DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 19-27 and 39-49 in the reply filed on September 23, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a power supply element…vary, via the power supply element, the light…” in claim 43.
The “power supply element” is interpreted as corresponding to a circuit, as described in paragraph [0065] of Applicant’s PG-Pub, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 21 and 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 21 and 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
With regards to claim 21, in line 4, the limitation “the at least one optical sensor is positioned against the wrist” encompasses a human organism. Examiner suggests using language such as ---the at least one optical sensor is adapted to be positioned against the wrist---.
With regards to claim 39, in the second to last line, the limitation “a wearable device positioned on the skin of the person” is recited, which encompasses a human organism. Examiner suggests using language such as --- a wearable device adapted to be positioned on the skin of the person ---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 21-26 and 43-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nazarian et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0084879).
With regards to claim 19, An apparatus, comprising:
at least one optical sensor (i.e. pulse rate sensor 101) configured to be placed near skin of a person (paragraph [0029], referring to the pulse rate sensor (101) which uses the infrared optical processes from which body volume displacement is analyzed to detect and store pulse rate data; paragraph [0030], referring to the pulse rate sensor (101) being encapsulated in a watch module (120), and thus is configured to be placed near the wrist, and thus skin, of a person); Figures 2-3);
the at least one optical sensor including a light emitter (102, 16) configured to emit light toward the skin (paragraph [0029], referring to emitters (102) which transmit a light source in the near infrared (IR) region into body tissue; paragraphs [0033], [0039], referring to the optical emitter/infra-red light emitting diode (16); Figures 2-3), and
a light receiver (104, 10) configured to receive light reflected by the skin and underlying tissues and to convert the light reflected into an electric signal, the electric signal associated with a parameter of a heart of the person (paragraph [0029], referring to the “photodetector such as a reflective infra-red sensor 104 that receives the reflected light from the tissue”; paragraph [0033], referring to the “photo detector 10” which may be a reflective infra-red sensor; Figures 2-3); and
circuitry (i.e. digital to analog converter (18) within microprocessor (110)) operatively coupled to the light emitter (16, 102), the circuitry configured to vary a luminosity of the light emitted by the light emitter to maintain the electric signal above a minimum threshold (paragraph [0033], referring to “Through this connection, microprocessor 110 is able to monitor the output from photo detector 10 and to determine the appropriate intensity for an infra-red light emitting diode 16, which transmits optical signals into body tissue. The intensity of infra-red light emitting diode 16 is programmable using an output 8 from a digital to analog converter 18 within microprocessor 110 (again, digital to analog converter 18 could also be a component separate from microprocessor 110). As further discussed below, an internal closed loop control function within the microprocessor 110 maintains the proper intensity of the infra-red light emitting diode 16 using the feedback from the photodector 10 at input 1 to control output 8”; paragraphs [0039]-[0041], referring to the automatic control of optical emitter (16) being applied on a periodic basis, wherein, if filtered sample signal smooth1(j) is greater than an “expected range”, then output at signal 8 (i.e. “optical emitter supply signal”) is decreased and if smooth1(j) is less than “expected range”, then the output at signal 8 is increased [thus the luminosity of the light emitted by the light emitter (16) is varied to maintain the electric signal (i.e. filtered sample signal, which is processed optical sensor output signal) above the lower end value of the “expected range”) , wherein the lower value of the “expected range” thus corresponds to a “minimum threshold”; Figures 2-4).
With regards to claim 21, Nazarian et al. that the apparatus further comprises a strap configured to be fastened to a wrist of the person, the at least one optical sensor being attached to the strap such that when the strap is fastened to the wrist of the person, the at least one optical sensor is positioned against the wrist (paragraph [0030], referring to the watch module (120), wherein the pulse rate sensor (101) is encapsulated in the watch module (120); paragraph [0067], referring to the pulse rate monitor “wrist watch”, wherein a watch/wrist watch would inherently comprise a wirst-band/strap fastened to the wrist of the person; Figures 2A,B).
