DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-13, drawn to a topical composition for administration to the oral cavity of a subject and oral absorption therein to treat opioid use disorder or alcohol use disorder, in the reply filed on 07/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/21/2025.
Claims 1-13 are under current examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation-in-part of Application No. 18/236,300, filed 08/21/2023. The earliest support for an anhydrous suspension comprising naltrexone is found in the instant application. The effective filing date for all claims is 02/28/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/28/2025 and 07/15/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the anhydrous suspension further comprising…” should read “wherein the anhydrous suspension further comprises…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a mixed micelle and liposome delivery system for transmucosal delivery of the sumatriptan within the oral cavity" in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation of “the sumatriptan” in the claim as no sumatriptan is previously recited. This further raises issues of indefiniteness as it is unclear if the topical composition is intended to comprise sumatriptan or not. For purposes of examination and applying prior art, it is interpreted that Applicant intended to recite “a mixed micelle and liposome delivery system for transmucosal delivery of the naltrexone within the oral cavity”.
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on indefinite claim 1.
Claims 9 recites “wherein the medium chain triglycerides comprise caprylic/capric triglycerides in an amount between 60% and 90% w/w”. This is indefinite if it is unclear if the claim requires a) caprylic/capric triglycerides in an amount between 60% and 90% w/w with respect to the total amount of medium chain triglycerides or b) caprylic/capric triglycerides in an amount between 60% and 90% w/w with respect to the total amount of the composition. For purposes of examination and applying prior art, it is interpreted that the caprylic/capric triglycerides are in an amount between 60% and 90% w/w with respect to the total amount of the composition.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on indefinite claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staniforth (US 2010/0159007 A1, published June 24, 2010; included on IDS submitted 07/15/2025) in view of Pergolizzi et al. (US 2025/0114370 A1, filed October 8, 2024), hereafter “Pergolizzi” and Amano (US 11,571,385 B2, patented February 7, 2023; included on IDS submitted 07/15/2025).
Staniforth teaches compositions for transmucosal administration intended for buccal and/or sublingual delivery (abstract) that comprise submicron particles comprising an active agent (claim 1); the compositions are particularly suitable for administering therapeutically active agents which have an effect on the central nervous system (abstract). Example drugs include those that are intended to provide rapid or acute treatment of symptoms with a site of action within the central nervous system, and include naltrexone (paragraphs [0064], and [0069]-[0071]). In an embodiment, the composition comprises one or more drugs including naltrexone and is preferably for treating drug dependency (paragraph [0093]). The compositions of Staniforth have the submicron particles dispersed within one or more inert materials which form a matrix (claim 23). The inert material is selected to dissolve or disperse rapidly and is selected from those including non-aqueous media, surfactants, self-emulsifying glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate, and phospholipids, especially those that can aid adhesion to and/or spreading across mucosal surfaces such as phosphatidyl choline and lyso-phosphatidylcholine (paragraph [0040]). As the compositions of Staniforth are taught to have particles dispersed in non-aqueous media, they are interpreted as an anhydrous suspension.
Staniforth does not teach the inclusion of medium chain triglycerides (instant claim 1), or that the medium chain triglycerides comprise caprylic/capric triglycerides (instant claim 2) present in an amount between 60% and 95% w/w (instant claim 3), between 50% and 81% w/w (instant claim 4), or between 60% and 90% w/w (instant claim 9). Staniforth further does not teach the inclusion of peppermint flavor, spearmint flavor, or both (instant claim 7). Staniforth further does not teach that the glyceryl distearate and glyceryl monostearate are each present in an amount between 0.5% and 5% w/w (instant claims 8 and 9).
