DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-7 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. (US 20180312415 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20180312415 A1).
Considering claim 1, Liu discloses a bipolar membrane electrodialysis device comprising: one or more anion exchange membranes (6) [0062]; one or more bipolar membranes (1, 2) ([0058], [00059]); and a pair of electrodes comprising a positive electrode (4) [0060] and a negative electrode (5) [0061]; and an electrolyte stream (A) passing through a channel between at least one electrode of the pair of electrodes and an adjacent membrane (Fig. 2).
Considering claim 2, Liu discloses each bipolar membrane of the one or more bipolar membranes comprises an anionic material (1) [0057] and a cationic material (2) [0058].
Considering claim 3, Liu discloses the one or more anion exchange membrane (6) and the one or more bipolar membranes (1, 2) form an alternating stack sandwiched between the positive electrode (4) and the negative electrode (5) of the pair of electrodes (Fig. 2).
Considering claim 4, Liu discloses the bipolar membrane electrodialysis device is configured to remove silica from a desalinated water stream [0093].
Considering claim 5, Liu discloses an acid chamber and an alkaline/base chamber (Fig. 2 and [0066], [0067]).
Considering claim 6, Liu discloses a product inlet stream (B) of the bipolar membrane electrodialysis device flows through the alkaline/base chamber [0067].
Considering claim 7, Liu discloses a brine inlet stream (B) of the bipolar membrane electrodialysis device flows through the acid chamber ([0066] and Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WOJCIECH HASKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1794