DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibuya et al. (US 20200132903).
Regarding claim 1, Shibuya discloses (Figs. 1-11) a polarizer, comprising: a transparent substrate (11, 21, 31, 51, 61); and lattice protrusions (combination of 12, 13A, 13B, 13C) that are arranged on one surface of the transparent substrate at a pitch shorter than a wavelength of light in an allocated band and that extend in a predetermined direction (section 0007), wherein the lattice protrusions each comprise, in order from the transparent substrate: a reflective layer (12); a dielectric layer (13A); and an absorption layer (13B); and wherein a water repellent film on which areas treated with a plurality of different water-repellent treatment agents (14, 15) exist non-uniformly is formed on surfaces of the lattice protrusions and a surface of the transparent substrate (11, 21, 31, 51, 61) on which the lattice protrusions are arranged.
Regarding claim 2, Shibuya discloses (Figs. 1-11) the plurality of different water-repellent treatment agents comprise a first water-repellent treatment agent (15) that comprises a perfluoroalkyl group (section 0042), and a second water-repellent treatment agent (14; cryolite, silicon are examples of material that is water repellent; section 0039) that does not comprise a perfluoroalkyl group.
Regarding claim 4, Shibuya discloses (Figs. 1-11) a method of manufacturing the polarizer according to claim 1, the method comprising: stacking, in order from the transparent substrate (11, 21, 31, 51, 61): a reflective layer (12); a dielectric layer (13A); and an absorption layer (13B), on one surface of the transparent substrate to form a stack; forming the lattice protrusions by selectively etching the stack (Fig. 3; sections 0051-0052); and treating surfaces of the lattice protrusions and a surface of the transparent substrate on which the lattice protrusions are formed, with a plurality of different water-repellent treatment agents (14, 15), to form the water repellent film (Fig. 3; sections 0053-0054).
Regarding claim 5, Shibuya discloses (Figs. 1-11; in particular Fig. 1) a part of the surfaces of the lattice protrusions and the surface of the transparent substrate (11, 21, 31, 51, 61) on which the lattice protrusions are formed are alternately treated with the plurality of different water-repellent treatment agents (14, 15) to form the water repellent film (central portion of Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Shibuya discloses (Figs. 1-11) an optical device, comprising the polarizer (section 0003; liquid crystal projectors).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art does not disclose or suggest the polarizer of claim 3, in particular the limitations of the first water-repellent treatment agent is trichloro(1H,1H,2H,2H-perfluoro-n-octyl)silane, and the second water-repellent treatment agent is dimethyldichlorosilane.
Conclusion
/CHARLES S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871