Pergolizzi teaches administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a respiratory stimulant and an opioid antagonist of naltrexone for the treatment of drug overdose (claims 1, 12, 16, and 18). Administration can be by the buccal route (claim 27) or sublingual route (paragraph [0202]) and suitable dosage forms include suspensions of the active ingredient in an oily vehicle such as an oily ester (paragraphs [0203] and [0210]). In certain embodiments, suitable pharmaceutically acceptable excipients include natural or synthetic triglycerides such as caprylic/capric triglyceride (paragraph [0248]). Pharmaceutically acceptable excipients further include glyceryl monostearate (paragraphs [0222] and [0224]) and glyceryl distearate (paragraph [0238]). Pharmaceutically acceptable excipients may be included individually or cumulatively in a concentration ranging from about 5 wt % to about 99 wt %, or any subrange therein (paragraph [0265]). Pergolizzi further teaches liquid suspensions can include flavorings (paragraph [0210]), and that in certain embodiments, pharmaceutically acceptable excipients include a flavor extract, and exemplary flavoring agents include spearmint (paragraph [0230]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the composition of Staniforth to include the medium-chain triglycerides of caprylic/capric triglycerides in an amount overlapping the claimed ranges and adjust the amount of glyceryl monostearate and glyceryl distearate to each be in a concentration of about 5 wt %, as suggested by Pergolizzi.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to incorporate an oily vehicle and suitable excipients in amounts known to form suspensions for the effective buccal or sublingual delivery of naltrexone, as suggested by Pergolizzi. There is a reasonable expectation of success as the compositions of Staniforth are for the buccal and/or sublingual administration of the therapeutically active agent naltrexone, and comprise an oil solvent (see Staniforth, claim 28). Further, per MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
It would further have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the composition of Staniforth to include the spearmint flavoring agent taught by Pergolizzi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to incorporate a flavoring agent that improves the taste of a buccal or sublingual formulation for the delivery of naltrexone, as suggested by Pergolizzi. There is a reasonable expectation of success as such the compositions of Staniforth are used for buccal and/or sublingual delivery and comprise naltrexone.
Staniforth does not teach that the phosphatidylcholine is present between 0.5% w/w and 10% w/w or that the lysophosphatidylcholine is present between 0.1 and 1% w/w.
Amano teaches a self-emulsifiable composition including a monoacyl phospholipid, a diacyl phospholipid, oils and fats, and a polyhydric alcohol, wherein the content ratio between the monoacyl phospholipid and the diacyl phospholipid is in the range of 1:9 to 9:1 as a mass ratio (abstract). The monoacyl phospholipid is preferably lysophosphatidylcholine (column 5, lines 1-7), and examples of the diacyl phospholipid include phosphatidylcholine (column 5, lines 32-36). The composition can be used as a pharmaceutical product when the water content is less than 5% by mass and a substantially non-water-based composition is obtained (column 8, lines 51-55). A nanoemulsion forms when the self-emulsifiable composition is mixed with an aqueous solution (column 10, line 65-column 11, line 3). Amano further teaches that the total content of the monoacyl phospholipid and the diacyl phospholipid is not particularly limited; however, for example, the total content may be from 0.1 % by mass to 70% by mass based on the total amount of the composition; in this range, a self-emulsifiable composition that can produce a nanoemulsion by a simple operation such as addition of an aqueous solution can be suitably obtained (column 6, lines 1-16). Thus, Amano suggests amounts of lysophosphatidylcholine and phosphatidylcholine overlapping those of the instant claims; as just one example, the ranges of Amano are inclusive of lysophosphatidylcholine present at 0.1% w/w and a weight ratio of 1:9 with phosphatidylcholine, or 0.9% w/w of phosphatidylcholine. Amano further suggests that these amounts can be adjusted to provide the desired self-emulsification properties of a non-water based pharmaceutical composition upon addition of an aqueous solution.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the compositions comprising phosphatidylcholine and lysophosphatidylcholine of Staniforth with the amounts overlapping the claimed ranges suggested by Amano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to use amounts of lysophosphatidylcholine and phosphatidylcholine which allow a pharmaceutical non-water based self-emulsifiable composition to form a nanoemulsion upon addition of water. There is a reasonable expectation of success as the compositions of Staniforth are taught to be non-aqueous and comprise self-emulsifying components; further, the compositions of Staniforth are intended for buccal and/or sublingual delivery (abstract), the mouth being an aqueous environment (paragraph [0024]). Further, per MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” and per MPEP 2144.05 II. A., “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
The limitations of instant claim 1 that the topical composition is “for administration to an oral cavity of a subject and oral absorption therein to treat opioid use disorder (OUD) or alcohol use disorder (AUD)” and “wherein the anhydrous suspension self-emulsifies in an aqueous environment of the oral cavity of the subject to form a mixed micelle and liposome delivery system for transmucosal delivery of the sumatriptan within the oral cavity” recite the intended use of the claimed topical composition and do not structurally limit the composition. The combination of Staniforth in view of Pergolizzi and Amano renders obvious the claimed composition, and arrives at a composition for transmucosal administration (via buccal and/or sublingual delivery) comprising naltrexone and self-emulsifying components that can be used to treat drug dependency. Thus, the compositions of the modified Staniforth are capable of performing the intended use as claimed.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staniforth in view of Pergolizzi and Amano as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-9 above, and further in view of Pauletti et al. (US 2003/0219472 A1, published November 27th, 2003; included on IDS submitted 07/15/2025), hereafter “Pauletti”.