With regards to claim 22, Nazarian et al. disclose that the apparatus further comprises a signal processor (i.e. “microprocessor 110”) configured to process the electric signal and to control the circuitry to vary the luminosity of the light emitted by the light emitter based on the electric signal (paragraph [0033], referring to “Through this connection, microprocessor 110 is able to monitor the output from photo detector 10 and to determine the appropriate intensity for an infra-red light emitting diode 16, which transmits optical signals into body tissue. The intensity of infra-red light emitting diode 16 is programmable using an output 8 from a digital to analog converter 18 within microprocessor 110 (again, digital to analog converter 18 could also be a component separate from microprocessor 110). As further discussed below, an internal closed loop control function within the microprocessor 110 maintains the proper intensity of the infra-red light emitting diode 16 using the feedback from the photodector 10 at input 1 to control output 8”; paragraphs [0039]-[0041], referring to the automatic control of optical emitter (16) being based on the filtered sample signal smooth1(j), which corresponds to a processed optical sensor output signal (i.e. processed “electric signal”); Figures 2-4).
With regards to claim 23, Nazarian et al. et al. disclose that the signal processor is configured to process the electric signal by converting the electric signal to a signal (i.e. pulse rate) indicative of a heart beat of the person (paragraph [0019], referring to determining the pulse rate by conditioning the photodetector output signal and removing portions of the conditioned photo detector output caused by regular motion and erratic motion of the individual; paragraph [0029], referring to “Pulse rate detector 112 calculates the pulse rate of a user by using conditioned optical pulse signals received by microprocessor 110, filtered signals from accelerometer 108, and piezo sensor 106.”; paragraph [0066]; Figure 4).
With regards to claim 24, Nazarian et al. disclose that the signal processor is configured to process the electric signal by filtering the electric signal using a range of wavelengths suitable for detecting a heart beat of the person (paragraph [0062], referring to the “d) Band pass filter all signals in the range of 0.5 Hz to 4 Hz at step 506”; wherein paragraph [0066] discloses that pulse rate is detected at the next step 507; Figure 4).
With regards to claim 25, Nazarian et al. disclose that the apparatus further comprises an accelerometer (108) configured to measure an acceleration associated with movement of at least one optical sensor, the signal processor configured to process the electric signal to remove noise associated with sudden movements of the at least one optical sensor based on the acceleration (paragraph [0029], referring to the pulse rate sensor comprising an accelerometer (108) that detects periodic motion of the user, wherein the microprocessor (110) samples and filters signals from accelerometer (108) and pizeo sensor (106) and the pulse rate detector (112) calculates the pulse rate of a user by using conditioned optical pulse signals received by microprocessor (110), filtered signals from accelerometer (108) and piezo sensor (106); paragraph [0057], referring to using the accelerometer (20) to remove the motion artifacts from the optical sensor output present during motion of the user, wherein the accelerometer output signal is analyzed in the frequency domain and used to generate a band reject filter which is applied to the optical sensor output in the frequency domain (506); paragraphs [0058]-[0067]; Figures 2-4).
With regards to claim 26, Nazarian et al. disclose the signal processor is further configured to: determine one or more physiological parameters (i.e. pulse rate) of the person based on the electric signal, the one or more physiological parameters including a stress state, a level of physical activity (i.e. pulse rate represents a level of physical activity/exercise), a quality of sleep, or an excitation level of the person; and transmit the one or more physiological parameters to an external device (i.e. display) such that information indicative of the one or more physiological parameters can be presented to the person (paragraph [0002], referring to the invention being related to pulse rate monitors capable of providing accurate measurement and display of a user’s pulse rate during times of physical exercise or other activity, thus inherently requiring an external display of the user’s pulse rate; paragraphs [0067]-[0068], referring to the pulse rate being output using a digital signal which transitions at the rate of the pulse rate, wherein the pedometer is output using a digital signal which transitions once for each step detected; paragraph [0030], referring to the pulse rate sensor including a communication module such as a USB port or an RF recever/transmitter to automatically upload data to a web portal (i.e. external device); Figures 2-4).
With regards to claim 43, Nazarian et al. disclose that the circuitry includes: a power supply element (“optical emitter supply signal 8”) operatively coupled to the at least one optical sensor (16) (paragraphs [0035]-[0041], referring to the optical emitter supply signal (8), wherein output at signal (8) is increased or decreased to provide automatic control of the optical emitter (16); Figure 3); and the apparatus further comprising a signal processor (110) operatively coupled to the at least one optical sensor (10) and the power supply element (16), the signal processor configured to: receive, from the at least one optical sensor, the electric signal; and vary, via the power supply element, the light emitted by the light emitter to maintain the electric signal above the minimum threshold (paragraph [0033], referring to the microprocessor (110) being able to monitor the output from photo detector (10) and to determine the appropriate intensity for an infra-red light emitting diode (16), wherein the intensity of the diode (16) is programmable using the output (8) from the digital to analog converter (18) within the microprocessor (110); paragraphs [0039]-[0041], referring to automatic control of optical emitter (16) comprising increasing or decreasing the output of signal 8; Figure 3).
