Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “top plate” of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the control module” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 13-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 102210193).
Regarding claim-1. Kim discloses an automated roller module (100, Fig.1) comprising:
a module frame (defined at 200, Fig.1); and
an array of a plurality of pucks (200, Fig.1) attached to the module frame, each of the plurality of pucks (200) comprising:
a support frame (260, Fig.2),
a roller (230)/driving motor (240, Fig.2) combination comprising a convey roller (220, Fig.2) rotatably connected to the support frame (260) and rotatable about a driving axis parallel to an upper plane (Fig.2), and
a driving motor (240) connected to the support frame and operatively connected to the convey roller (220) and configured to drive rotation of the convey roller, and
a swivel motor (270, Fig.2) connected to the module frame and rotatably connected to the support frame and configured to drive a rotation of the support frame with respect to the module frame about a swivel axis normal to the upper plane.
Regarding claim-2. Kim discloses further comprising: a controller (42 of 40, Fig.4) operatively and independently coupled to the driving motor (240) of each of the plurality of pucks (200) and operatively and independently coupled to the swivel motor of each of the plurality of pucks (Fig.4, and 6; [0044-0060]);
wherein the controller (40) comprises a memory storing instructions (implicitly and well known in the art) and a processor (implicitly and well known in the art) configured to execute the instructions and thereby independently control a rotational speed and a direction of the convey roller of each of the plurality of pucks about the driving axis and independently control a rotation of the convey roller of each of the plurality of pucks about the corresponding swivel axis (Fig.4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-3. Kim discloses wherein the control module (40) is configured to dynamically control the swivel motors (270) of the plurality of pucks (200) to form at least a first conveyance vector field and a second conveyance vector field different from the first conveyance vector field (Fig.3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-5. Kim discloses wherein: the module frame comprises a top plate (Fig.1); and each of the plurality of pucks (200) is attached to the module frame such that the convey roller (220) of each of the plurality of pucks protrudes above the top plate and extends below the top plate, such that the rotation of the support frame with respect to the module frame comprises rotation of the convey roller with respect to the top plate about the swivel axis (Fig.1-2).
Regarding claim-6. Kim discloses a sortation system (100, Fig.1) comprising: at least one automated roller module (100, Fig.1) comprising: a module frame (defined at 200); and an array of a plurality of pucks (200) attached to the module frame, each of the plurality of pucks comprising: a support frame (260), a roller (230)/driving motor (240) combination comprising a convey roller (220) rotatably connected to the support frame and rotatable about a driving axis parallel to an upper plane, and a driving motor (240) connected to the support frame and operatively connected to the convey roller (220) and configured to drive rotation of the convey roller, and a swivel motor (270) connected to the module frame and rotatably connected to the support frame and configured to drive a rotation of the support frame with respect to the module frame about a swivel axis normal to the upper plane (Fig.1-2); and
a control module (42 of 40, Fig.4) operatively and independently coupled to the driving motor of each of the plurality of pucks and operatively and independently coupled to the swivel motor of each of the plurality of pucks (Fig.3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-7. Kim discloses further comprising: an input conveyor element (10, Fig.1) disposed adjacent to the at least one automated roller module (100); and an output conveyor element (20) disposed adjacent to the at least one automated roller module (Fig.1, [0026-0030]);
wherein the control module (40) is operatively coupled to each of the input conveyor element and the output conveyor element and is configured to drive the input conveyor element to direct one or more items onto the at least one automated roller module (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-8. Kim discloses wherein the control module (40) comprises a memory storing instructions and a processor (implicitly and well known in the art) configured to execute the instructions and thereby independently control a rotational speed and a direction of the convey roller (220) of each of the plurality of pucks (200) about the driving axis and independently control a rotation of the convey roller of each of the plurality of pucks about the corresponding swivel axis (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-9. Kim discloses wherein the control module (40) is configured to dynamically control the swivel motors (270) of the plurality of pucks (200) to form at least a first conveyance vector field and a second conveyance vector field different from the first conveyance vector field (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-10. Kim discloses further comprising: a monitor system (30, Fig.4) communicatively coupled to the control module, the monitor system comprising at least one sensing element (scanner) positioned and configured to obtain data of one or more items in the sortation system and transmit the data to the control module; wherein the processor of the control module is further configured to control the driving motor and the swivel motor of each of the plurality of pucks based on the data from the monitor system (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-13. Kim discloses an automated sortation method of a sortation system (See claim-6 Rejection) comprising a plurality of conveyor elements (Fig.1), at least one automated roller module comprising an array of a plurality of pucks (200), each of the plurality of pucks comprising a convey roller (220) rotatable about a driving axis in an upper plane and a swivel motor (270) configured to rotate the driven motor in the upper plane about a swivel axis normal to the upper plane; the method comprising:
