Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment filed 6/18/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 4, 7-10, 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group.
The previous rejection of claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11, 12, 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
The previous rejection of claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 11, 12, 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kundu et al (Can. J. Chem. Vol. 97, 2019) is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
The previous rejection of claims 1-3, 6, 11, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (J. Appl. Phys. 128, 085501 (2020)) is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11, 12, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites a composition comprising an organic semiconductor, and a metal salt having the formula MX, and wherein the ratio of M to X in the composition is less than about 1.00. These recitations were not described in the specification. According to the specification, organic semiconductor solutions contain an organic semiconductor (spiro-OMeTAD, P3HT, PBDB-T, PTAA, MEH-PPV) and a metal salt such as LiTFSI, wherein the ratio of Li:TFSI is 1. When the organic semiconductor:LiTFSI (spiro-OMeTAD:LiTFSI blend) solution (FIG. 19, first step) is bubbled with CO2 gas under UV light, the photoexcited electrons in the spiro-OMeTAD LUMO level are captured by the CO2. The negatively charged (or radical anion) CO2 can now react with the lithium ions (Weber, J. M. Int Rev Phys Chem 2014, 33, 489-519; Liu, B. et al. Energ Environ Sci 2019, 12, 887-922), producing Li2CO3 and carbon species (FIG. 19, second step). During the reaction, spiro-OMeTAD can be oxidized into radical cations and/or diradical dications, and are stabilized by TFSI−, forming stabilized radicals (FIG. 19, third step), resulting in p-type doping (para 0114). Based on these disclosures, the solution before reaction contains an organic semiconductor and LiTFSI, wherein the ratio of Li:TFSI is 1, while the solution after reaction contains TFSI-stabilized organic semiconductor, metal carbonate CO3- and carbon species and no longer contain LiTFSI. Therefore, the limitation of “the ratio of M to X in the composition is less than about 1.00” is not supported.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11, 12, 18-20 are rejected as being dependent of a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 11, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abate et al (Phys.Chem. Chem. Phys., 2013, 15, 2572).
Regarding claim 1-3, 6, Abate discloses a composition (Spiro-OMeTAD Li-TFSI film) comprising an organic semiconductor (2,20,7,70-tetrakis-(N,N-di-p-methoxyphenylamine)9,90-spirobifluorene (spiro-OMeTAD) and a metal salt LiTFSI. Lithium oxides (Li2O and Li2O2) in form of white powder precipitates formed during the reaction will cause a reduction of the Li content in the LiTFSI, and therefore, the ratio of Li:TFSI is less than 1. See pages 2575-2576.
Regarding claim 11, Abate discloses the organic semiconductor comprises a semiconducting polymer (spiro-OMeTAD). See pages 437, Experimental.
Regarding claim 18, Abate discloses a doped organic semiconductor material comprising the composition of claim 1 (LiTFSI-doped spiro-OMeTAD) (See the Abstract and pages 2575-2576).
Regarding claim 19, Abate discloses a hole transport layer comprising the doped organic semiconductor material of claim 18 (See the Abstract and pages 2575-2576).
Regarding claim 20, Abate discloses a photovoltaic device (solid-state dye-sensitized solar cells) comprising the doped organic semiconductor material of claim 18 (See the Abstract and pages 2575-2576).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abate et al (Phys.Chem. Chem. Phys., 2013, 15, 2572) as applied above, further in view of Yang et al. (Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys.,2012,14,779–789).
Abate discloses a composition (Spiro-OMeTAD Li-TFSI film) as described above. Abate discloses metal salts such as Li-TFSI also are used to enhance the hole transport properties in polythiophene derivatives and polyphenylenevinylene derivatives (page 2572). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to use polythiophene derivatives, including poly(3-hexylthiophene) P3HT as taught by Yang (abstract) in the composition of Abate, with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing efficient solid-state dye-sensitized solar cells. Selecting a polymer known to be used as a hole transport material and using it together with another hole transport material is simply a matter of combining equivalents known for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/18/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
8/28/2026