DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to communications filed August 06, 2024. Claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended. Claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 14 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 21-26 have been newly added. Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13 and 16-26 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
All 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been overcome by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 12, 13, and 18-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mussa et al. (Mussa; US Pub No. 2023/0036776 A1) in view of Gallagher et al. (Gallagher; US Pub No. 2019/0332902 A1) and Konrardy et al. (Konrardy; US Patent No. 11,242,051 B1).
As per claim 1, Mussa teaches a method comprising:
obtaining, when a moving carrier is in a traveling state (paragraph [0017], lines 8-9), first data from a first sensor of a mobile terminal (paragraph [0023], lines 20-21) and second data from a second sensor of a cockpit of the moving carrier (paragraph [0017], lines 9-12);
… when the driver status indicates that a driver is not in a loop (paragraph [0005], lines 2-3)…
sending first prompt information to the mobile terminal in a first hierarchical reminder mode that begins with a display reminder when the driver status indicates that the driver is not in the loop and when detecting, based on the first data, that the driver pays attention to the mobile terminal (paragraph [0048], lines 1-34: driver may pre-configure an alert output based on a distraction level, i.e. driver is distracted by phone usage, therefore, a visual alert is output to the graphical user interface of the driver’s mobile device); and
sending the first prompt information to the mobile terminal in a second hierarchical reminder mode that begins with a vibration reminder or a sound reminder without the display reminder when the driver status indicates that the driver is not in the loop and when detecting, based on the first data, that the driver does not pay attention to the mobile terminal (paragraph [0048], lines 1-47: driver may pre-configure an alert output based on a distraction level, i.e. driver has fallen asleep, therefore, a tactile alert is output to the driver’s mobile device).
Mussa does not expressly teach determining a driver status by fusing the first data and the second
data using an artificial intelligence algorithm, or by selecting between the first data and the second data based on a first reliability of the first data and a second reliability of the second data; controlling… a prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier.
Gallagher teaches determining a driver status by fusing the first data and the second data using an artificial intelligence algorithm, or by selecting between the first data and the second data based on a first reliability of the first data and a second reliability of the second data (paragraph [0072], lines 59-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the artificial intelligence logic as taught by Gallagher, since Gallagher states in paragraph [0072] that such a modification would result in taking occupant individuality into account when determining a driver distraction level.
Konrardy teaches controlling… a prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier (col. 24, lines 12-16; col. 47, lines 48-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the driver messaging as taught by Konrardy, since Konrardy states that such a modification would result in alerting a driver to the need to switch from an autonomous driving mode to a manual driving mode.
As per claim 6, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising determining, before controlling the prompt apparatus is controlled to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier, that a traveling speed of the moving carrier is greater than or equal to a speed threshold (Konrardy, col. 24, lines 12-22: determining a driver is distracted and obtaining the driver’s attention by outputting an alert to the driver; col. 22, lines 14-35: specify a speed, exceed a speed).
As per claim 7, (see rejection of claim 1 above) An apparatus comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions; and
at least one processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and configured to
execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
obtain, when a moving carrier is in a traveling state, first data from a first sensor of a mobile terminal and second data from a second sensor of a cockpit of the moving carrier;
determine a driver status by fusing the first data and the second
data using an artificial intelligence algorithm, or by selecting between the first data and the second data based on a first reliability of the first data and a second reliability of the second data;
control, when the driver status indicates that a driver is not in a loop, a prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier;
send first prompt information to the mobile terminal in a first hierarchical reminder mode that begins with a display reminder when the driver status indicates that the driver is not in the loop and when detecting, based on the first data, that the driver pays attention to the mobile terminal; and
send the first prompt information to the mobile terminal in a second hierarchical reminder mode that begins with a vibration reminder or a sound reminder without the display reminder when the driver status indicates that the driver is not in the loop and when detecting, based on the first data, that the driver does not pay attention to the mobile terminal.
As per claim 12, (see rejection of claim 6 above) the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to determine, before controlling the prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier, that a traveling speed of the moving carrier is greater than or equal to a speed threshold.
