Continuation
U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 19/067,754 (the instant application), filed on February 28, 2025, is a Continuation-In-Part of U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 19/011,206, filed on January 6, 2025, which claims the benefit of provisional application 63/554,533, filed on February 16, 2024.
Independent claims 1, 10, and 17 of the instant application, contain subject matter that lacks written description support from Application Serial Number 19/011,206, filed on January 6, 2025 and provisional application 63/554,533, filed on February 16, 2024 (that is, claims 1, 10, 17 (among others) of the instant application recite specific stoichiometric constraints of the YPtBi layer that are not 1:1:1).
As such, independent claims 1, 10, and 17 (and by extension, all claims that depend therefrom) have been granted an effective filing date of February 28, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on February 28, 2025 and June 4, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on February 28, 2025.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show:
(i) buffer layer 704 (see page 21 (line 4) of paragraph [0073]).
(ii) TI layer 332 (see page 21 (line 7) of paragraph [0073]).
as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
(i) With regard to page 6 (line 9 of paragraph [0029]), the term "Figure 2" should be changed to the term --Figure 1-- in order to remain consistent with the context of paragraph [0029].
(ii) The Applicant should update, as appropriate, the U.S. application numbers referenced in the specification at page 7 (lines 11 and 15 of paragraph [0034]) and at page 8 (line 2) to reflect if the application has now matured into a U.S. Patent (listing the associated U.S. Patent No., if appropriate).
(iii) With regard to page 9 (line 4 of paragraph [0038], the term "layer306" should be changed to the term --layer 306--.
(iv) With regard to page 18 (line 4 of paragraph [0067]), the term "formed over a buffer layer" should be changed to the term --formed under a buffer layer-- in order to remain consistent with Fig. 6A.
(v) With regard to page 20 (lines 1 and 2 and 3 of paragraph [0071]), the term "MRAM device 600" should be changed to the term --STO device 600-- in order to remain consistent with preceding language (e.g. see page 20 (line 2) of paragraph [0070]).
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, sub-species A, sub-species B2 (claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-15, 17, 18, and 20-22) in the reply filed on February 20, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that "searching for at least Species I and Species II, sub-species A and sub- species B, and sub-species Al and sub-species B2 would not require a different field of search, would not necessitate search queries tailored to different structures, and thus, would not be a burden for the Examiner." See page 7 of the Response filed on February 20, 2026
This is not found persuasive because, at the very least, the Species groupings, as set forth in the Restriction mailed on January 8, 2026, require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). For example, the search strategy for each of the independent and distinct species would entail a search strategy focusing in on distinct and independent structure of each of the species, relative to the other species of the mutually exclusive and disclosed features of a magnetic recording head or an MRAM device, having a particular laminated structure (inclusive of migration barrier layers, topological semi-metals, the buffer layers, etc.), and a particular composition of the buffer layers (evidenced by the Applicant's detailed description articulated within the disclosure), amongst the species as identified, supra. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5, 9, 16, 19, and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 20, 2026.
Examiner Comments
The Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-15, 17, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1) in view of "Effect of stoichiometry on the spin Hall angle of the half-Heusler alloy topological semimetal YPtBi," Shirokura et al. (published July 1, 2022), Japanese Journal of Applied Physics 61, 073001 (2022), pp. 073001-1 through 073001-4, hereinafter "Shirokura et al."
As per claims 1, 10, and 17, Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1) discloses a spin-orbit torque (SOT) device (e.g., 250 - see, inter alia, Fig. 2; paragraphs [0025, 0028]) comprising: a YPtBi layer (e.g., 312, 410; see paragraphs [0057, 0062, 0105]).
Additionally, as per claim 17, Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1) further discloses a buffer layer (e.g., 406) disposed adjacent to the YPtBi layer (e.g., 410) - see Figs. 4A, 4B; paragraph [0069]).
As per claim 4, Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1 further discloses a buffer layer (e.g. 406) disposed adjacent to the YPtBi layer (e.g., 410) - see Figs. 4A, 4B; paragraph [0069]).
As per claims 6 and 20, Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1) further discloses wherein the buffer layer (e.g., 410) comprises a material selected from the group consisting of: Ru Hf; Zr-X alloys, where X is one or more of Co, Cu, Ru, and Rh; Ti-Y alloys, where Y is one or more of Au, Ru, and Rh; B2 ternary A(BxC1-x) alloys; B2 binary alloys; CoZrX, where X is one or more of Ti, Fe, Ni, Nb, and Mo; two or more elements selected from the group consisting of: Ta, Hf, W, Ir, Pt, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Mg, Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Rh, and Ag (e.g., see paragraph [0069], "the SOT material sub-layer 410, such as Cu, Ag, Ge, Mn, Ni, Co Mo, W, Sn, B, and In, or in alloy combinations with one or more of aforementioned elements, such as CuAg, CuNi, CoCu, AgSn," which includes, inter alia, CuAg; oxides of Ti, Mg, Ni, Zn, or Zr; X-N or X-C composites, where X is one or more of Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Zr, Nb, Ta, Hf, and W; and MO2 materials, where M is one or more of Ti, Cr, Ru, Rh, Sn, Sb, Ir, CrNb, CrV, and WV .
