Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 2019/0074395).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a solar cell structure (see fig. 1), comprising:
a solar cell (10) (see fig. 1, para [0085]-[0086]);
an adhesive portion (43, insulating layer) comprising a plurality of fixing adhesive points (shown in fig. 24) which are provided on a surface of the solar cell (10) at intervals in a first direction (see fig. 24, para [0201]); and
a conductive component (25; comprising 21 and/or 23), a surface of the conductive component (25) facing the solar cell being provided with a plurality of first contact regions (43) and a plurality of second contact regions (41, conductive layer),
the plurality of first contact regions and the plurality of second contact regions being arranged alternately in the first direction (shown in fig. 24);
wherein the conductive component (25) is fixed to the plurality of fixing adhesive points (43) through the plurality of first contact regions (43),
the plurality of fixing adhesive points (43, insulating layer) electrically isolate the solar cell (10) from the conductive component (25) in the plurality of first contact regions [0199]-[0207]),
the conductive component (25) is electrically in contact with a region on the solar cell other than the plurality of fixing adhesive points (43) through the plurality of second contact regions (41, conductive layer), to form a discontinuous contact between the conductive component and the solar cell (see para [0085]-[0086], [0199]-[0207]).
Regarding claim 5, Jang disclose a solar cell structure according to claim 1, wherein there exists a plurality of adhesive portions (43) which are provided on the surface of the solar cell at intervals in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and each adhesive portion is connected to a conductive component (25) (see discussion of claim 1, fig. 24, para [0199]-[0207]).
Regarding claim 6, Jang discloses a solar cell structure according to claim 1, wherein a fixing adhesive point (43) at least partially covers the conductive component in a circumferential direction (at least bottom surface reads on at least partially) of the conductive component (25) (shown in fig. 25) ; and/or
the conductive component (25) comprises an electric conductor (core) and a metal solder (coating), the metal solder coats an outer side of the electric conductor (shown in fig. 6, see para [0101-[0103]), and
the metal solder (coating) is electrically in contact with the solar cell (10) in a second contact region (41) (shown in figs. 24-25, see para [0199]-[0207]).
Regarding claim 9, Jang discloses a solar cell structure according to claim 1, wherein a distance between any two adjacent first contact regions in the first direction is the same and/or different; and/or
sizes of the plurality of first contact regions in the first direction are the same and/or different (shown in fig. 24, see para [0199]-[0207]). Specifically, the distance is the same or it is different, and the size is the same or it is different.
It is the examiner’s position that the recited limitation is disclosed by Jang is due to the distance between adjacent first contact regions and size of first contact regions being one of the same or different is inherent. See MPEP § 2112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further as follows:
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses a solar cell structure according to claim 1, wherein the solar cell (10) is provided with a plurality of gridlines (11/13), the plurality of gridlines are provided on the surface of the solar cell (10) at intervals in the first direction, the plurality of gridlines extend in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (shown in fig. 24), and
a connection region (45) on the solar cell is formed between every two adjacent gridlines (shown in fig. 24);
the plurality of fixing adhesive points (43) are provided in a plurality of connection regions and/or on the plurality of gridlines (specifically on the grid lines, shown in fig. 24), and the conductive component (25) is electrically, through the plurality of second contact regions (41), in contact with the plurality of gridlines (11/13) and the plurality of connection regions (45) on the solar cell other than the plurality of fixing adhesive points (shown in fig. 24, para [0199]-[0207]). Specifically, Jang discloses the connection region (45) may comprise the material of adhesive points (43) or the second contact regions (41).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jang to provide connection regions (45) with any configuration of the material of first contact region (43, isolating) or the second contact region (41, electrical connection) as the court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as Jang discloses choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions i.e., material of first contact region (43) or material of second contact region (41), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to pursue the known options with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses a solar cell structure according to claim 2, wherein each connection region (45) is provided with a fixing adhesive point; or
a part of the connection regions are provided with the fixing adhesive points (see discussion of claim 2), at least a part of the fixing adhesive points are arranged adjacent to each other, and/or
at least a part of the fixing adhesive points are spaced from each other by at least one connection region (shown in fig. 24, i.e., connection regions (45) are adjacent to each other in the second direction and spaced from each other by grid lines (11/13, i.e., first and second connection points), further each connection region (45) is between a first connection region (43, therefore adjacent), and a second connection point (41, therefore spaced apart), see para [0199]-[0207]).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses a solar cell structure according to claim 2, wherein each gridline (11/13) is provided with a fixing adhesive point (43); or
a part of the gridlines (11/13) are provided with the fixing adhesive points (43), at least a part of the fixing adhesive points (43) are arranged adjacent to each other, or
at least a part of the fixing adhesive points (43) are spaced from each other by at least one gridline (11/13) (shown in fig. 24, see para [0199]-[0207]). Specifically, each of the gridlines (11/13) comprise a fixing adhesive point (43) and at least a part of the fixing adhesive points (43) are separated by a grid line in at least the first direction. See discussion of claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses a solar cell structure according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of fixing adhesive points has the same shape and/or different shapes (shown in fig. 24, para [0199]-[0207]).
