DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 18, a variation is defined as:
However, it appears the applicant intended to recite:
D x R x ( 1 -
1
-
(
w
2
/
R
)
2
).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12 recites a variation in center wavelength as
However, it is not clear if the equation recites
D x R x ( 1 -
1
-
w
2
/
R
2
), or
D x R x ( 1 -
1
-
(
w
2
/
R
)
2
).
Thereby as being indefinite, claim 12 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. For examination purpose, the examiner has interpreted this equation as
D x R x ( 1 -
1
-
(
w
2
/
R
)
2
).
Claims 15 recites a variation in center wavelength as
However, it is not clear if the equation recites
D x R x ( 1 -
1
-
w
2
/
R
2
), or
D x R x ( 1 -
1
-
(
w
2
/
R
)
2
).
Thereby as being indefinite, claim 15 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. For examination purpose, the examiner has interpreted this equation as
D x R x ( 1 -
1
-
(
w
2
/
R
)
2
).
Claims 15 further recites the limitations “wherein the R is a length”. It is not clear if R is a length of an optical filter or a length of a coating tool arm. Thereby as being indefinite, claim 15 fails to particular point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted “wherein the R is a length” as " wherein the R is a length of a coating tool arm” based on claims 12 and 18.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 16 of U.S. Patent US 12271013 B2.
Regarding claims 18-20, the limitations of the claims are set forth in claims 10 and 16 of the '013 US patent as set forth below:
Claims of Instant Application
Claims of US 12271013 B2
Claim 18:
A method of manufacturing an optical filter, the method comprising:
forming a first mirror that has a first uniform thickness;
forming, on the first mirror, a spacer that has a variable thickness along a first axis of the optical filter; and
forming, on the spacer, a second mirror that has a second uniform thickness,
a variation in center wavelength, across a region of the optical filter, being less than variation defined as
wherein the D is the slope,
wherein the W is a width, and
wherein the R is a length of a coating tool arm.
Claim 16:
An optical filter, comprising:
a first mirror;
a second mirror; and
a spacer that is positioned between the first mirror and the second mirror, wherein:
the spacer has a variable thickness along a first axis of the optical filter,
a variation in center wavelength, across a region of the optical filter that is parallel to a second axis of the optical filter, is less than a variation defined as
wherein the D is the slope,
wherein the W is a filter width, and
wherein the R is a length of a coating tool arm.
Claim 19:
The method of claim 18, wherein one or more of:
a first edge of the spacer having a minimum thickness of the variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter, or
a second edge of the spacer having a maximum thickness of the variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter.
Claim 16:
one or more of:
a first edge of the spacer having a minimum thickness of the variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter, or
a second edge of the spacer having a maximum thickness of the variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter
Claim 20:
The method of claim 19, wherein the variable thickness increases continuously along a slope of the spacer that one or more of begins at the first edge or ends at the second edge.
Claim 10:
the variable thickness increasing continuously along a slope of the spacer that one or more of begins at the first edge or ends at the second edge.
Regarding claim 18, when two claims are so close in content that they both cover the same limitations, despite a minor difference in wording, so as to be substantial duplicates of one another, a double patenting rejection is proper (MPEP 706.03).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm-Kennedy (US 5784507A) in view of Franke (US 20220082936).
Regarding claim 13, Holm-Kennedy a method of manufacturing an optical filter (Fig. 3), the method comprising:
forming a first mirror (68; column 12 line 65 – column 13 line 1);
forming, on the first mirror, a spacer (62; column 12 lines 65-68);
the spacer to have a variable thickness (Fig. 3A) along a first axis of the optical filter (y-axis), or
a thickness profile of the spacer, along the first axis, to include one or more portions that have a non-linear slope with an absolute value that is greater than zero (Fig. 3A; column 13 lines 10-17); and
forming, on the spacer, a second mirror (66; column 12 line 65 – column 13 line 1).
Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose forming an etch mask on the spacer;
etching the etch mask and the spacer, wherein etching the spacer causes one or more of: the spacer to have a variable thickness or a thickness profile of the spacer.
