Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2025 has been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 2/28/2025 are approved by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11, 12, 18-20) in the reply filed on 10/9/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 7-10, 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11, 12, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the formula M+X- without reciting what M is.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims 2-3, 5, 6, 11, 12, 18-20 are rejected as being depended on a rejected claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the method of claim 11" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 11, 12, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kundu et al (Can. J. Chem. Vol. 97, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, 2, and 6, Kundu discloses a composition comprising an organic semiconductor (poly(3-hexylthiophene (P3HT), poly(3-hexyloxythiophene) (P3OHT), poly(3-(3′,3′,4′,4′,5′,5′,6′,6′,6′-nonafluorohexyl-1′-oxy)thiophene) (P3OFHT), poly(3-dodecyloxythiophene) (P3ODDT), and poly(3-(2-(2-(2-methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)ethoxy)thiophene) (P3OEGT)), a metal salt having a formular M+X-, wherein X- is a monoanionic species, and wherein the ratio of M to X in the composition is less than about 1.00 (LiTFSI). See pages 436-438, Experimental, Results and Discussion.
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 12, Kundu discloses the organic semiconductor comprises a semiconducting polymer (poly(3-hexylthiophene (P3HT). See pages 437, Experimental.
Regarding claim 18, Kundu discloses a doped organic semiconductor material comprising the composition of claim 1 (A solution of lithium-bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (Li-TFSI) (28 mg Li-TFSI dissolved in 1 mL acetonitrile) was used as a dopant, See pages 437, Experimental).
Regarding claim 19, Kundu discloses a hole transport layer (HTL) comprising the doped organic semiconductor material of claim 18 (See pages 437, Experimental).
Regarding claim 20, Kundu discloses a photovoltaic device (solar cell) comprising the doped organic semiconductor material of claim 18 (See pages 437, Experimental).
Claims 1-3, 6, 11, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (J. Appl. Phys. 128, 085501 (2020)).
Regarding claim 1-3 and 6, Li discloses a composition comprising an organic semiconductor (2,20,7,70-tetrakis-(N,N-di-p-methoxyphenylamine)9,90-spirobifluorene (spiro-OMeTAD) and a metal salt having a formular M+X-, wherein X- is a monoanionic species, and wherein the ratio of M to X in the composition is less than about 1.00 (LiTFSI). See the Abstract, pages 1-2, Experimental.
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses the organic semiconductor comprises a semiconducting polymer (spiro-OMeTAD). See pages 437, Experimental.
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses a doped organic semiconductor material comprising the composition of claim 1 (LiTFSI-doped spiro-OMeTAD), See the Abstract and Experimental).
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses a hole transport layer comprising the doped organic semiconductor material of claim 18 (See the Abstract and Experimental).
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses a photovoltaic device (perovskite solar cell) comprising the doped organic semiconductor material of claim 18 (See the Abstract and Experimental).
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
1/8/2026