEY et al; (Publication number: US 2025/0023659 A1), hereafter DEY, in view of Aggarwal et al; (Publication number: US 2019/0313039 A1), hereafter Aggarwal, in view of ALHAIDERI et al; (Publication number: US 2020/0073148 A1), hereafter ALHAIDERI.
Regarding claim 11:
Lahr (in view of DEY and Aggarwal) does not disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein the host computer further comprises a power supply and a direct current – direct current converter, and the head-mounted display device further comprises a power supply management integrated circuit; and the direct current – direct current converter is connected to the power supply management integrated circuit through a cable.
However, ALHAIDERI discloses an eyewear charging case using charge pins as communication path. More particularly, ALHAIDERI discloses a power supply (Alhaideri Figure 4 supply 414) and a direct current – direct current converter (Alhaideri Figure 4 MCU 410), and the head-mounted display device further comprises a power supply management integrated circuit (Alhaideri Figure 4 MCU 416); and the direct current – direct current converter is connected to the power supply management integrated circuit through a cable (Alhaideri [0031] The processor 410 of case 402 and a processor 416 of the eyewear device may each include a communication component using a single-wire communication protocol).
It would have been obvious to further modify Lahr (in view of DEY and Aggarwal) wherein the host computer further comprises a power supply and a direct current – direct current converter, and the head-mounted display device further comprises a power supply management integrated circuit; and the direct current – direct current converter is connected to the power supply management integrated circuit through a cable, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to provide power to the head-mounted device only as needed, thereby conserving power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 10 and 16 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein the head-mounted display device further comprises a second serializer and a color camera, and the host computer comprises an image processing unit and a second deserializer; the second serializer is connected to the color camera; the second serializer is configured to convert original data acquired by the color camera into a second serial signal, and transmit the second serial signal to the second deserializer through the optical fiber; and the second deserializer is configured to receive the second serial signal, perform deserialization on the second serial signal, and transmit a signal obtained by the deserialization to the image processing unit.
In the related art Kim et al; (Patent number: US 6, 151, 334), hereafter Kim, discloses an embedded unit and removing unit (Kim Figure 1 22 and 24) configured to serially transmit video data therebetween via lines 28 and 32.
However, Kim does not disclose wherein the head-mounted display device further comprises a second serializer and a color camera, and the host computer comprises an image processing unit and a second deserializer; the second serializer is connected to the color camera; the second serializer is configured to convert original data acquired by the color camera into a second serial signal, and transmit the second serial signal to the second deserializer through the optical fiber; and the second deserializer is configured to receive the second serial signal, perform deserialization on the second serial signal, and transmit a signal obtained by the deserialization to the image processing unit.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein the host computer further comprises an image processing unit and a third serializer, and the head-mounted display device further comprises a third deserializer; the image processing unit is connected to the third serializer, and the third deserializer is connected to the display screen; the third serializer is configured to convert the target image into a third serial signal, and transmit the third serial signal to the third deserializer through the optical fiber; and the third deserializer is configured to receive the third serial signal, perform deserialization on the third serial signal, and transmit a signal obtained by the deserialization to the display screen.
In the related art Kim discloses an embedded unit and removing unit (Kim Figure 1 22 and 24) configured to serially transmit video data therebetween via lines 28 and 32.
However, Kim does not disclose wherein the host computer further comprises an image processing unit and a third serializer, and the head-mounted display device further comprises a third deserializer; the image processing unit is connected to the third serializer, and the third deserializer is connected to the display screen; the third serializer is configured to convert the target image into a third serial signal, and transmit the third serial signal to the third deserializer through the optical fiber; and the third deserializer is configured to receive the third serial signal, perform deserialization on the third serial signal, and transmit a signal obtained by the deserialization to the display screen.
Regarding claim 7 (and similarly claim 18), the prior art does not disclose the the device according to claim 1, wherein the device for extended reality further comprises a cable; the head-mounted display device further comprises a controller; the host computer comprises an image processing unit; the image processing unit is connected to the controller through the cable, and the controller is connected to the plurality of sensors; the image processing unit is configured to form a synchronization signal, causing the synchronization signal to be transmitted to the controller through the cable; the controller is configured to generate a first control signal, to control the plurality of sensors to perform data acquisition through the first control signal; and the controller is further configured to receive a feedback signal formed after the plurality of sensors perform data acquisition, and obtain a second control signal based on the feedback signal and the synchronization signal, to transmit the second control signal to the image processing unit through the cable.
In the related art, Aggarwal discloses systems and method for synchronizing image sensors. More particularly, Aggarwal discloses a synchronization component configured to transmit a shutter synchronization pulse to image sensors and thereby center exposure duration of image sensors with varying durations (Aggarwal ABSTRACT).
However, Aggarwal does not disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein the device for extended reality further comprises a cable; the head-mounted display device further comprises a controller; the host computer comprises an image processing unit; the image processing unit is connected to the controller through the cable, and the controller is connected to the plurality of sensors; the image processing unit is configured to form a synchronization signal, causing the synchronization signal to be transmitted to the controller through the cable; the controller is configured to generate a first control signal, to control the plurality of sensors to perform data acquisition through the first control signal; and the controller is further configured to receive a feedback signal formed after the plurality of sensors perform data acquisition, and obtain a second control signal based on the feedback signal and the synchronization signal, to transmit the second control signal to the image processing unit through the cable.
Claims 8 – 10 depend on claim 7 and are therefore similarly objected (similarly claims 19 – 20 are similarly objected)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al; (Patent number: US 6, 151, 334).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 29 May 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622