DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This Office Action is made in response to amendment, filed 6/16/2026. Applicant has amended claims 2 and 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments set forth in the “Remarks” filed 6/16/2026, have been fully considered. Applicant argues that neither Checkley nor Frumar teaches adjusting the Skip Time Amount for a future selection before that selection Is detected now recited in independent claims 2 and 12. The Examiner agrees and identifies Ridgley et al., (Pub No US 2003/0160832) that teaches this amended feature. The double patenting rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Independent claims 2 and 12 of instant Application 19/067,045 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 31 of prior Application No. 17/828214 and claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11375285 in view of Ridgley et al. (US 2003/0160832 A1), and further in view of corresponding dependent claims identified in the table below. Independent claims 2 and 12 of instant Application No. 19/067,045 are not patentably distinct from independent claims 21 and 31 of prior Application No. 17/828,214. Both the instant claims and the parent claims are directed to determining and adjusting a skip-time amount for navigating media content. The additional persistence limitation would have been obvious in view of Ridgley’s retained skip-time setting (Ridgley, paragraph 0093), because retaining the selected setting for subsequent activations predictably improves user convenience by avoiding the need to select a skip-time amount for each skip operation. Therefore, the instant claims are not patentably distinct from the parent claims, as shown in the table below.
Instant Application 19/067,045
Prior Application 17/828214
Not Patentably Distinct
Independent Claims 2, 12:
generating for display media content;
generating for display a particular icon that is selectable to skip forward or skip backward from a current play position time in the media content to a new play position time in the media content by a skip time amount;
detecting, while the particular con is being generated for display, a first input associated with the particular icon;
based on detecting the first input:
adjusting the skip time amount by which to skip forward or skip backward in the media content for a future selection of the particular icon, wherein the skip time amount is adjusted before the future selection is detected, and the adjusted skip time amount persists for the future selection of the particular icon;
detecting a second input comprising a selection of the particular icon associated with the adjusted skip time amount;
based on detecting the second input, performing a skip operation to skip forward or skip backward to a different play position in the media content by the adjusted skip time amount.
Dependent Claims:
Claims 5, 15:
Claims 6, 16:
Claims 7, 17
Claims 8, 18
Claims 9, 19
Claims 10, 20
Claims 11, 21
Independent Claims 21, 31:
generating for display media content;
generating for display a particular icon that is selectable to skip forward or skip backward from a current play position time in the media content to a new play position time in the media content by a skip time amount;
detecting, while the particular icon is being generated for display, a first input associated with the particular icon;
in response to detecting the first input:
adjusting the skip time amount by which to skip forward or skip backward in the media content for a future selection of the particular icon, wherein the skip time amount is adjusted before the future selection is detected;
detecting a second input comprising a selection of the particular icon associated with the adjusted skip time amount;
in response to detecting the second input, performing a skip operation to skip forward or skip backward to a different play position in the media content by the adjusted skip time amount.
Dependent Claims:
Claim 23:
Claim 24:
Claim 26
Claim 27
Claim 28
Claim 29
Claim 30
Analysis:
same
same
same
same scope (wording different only)
Not expressly recited; obvious modification in view of Ridgley’s retained skip-time setting - does not render the claim patentable distinct
same
same scope (wording different only)
Analysis:
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Instant Application 19/067,045
Parent Pat 11375285
Not Patentably Distinct
Independent Claims 2, 12:
generating for display media content;
generating for display a particular icon that is selectable to skip forward or skip backward from a current play position time in the media content to a new play position time in the media content by a skip time amount;
detecting, while the particular con is being generated for display, a first input associated with the particular icon;
based on detecting the first input:
adjusting the skip time amount by which to skip forward or skip backward in the media content for a future selection of the particular icon, wherein the skip time amount is adjusted before the future selection is detected;
detecting a second input comprising a selection of the particular icon associated with the adjusted skip time amount;
based on detecting the second input, performing a skip operation to skip forward or skip backward to a different play position in the media content by the adjusted skip time amount.