However, Franke teaches forming an etch mask on a spacer (Figs. 11A-11C; see Paras. [0121]-[0122] teaching 1132 is formed on 1130 via 1140);
etching the etch mask and the spacer (Fig. 11B), wherein etching the spacer causes one or more of: the spacer to have a variable thickness or a thickness profile of the spacer (Fig. 11C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Franke, for forming an etch mask on the spacer; etching the etch mask and the spacer, wherein etching the spacer causes one or more of: the spacer to have a variable thickness or a thickness profile of the spacer, for the purpose of obtaining a desired thickness profile using a photomask (Franke: Para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 14, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke discloses the limitations of claim 13 above.
Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose the etch mask is formed using a grayscale lithography procedure.
However, Franke teaches an etch mask is formed using a grayscale lithography procedure (Figs. 11A-11C; see Paras. [0121]-[0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Franke, wherein the etch mask is formed using a grayscale lithography procedure, for the purpose of obtaining a desired thickness profile of the spacer (Franke: Para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 16, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke discloses the limitations of claim 13 above.
Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose etching the spacer causes the spacer to have the variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter.
However, Franke teaches etching the spacer causes: the spacer to have a variable thickness along an axis of the optical filter (Fig. 11C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Franke, for etching the spacer causes the spacer to have the variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter, for the purpose of obtaining a desired thickness profile using a photomask (Franke: Para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 17, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke discloses the limitations of claim 13 above, and Holm-Kennedy further discloses wherein a second axis of the optical filter (x-axis) is orthogonal to the first axis.
In the Figure 3 embodiment, Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose the spacer has a uniform thickness along as second axis of the optical filter.
In Figure 13 embodiment and discussion, however, Holm-Kennedy teaches a spectral filter array which has a uniform thickness along a second axis (x-axis) (the examiner considers that structure 210 has to have a uniform thickness along the x-axis since it is used to image an object; column 25 lines 13-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical filter as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy, wherein the spacer has a uniform thickness along as second axis of the optical filter, for the purpose of using an optical filter for imaging applications (Holm-Kennedy: Column 25 lines 13-46).
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm-Kennedy in view of Franke, and in further view of Shibayama (US 20140256079).
Regarding claim 1, Holm-Kennedy discloses a method of manufacturing a plurality of optical filters (Fig. 3), comprising, for each optical filter:
forming a first mirror (68; column 12 line 65 – column 13 line 1);
forming, on the first mirror, a spacer (62; column 12 lines 65-68);
the spacer to have a variable thickness (Fig. 3A) along a first axis of the optical filter (y-axis), and
a thickness profile of the spacer, along the first axis, to include one or more portions that have a non-linear slope with an absolute value that is greater than zero (Fig. 3A; column 13 lines 10-17); and
forming, on the spacer, a second mirror (66; column 12 line 65 – column 13 line 1).
Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose forming an etch mask on the spacer;
etching the etch mask and the spacer, wherein: etching the etch mask eliminates the etch mask, and etching the spacer causes: the spacer to have a variable thickness, and a thickness profile.
However, Franke teaches forming an etch mask on a spacer (Figs. 11A-11C; see Paras. [0121]-[0122] teaching 1132 is formed on 1130 via 1140);
etching the etch mask and the spacer (Fig. 11B), wherein: etching the etch mask eliminates the etch mask (Fig. 11C), and etching the spacer causes: the spacer to have a variable thickness, and a thickness profile (Fig. 11C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Franke, for forming an etch mask on the spacer; etching the etch mask and the spacer, wherein etching the etch mask eliminates the etch mask, and etching the spacer causes: the spacer to have a variable thickness, and a thickness profile, for the purpose of obtaining a desired thickness profile using a photomask (Franke: Para. [0121]).
Holm-Kennedy further fails to disclose, forming on a region of a wafer.
However, Shibayama teaches forming on a region of a wafer (see Fig. 15 where an optical filter is formed on a wafer 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Shibayama, to form on a region of a wafer, for the purpose of using known fabrication methods and forming optical filters (Shibayama: Para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose the etch mask is formed using a grayscale lithography procedure.
However, Franke teaches an etch mask is formed using a grayscale lithography procedure (Figs. 11A-11C; see Paras. [0121]-[0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Franke, wherein the etch mask is formed using a grayscale lithography procedure, for the purpose of obtaining a desired thickness profile of the spacer (Franke: Para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 3, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Holm-Kennedy further discloses wherein a second axis of the optical filter (x-axis) is orthogonal to the first axis.