With regards to claim 44, Nazarian et al. disclose that the signal processor is further configured to: process the electric signal to remove noise (i.e. motion artifacts) associated with movements of the at least one optical sensor or the person; and determine at least one physiological parameter (i.e. pulse rate) of the person based on the electric signal (paragraph [0057], referring to using the accelerometer (20) to remove the motion artifacts from the optical sensor output present during motion of the user, wherein the accelerometer output signal is analyzed in the frequency domain and used to generate a band reject filter which is applied to the optical sensor output in the frequency domain (506); paragraphs [0058]-[0067]; paragraph [0002], referring to the invention being related to pulse rate monitors capable of providing accurate measurement and display of a user’s pulse rate during times of physical exercise or other activity, thus inherently requiring an external display of the user’s pulse rate; paragraphs [0067]-[0068], referring to the pulse rate being output using a digital signal which transitions at the rate of the pulse rate, wherein the pedometer is output using a digital signal which transitions once for each step detected; Figures 2-4).
With regards to claim 45, Nazarian et al. disclose that the at least one physiological parameter includes a heart beat (i.e. pulse rate, which represents beats/”heart beats” per minute) of the person (paragraph [0002], referring to the invention being related to pulse rate monitors capable of providing accurate measurement and display of a user’s pulse rate during times of physical exercise or other activity, thus inherently requiring an external display of the user’s pulse rate).
With regards to claim 46, Nazarian et al. disclose that the apparatus further comprises an accelerometer (108) configured to measure an acceleration associated with movements of the at least one optical sensor or the person, the signal processor configured to process the electric signal by subtracting the acceleration from the electric signal (paragraph [0029], referring to the pulse rate sensor comprising an accelerometer (108) that detects periodic motion of the user, wherein the microprocessor (110) samples and filters signals from accelerometer (108) and pizeo sensor (106) and the pulse rate detector (112) calculates the pulse rate of a user by using conditioned optical pulse signals received by microprocessor (110), filtered signals from accelerometer (108) and piezo sensor (106); paragraph [0057], referring to using the accelerometer (20) to remove/”subtract” the motion artifacts from the optical sensor output present during motion of the user, wherein the accelerometer output signal is analyzed in the frequency domain and used to generate a band reject filter which is applied to the optical sensor output in the frequency domain (506); paragraphs [0058]-[0067]; Figures 2-4).
With regards to claim 47, Nazarian et al. disclose that the accelerometer is configured to measure three-dimensional acceleration (paragraph [0029], referring to the accelerometer being a “three-dimensional accelerometer”, which would inherently measure three-dimensional acceleration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 and 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazarian et al. as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Miettinen (US Pub No. 2011/0245697).
With regards to claim 20, as discussed above, Nazarian et al. meet the limitations of claim 19. However, Nazarian et al. do not specifically disclose that the at least one optical sensor includes two optical sensors arranged at a distance from each other.
Miettinen discloses an apparatus for determining heart pulses of a person, wherein the apparatus (100) comprises at least two detectors (104, 106) for detecting a blood pulse optically from the blood circulation of the person (paragraph [0020]; Figures 1-4). The two detectors (104, 106) may be optical detectors that are sensitive to optical radiation, such as photodiodes and photoconductive cells (paragraph [0020]). The at least two detectors may be placed optically on the skin of the person (302), wherein an optical radiation source (108) may be included in the apparatus (paragraphs [0022],[0024]). It is beneficial to use at least two detectors (104, 106) because the optical heart pulse detection is sensitive to motion artifacts, wherein motion artifacts may be eliminated from being taken into account in the heart pulse determination by measuring the blood pulses at two measurement points along the blood circulation system, thus improving the reliability of the detection significantly (paragraph [0022]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one optical sensor of Nazarina et al. include two optical sensors arranged at a distance from each other, as taught by Miettinen, in order to eliminate motion artifacts from being taken into account in the heart pulse determination by measuring the blood pulses at two measurement points along the blood circulation system, thus improving the reliability of the detection significantly (paragraph [0022]).