Dependent Claims:
Claim 3, 13
Claim 4, 14
Claims 5, 15:
Claims 6, 16:
Claims 7, 17
Claims 8, 18
Claims 9, 19
Claims 10, 20
Claims 11, 21
Independent Claims 1, 11:
detecting a current play position time in the media content;
generating for display an icon associated with the skip time amount, wherein the icon is selectable to skip from the current play position time to a new play position time based on the skip time amount;
detecting a first input at a display, wherein the first input comprises a swipe action;
determining that the icon is included in a path of the swipe action;
in response to determining that the icon is included in a path of the swipe action,
adjusting the skip time amount based on the swipe action;
receiving a second input selecting the icon;
skipping to a new play position time in the media content based on the adjusted skip time amount in response to detecting the second input.
determining a remaining media content play time based on the current play position time and an ending time of the media content;
determining a skip time amount based on the remaining media content play time;
Dependent Claims:
Claim 12
Claim 15
Claim 10
Claim 21
Claim 22
Claim 23
Claim 24
Claim 25
Claim 26
Analysis:
Different wording; parent determines play position but used for same playback context
Same concept – selectable skip icon controlling jump to a new play position.
Same input detection for the icon (parent specifies swipe gesture).
Same functional relationship (response to detected first input).
Same function – adjusting skip time amount based on the first input.
Identical function – second input selecting the icon.
Same operation – skipping to new play position using adjusted skip time.
Analysis:
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Identical wording
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Checkley et al., Pub No US 2015/0370402 (hereafter Checkley) and further in view Frumar et al., Pat No US 9,363,579 (hereafter Frumar) and further in view Ridgley et al., Pub No US 2003/0160832 (hereafter Ridgley).
Regarding Claim 2, Checkley discloses a method comprising:
generating for display media content [FIG.1, para.0032: Discloses as shown in FIG. 1, process (element 100) can begin, at (element 102), by presenting video content in a video presentation portion of a user interface. Thus, explicitly discloses presenting video content within a user interface presentation portion, corresponding to generating media content for display.];
generating for display a particular icon that is selectable to skip forward or skip backward from a current play position time in the media content to a new play position time in the media content by a skip time amount [para.0041: Disclose process (element 100) can cause presentation of the video to skip forward or back by a predetermined amount of time. Thus, Checkley teaches generating for display a playback navigation control that corresponds to the claimed icon (see, e.g., FIGS. 7-9), the control being selectable to cause the video to skip forward or backward by a predetermined amount of time, thereby moving playback from a current play position time to a new play position time in the media content.];
detecting, while the particular icon is being generated for display, a first input associated with the particular icon [para.0038: Discloses process (element 100) can determine whether a swipe gesture is detected within (and/or at least starting within) the video presentation portion via a touchscreen. Thus, detects swipe gestures within the video presentation interface corresponding to user interaction with the playback navigation control.];
detecting a second input comprising a selection of the particular icon associated with the adjusted skip time amount [para.0038: Discloses process (element 100) can determine whether a swipe gesture is detected. Checkley detects a second user input corresponding to selection of the playback navigation control icon associated with the skip time amount. In particular, Checkley detects a user gesture input corresponding to activation of the playback navigation control, which when selected causes the video to skip forward or backward by a predetermined amount of time (see, e.g., para.0041 and FIGS. 7-9). Thus, Checkley teaches detecting a second input comprising selection of the particular icon associated with the adjusted skip time amount.]; and
based on detecting the second input, performing a skip operation to skip forward or skip backward to a different play position in the media content by the adjusted skip time amount [para.0009: Discloses detecting a first swipe gesture via the touchscreen that at least begins within the player window, wherein the first swipe gesture is a swipe from left to right; means for in response to detecting the first swipe gesture, causing presentation of the video content to skip forward to a later time in the video content; means for detecting a second swipe gesture via the touchscreen that at least begins within the player window, wherein the second swipe gesture is a swipe from right to left; and means, responsive to the means for detecting the second swipe gesture, for causing presentation of the video content to skip backward to an earlier time in the video content. Thus, performs the navigation operation that changes the playback position within the video content.].