controlling an input conveyor element of the plurality of conveyor elements to thereby deposit one or more items onto the automated roller module; controlling the automated roller module to form a first conveyance vector field by: independently driving the convey roller of each of the plurality of pucks, and independently driving the swivel motor of each of the plurality of pucks; and controlling the automated roller module to form a second conveyance vector field, different from the first conveyance vector field by: independently driving the convey roller of each of the plurality of pucks, and independently driving the swivel motor of each of the plurality of pucks (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-14. Kim discloses further comprising: at least one sensing element (30) of the sortation system obtaining data of the one or more items; and performing the controlling the automated roller module to form a first conveyance vector field and the controlling the automated roller module to form a second conveyance vector field based on the data of the one or more items (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-15. Kim discloses wherein: the controlling the automated roller module to form a first conveyance vector field and the controlling the automated roller module to form a second conveyance vector field comprises controlling the automated roller module to form a dynamically changing conveyance vector field, thereby shifting a plurality of items from a non-organized flow into a single flow of the plurality of items and outputting the plurality of items onto at least one output conveyor element of the plurality of conveyor elements (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-16. Kim discloses wherein: the one or more items comprise a plurality of items (1); and the controlling the automated roller module to form a first conveyance vector field and the controlling the automated roller module to form a second conveyance vector field comprises controlling the automated roller module to form a dynamically changing conveyance vector field, thereby changing a spacing among one or more of the plurality of items (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-17. Kim discloses wherein: the one or more items (1) comprise a plurality of items; and the controlling the automated roller module to form a first conveyance vector field and the controlling the automated roller module to form a second conveyance vector field comprises controlling the automated roller module to form a dynamically changing conveyance vector field, thereby performing at least one of: diverting an item of the plurality of items out of a flow of items, introducing an item of the plurality of items into a flow of items, changing an order of the plurality of items, changing a position of at least one first item relative to a position of at least one second item, and rotating at least one item (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]). .
Regarding claim-18. Kim discloses wherein: the one or more items comprise a plurality of items (1); the plurality of conveyor elements further comprises a first output conveyor element and a second output conveyor element; and the controlling the automated roller module to form a first conveyance vector field and the controlling the automated roller module to form a second conveyance vector field comprises controlling the automated roller module to form a dynamically changing conveyance vector field, thereby: directing a first item of the plurality of items onto the first output conveyor element and directing a second item of the plurality of items onto the second output conveyor element (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-19. Kim discloses wherein: the input conveyor element comprises a first input conveyor element (10) and a second input conveyor element (20); the one or more items (1) comprise a plurality of items; and
the controlling (40) the automated roller module to form a first conveyance vector field and the controlling the automated roller module to form a second conveyance vector field comprises controlling the automated roller module to form a dynamically changing conveyance vector field, thereby merging at least one item of the plurality of items conveyed by the first input conveyor and at least one item of the plurality of items conveyed by the second input conveyor into a single flow of a plurality of items and outputting the single flow of the plurality of items onto an output conveyor element (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Regarding claim-21. Kim doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the convey roller (220) and the driving motor (240), of the roller (230)/driving motor (240) combination, are integrally formed (Fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 11-12, and 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 102210193) in view of Hiroshi (US 20030234155).
Regarding claim-11. Kim doesn’t disclose wherein the at least one automated roller module comprises an array of plurality of automated roller modules (Fig.1, and 6). However, it is just a mere of design and constructional detail of an apparatus in which adding additional roller modules are well known in the art for purpose of diverting and sorting items more efficiently.
Hiroshi disclose a conveying apparatus, and also teaches one automated roller module comprises an array of plurality of automated roller modules (Fig.1, and 14-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to additionally provide Kim with array of roller modules as taught by Hiroshi for purpose of efficiently conveying items in any direction without physically rearranging the conveyors.
Regarding claim-12. Kim as modified does not explicitly discloses wherein the output conveyor element comprises a first output conveyor element and a second output conveyor element; and wherein the control module is configured to dynamically control the swivel motors of the plurality of pucks to form a dynamic conveyance vector field such that at least a first item of the one or more items is conveyed onto the first output conveyor element and at least a second item of the one or more items is diverted onto the second output conveyor element (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060]).
Hiroshi disclose a conveying apparatus, and also teaches wherein the output conveyor element comprises a first output conveyor element and a second output conveyor element (Fig.14-15); and wherein the control module (50) is configured to dynamically control the swivel motors of the plurality of pucks to form a dynamic conveyance vector field such that at least a first item of the one or more items is conveyed onto the first output conveyor element and at least a second item of the one or more items is diverted onto the second output conveyor element (Fig.1, and 10-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to additionally provide Kim with output conveyor element as taught by Hiroshi for purpose of efficiently conveying items in any direction without physically rearranging the conveyors.
Regarding claim-20. Kim as modified discloses wherein: the at least one automated roller module comprises an array of a plurality of automated roller modules (as taught by Hiroshi); and the controlling the automated roller module to form a first conveyance vector field and the controlling the automated roller module to form a second conveyance vector field comprises independently driving the convey roller of each or the plurality of pucks of each of the plurality of automated roller modules and independently driving the swivel motor of each of the plurality of pucks of each of the plurality of automated roller modules (Fig.1, 3-4 and 6; [0044-0060] and also, taught by Hiroshi).
Conclusion
Note: Examiner strongly suggest applicant to take a look at Notice of References Cited PTO-892 as there are other multiple prior arts or in combination that can be used to reject claims 1-21.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651