The teachings of the modified Staniforth are described above.
The combination of Staniforth, Pergolizzi, and Amano does not teach the limitation of instant claim 5 that the anhydrous suspension further comprises polycarbophil in an amount between 0.2% and 2% w/w or of instant claim 6 that the anhydrous suspension further comprises polycarbophil in an amount between 0.17% and 2% w/w.
Pauletti teaches compositions for buccal transmucosal delivery of drugs (abstract) which assert a therapeutic effect when delivered to the systemic circulation through the vaginal, nasal, or buccal mucosa (paragraphs [0081]). The compositions can be formulated as a suspension for buccal delivery (paragraph [0096]). The compositions may comprise a mucoadhesive agent to bring the drug into prolonged, close contact with the mucosal surface, and examples of mucoadhesive agents include polycarbophil (paragraph [0066]). The mucoadhesive agent is present between about 0.05-25% by weight, and more preferably about 0.02-7.5% for buccal delivery (paragraph [0071]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include a polycarbophil mucoadhesive agent in an amount overlapping the claimed range, as suggested by Pauletti, in the composition of the modified Staniforth.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to bring the drug into prolonged, close contact with the buccal mucosa, as suggested by Pauletti. There is a reasonable expectation of success as and the compositions of the modified Staniforth are used for transmucosal administration (via buccal and/or sublingual delivery) of active agents. Staniforth further teaches that promotion or enhancement of mucosal adhesion can improve transmucosal delivery of an active agent (paragraph [0014]), and the inclusion of macromolecules to aid adhesion to mucosal surfaces (paragraph [0040]). Further, per MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staniforth in view of Pergolizzi and Amano as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-9 above, and further in view of Lewis (US 4,935,428, patented June 19th, 1990).
The teachings of the modified Staniforth are described above. Regarding instant claim 11, as set forth above, the combined teachings of Staniforth, Pergolizzi, and Amano arrive at concentrations of phosphatidylcholine and lysophosphatidylcholine overlapping the claimed ranges. Particularly, Amano suggests amounts of lysophosphatidylcholine and phosphatidylcholine overlapping those of the instant claims; as just one example, the ranges of Amano are inclusive of lysophosphatidylcholine present at 0.3% w/w and a weight ratio of 1:9 with phosphatidylcholine, or 2.7% w/w of phosphatidylcholine. Amano further suggests that these amounts can be adjusted to provide the desired self-emulsification properties of a composition. Per MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Regarding instant claim 12, Staniforth further teaches the inclusion of magnesium stearate in the inert material of the compositions for transmucosal administration of naltrexone (paragraph [0040]). Pergolizzi further teaches the inclusion of fillers such as microcrystalline cellulose (paragraph [0240]). The formulations of Staniforth are taught to include inert materials which form a matrix, and it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to incorporate the filler of microcrystalline known to be used in buccal or sublingual suspension drug delivery systems for the delivery of naltrexone, as taught by Pergolizzi.