Checkley does not explicitly disclose based on detecting the first input: adjusting the skip time amount by which to skip forward or skip backward in the media content for a future selection of the particular icon, wherein the skip time amount is adjusted before the future selection is detected; However, in analogous art, Frumar discloses the gesture comprises not only a direction but also a magnitude. The magnitude of the gesture is how far to the left or to the right the user has dragged the mouse from the center of viewing window. The magnitude is represented visually by how far the arrow is extended (col.6 lines 22-25). Frumar teaches that a user gesture includes a magnitude, where the magnitude corresponds to the distance of the gesture input (e.g., how far the user drags or swipes). Frumar explains that the magnitude of the gesture determines the amount of navigation performed within the media timeline. Thus, a larger gesture magnitude results in a greater navigation distance, while a smaller magnitude results in a shorted navigation distance. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining navigation distance based on gesture magnitude corresponds to adjusting the amount of time skipped during playback, since the playback position moves forward or backward by an amount determined by the gesture magnitude. Accordingly, Frumar teaches adjusting the skip time amount for playback navigation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Checkley with adjusting the skip time amount by which to skip forward or skip backward in the media content for a future selection of the particular icon, wherein the skip time amount is adjusted before the future selection is detected, as taught by Frumar, in order to control the playback navigation amount based on the magnitude of the user gesture, yielding a predictable user-controlled navigation result (Frumar: col.1 lines 27-29).
the combined teachings of Checkley and Frumar do not explicitly disclose adjusting the skip time amount by which to skip forward or skip backward in the media content for a future selection of the particular icon, wherein the skip time amount is adjusted before the future selection is detected, and the adjusted skip time amount persists for the future selection of the particular icon (emphasis on what is not taught by the combination); However, in analogous art, Ridgley discloses displaying a “Quick Skip” control (FIG.12C, element 1251) while video content is playing and detecting an input associated with that control through selection of the memorize indicator (FIG.2C, element 1252). Ridgley further teaches permitting the user to change the Quick Skip setting by selecting a skip-time amount of 15, 30, or 45 seconds, such that a subsequent activation of the Quick Skip control skips the selected amount. Ridgley contrasts this retrained-setting implementation with requiring the user to select a skip time for each activation, which Ridgley identifies as disadvantageous [para.0093]. Ridgley teaches accessing and changing a setting associated with the displayed Quick Skip control to determine whether activation of the control skips 15, 30, or 45 seconds. Ridgley separately describes, as a potentially disadvantageous alternative, requiring the user to select a skip time for each activation. Thus, Ridgley teaches or suggests retaining the changed skip-time setting for a subsequent activation of the Quick Skip control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the playback-navigation system of Checkley and Frumar to, as taught by Ridgley, to provide an input associated with the displayed skip control for selecting and retaining a desired skip-time amount for a subsequent activation of control. Such a modification would have predictably improved user convenience by avoiding the need to select the skip-time amount for every skip operation, as expressly suggested by Ridgley [para.0093].
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the method of claim 2, and Frumar further discloses further comprising:
detecting a third input comprising a selection of the particular icon associated with the adjusted skip time amount [FIG.3, col.6 lines 16-18: Discloses clicking and dragging of the mouse is a gesture that is received (element 330) by the player GUI module (element 208). Thus, teaches playback navigation controls in the graphical user interface and gesture-based interaction with those controls, See Fig. 4D and col.6 lines 4-6, which describes arrows 460 and 465 indicating that the video can be fast forwarded or rewind, and further explains that clicking and dragging of the mouse is a gesture received by the player GUI module (element 208) that controls playback navigation. Such a gesture constitutes an additional user input to the system, corresponding to the claimed third input comprising a selection of the particular playback navigation icon.]; and
based on detecting the third input, resetting the skip time amount [FIG.3, col.6 lines 27-30: Discloses using the magnitude and direction of the gesture, the player GUI module (element 208) transmits (element 335) instructions implementing the gesture to the video decoder (element 204) and audio decoder (element 206). Upon receiving a gesture input, the player GUI module determines the magnitude and direction of the gesture and transmits instructions implementing the gesture to the video decoder and audio decoder. The gesture magnitude determines how far playback advances or rewinds, thereby setting a new playback skip amount in response to the detected input. Thus, Frumar teaches resetting the skip time amount based on detecting the third input.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the method of claim 3, and Frumar further discloses further comprising:
