Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (US PgPub #2023/0242245) in view of Wang (CN Patent #111261327) and Watanabe (JP Patent #H11211951).
For Claims 1-2 and 10, figures 1a-1b and 8 of Edwards ‘245 disclose an aircraft comprising a wing (3), the wing comprising a fixed wing (5) and a wing tip device (6) moveably mounted at a joint (8) at the end of the fixed wing, the wing tip device being moveable about the joint between a flight configuration for use during flight, and a ground configuration for use during ground-based operations, in which ground configuration the wing tip device is moved relative to the fixed wing such that the span of the wing is reduced, wherein the aircraft comprises a wiring harness (43) extending between the fixed wing and the wing tip device, the wiring harness comprising a plurality of conductors and being arranged to transmit electrical power to the wing tip device.
While Edwards ‘245 discloses a wiring harness, it is silent about it having a protective sleeve formed of fluorosilicone polymer. However, the abstract of Wang ‘327 teaches a sleeve formed from fluorosilicone polymer to form an ultra-soft, high temperature resistant protective layer. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Edwards ‘245 with the protective sleeve of Wang ‘327. The motivation to do so would be to provide a high temperature resistant layer.
While Edwards ‘245 in view of Wang ‘327 teach a wiring harness with a protective sleeve, it is silent about the sleeve having a slit extending along its length so as to allow the removal of the sleeve from the wiring harness. However, figure 1 of Watanabe ‘951 teaches a sleeve (4) having a slit (5) along the length of the sleeve so as to allow the protective sleeve to be deformed to allow the sleeve to be removed from the wiring harness (3). Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Edwards ‘245 in view of Wang ‘327 with the slit in the sleeve as taught by Watanabe ‘951. The motivation to do so would be to provide a protective sleeve that can be easily removed for maintenance.
For Claim 3, while Edwards ‘245 is silent about a specific hardness of the sleeve. The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to design a protective sleeve with a specific hardness so as to protect the harness based one expected conditions. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Edwards ‘245 to have a specific hardness on the Shore A hardness scale to provide proper protection to the harness based on expected conditions.
For Claim 4, the combination of Edwards ‘245 and Wang ‘327 disclose a first end proximal the fixed wing and a second end proximal the wing tip device such that the harness modified with the sleeve would extend over a length of the wiring harness spanning the joint.
For Claim 5, figure 3b of Edwards ‘245 discloses that the movement of the wing tip in the ground configuration exposes the wiring to the external environment.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (US PgPub #2023/0242245) in view of Wang (CN Patent #111261327) and Watanabe (JP Patent #H11211951) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Perrier (US PgPub #2020/0235555).
For Claim 7, while Edwards ‘245 discloses that the wiring harness (43) is a first and a second wiring harness extending between the fixed wing and the wing tip device, and wherein the position of the first channel is fixed, relative to the second channel, such that the first and the second wiring harnesses are held apart, it is silent about the protective sleeve comprising a first and second channel. However, the figures of Perrier ‘555 teach a wiring harness (11) having a first (13) and second wiring harness (12), the second wiring harness comprising a plurality of conductors (2), wherein the protective sleeve comprises a first channel in which the first wiring harness is received and a second channel in which the second wiring harness is received. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Edwards ‘245 in view of Wang ‘327 with the first and second channel protective sleeve of Perrier ‘555. The motivation to do so would be to provide a protective sleeve for two wire harnesses.
For Claims 8-9, while Edwards ‘245 is silent about one harness being high voltage and the other being low voltage, the figures of Perrier ‘555 teach that one harness (12) teaches a larger cable bundle (F2) then the other harness’ (13) cable bundle (F3). While this variation in cable bundles size is taught it is silent about specifically having a high voltage conductor and a low voltage conductor on respective harnesses. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to provide different voltages as they are needed and the above references teach that it is known to provide different sized conductors in the same system. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Edwards ‘245 with the known different voltage systems.
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (US PgPub #2023/0242245) in view of Mourieras (US PgPub #2021/0344179) and Wang (CN Patent #111261327).
For Claims 12-13, figures 1a-1b and 8 of Edwards ‘245 disclose a fixed wing (5), the wing and a wing tip device (6) moveably mounted at a joint (8) at the end of the fixed wing, the wing tip device being moveable about the joint between a flight configuration for use during flight, and a ground configuration for use during ground-based operations, in which ground configuration the wing tip device is moved relative to the fixed wing such that the span of the wing is reduced, wherein the wing assembly comprises a wiring harness (43) extending between the fixed wing and the wing tip device, the wiring harness comprising a plurality of conductors and being arranged to transmit electrical power to the wing tip device.
While Edwards ‘245 teaches a wiring harness having two wiring lines, it is silent about having a protective sleeve with a first and second channel that are spaced apart from each other with a webbing portion between to separate the channels and having a slit extending along a length of the first and second channel. However, figures 3 and 8-9 of Mourieras ‘179 teaches a protective sleeve (10) having a first and second channel (16) that are substantially parallel and are spaced apart from each other by a webbing portion (17), a slit (14) extending along a length of the first and second channel. Therefore if would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Edwards ‘245 with a protective sleeve as taught by Mourieras ‘179. The motivation to do so would be to provide a sleeve to protect the cables from damage.
While Edwards ‘245 in view of Mourieras ‘179 discloses a wiring harness having a protective sleeve it is silent about it formed of fluorosilicone polymer. However, the abstract of Wang ‘327 teaches a sleeve formed from fluorosilicone polymer to form an ultra-soft, high temperature resistant protective layer. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Edwards ‘245 in view of Mourieras ‘179 with the protective sleeve of Wang ‘327. The motivation to do so would be to provide a high temperature resistant layer.
For Claim 14, while Edwards ‘245 is silent about a specific hardness of the sleeve. The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to design a protective sleeve with a specific hardness so as to protect the harness based one expected conditions. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Edwards ‘245 to have a specific hardness on the Shore A hardness scale to provide proper protection to the harness based on expected conditions.
For Claim 15, the combination of Edwards ‘245, Moureiras ‘179 and Wang ‘327 disclose a first end proximal the fixed wing and a second end proximal the wing tip device such that the harness modified with the sleeve would extend over a length of the wiring harness spanning the joint.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-15, filed 10/5/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 103 and newly added claim 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Watanabe ‘951 and Moutieras ‘179 which teach the newly amended claim language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 which disclose similar sleeves.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 10/22/2026