Regarding instant claim 13, Staniforth further teaches the inclusion of agents to provide rapid disintegration and release of the submicron particles, including cross-linked sodium carboxymethylcellulose (croscarmellose) (paragraph [0051]). Pergolizzi further teaches the inclusion of lubricants/release agents such as colloidal silica (paragraph [0233]). As the formulations of Staniforth are taught to include release agents, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to incorporate the lubricant/release agent of colloidal silica known to be used in buccal or sublingual suspension drug delivery systems for the delivery of naltrexone, as taught by Pergolizzi.
The combination of Staniforth, Pergolizzi, and Amano does not teach the limitation of instant claim 10 that the naltrexone is present in an amount between about 3 mg/mL and about 15 mg/mL.
Lewis teaches a sublingual pharmaceutical composition for maintenance treatment of opiate addicts comprising buprenorphine and an amount of naltrexone sufficient to substantially attenuate the euphorigenic effect of buprenorphine (abstract, claim 3). Lewis exemplifies a sublingual solution containing 10 mg/mL of naltrexone (column 4, Example 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to adjust the amount of naltrexone in the composition of the modified Staniforth to 10 mg/mL, as suggested by Lewis. This could be achieved by routine optimization in order to achieve an amount of naltrexone for sublingual delivery that attenuates the effects of euphorigenic drugs in the treatment of opiate addictions, as suggested by Lewis.
There is a reasonable expectation of success as the composition of the modified Staniforth is preferably for treating drug dependency and can include buprenorphine (Staniforth, paragraph [0093]). Per MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” and per MPEP 2144.05 II. A., “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/067,176 in view of Staniforth (US 2010/0159007 A1, published June 24, 2010; included on IDS submitted 07/15/2025) and Pergolizzi et al. (US 2025/0114370 A1, filed October 8, 2024), hereafter “Pergolizzi”.
Both the instant claims and those of copending Application No. 19/067,176 recite a topical composition for administration to an oral cavity of a subject and oral absorption therein comprising an anhydrous suspension comprising an active ingredient, medium chain triglycerides comprising caprylic/capric triglycerides, phosphatidylcholine, lysophosphatidylcholine, glyceryl distearate, glyceryl monostearate, polycarbophil, peppermint flavor, spearmint flavor, or both, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, and croscarmellose sodium. Both sets of claims recite that the anhydrous suspension self-emulsifies in an aqueous environment of the oral cavity of the subject to form a mixed micelle and liposome delivery system for transmucosal delivery of sumatriptan. Both sets of claims recite overlapping amounts of active ingredient, caprylic/capric triglycerides, phosphatidylcholine, lysophosphatidylcholine, glyceryl distearate, glyceryl monostearate and polycarbophil.
The claims of copending Application No. 19/067,176 differ from those of the instant claims in that the anhydrous suspension requires the active ingredient of sumatriptan, while the anhydrous suspension of the instant claims requires naltrexone. The claims of copending Application No. 19/067,176 further do not require that the anhydrous suspension comprises colloidal silicon dioxide, as required by instant claim 13.
Staniforth teaches compositions for transmucosal administration intended for buccal and/or sublingual delivery (abstract) that comprise submicron particles comprising an active agent (claim 1). The composition can comprise one or more anti-migraine agents such as sumatriptan (paragraph [0087]; claim 42) and can comprise one or more drugs for treating drug dependency including naltrexone (paragraph [0093]). The compositions of Staniforth have the submicron particles dispersed within one or more inert materials which form a matrix (claim 23). The inert material is selected to dissolve or disperse rapidly and is selected from those including non-aqueous media, surfactants, self-emulsifying glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate, and phospholipids, especially those that can aid adhesion to and/or spreading across mucosal surfaces such as phosphatidyl choline, lyso-phosphatidylcholine (paragraph [0040]). As the compositions of Staniforth are taught to have particles dispersed in non-aqueous media, they are interpreted as an anhydrous suspension.