determining an amount of time that elapsed between detecting the second input and detecting the third input [FIGS.3, 4A, col.6 lines 16-18: Discloses clicking and dragging of the mouse is a gesture that is received (element 330) by the player GUI module (element 208); and col.6 lines 22-24: Discloses the magnitude of the gesture is how far to the left or to the right the user has dragged the mouse from the center of viewing window (element 405). The system evaluates characteristic of the gesture input, including the magnitude and direction of the movement. Because the gesture is detected over a period of user interaction, the system necessarily detects multiple user inputs occurring at different times during the gesture, thereby enabling the system to determine characteristics of the gesture between detected inputs. Thus, Frumar teaches determining an amount of time that elapsed between detecting user inputs corresponding to the claimed second and third inputs.];
wherein the skip time amount is reset based on determining that the amount of time that elapsed between detecting the second input and detecting the third input is greater than a threshold amount of time [col.6 lines 33-36: Discloses the larger the magnitude of the gesture, the more quickly the video's playback moves ahead. Thus, Frumar teaches that the magnitude of the detected gesture determines playback skipping behavior. Determining whether a gesture magnitude results in different playback behavior inherently requires evaluating the gesture magnitude relative to internal criteria or thresholds used by the system to determine the resulting playback skip amount. Accordingly, Frumar teaches resetting the skip time amount based on determining whether characteristics of the detected gesture exceed a threshold condition.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the method of claim 2, and Frumar further discloses wherein the first input comprises a swipe action [col.6 lines 11-19: Discloses the user drags the clicked mouse left or right (swipe)… the action of clicking and dragging of the mouse is a gesture.], and detecting the first input further comprises determining that the particular icon is included in a path of the swipe action [col.6 lines 4-6: Discloses there are arrows (element 460 and 465) indicating that the video can be fast forwarded or rewound. The arrows in the GUI represents navigation icons which are activated when the swipe/drag gesture intersects the playback navigation controls.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the method of claim 2, and Frumar further discloses wherein:
generating for display the particular icon further comprises causing the displayed particular icon to comprise an indication of the skip time amount [FIG.4D, col.6 lines 45-46: Discloses a text display (element 475) indicates to the viewer that the video is fast forwarding. The interface visually indicates playback navigation status associated with the icon.], and
the method further comprises, based on adjusting the skip time amount, generating for display the particular icon by causing the indication to be modified to comprise the adjusted skip time amount [FIG.4D, col.6 lines 38-39: Discloses the speed at which the video is being provided to the user is indicated by the display (element 470). The displayed indicator updates to reflect the current playback navigation amount.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the method of claim 2, and Frumar further discloses further comprising:
detecting a plurality of additional inputs associated with the particular icon [FIG.3, col.6 lines 25-27: Discloses the magnitude and direction of gesture are received (element 330) at the player GUI module (element 208). Multiple gestures can be received by the GUI module to control playback navigation.]; and
further adjusting the skip time amount, for one or more future selections of the particular icon, based on each detected input of the plurality of inputs [FIG.3, col.6 lines 27-30: Discloses using the magnitude and direction of the gesture, the player GUI module (element 208) transmits (element 335) instructions implementing the gesture… Each detected gesture results in updated playback instructions that adjust the navigation behavior.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the method of claim 2, and Frumar further discloses wherein:
the first input comprises a swipe action [FIG.4D, col.6 lines 11-19: Discloses the user drags the clicked mouse to the left or the right… the action of clicking and dragging is a gesture that is received (element 330) by the player GUI module (element 208). Click-and-drag gesture corresponds to a swipe action used to control playback navigation.];
the method further comprises:
determining a distance covered by the swipe action [FIG.4D, col.6 lines 22-24: Discloses the magnitude of the gesture is how far to the left or to the right the user has dragged the mouse from the center of viewing window (element 405). The magnitude of the gesture corresponds to the distance covered by the swipe action.]; and
determining a direction of the swipe action [col.6 lines 19-21: Discloses the direction indicates whether the user wishes to rewind for fast forward the video's playback. The system determines playback navigation direction based on the direction of the swipe gesture.]; and
adjusting the skip time amount comprises:
determining, based on the distance covered by the swipe action, a particular amount by which to adjust the skip time amount [col.6 lines 33-35: Discloses the larger the magnitude of the gesture, the more quickly the video's playback moves ahead. The magnitude of the gesture determines the amount of playback adjustment.]; and
determining, based on the direction of the swipe action, whether to increase or decrease the skip time by the particular amount [FIG.4D, col.6 lines 6-15: Discloses Arrow (element 460) points to the right… Arrow (element 465) points to the left… indicating that the video's playback is being accelerated in that direction.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the method of claim 2, and Checkley further discloses wherein adjusting the skip time amount is further based at least in part on a remaining amount of play time in the media content [para.0041: Discloses skip forward or back by a predetermined amount of time from the current playback position. Adjusting playback relative to the current playback position inherently depends on the remaining play time of the media content.].
