DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an exception of an abstract idea claimed in a method, system and device for transmitting and receiving data between a conventional downhole tool and surface equipment without significantly more.
The claims recite controlling a bottom hole assembly via receivers and transmitters of the assembly for sending data to a surface processor using conventional data transmission equipment; wherein the “controlling” is absent a transformative result nor a reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the collection of data from conventional well known equipment and use of conventional data transmission techniques is merely a mental process of monitoring requiring minimal human interaction(s) for the metes and bounds of the controlling, considered commensurate with merely enabling or disabling a downhole assembly. See 2106.05(c) Particular Transformation.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because receiving and transmitting data from a downhole tool absent any specific transformative results amounts to a mental process requiring minimal human intervention to no claimed avail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dwyer et al., U.S. 2021/0148222.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Dwyer et al. discloses using a first command received from a surface processor ([0030], the system controller for the drilling operator), controlling a bottomhole assembly (BHA) component of a downhole system by changing an operating parameter; receiving, from the downhole system comprising the BHA component, data at a transmitter module (([0033], [0034], antennas 210, 218) of the intra-BHA; transmitting, via a wireless short-range communication ([0006]) using the transmitter coil ([0034]), the data to a receiver module ([0033]) of the intra-BHA, wherein the transmitter module and the receiver module are both disposed in a pressure barrel (fig 5, 236, fig 4, 226) form an intra-BHA network using the wireless short-range communication, receiving, via the wireless short-range communication, the data at the receiver module; transmitting the data to the MWD tool; receiving, at the MWD tool, the data; and transmitting, via a type of telemetry, the data from the MWD tool to a surface processor ([0025]).
Re: claims 2, 10 and 18, the reference discloses the receiver module is a magnetometer ([0028]).
Re: claims 3, 11 and 19, the reference discloses the transmitter coil is inherently a coil winding ([0034]).
Re: claims 5 and 13, the reference discloses determining whether the downhole system is currently performing a drilling operation ([0003]) and based on the downhole system currently performing the drilling operation, using the transmitter coil to transmit the data ([0004]).
Re: claims 6 and 14, the reference discloses determining whether the downhole system is performing a drilling operation ([0003]) and based on the downhole system not currently performing the drilling operation, transmitting the data using an acoustic transmitter ([0005]).
Re: claims 8, 16 and 20, the reference discloses the data is transmitted using pulse position modulation ([0004]) or some combination thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue the claims are patent eligible because of the limitation requiring using a first command received from a surface processor, controlling a BHA component of a downhole system by changing an operating parameter.
The recitation lacks specific control measures and operations altered or transformed to meet a result of controlling performative aspects of the bottom hole assembly.
Applicants argue the BHA component of the downhole system claimed and described in the specification is significantly more because it plays a significant part in permitting the claimed method to be performed.
The claims do not require the bottom hole assembly to play any role. It’s merely a part of a data communications system devoid of effects.
Applicants argue the exception of an abstract idea because of the ideas listed in MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), II, C: Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People.
The 101 rejection is not based on the rationale. See 2106.04(a)(2), III, B: A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process.
Applicants argue the various features of claim 1 do not recite a mental process because they are not recited at "a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind." (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)).
However, according to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), the claims are abstract because they do recite a mental process containing limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.
Applicants argue the prior art does not disclose the transmitter module and the receiver module are both disposed in a pressure barrel; because the transmitter and receiver are subs in Dwyer, they are mounted to a drill collar. The transmitter and receiver in Dwyer are not disposed in a pressure barrel within a drill collar as recited by the amended independent claims.
The prior art body of the subs having the transmitter and receiver is commensurate with the claimed “pressure barrel” substantially as disclosed. The prior art configuration anticipates the claimed pressure barrel in accordance with the disclosure’s description or lack thereof.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
2 April 2026
/KENNETH L THOMPSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676