Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 1/23/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search burden does not exist between the species. This is not found persuasive because the alternate species are completely different types of backpacks with completely different arrangement of elements, functions, etc. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant has cited an excessive number of references within the Information Disclosure Statements. Applicant is kindly reminded of their duty of disclosure, and that burying a material reference can be considered inequitable conduct. In order to avoid the appearance of burying a material reference, the Applicant is asked to comply with MPEP 2004, item 13 which states "It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).”
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the seat being spaced apart from the bottom panel and provided at the angle range recited in claim 1 built into claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Additionally, the contouring strap of claim 9 must be identified. Additionally, the internal frame of claim 17 must be identified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations are indefinite because applicant’s specification does not describe and the figures do not show an internal frame extending through a seat.
Regarding claim 17, it is unclear whether the internal frame of second to last line is the same internal frame from the fourth to last line, or an alternate/additional internal frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson US 20180139922.
Regarding claim 1, Watson teaches a pet-carrying backpack comprising:
a front panel, a rear panel, and side panels forming an interior of the pet-carrying backpack which is configured to hold a pet therein (clearly seen throughout the figures);
shoulder straps disposed on and extending from the front panel (108 figure 1);
at least one paw hole disposed on the front panel above the shoulder straps, the at least one paw hole accommodating a paw or leg of the pet held within the interior (148 figure 1);
a collar forming an opening at a top of the pet-carrying backpack configured to allow a head of the pet to protrude therethrough (146/153 figure 2); and
a pet-carrying seat configured to support the pet within the interior, the pet-carrying seat disposed at a bottom of the interior and at an angle relative to a plane perpendicular to the front panel, the angle being substantially between 5 and 45 degrees (the seat being a bottom panel arranged as recited in the annotated figure 2 below);
but does not specify exactly 5 and 45 degrees.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such values/ranges, in order to simply meet design preferences for various sized/shaped pets to carry; since discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 1, wherein the angle is between 10 and 30 degrees (see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 3, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 1, further comprising an internal frame, at least a portion of the internal frame extending through the pet-carrying seat (figure 7 as best understood by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 4, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 1, wherein the pet-carrying seat comprises a padded material (claim 1 describes “a pet carrying platform disposed on or within the bottom panel, the pet carrying platform comprising a frame member and a pad member”.)
Regarding claim 5, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 1, wherein the pet-carrying seat is formed on or within a bottom panel of the pet-carrying backpack (see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 6, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 1, wherein the pet-carrying seat is formed within the pet-carrying backpack to be spaced apart from a bottom panel of the pet- carrying backpack (144 figure 7), the pet-carrying backpack comprising a lower storage compartment below the pet-carrying seat that is separate from the interior configured to hold the pet therein (also shown in figure 7 where the seat being spaced apart from the bottom panel has now inherently provided the recited storage compartment);
but does not describe the seat at the angle ranged described in claim 1.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such values/ranges, in order to simply meet design preferences for various sized/shaped pets to carry; since discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, applicant describes such arrangement as merely optional; therefore, it is clear that this particular arrangement is not critical towards the novelty of the invention.
Regarding claim 7, Watson teaches a set of pet-carrying backpacks, each of the pet-carrying backpacks being a pet-carrying backpack according to claim 6, wherein a first pet-carrying seat of a first pet-carrying backpack of the set of pet-carrying backpacks is disposed at a first distance from a first bottom panel of the first pet-carrying backpack and a second pet-carrying seat of a second pet-carrying backpack of the set of pet-carrying backpacks is disposed at a second distance from a second bottom panel of the second pet-carrying backpack, the second distance being greater than the first distance (see claim 6 rejection and Watson’s paragraph 0039); where it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide numerous backpacks, in order to accommodate multiple pets of various sizes; since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 8, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 6, further comprising waist straps connected to the pet-carrying backpack adjacent to the lower storage compartment (122 figures 8B-8C).
Regarding claim 9, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 1, further comprising at least one contouring strap that is configured to shape the pet-carrying backpack (398 figure 17).
Regarding claim 10, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 9, wherein the at least one contouring strap comprises at least one adjustment strap disposed over at least one of the side panels, the at least one adjustment strap being oriented diagonally (paragraph 0004); but does not specify relative to a seam between the front panel and the at least one of the side panels.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such orientation to the diagonal strap, in order to meet design preferences for a particular type of user/pet; since shifting the position of the strap would not have modified the operation of the device in an unknown manner.
Regarding claim 11, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 10, but does not specify wherein an angle of the diagonal orientation of the at least one adjustment strap is between 25 degrees and 65 degrees.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such values/ranges, in order to simply meet design preferences for various sized/shaped pets to carry; since discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Watson teaches a pet-carrying backpack comprising:
a front panel, a rear panel, and side panels forming an interior of the pet-carrying backpack configured to hold a pet therein; shoulder straps disposed on and extending from the front panel; at least one paw hole disposed on the front panel above the shoulder straps, the at least one paw hole accommodating a paw or leg of the pet held within the interior; a collar forming an opening at a top of the pet-carrying backpack configured to allow a head of the pet to protrude therethrough (see previous rejections); and
a padded seat comprising an internal frame, the padded seat configured to support the pet within the interior (paragraph 0037),
the padded seat disposed at a bottom of the interior (relatively shown in figure 7) and
supported by the internal frame (paragraph 0031)
at an angle relative to a plane perpendicular to the front panel, the angle being between 5 and 45 degrees (see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 18, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 17, wherein the padded seat is formed on or within a bottom panel of the pet-carrying backpack (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 19, Watson teaches the pet-carrying backpack of claim 17, wherein the padded seat is formed within the pet-carrying backpack to be spaced apart from a bottom panel of the pet- carrying backpack, the pet-carrying backpack comprising a lower storage compartment below the padded seat that is separate from the interior configured to hold the pet therein (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 20, Watson teaches a set of pet-carrying backpacks, each of the pet-carrying backpacks being a pet-carrying backpack according to claim 19, wherein a first padded seat of a first pet- carrying backpack of the set of pet-carrying backpacks is disposed at a first distance from a first bottom panel of the first pet-carrying backpack and a second padded seat of a second pet- carrying backpack of the set of pet-carrying backpacks is disposed at a second distance from a second bottom panel of the second pet-carrying backpack, the second distance being greater than the first distance (see previous rejections).
Conclusion
/JESSICA B WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644