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the method of claim 9, and Checkley further discloses wherein adjusting the skip time amount based at least in part on the remaining amount of play time in the media content further comprises:
determining an initial skip time amount by comparing a total media content play time to a first predefined threshold [para.0041: Discloses skip forward or back by a predetermined amount of time. The system uses predetermined playback skip values corresponding to content duration thresholds.];
in response to determining the total media content play time is less than the first predefined threshold, setting the skip time amount to a first value corresponding to the initial skip time amount [para.0041: Discloses skip forward or back by a predetermined amount of time. The system uses predetermined playback skip values corresponding to content duration thresholds. The predetermined skip amount corresponds to the initial skip time value.]; and
updating the skip time amount based on the remaining amount of play time in the media content, as the current play position time progresses [para.0049: Discloses from a current play position time to a new play position time in the media content. The skip amount is applied relative to the progressing playback position.].
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the method of claim 10, and Checkley further discloses further comprising:
in response to determining the total media content play time is greater than the first predefined threshold, determining whether the total media content play time is less than a second predefined threshold [para.0038: Discloses swipe can include any suitable touch detected by the touchscreen for less than a predetermined period of time and/or with greater than or equal to a threshold amount of movement from an initial point of contact. Predetermined time values correspond to threshold-based playback adjustments.]; and
in response to determining the total media content play time is less than the second predefined threshold, setting the skip time amount to a second value corresponding to the initial skip time amount, wherein the second value is greater than the first value [para.0042: Discloses swipe is to skip forward or backward. Different predetermined skip amounts correspond to different skip values.].
Regarding Claim 12, Checkley discloses a computer-implemented system comprising:
input/output (I/O) circuitry [FIG.9, para.0073-0075: Discloses a touchscreen display interface configured to both present video content and playback control icons and to detect user gesture inputs such as swipe gestures. The touchscreen interface therefore performs both input operations (detecting user gestures) and output operations (displaying video content and navigation icons). Accordingly, the touch touchscreen/display interface corresponds to input/output circuitry configured to receive user input and output media content and interface elements.];
control circuitry [FIG.9, para.0073-0074: Discloses a processor.] configured to:
generate for display media content [FIG.1, para.0032: Discloses as shown in FIG. 1, process (element 100) can begin, at (element 102), by presenting video content in a video presentation portion of a user interface. Thus, explicitly discloses presenting video content within a user interface presentation portion, corresponding to generating media content for display.];
generate for display a particular icon that is selectable to skip forward or skip backward from a current play position time in the media content to a new play position time in the media content by a skip time amount [para.0041: Disclose process (element 100) can cause presentation of the video to skip forward or back by a predetermined amount of time. Thus, Checkley teaches generating for display a playback navigation control that corresponds to the claimed icon (see, e.g., FIGS. 7-9), the control being selectable to cause the video to skip forward or backward by a predetermined amount of time, thereby moving playback from a current play position time to a new play position time in the media content.];
wherein the I/O circuitry is configured to:
detect, while the particular icon is being generated for display, a first input associated with the particular icon [para.0038: Discloses process (element 100) can determine whether a swipe gesture is detected within (and/or at least starting within) the video presentation portion via a touchscreen. Thus, detects swipe gestures within the video presentation interface corresponding to user interaction with the playback navigation control.]; and
wherein the I/O circuitry is further configured to:
detect a second input comprising a selection of the particular icon associated with the adjusted skip time amount [para.0038: Discloses process (element 100) can determine whether a swipe gesture is detected. Checkley detects a second user input corresponding to selection of the playback navigation control icon associated with the skip time amount. In particular, Checkley detects a user gesture input corresponding to activation of the playback navigation control, which when selected causes the video to skip forward or backward by a predetermined amount of time (see, e.g., para.0041 and FIGS. 7-9). Thus, Checkley teaches detecting a second input comprising selection of the particular icon associated with the adjusted skip time amount.]; and
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
in response to detecting the second input, perform a skip forward or skip backward operation to skip to a different play position in the media content by the adjusted skip time amount [para.0009: Discloses detecting a first swipe gesture via the touchscreen that at least begins within the player window, wherein the first swipe gesture is a swipe from left to right; means for in response to detecting the first swipe gesture, causing presentation of the video content to skip forward to a later time in the video content; means for detecting a second swipe gesture via the touchscreen that at least begins within the player window, wherein the second swipe gesture is a swipe from right to left; and means, responsive to the means for detecting the second swipe gesture, for causing presentation of the video content to skip backward to an earlier time in the video content. Thus, performs the navigation operation that changes the playback position within the video content.].