Regarding claim 4, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
In the Figure 3 embodiment, Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose the spacer has a uniform thickness along as second axis of the optical filter.
In Figure 13 embodiment and discussion, however, Holm-Kennedy teaches a spectral filter array which has a uniform thickness along a second axis (x-axis) (the examiner considers structure 210 has to have a uniform thickness along the x-axis since it is used to image an object; see column 25 lines 13-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical filter as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy, wherein the spacer has a uniform thickness along as second axis of the optical filter, for the purpose of using an optical filter for imaging applications (Holm-Kennedy: Column 25 lines 13-46).
Regarding claim 6, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 3 above, and Holm-Kennedy further discloses wherein etching the spacer further causes a variation in thickness across a region of the spacer that is parallel to the second axis, of the optical filter, to satisfy a spacer thickness threshold (see column 1 line 60-65 teaching a transmission wavelength is determined by a resonance condition dependent upon the wavelength λ of the optical energy transmitted and upon the thickness d of the sandwiched reflector dielectric, where d=nλ/2, and column 13 lines 56-58 teaching filter 60 has transmission only for preselected wavelengths and at preselected (x,y) coordinate locations).
Regarding claim 7, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose the etch mask and the spacer are etched using a single etching procedure.
However, Franke teaches the etch mask and the spacer are etched using a single etching procedure (Fig. 11B; Paras. [0121]-[0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Franke, wherein the etch mask and the spacer are etched using a single etching procedure, for the purpose of obtaining a desired thickness profile of the spacer using a simpler procedure (Franke: Para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 8, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose the spacer is formed using an etching procedure in coordination with a grayscale lithography procedure.
However, Franke teaches the spacer is formed using an etching procedure in coordination with a grayscale lithography procedure (Figs. 11A-11C; Paras. [0121]-[0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Franke, wherein the spacer is formed using an etching procedure in coordination with a grayscale lithography procedure, for the purpose of obtaining a desired thickness profile of the spacer (Franke: Para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 9, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Holm-Kennedy further discloses, for each optical filter:
forming, on the second mirror, an additional spacer (72).
Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose forming an additional etch mask on the additional spacer.
However, Franke teaches a spacer is formed using an etch mask (Figs. 11A-11C; see Paras. [0121]-[0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Franke, for forming an additional etch mask on the additional spacer, for the purpose of obtaining a desired thickness profile of an additional spacer (Franke: Para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 10, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 9 above.
In the Figure 3 embodiment, Holm-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose the additional spacer to have a variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter.
In the Figure 5A embodiment and discussion, however Holm-Kennedy teaches an optical filter comprising; a third mirror (104) and an additional spacer (N3) having a variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical filter as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy, to have the additional spacer to have a variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter, for the purpose of enhancing optical impedance matching (Holm-Kennedy: column 15 lines 18-39).
Holm-Kennedy further fails to explicitly disclose, for each optical filter:
etching the additional etch mask and the additional spacer, wherein:
etching the additional etch mask eliminates the additional etch mask, and etching the additional spacer causes the additional spacer to have a variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter.
However, Franke teaches forming an optical filter comprises:
etching an etch mask and a spacer (Fig. 11B; Paras. [0121]-[0122]), wherein: etching the etch mask eliminates the etch mask (Fig. 11C), and etching the spacer causes: the spacer to have a variable thickness (Fig. 11C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Franke, wherein for each optical filter: etching the additional etch mask and the additional spacer, wherein: etching the additional etch mask eliminates the additional etch mask, and etching the additional spacer causes the additional spacer to have a variable thickness along the first axis of the optical filter, for the purpose of obtaining a desired thickness profile using a photomask (Franke: Para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 11, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 9 above, and Holm-Kennedy further discloses, for each optical filter:
forming, on the additional spacer, a third mirror (70).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm-Kennedy in view of Franke and Shibayama, and in further view of Uematsu (US 2015/0036133).
Regarding claim 5, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 4 above.