Jang does not disclose a shape of a fixing adhesive point (43) is a hemispherical shape, a square shape, a shape formed by splicing straight lines, a shape formed by splicing curves, or a shape formed by splicing straight lines and curves. Jang does disclose the fixing adhesive point as rectangular (shown in fig. 24).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rectangular shape of the fixing adhesive point (43) to be anyone of a hemispherical shape, a square shape, a shape formed by splicing straight lines, a shape formed by splicing curves, or a shape formed by splicing straight lines and curves as one skilled in the art would be motivated to utilized a shape that fit with the design of the solar cell. The court has held a change in shape is a matter of engineering choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. See MPEP § 2144.04.
Regarding claim 8, Jang discloses a solar cell structure according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a ratio of a sum of lengths of the first contact regions in the first direction to a length of the solar cell is less than or equal to 50%; and/or a ratio of the sum of lengths of the first contact regions in the first direction to the length of the solar cell is greater than or equal to 1%.
The ratio of the sum of the lengths of the first contact regions to the length of the solar cell is a result effective variable as the adhesive must be sufficient in amount to fix the conductive component and small enough to leave room for the conductive contact of the conductive component to the grid lines.
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2019/0074395) in view of Zhou et al. (US 9,935,222).
Regarding claim 10, Jang discloses a photovoltaic module (see abstract), comprising:
a solar cell string (shown in fig. 1);
wherein the solar cell string comprises a plurality of solar cell structures (shown in fig. 1), and the plurality of solar cell structures are connected to each other in series to form the solar cell string (shown in fig. 1, see para [0007], [0086]-[0089]);
wherein a solar cell structure (shown in fig. 1) comprises:
a solar cell (10) (see fig. 1, para [0085]-[0086]);
an adhesive portion (43, insulating layer) comprising a plurality of fixing adhesive points (shown in fig. 24) which are provided on a surface of the solar cell (10) at intervals in a first direction (see fig. 24, para [0201]); and
a conductive component (25; comprising 21 and/or 23), a surface of the conductive component (25) facing the solar cell being provided with a plurality of first contact regions (43) and a plurality of second contact regions (41, conductive layer),
the plurality of first contact regions and the plurality of second contact regions being arranged alternately in the first direction (shown in fig. 24);
wherein the conductive component (25) is fixed to the plurality of fixing adhesive points (43) through the plurality of first contact regions (43),
the plurality of fixing adhesive points (43, insulating layer) electrically isolate the solar cell (10) from the conductive component (25) in the plurality of first contact regions [0199]-[0207]),
the conductive component (25) is electrically in contact with a region on the solar cell other than the plurality of fixing adhesive points (43) through the plurality of second contact regions (41, conductive layer), to form a discontinuous contact between the conductive component and the solar cell (see para [0085]-[0086], [0199]-[0207]).
Jang does not disclose the photovoltaic module comprises a cover plate, and a backplane, wherein the cover plate and the backplane are provided on both sides of the solar cell string, the cover plate, the backplane, and the solar cell string are encapsulated through an encapsulation process.
Zhou is analogous art to Jang as Zhou is directed to a photovoltaic module (see abstract). Zhou discloses how to form a photovoltaic module from a solar cell string, (see col. 28, lines 57-59). Zhou discloses wherein a photovoltaic module comprises a cover plate, and a backplane, wherein the cover plate and the backplane are provided on both sides of the solar cell string, the cover plate, the backplane, and the solar cell string are encapsulated through an encapsulation process (see col. 28, line 57 through col. 29, line 44).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the solar cell strings of Jang by forming a photovoltaic module comprising a cover plate, and a backplane, wherein the cover plate and the backplane are provided on both sides of the solar cell string, the cover plate, the backplane, and the solar cell string are encapsulated through an encapsulation process as the court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements (the series connected string of solar cells of Jang and the front and back cover plates and encapsulation of Zhou) according to known methods (as disclosed by Zhou) wherein the result is predictable (i.e., a completed photovoltaic module).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts dispersion layer (45) adheres the wire (25) (conductive component) to the substrate and therefore, insulating area (43) does not adhere the wire. The examiner finds this to be a misinterpretation of Jang. First, applicants are reminded that the term comprising is open-ended and features not claimed may be included in the device. The mere existence of 45 has no impact as to whether insulating area (43) fixes the wire to the fixing points.
Fig. 25 is the cross-sectional view of fig. 24. The cross-sectional view clearly shows the insulating material of 43, i.e., the same material that can be used for the adhesive (45), fixing the wire to the fixing point. Further, Jang discloses “[0207] It is preferable, but not required, that an application area of each dispersion layer 45 thus formed is larger than the conductive layer 41 or the insulating layer 43. A stress transferred from the wiring member 25 is transferred to the crossing and breaks the physical connection between the electrode and the wiring member. When the application area of the dispersion layer 45 is larger than the conductive layer 41 or the insulating layer 43, the stress transferred to the dispersion layer 45 is greater than the stress transferred to the crossing. Thus, the stress transferred to the conductive layer 41 or the insulating layer 43 may be further reduced, compared to the related art.” Basically, the only way stress can “break” a physical contact is by the contact being fixed. The examiner points out Jang has several embodiments without utilizing the stress relief of (45), but the existence of (45) has no bearing on the fact that (43) fixes the wire to the fixing area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 2015/0243818), discloses the solar cell string of the independent claims.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721