Checkley does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: in response to detecting the first input: adjust the skip time amount by which to skip forward or skip backward in the media content for a future selection of the particular icon, wherein the skip time amount is adjusted before the future selection is detected; However, in analogous art, Frumar discloses the gesture comprises not only a direction but also a magnitude. The magnitude of the gesture is how far to the left or to the right the user has dragged the mouse from the center of viewing window. The magnitude is represented visually by how far the arrow is extended (col.6 lines 22-25). Frumar teaches that a user gesture includes a magnitude, where the magnitude corresponds to the distance of the gesture input (e.g., how far the user drags or swipes). Frumar explains that the magnitude of the gesture determines the amount of navigation performed within the media timeline. Thus, a larger gesture magnitude results in a greater navigation distance, while a smaller magnitude results in a shorted navigation distance. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining navigation distance based on gesture magnitude corresponds to adjusting the amount of time skipped during playback, since the playback position moves forward or backward by an amount determined by the gesture magnitude. Accordingly, Frumar teaches adjust the skip time amount for playback navigation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Checkley with adjust the skip time amount by which to skip forward or skip backward in the media content for a future selection of the particular icon, wherein the skip time amount is adjusted before the future selection is detected, as taught by Frumar, in order to control the playback navigation amount based on the magnitude of the user gesture, yielding a predictable user-controlled navigation result (Frumar: col.1 lines 27-29).
the combined teachings of Checkley and Frumar do not explicitly disclose adjust the skip time amount by which to skip forward or skip backward in the media content for a future selection of the particular icon, wherein the skip time amount is adjusted before the future selection is detected, and the adjusted skip time amount persists for the future selection of the particular icon (emphasis on what is not taught by the combination); However, in analogous art, Ridgley discloses displaying a “Quick Skip” control (FIG.12C, element 1251) while video content is playing and detecting an input associated with that control through selection of the memorize indicator (FIG.2C, element 1252). Ridgley further teaches permitting the user to change the Quick Skip setting by selecting a skip-time amount of 15, 30, or 45 seconds, such that a subsequent activation of the Quick Skip control skips the selected amount. Ridgley contrasts this retrained-setting implementation with requiring the user to select a skip time for each activation, which Ridgley identifies as disadvantageous [para.0093]. Ridgley teaches accessing and changing a setting associated with the displayed Quick Skip control to determine whether activation of the control skips 15, 30, or 45 seconds. Ridgley separately describes, as a potentially disadvantageous alternative, requiring the user to select a skip time for each activation. Thus, Ridgley teaches or suggests retaining the changed skip-time setting for a subsequent activation of the Quick Skip control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the playback-navigation system of Checkley and Frumar to, as taught by Ridgley, to provide an input associated with the displayed skip control for selecting and retaining a desired skip-time amount for a subsequent activation of control. Such a modification would have predictably improved user convenience by avoiding the need to select the skip-time amount for every skip operation, as expressly suggested by Ridgley [para.0093].
