DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to the Application No.:19/067,187 filed on 02/28/2025 (Foreign Priority Date: 09/01/2022).
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 (Foreign Priority Date: 09/01/2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2026; 06/24/2026; 05/20/2026; 08/15/2025; 03/21/2025 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bell, US 20150070337.
Claim 1:
Bell discloses a method (See Bell Abstract), applied to an electronic device (See Bell Abstract; Figure 4, Item 10; Paragraphs 0006-0007), wherein the electronic device comprises a display (See Bell Abstract; Figure 4, Item 12; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 0021), and the method comprises:
obtaining environment information of an ambient light (See Bell Figure 4, Item 14; Paragraphs 0021-0023), wherein the environment information comprises luminance of the ambient light and a color temperature of the ambient light (See Bell Figure 4, Item 14; Paragraphs 0021-0023);
determining display information of the ambient light based on the environment information (See Bell Figure 4, Item 12; Paragraphs 0021-0023), wherein the display information (See Bell Figure 4, Item 12; Paragraphs 0021-0023) comprises a luminance range (See Bell Paragraphs 0050) corresponding to the luminance of the ambient light (See Bell Figure 4, Item 14; Paragraphs 0021-0023) and a color temperature range corresponding to the color temperature of the ambient light (See Bell Figure 4, Item 14; Paragraphs 0021-0023; 0059);
and adjusting display luminance (See Bell Paragraph 00571) and a display color temperature of the display based on the display information (See Bell Abstract; Figure 4, Item 12; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 0021).
Claim 2:
Bell discloses wherein the luminance range (See Bell Paragraphs 0050) corresponding to the luminance of the ambient light is greater than or equal to a first luminance threshold and less than or equal to a second luminance threshold (See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046).
Claim 3:
Bell discloses wherein the color temperature range (See Bell Figure 4, Item 14; Paragraphs 0021-0023; 0059) corresponding to the color temperature of the ambient light is greater than or equal to a first color temperature threshold and less than or equal to a second color temperature threshold (See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046).
Claims 11-13:
Claims 11-13 are rejected on the same basis as claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell, US 20150070337 in view of Holub, US 20060280360.
Claim 4:
Bell failed to disclose a multiplication sign. Holub discloses this feature in Figure 9B and Paragraph 0167. It would have obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Bell by the teachings of Holub to enable improved outputting of images onto a screen, more effectively (See Holub Summary of Invention). Additionally, both of the references teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, color image rendering. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As modified:
The combination of Bell and Holub discloses the following:
wherein the first luminance threshold satisfies (See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046): the first luminance threshold=0.25*the luminance of the ambient light (See Holub Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046), wherein * is a multiplication sign (See Holub Figure 9B; Paragraph 0167).
Claim 5:
The combination of Bell and Holub discloses the following:
wherein the second luminance threshold satisfies (See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046): the second luminance threshold=0.35*the luminance of the ambient light+100 (See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046), wherein * is a multiplication sign, and + is a plus sign (See Holub Figure 9B; Paragraph 0167).
Claim 6:
The combination of Bell and Holub discloses the following:
wherein the first color temperature threshold satisfies(See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046): the first color temperature threshold=the color temperature of the ambient light-180 (See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046), wherein - is a minus sign (See Holub Figure 9B; Paragraph 0167).
Claim 7:
The combination of Bell and Holub discloses the following:
wherein the second color temperature threshold satisfies (See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046): the second color temperature threshold=1.2*the color temperature of the ambient light+200 (See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046), wherein * is a multiplication sign, and + is a plus sign (See Holub Figure 9B; Paragraph 0167).
Claim 8:
The combination of Bell and Holub discloses the following:
wherein the method further comprises: performing color gamut mapping (See Holub Paragraphs 0108; 0134-0140) on a to-be-displayed image of the display based on a target three-dimensional mapping table (See Holub Paragraph 0137), wherein the target three-dimensional mapping table (See Holub Paragraph 0137) comprises a plurality of colors and mapped colors corresponding to the plurality of colors (See Holub Paragraphs 0108; 0134-0140).
Claim 9:
The combination of Bell and Holub discloses the following:
wherein performing the color gamut mapping (See Holub Paragraphs 0108; 0140) on the to-be-displayed image of the display based on the target three-dimensional mapping table (See Holub Paragraphs 0108; 0134-0140) comprises:
determining, in the target three-dimensional mapping table (See Holub Paragraphs 0108; 0134-0140), a manned color corresponding to a color of each pixel in the to-be-displayed image (See Holub Paragraphs 0108; 0134-0140); and mapping the color of each pixel in the to-be-displayed image to the mapped color (See Holub Paragraphs 0108; 0134-0140).
Claim 10:
The combination of Bell and Holub discloses the following:
wherein the target three-dimensional mapping table (See Holub Paragraphs 0108; 0134-0140) comprises a first color and a first mapped color corresponding to the first color, wherein, under a same ambient light (See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046), a color difference between the first color displayed on the display and the first mapped color displayed on a paper color card is less than or equal to a color difference threshold (See Bell Paragraphs 0024; 0042; 0046), and wherein the paper color card comprises at least one of a Pantone printing color card, an uncoated color card, or a coated color card (See Holub Paragraph 0117).
Claims 14-20:
Claims 14-20 are rejected on the same basis as claims 4-10.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10275012 relates to controlling the driving of a display based on luminance outputted by the display.
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 September 26, 2026
1 Bell Paragraph 0057 recites “ adjusting its backlight.”