As per claim 13, (see rejection of claim 1 above) A computer program product comprising instructions that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and that, when executed by at least one processor, cause an apparatus to:
obtain, when a moving carrier is in a traveling state, first data from a first sensor of a mobile terminal and second data from a second sensor of a cockpit of the moving carrier;
determine a driver status by fusing the first data and the second datadata using an artificial intelligence algorithm, or by selecting between the first data and the second data based on a first reliability of the first data and a second reliability of the second data;
control, when the driver status indicates that a driver is not in a loop, a prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier;
send first prompt information to the mobile terminal in a first hierarchical reminder mode that begins with a display reminder when the driver status indicates that the driver is not in the loop and when detecting, based on the first data, that the driver pays attention to the mobile terminal; and
send the first prompt information to the mobile terminal in a second hierarchical reminder mode that begins with a vibration reminder or a sound reminder without the display reminder when the driver status indicates that the driver is not in the loop and when detecting, based on the first data, that the driver does not pay attention to the mobile terminal.
As per claim 18, (see rejection of claim 6 above) the computer program product of claim 13, wherein the, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to determine, before controlling the prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier, that a traveling speed of the moving carrier is greater than or equal to a speed threshold.
As per claim 19, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the moving carrier is a vehicle (Mussa, paragraph [0002]).
As per claim 20, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the loop is the driver paying attention to a driving task (Mussa, paragraph [0005]).
As per claim 21, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first hierarchical reminder mode comprises escalating from the display reminder to a subsequent reminder level comprising the display reminder and at least one of a vibration reminder or a sound reminder (Mussa, paragraph [0048]: driver may pre-configure an alert output or an alert combination output based on a distraction level).
As per claim 22, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy further teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the moving carrier is a vehicle (Mussa, paragraph [0002]).
As per claim 23, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy further teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the loop is the driver paying attention to a driving task (Mussa, paragraph [0005]).
As per claim 24, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy further teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first hierarchical reminder mode comprises escalating from the display reminder to a subsequent reminder level comprising the display reminder and at least one of a vibration reminder or a sound reminder (Mussa, paragraph [0048]: driver may pre-configure an alert output or an alert combination output based on a distraction level).
As per claim 25, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy further teaches the computer program product of claim 13, wherein the loop is the driver paying attention to a driving task (Mussa, paragraph [0005]).
As per claim 26, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy further teaches the computer program product of claim 13, wherein the first hierarchical reminder mode comprises escalating from the display reminder to a subsequent reminder level comprising the display reminder and at least one of a vibration reminder or a sound reminder (Mussa, paragraph [0048]: driver may pre-configure an alert output or an alert combination output based on a distraction level).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10, 11, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy as applied above, and further in view of Fields et al. (Fields; US Patent No. 10,935,975 B1).
As per claim 4, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising further controlling… the prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier (Konrardy, col. 24, lines 12-22: determining a driver is distracted and obtaining the driver’s attention by outputting an alert to the driver).
Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy does not expressly teach controlling, based on a duration in which the driver is not in the loop.
Fields teaches controlling, based on a duration in which the driver is not in the loop (col. 7, lines 49-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the level of distraction score as taught by Fields, since Fields states that such a modification would result in determining a driver’s readiness to switch to manual operation of the vehicle.
As per claim 5, Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising further controlling… the prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier (Konrardy, col. 24, lines 12-22: determining a driver is distracted and obtaining the driver’s attention by outputting an alert to the driver).
Mussa in view of Gallagher and Konrardy does not expressly teach when the driver status indicates that the driver is not in the loop and when detecting an emergency event.
Fields teaches when the driver status indicates that the driver is not in the loop and when detecting an emergency event (col. 3, line 59 – col. 4, line 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the switch over conditions as taught by Fields, since Fields states that such a modification would result in operating a vehicle in the safest mode based on detected environmental conditions.
As per claim 10, (see rejection of claim 4 above) the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to further control, based on a duration in which the driver is not in the loop, the prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier.
As per claim 11, (see rejection of claim 5 above) the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to further control, when the driver status indicates that the driver is not in the loop and when detecting an emergency, the prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier.
As per claim 16, (see rejection of claim 4 above) the computer program product of claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to further control, based on a duration in which the driver is not in the loop, the prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier.
As per claim 17, (see rejection of claim 5 above) the computer program product of claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to further control, when the driver status indicates that the driver is not in the loop and when detecting an emergency event is detected, control the prompt apparatus to prompt the driver to take over the moving carrier.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the above claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAOMI J SMALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685