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the system of claim 12, and Frumar further discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
detect a third input comprising a selection of the particular icon associated with the adjusted skip time amount [FIG.3, col.6 lines 16-18: Discloses clicking and dragging of the mouse is a gesture that is received (element 330) by the player GUI module (element 208). Thus, teaches playback navigation controls in the graphical user interface and gesture-based interaction with those controls, See Fig. 4D and col.6 lines 4-6, which describes arrows 460 and 465 indicating that the video can be fast forwarded or rewind, and further explains that clicking and dragging of the mouse is a gesture received by the player GUI module (element 208) that controls playback navigation. Such a gesture constitutes an additional user input to the system, corresponding to the claimed third input comprising a selection of the particular playback navigation icon.]; and
based on detecting the third input, reset the skip time amount [FIG.3, col.6 lines 27-30: Discloses using the magnitude and direction of the gesture, the player GUI module (element 208) transmits (element 335) instructions implementing the gesture to the video decoder (element 204) and audio decoder (element 206). Upon receiving a gesture input, the player GUI module determines the magnitude and direction of the gesture and transmits instructions implementing the gesture to the video decoder and audio decoder. The gesture magnitude determines how far playback advances or rewinds, thereby setting a new playback skip amount in response to the detected input. Thus, Frumar teaches resetting the skip time amount based on detecting the third input.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the system of claim 13, and Frumar further discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
determine an amount of time that elapsed between detecting the second input and detecting the third input [FIGS.3, 4A, col.6 lines 16-18: Discloses clicking and dragging of the mouse is a gesture that is received (element 330) by the player GUI module (element 208); and col.6 lines 22-24: Discloses the magnitude of the gesture is how far to the left or to the right the user has dragged the mouse from the center of viewing window (element 405). The system evaluates characteristic of the gesture input, including the magnitude and direction of the movement. Because the gesture is detected over a period of user interaction, the system necessarily detects multiple user inputs occurring at different times during the gesture, thereby enabling the system to determine characteristics of the gesture between detected inputs. Thus, Frumar teaches determining an amount of time that elapsed between detecting user inputs corresponding to the claimed second and third inputs.];
wherein the skip time amount is reset based on determining that the amount of time that elapsed between detecting the second input and detecting the third input is greater than a threshold amount of time [col.6 lines 33-36: Discloses the larger the magnitude of the gesture, the more quickly the video's playback moves ahead. Thus, Frumar teaches that the magnitude of the detected gesture determines playback skipping behavior. Determining whether a gesture magnitude results in different playback behavior inherently requires evaluating the gesture magnitude relative to internal criteria or thresholds used by the system to determine the resulting playback skip amount. Accordingly, Frumar teaches resetting the skip time amount based on determining whether characteristics of the detected gesture exceed a threshold condition.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 13.
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the system of claim 12, and Frumar further discloses wherein the first input comprises a swipe action [col.6 lines 11-19: Discloses the user drags the clicked mouse left or right (swipe)… the action of clicking and dragging of the mouse is a gesture.], and the I/O circuitry is configured to detect the first input by determining that the particular icon is included in a path of the swipe action [col.6 lines 4-6: Discloses there are arrows (element 460 and 465) indicating that the video can be fast forwarded or rewound. The arrows in the GUI represents navigation icons which are activated when the swipe/drag gesture intersects the playback navigation controls.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the system of claim 12, and Frumar further discloses wherein:
the control circuitry is further configured to generate for display the particular icon further by causing the displayed particular icon to comprise an indication of the skip time amount [FIG.4D, col.6 lines 45-46: Discloses a text display (element 475) indicates to the viewer that the video is fast forwarding. The interface visually indicates playback navigation status associated with the icon.], and
the control circuitry is further configured to, in response to adjusting the skip time amount, generating for display the particular icon by causing the indication to be modified to comprise the adjusted skip time amount [FIG.4D, col.6 lines 38-39: Discloses the speed at which the video is being provided to the user is indicated by the display (element 470). The displayed indicator updates to reflect the current playback navigation amount.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the system of claim 12, and Frumar further discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
detect a plurality of additional inputs associated with the particular icon [FIG.3, col.6 lines 25-27: Discloses the magnitude and direction of gesture are received (element 330) at the player GUI module (element 208). Multiple gestures can be received by the GUI module to control playback navigation.]; and