With regards to claims 48 and 49, as discussed above, Nazarian et al. meet the limitations of claim 19. However, with regards to claim 48, Nazarian et al. do not specifically disclose that the at least one optical sensor includes a first optical sensor and a second optical sensor, the first and second optical sensors positioned at a distance from each other along a direction of blood flow. Additionally, with regards to claim 49, the prior art does not teach or suggest that the apparatus further comprises a signal processor operatively coupled to the first and second optical sensors and configured to: receive a first electric signal from the first optical sensor and a second electric signal from the second optical sensor; calculate a blood propagation time between the first and second optical sensors based on a time difference between the first and second electric signals; and modify at least one of the first and second electric signals based on variations in the blood propagation time to reduce noise associated with movement of the skin and underlying tissues.
Miettinen discloses an apparatus for determining heart pulses of a person, wherein the apparatus (100) comprises at least two detectors (104, 106) for detecting a blood pulse optically from the blood circulation of the person (paragraph [0020]; Figures 1-4). The two detectors (104, 106) may be optical detectors that are sensitive to optical radiation, such as photodiodes and photoconductive cells (paragraph [0020]). The at least two detectors may be placed optically on the skin of the person (302) along arterial or venous blood flow, wherein an optical radiation source (108) may be included in the apparatus (paragraphs [0022],[0024]; Figures 1-5, note that the first and second optical sensors/detectors (104, 106) are positioned at a distance from each other along a direction of blood flow). It is beneficial to use at least two detectors (104, 106) because the optical heart pulse detection is sensitive to motion artifacts, wherein motion artifacts may be eliminated from being taken into account in the heart pulse determination by measuring the blood pulses at two measurement points along the blood circulation system, thus improving the reliability of the detection significantly (paragraph [0022]). As the blood pulse travels in the human body at a known velocity or at least at a velocity that can be measured, the detection of the blood pulse by each of the at least two detectors 104 and 106 is expected to take place in a known time difference between each of the detections, and therefore a processor (102) may determine that a blood pulse has been detected when the detections by the at least two detectors (104, 106) are separated by the known time differences (paragraphs [0028], [0032], note that a blood propagation time between the first and second optical sensors/detectors (104, 106) is calculated based on a time difference between the first and second electrical signals; Figures 1-6). When the detections by the at least two detectors (104, 106) are separated by known time differences, it can be said that the detection of the blood is correct, valid or successful, wherein only the successful detections may be taken into account and the false or erroneous detections may be disregarded from the heart pulse determination (paragraphs [0030]-[0032], [0052]-[0054]). The detections that are considered erroneous are not taken into account when determining the heart pulse of the person (paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0063], [0065]-[0066]; note that the “detections” correspond to the detected first and second electric signals, wherein eliminating/removing/”not taking into account” the erroneous detections corresponds to modifying the at least one of the first and second electric signals (i.e. modified in that they are eliminated/not used in the heart pulse determination) based on variations in the blood propagation time (i.e. “time difference”) to reduce noise associated with movement of the skin and underlying tissues; Figures 1-6). The system may further be calibrated with the time delay and the order of the pulses detected by the detectors, wherein the processor may allow calibration of the known order of the blood pulse detections with respect to the person and the known time differences between the blood pulse detections with respect to the person (paragraphs [0065]-[0066], note that calibration would also ultimately provide a modification of at least one of the first and second electric signals).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one optical sensor of Nazarian et al. include a first optical sensor and a second optical sensor, the first and second optical sensors positioned at a distance from each other along a direction of blood flow and have the apparatus of Nazarian et al. further comprise a signal processor operatively coupled to the first and second optical sensors and configured to: receive a first electric signal from the first optical sensor and a second electric signal from the second optical sensor; calculate a blood propagation time between the first and second optical sensors based on a time difference between the first and second electric signals; and modify at least one of the first and second electric signals based on variations in the blood propagation time to reduce noise associated with movement of the skin and underlying tissues, as taught by Miettinen, in order to eliminate motion artifacts from being taken into account in the heart pulse determination by measuring the blood pulses at two measurement points along the blood circulation system, thus improving the reliability of the detection significantly (paragraph [0022]).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazarian et al. as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Stivoric et al. (US Pub No. 2008/0171919).
With regards to claim 27, as discussed above, Nazarian et al. meet the limitations of claim 19. However, Nazarian et al. do not specifically disclose that the apparatus further comprises a sealing ring disposed around the at least one optical sensor, the sealing ring configured to reduce entry of ambient light and moisture to the at least one optical sensor.