As per claims 7, 14, and 21, a magnetic recording head (e.g., 200 - see Fig. 2) comprising the SOT device (e.g., 250) is provided.
As per claims 8, 15, and 22, a magnetic recording device (e.g., 100 - see Fig. 1) is provided comprising the magnetic recording head (200).
As per claims 1 and 11, Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1) remains silent with regard to the YPtBi layer having a 1:1.02:1.05 stoichiometry to a 1:1.25:1.35 stoichiometry.
As per claims 2, 12, and 18, Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1) remains silent with regard to wherein the YPtBi layer has a 1:1.11:1.13 stoichiometry.
As per claims 3 and 13, Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1) remains silent with regard to wherein the YPtBi layer has a (100), (111), or (110) orientation.
As per claim 10, Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1) remains silent with regard to wherein a concentration of Pt and Bi is about 10% greater than a concentration of Y (in the YPtBi layer).
As per claim 17, Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1) remains silent with regard to the YPtBi layer having a 1:1.02:1.05 stoichiometry to a 1:1.25:1.35 stoichiometry, and wherein the YPtBi layer has a (100), (111), or (110) orientation.
The prior art, however, discloses that the effect of stoichiometry on the spin Hall angle of such a half-Heusler alloy topological semimetal YPtBi, is known.
That is, Shirokura et al disclose an analogous spin orbit layer which includes a zero-gap topological insulator formed of YPtBi, wherein, as per claims 3, 13, and 17, the YPtBi layer has a (100), (111), or (110) orientation (e.g., see p. 07300-1 , section "Crystallinity and electric properties of YPtBi at various stoichiometry"). Additionally, Shirokura et al. expressly and explicitly notes that the composition of YPtBi can deviate from its standard 1:1:1 stoichiometry, by varying the elements of Y, Pt, and Bi, relative to each other, to affect the spin Hall angle and/or its electric properties is a manner to meet a desired attribute. See abstract of Shirokura et al and p. 07300-1 , section "Crystallinity and electric properties of YPtBi at various stoichiometry" through p. 07300-1 through 07300-4, section "Spin Hall properties of YPtBi at various stoichiometry."
As such, based upon the teachings and suggestions of Shirokura et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the crystal orientation of the YPtBi layer of Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1) (as set forth in claims 3, 13, 17), in addition to varying the stoichiometric composition of the elements Y, Pt, and Bi to meet the stoichiometric relationships (including concentrations and ratios) set forth in claims 1, 2, 10-12, 17, 18, in order to provide a desired spin Hall angle and/or electric property best suited toward its applied application, through routine optimization/experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Additionally, the law is replete with cases in which when the mere difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range, variable or other dimensional limitation within the claims, patentability cannot be found.
It furthermore has been held in such a situation, the Applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Moreover, the instant disclosure does not set forth evidence ascribing unexpected results due to the claimed stoichiometry of YPtBi.. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 1984), which held that the dimensional limitations failed to point out a feature which performed and operated any differently from the prior art.
No new or unobvious result is seen to be obtained, given the express teachings and motivations of the applied prior art, and as such, the claimed stoichiometric values of the YPtBi topological layer of Le et al. (US 2024/0240994 A1), when viewed in light of the teachings and suggestions of Shirokura et al, are seen, absent any unobvious evidence, as nothing more than a predictable variation based the on such overarching and pertinent teachings of Shirokura et al and the well-known knowledge of the ordinary skilled artisan, in light of the general knowledge of an artisan having ordinary skill in the art, with the express rationale provided supra. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., No. 04-1350 (U.S. Apr. 30, 2007).
Moreover still, the Supreme Court opined "w]hen a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentably." (Emphasis added) 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740.
The Examiner finds this situation analogous to the optimization of a range or other variable within the claims that flows from the "normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (determining where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges the optimum combination of percentages lies is prima facie obvious). As noted above, in In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955), it was held that the discovery of an optimum value of a variable in a known process is usually obvious. See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (C.C.P.A. 1980) ("[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art."); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("[I]t is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (quoting Aller, 220 F.2d at 456)); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (finding no clear error in Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences’ conclusion that the amount of eluent to be used in a washing sequence was a matter of routine optimization known in the pertinent prior art and therefore obvious).
Citation of Prior or Relevant Art on enclosed PTO-892
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited art made of record (see the enclosed PTO-892), not applied to the rejection of the claims, supra, each disclose aspects of the claimed invention, including wherein topological semi-metal layers are provided in SOT devices to enhance the spin Hall angles of such devices.
The best prior art has been applied to the claimed invention (see the rejection of the claims on the applied prior art, supra). However, if Applicant chooses to amend the claims in a manner to obviate the applied prior art, as noted in the rejection, supra, the Applicant is advised to not only carefully review the applied prior art for all it teaches and/or suggests, but also the cited prior art of record in order to obviate any potential rejections based on potential amendment(s); by doing so, compact prosecution on the merits can be enhanced.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J KLIMOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688