further adjust the skip time amount, for one or more future selections of the particular icon, based on each detected input of the plurality of inputs [FIG.3, col.6 lines 27-30: Discloses using the magnitude and direction of the gesture, the player GUI module (element 208) transmits (element 335) instructions implementing the gesture… Each detected gesture results in updated playback instructions that adjust the navigation behavior.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the system of claim 12, and Frumar further discloses wherein:
the first input comprises a swipe action [FIG.4D, col.6 lines 11-19: Discloses the user drags the clicked mouse to the left or the right… the action of clicking and dragging is a gesture that is received 330 by the player GUI module 208. Click-and-drag gesture corresponds to a swipe action used to control playback navigation.];
the control circuitry is further configured to:
determine a distance covered by the swipe action [FIG.4D, col.6 lines 22-24: Discloses the magnitude of the gesture is how far to the left or to the right the user has dragged the mouse from the center of viewing window (element 405). The magnitude of the gesture corresponds to the distance covered by the swipe action.];
determine a direction of the swipe action [col.6 lines 19-21: Discloses the direction indicates whether the user wishes to rewind for fast forward the video's playback. The system determines playback navigation direction based on the direction of the swipe gesture.]; and
adjust the skip time amount by:
determining, based on the distance covered by the swipe action, a particular amount by which to adjust the skip time amount [col.6 lines 33-35: Discloses the larger the magnitude of the gesture, the more quickly the video's playback moves ahead. The magnitude of the gesture determines the amount of playback adjustment.]; and
determining, based on the direction of the swipe action, whether to increase or decrease the skip time by the particular amount [FIG.4D, col.6 lines 6-15: Discloses Arrow (element 460) points to the right… Arrow (element 465) points to the left… indicating that the video's playback is being accelerated in that direction.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the system of claim 12, and Checkley further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to adjust the skip time amount further based at least in part on a remaining amount of play time in the media content [para.0041: Discloses skip forward or back by a predetermined amount of time from the current playback position. Adjusting playback relative to the current playback position inherently depends on the remaining play time of the media content.].
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the system of claim 19, and Checkley further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to adjust the skip time amount based at least in part on the remaining amount of play time in the media content further by:
determining an initial skip time amount by comparing a total media content play time to a first predefined threshold [para.0041: Discloses skip forward or back by a predetermined amount of time. The system uses predetermined playback skip values corresponding to content duration thresholds.];
in response to determining the total media content play time is less than the first predefined threshold, setting the skip time amount to a first value corresponding to the initial skip time amount [para.0041: Discloses skip forward or back by a predetermined amount of time. The system uses predetermined playback skip values corresponding to content duration thresholds. The predetermined skip amount corresponds to the initial skip time value.]; and
updating the skip time amount based on the remaining amount of play time in the media content, as the current play position time progresses [para.0049: Discloses from a current play position time to a new play position time in the media content. The skip amount is applied relative to the progressing playback position.].
Regarding Claim 21, the combined teaching of Checkley, Frumar, and Ridgley discloses the system of claim 20, and Checkley further discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
in response to determining the total media content play time is greater than the first predefined threshold, determine whether the total media content play time is less than a second predefined threshold [para.0038: Discloses swipe can include any suitable touch detected by the touchscreen for less than a predetermined period of time and/or with greater than or equal to a threshold amount of movement from an initial point of contact. Predetermined time values correspond to threshold-based playback adjustments.]; and
in response to determining the total media content play time is less than the second predefined threshold, set the skip time amount to a second value corresponding to the initial skip time amount, wherein the second value is greater than the first value [para.0042: Discloses swipe is to skip forward or backward. Different predetermined skip amounts correspond to different skip values.].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jason J. Olson, (US 2018/0088896) – Discloses a method is performed at an electronic device with a touch-sensitive surface, a display, and one or more sensors to detect intensities of contacts on the touch-sensitive surface. While media is playing on the device, the device detects a first input that includes detecting a contact at a location on the touch-sensitive surface that is associated with a first media playback control. In response to detecting the first input, in accordance with a determination that the first input is detected while the device is operating in a first media playback mode of operation, the device performs a media playback operation associated with the first media playback control when a characteristic intensity of the first contact remains below a first intensity threshold [para.0007].
/ADIL OCAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426