Stivoric et al. disclose a wearable sensor device that can generate data indicative of various physiological parameters of an individual, such as the individual’s heart rate, pulse rate, etc.., wherein the sensor device can include an O-ring between top and bottom portions of the housing of the device to create a water-tight seal (Abstract; paragraphs [0067], [0152]]; Figures 22-26). A water-tight seal maintains the integrity of a computer housing (paragraphs [0124]-[0125]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the apparatus of Nazarian et al. further comprise a sealing ring disposed around the at least one optical sensor, the sealing ring configured to reduce entry of ambient light and moisture to the at least one optical sensor, as taught by Stivoric et al., in order to create a water-tight seal to maintain the integrity of the circuitry within the housing of the apparatus (paragraphs [0125], [0152]).
Claim(s) 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazarian et al., as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Tran (US Pub No. 2013/0172691).
With regards to claim 39, as discussed above, Nazarian et al. meet the limitations of claim 19. Nazarian et al. further disclose that the at least one optical sensor is a first sensor and the electric signal corresponding to the first sensor is a first signal (paragraph [0029], referring to the “photodetector such as a reflective infra-red sensor 104 that receives the reflected light from the tissue”; paragraph [0033], referring to the “photo detector 10” which may be a reflective infra-red sensor; paragraph [0029], referring to “Microprocessor 110 performs signal conditioning functions on the pulse signals received from the photo detector 104, and also samples and filters signals from accelerometer 108 and piezo sensor 106. Pulse rate detector 112 calculates the pulse rate of a user by using conditioned optical pulse signals received by microprocessor 110”, wherein the conditioned optical pulse signals correspond to the electric signal corresponding to the first sensor; Figures 2-3).
However, Nazarian et al. do not specifically disclose that the apparatus further comprises a second sensor configured to measure a second signal indicative of a conductivity of the skin, the first sensor and the second sensor disposed on a wearable device positioned on the skin of the person.
Tran discloses a heart monitoring system for a person, wherein the apparatus can comprise a wrist-watch and a conductive metal electrode (1381) that is in the back of the device, wherein the system further comprises a second electrode (1383) (Abstract; paragraph [0226], Figure 6). The apparatus can further contain an optical transducer or electromagnetic sensors, wherein the optical transducer can be a light source and a photo-detector embedded in the wrist band portions (1374) (paragraphs [0227], [0233]). The electrodes enable differential EKG or ECG to be measured (paragraph [0226].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the apparatus of Nazarian et al. further comprise a second sensor configured to measure a second signal indicative of a conductivity of the skin, the first sensor and the second sensor disposed on a wearable device positioned on the skin of the person, as taught by Tran, in order to enable differential EKG or ECG to be measured (paragraph [0226]).
With regards to claim 40, Tran discloses wherein the second sensor includes a first electrode and a second electrode configured to contact the skin of the person and circuitry coupled to the first and second electrodes configured to measure an electrical resistance between the two electrodes (paragraphs [226]-[0226], [0233], referring to the metal electrode (1381) and second electrode (1383); paragraph [0260], referring to the use of electrodes to calculate skin resistance).
Claim(s) 41-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazarian et al. in view of Tran et al. as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Hayakawa et al. (WO 97/14972) and Farringdon et al. (US Pub No. 2005/0113703). Note that the English translation of Hayakawa et al. is referred to in the below rejection.
With regards to claim 41, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 39. Further, Nazarian et al. disclose a signal processor (110) configured to receive signals (i.e. the first signal and the second signal) and process the first signal to reduce noise (paragraph [0057], referring to using the accelerometer (20) to remove the motion artifacts from the optical sensor output present during motion of the user, wherein the accelerometer output signal is analyzed in the frequency domain and used to generate a band reject filter which is applied to the optical sensor output in the frequency domain (506); paragraphs [0058]-[0067]; Figures 2-4).
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the reduction of noise uses variations in the second signal or that the processed first signal is used to obtain a blood volume pulse signal of the person.
Hayakawa et al. disclose an arm-worn pulse wave measuring device capable of measuring a pulse wave to calculate a pulse rate, and optically detects a change in the amount of blood and measures the pulse rate based on the detection result (pg. 2, first full paragraph). The device comprises a sensor unit (e.g., light emitting device such as an LED) and a light receiving device such as photo diode/photo transistor (pg. 2, first full paragraph). By detecting a change in blood volume as change in the amount of received light in this manner, a pulse rate and the like can be obtained and displayed (pg. 2, first full paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the processed first signal of the above combined references be used to obtain a blood volume pulse signal of the person, as taught by Hayakawa et al., in order to provide an effective alternative technique for obtain the pulse rate.