Pergolizzi teaches administration of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a respiratory stimulant and an opioid antagonist of naltrexone for the treatment of drug overdose (claims 1, 12, 16, and 18). Administration can be by the buccal route (claim 27) or sublingual route (paragraph [0202]) and suitable dosage forms include suspensions of the active ingredient in an oily vehicle such as an oily ester (paragraphs [0203] and [0210]). Pergolizzi further teaches the inclusion of lubricants/release agents such as colloidal silica (paragraph [0233]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the sumatriptan recited in the claims of copending Application No. 19/067,176 with the naltrexone taught by Staniforth. Simple substitution of one active agent known for delivery via transmucosal administration in an inert material comprising non-aqueous media, surfactants, self-emulsifying glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate, phosphatidylcholine and lysophosphatidylcholine for another such agent is within the purview of the skilled artisan and would yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 B).
It would further have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to incorporate the colloidal silicon dioxide, suggested by Pergolizzi, into the composition of copending Application No. 19/067,176. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to incorporate an excipient that achieves a lubricant/releasing effect to suspensions for buccal or sublingual delivery of a suspension of active pharmaceutical ingredients.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/067,198 in view of Staniforth (US 2010/0159007 A1, published June 24, 2010; included on IDS submitted 07/15/2025).
Both the instant claims and those of copending Application No. 19/067,198 recite a topical composition for administration to an oral cavity of a subject and oral absorption therein comprising an anhydrous suspension comprising an active ingredient, medium chain triglycerides comprising caprylic/capric triglycerides, phosphatidylcholine, lysophosphatidylcholine, glyceryl distearate, glyceryl monostearate, polycarbophil, peppermint flavor, spearmint flavor, or both, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, and colloidal silicon dioxide. Both sets of claims recite that the anhydrous suspension self-emulsifies in an aqueous environment of the oral cavity of the subject to form a mixed micelle and liposome delivery system for transmucosal delivery of sumatriptan. Both sets of claims recite overlapping amounts of active ingredient, caprylic/capric triglycerides, phosphatidylcholine, lysophosphatidylcholine, glyceryl distearate, glyceryl monostearate and polycarbophil.
The claims of copending Application No. 19/067,198 differ from those of the instant claims in that the anhydrous suspension requires the active ingredient of tadalafil or vardenafil, while the while the anhydrous suspension of the instant claims requires naltrexone. The claims of copending Application No. 19/067,198 further do not require that the anhydrous suspension comprises croscarmellose sodium, as required by instant claim 13.
Staniforth teaches compositions for transmucosal administration intended for buccal and/or sublingual delivery (abstract) that comprise submicron particles comprising an active agent (claim 1). The composition can comprise one or more drugs for treating sexual dysfunction including tadalafil and vardenafil (paragraph [0094]) and can comprise one or more drugs for treating drug dependency including naltrexone (paragraph [0093]). The compositions of Staniforth have the submicron particles dispersed within one or more inert materials which form a matrix (claim 23). The inert material is selected to dissolve or disperse rapidly and is selected from those including non-aqueous media, surfactants, self-emulsifying glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate, and phospholipids, especially those that can aid adhesion to and/or spreading across mucosal surfaces such as phosphatidyl choline, lyso-phosphatidylcholine (paragraph [0040]). As the compositions of Staniforth are taught to have particles dispersed in non-aqueous media, they are interpreted as an anhydrous suspension. Staniforth further teaches the inclusion of agents to provide rapid disintegration and release of the submicron particles, including cross-linked sodium carboxymethylcellulose (croscarmellose) (paragraph [0051]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the tadalafil and vardenafil recited in the claims of copending Application No. 19/067,198 with the naltrexone taught by Staniforth. Simple substitution of one active agent known for delivery via transmucosal administration in an inert material comprising non-aqueous media, surfactants, self-emulsifying glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate, phosphatidylcholine and lysophosphatidylcholine for another such agent is within the purview of the skilled artisan and would yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 B).
It would further have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to incorporate the sodium croscarmellose, suggested by Staniforth, into the composition of copending Application No. 19/067,198. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to incorporate an excipient that provides rapid release of the active agent to compositions for buccal or sublingual delivery of a suspension of active pharmaceutical ingredients.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/J.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1611