Holm-Kennedy does not disclose that the spacer comprises at least one of a silicon (Si) material, a hydrogenated silicon (Si:H) material, an amorphous silicon (a-Si) material, a silicon nitride (SiN) material, a germanium (Ge) material, a hydrogenated germanium (Ge:H) material, a silicon germanium (SiGe) material, a hydrogenated silicon germanium (SiGe:H) material, a silicon carbide (SiC) material, a hydrogenated silicon carbide (SiC:H) material, a silicon dioxide (SiO2) material, a tantalum pentoxide (Ta2Os) material, a niobium pentoxide (Nb205) material, a niobium titanium oxide (NbTiOx) material, a niobium tantalum pentoxide (Nb2Ta5) material, a titanium dioxide (Ti02) material, an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) material, a zirconium oxide (ZrO2) material, an yttrium oxide (Y203) material, an aluminum nitride (AIN), or a hafnium oxide (HfO2) material.
However, Uematsu teaches forming a spacer using a silicon dioxide (SiO2) material (Para. [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical filter as disclosed by Holm-Kennedy with the teachings of Uematsu, wherein the spacer comprises at least one of a silicon (Si) material, a hydrogenated silicon (Si:H) material, an amorphous silicon (a-Si) material, a silicon nitride (SiN) material, a germanium (Ge) material, a hydrogenated germanium (Ge:H) material, a silicon germanium (SiGe) material, a hydrogenated silicon germanium (SiGe:H) material, a silicon carbide (SiC) material, a hydrogenated silicon carbide (SiC:H) material, a silicon dioxide (SiO2) material, a tantalum pentoxide (Ta2Os) material, a niobium pentoxide (Nb205) material, a niobium titanium oxide (NbTiOx) material, a niobium tantalum pentoxide (Nb2Ta5) material, a titanium dioxide (Ti02) material, an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) material, a zirconium oxide (ZrO2) material, an yttrium oxide (Y203) material, an aluminum nitride (AIN), or a hafnium oxide (HfO2) material, for the purpose of using dielectric materials to from a spacer (Uematsu: Para. [0091]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, and under the nonstatutory double patenting rejections set forth above, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke and Shibayama discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
However, Holm-Kennedy, Franke and Shibayama fail to explicitly disclose “a variation in center wavelength, across a region of the optical filter that is parallel to a second axis of the optical filter, is less than variation defined as D x R x ( 1 -
1
-
(
w
2
/
R
)
2
),
wherein the D is a linear slope, wherein the W is a filter width, and wherein the F is a length of a coating tool arm (see 112(b) rejections above)”.
The examiner further considered Vincent (US 5272518 A) and Houck (US 20200142111). However, Holm-Kennedy, Franke, Uematsu, Shibayama , Vincent and Houck, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 12.
Regarding claim 15, Holm-Kennedy as modified by Franke discloses the limitations of claim 13 above.
However, Holm-Kennedy and Franke fail to explicitly disclose “a variation in center wavelength, across a region of the optical filter, is less than variation defined as D x R x ( 1 -
1
-
(
w
2
/
R
)
2
),
wherein the D is a linear slope, wherein the W is a filter width, and wherein the F is a length of a coating tool arm (see 112(b) rejections above)”.
The examiner further considered the prior art of Vincent and Houck. However, Holm-Kennedy, Franke, Uematsu, Shibayama, Vincent and Houck, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 15.
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being rejected under the nonstatutory double patenting rejections set forth above, but would be allowable if the claims are rewritten to overcome said rejection(s).
Regarding claim 18, Holm-Kennedy discloses a method of manufacturing an optical filter (Fig. 3), the method comprising:
forming a first mirror (68; column 12 line 65 – column 13 line 1) that has a first uniform thickness (column 23 lines 46 – 55);
forming, on the first mirror, a spacer (62; column 12 lines 65-68) that has a variable thickness (see Fig. 3A) along a first axis of the optical filter (y-axis); and
forming, on the spacer, a second mirror (66; column 12 line 65 – column 13 line 1) that has a second uniform thickness (Fig. 3A),
However, Holm-Kennedy and Franke fail to explicitly disclose “a variation in center wavelength, across a region of the optical filter, is less than variation defined as D x R x ( 1 -
1
-
(
w
2
/
R
)
2
), wherein the D is a linear slope, wherein the W is a filter width, and wherein the F is a length of a coating tool arm”.
The examiner further considered the prior art of Vincent and Houck. However, Holm-Kennedy, Franke, Uematsu, Shibayama, Vincent and Houck, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 18.
Dependent claims 19-20 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on claim 18.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871