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the reduction of noise uses variations in the second signal.
Farringdon et al. disclose a self contained, relatively small and continuously wearable package for monitoring heart related parameters, wherein a second set of electrodes may be provided for detecting noise signals which are utilized to filter heart related signals (Abstract; paragraph [0098], referring to noise received from electrodes can be filtered out of the signal; paragraphs [0083], [0088], referring to using a low-pass filter to eliminate the ambient noise picked up by electrodes; paragraph [0104], referring to using an electrode signal (i.e. EMG signals) to remove noise from an ECG signal; claims 23, 75, 126).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the reduction of noise of the above combined references use variations in the second signal (i.e. signal from the second sensor/electrode), as taught by Farringdon et al., in order to remove additional sources of noise, such as ambient noise (paragraphs [0083], [0088]).
With regards to claim 42, Hayakawa et al. disclose that the signal processor is further configured to determine a pulsation signal of the person based on the blood volume pulse signal (pg. 2, first full paragraph, referring to measuring the pulse rate based on the blood volume signal).
Double Patenting
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No.12,262,979.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 19 of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 11 of the Patent. That is, claims 1 and 11 of the Patent falls entirely within the scope of instant claim 19, or in other words, instant claim 19 is anticipated by claims 1 and 11 of the Patent. Specifically, because claims 1 and 11 of the Patent claim the same structure (i.e. at least one optical sensor configured to be placed near the skin of a person, the at least one optical sensor including a light emitter and a light receiver [claim 1], and circuitry/power supply element configured to vary a luminosity of the light emitted by the light emitter so that the electric signal is above a minimum threshold, etc. [claim 11]), as claimed in instant claim 19, the method/system of instant claim 19 is anticipated by claims 1 and 11 of the Patent.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No.11,389,074.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 19 of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 8 of the Patent. That is, claims 1 and 8 of the Patent falls entirely within the scope of instant claim 19, or in other words, instant claim 19 is anticipated by claims 1 and 8 of the Patent. Specifically, because claims 1 and 8 of the Patent claim the same structure (i.e. at least one optical sensor configured to be placed near the skin of a person, the at least one optical sensor including a light emitter and a light receiver [claim 1], and circuitry/power supply element configured to vary a luminosity of the light emitted by the light emitter so that the electric signal is above a minimum threshold, etc.[claim 8]), as claimed in instant claim 19, the method/system of instant claim 19 is anticipated by claims 1 and 8 of the Patent.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No.10,285,602.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 19 of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 6 of the Patent. That is, claims 1 and 6 of the Patent falls entirely within the scope of instant claim 19, or in other words, instant claim 19 is anticipated by claims 1 and 6 of the Patent. Specifically, because claims 1 and 6 of the Patent claim the same structure (i.e. at least one optical sensor configured to be placed near the skin of a person, the at least one optical sensor including a light emitter and a light receiver [claim 1], and circuitry/power supply element configured to vary a luminosity of the light emitted by the light emitter so that the electric signal is above a minimum threshold, etc.[claim 6]), as claimed in instant claim 19, the method/system of instant claim 19 is anticipated by claims 1 and 6 of the Patent.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No.9,833,155.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 19 of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 7 of the Patent. That is, claims 1 and 7 of the Patent falls entirely within the scope of instant claim 19, or in other words, instant claim 19 is anticipated by claims 1 and 7 of the Patent. Specifically, because claims 1 and 7 of the Patent claim the same structure (i.e. at least one optical sensor configured to be placed near the skin of a person, the at least one optical sensor including a light emitter and a light receiver [claim 1], and circuitry/power supply element configured to vary a luminosity of the light emitted by the light emitter so that the electric signal is above a minimum threshold, etc.[claim 7]), as claimed in instant claim 19, the method/system of instant claim 19 is anticipated by claims 1 and 7 of the Patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho et al. (US Pub No. 2010/0056934) disclose a pulse wave measuring apparatus, such as a wristwatch, wherein a signal channel having the highest signal sensitivity can be selected by comparing RMS values of each light emitter/sensor channel, thereby measuring the optimal pulse wave (paragraphs [0060], [0077]-[0079]; Figure 8).
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798