DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-20 as amended on 9/23/2026 are currently pending.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/01/2056.
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 as amended on 9/23/2026 are under examination in the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 as amended are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Assuncao et al (“Cell-derived extracellular matrix for tissue engineering and regenerative medicine”. Frontiers in Bioengineering and Biotechnology. Published 03 December 2020. Volume 8, article 602009, pages 1-10) in view of Wai Hoe Ng et al (“Extracellular matrix from decellularized mesenchymal stem cells improves cardiac gene expression and oxidative resistance of cardiac C-kit cells”. Regenerative Therapy, 2019, 11, pages 8-16) and Geon Hiu Lee et al (Adv Health Mater, 2016, (1), 56-74).
The cited reference by Assuncao teaches that cell-derived extra-cellular matrices (CD-ECM) are increasingly used in therapeutic applications (see abstract) including treating and repairing cardiovascular tissues (page 6) including diseased heart (figure 2). The cell-derived ECM are decellularized to remove immunogenic components (see page 2, col. 1, par. 3, line 5; see page 2, col. 2, par. 4-5). The cell-derived ECM are produced by several methodologies including 3D cultures of spheroids or 3D microtissues (figure 1). The cited reference by Assuncao recognizes that culturing ECM-secreting cells in 3D format achieves mechano-physical re-engineering of ECM scaffolds with unique architecture (page 5, col. 1, par. 4). ). The cited reference by Assuncao acknowledges that application of cell-derived ECM improves cardiac remodeling (Page 6, par. 3). The cited reference by Assuncao also recognizes the use of mesenchymal stem cells (MSC) - derived ECM for recapitulation of stem cell niche sufficiently, for protection of cells from oxidative stress and for promoting cell proliferation and cell differentiation (page 3, col. 2, lines 1-3) in therapeutic applications for tissue repairs.
Thus, as a whole, the cited reference by Assuncao teaches and suggests a method of treating a diseased heart and improving cardiac function by contacting the diseased heart with the cell derived ECM (figure 2), wherein the cell-derived ECM is made from 3D microtissues (fig. 1) by decellularization to remove immunogenicity .
Although the cited reference by Assuncao recognizes the beneficial effects of mesenchymal stem cells (MSC) - derived ECM for recapitulation of stem cell niches, the disclosure is silent about direct effects of ECM of decellularized MSC on cardiac cell function.
However, the prior art clearly teaches that ECM of decellularized MSC improves cardiac gene expression and oxidative resistance of cardiac cells, thereby, altering proteome of disease heart. For example: see the reference by Wai Hoe Ng (entire document including abstract). The cardiac beneficial ECM was obtained from of decellularized MSC cultured in vitro in 2D environment as disclosed by the cited reference (see section 2.4).
But Geon Hiu Lee teaches that 3D microtissues could be made from MSC (table 1) and that 3D microtissues made from MSC maintain their multipotency and enhanced differentiation compared with 2D monolayers (page 58, col. 1, lines 10-12 from bottom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to use ECM derived from cultured and decellularized MSC in a method for cardiac remodeling and/or treating a diseased heart as taught and suggested by Assuncao with a reasonable expectation of success because ECM of cultured and decellularized MSC improves cardiac gene expression and oxidative resistance of cardiac cells, thereby, altering proteome of disease heart, as taught by Wai Hoe Ng. The use of ECM of decellularized MSC obtained either 2D culture (Wai Hoe Ng) or by 3D culture (Geon Hiu Lee) is considered to be a substitution of equivalents because both environments provide for biologically active ECM of MSC.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
The claimed subject matter fails to patentably distinguish over the state art as represented be the cited references. Therefore, the claims are properly rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 9/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not all found persuasive.
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Ravi et al (“Effect of bone marrow-derived extracellular matrix on cardiac function after ischemic injury”. Biomaterials. November 2012, 33 (1), pages 1-13) has been withdrawn in view of current claim amendment and applicants’ arguments that the cited reference does not teach the use of ECM derived from cultured 3D microtissues derived from human mesenchymal stem cells for treating a diseased heart.
With regard to claim rejection under 35 USC § 103 Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims as amended have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by claim amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VERA AFREMOVA whose telephone number is (571)272-0914. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday: 8.30am-5pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sharmila Landau can be reached at (571) 272-0614. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Vera Afremova
October 23, 2026
/VERA AFREMOVA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653