DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to a request for continued examination (RCE) filed on 7/2/26 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 Line 8 before “wherein” delete “said”
Claim 19 Line 3 before “smaller” add –slightly—for clarification, especially as the term “slightly smaller” has explicit definitions in the specification
Claim 19 Line 4 before “smaller” add –slightly—
Claim 19 Line 5 before “smaller” add –slightly—
Disagreement with any of the aforementioned may warrant at least a 112(b) indefiniteness rejection without constituting a new rejection
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under U.S.C. 112(b).
The term “none of the lengthwise interstitial spaces are perpendicular to the length of the clothing strap” in Claim 1 Lines 10-11 is unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite. Based on Fig. 1, it is unclear how spaces 310 do not have a dimension perpendicular to the length. For the purposes of applying art and providing rejections, the term will be considered met inasmuch as Claim 1 Lines 11-12 “at any lengthwise position, at most, only one of said anti-torsion stabilizing members is present” is met.
The term “each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is attached to or integral with the underside and the main body” in Claim 11 is unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1, on which Claim 11 depends, establishes the underside as being of the main body. As such, it is unclear how the underside can be recited as separate element from the main body in Claim 11. For the purposes of applying art and providing rejections, the term will be interpreted ”underside of the main body.”
The term “each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is attached to or integral with the underside and the main body” in Claim 12 is unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite for reasons similarly indicated for Claim 11 and is similarly interpreted.
The term “wherein each of said anti-torsion stabilizing members covers a majority of the entire width of the main body of the clothing strap” in Claim 20 Lines 1-3 is unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the recitation is inadvertently redundant of Claim 1 Lines 11-13 and should be deleted.
The term “wherein each of said anti-torsion stabilizing members covers a majority of the entire width of the main body of the clothing strap” in Claim 20 Lines 1-3 is further unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how this “majority” differs from “majority” in Claim 1 Line 13 based on the current antecedent basis. For the purposes of applying art and providing rejections, the terms will be considered the same.
Dependent claims are rejected at the least for depending on rejected claims.
Claim Interpretation
Ranges
Similarly as indicated on page 9 of the remarks 3/17/26:
Claim 6 “slightly larger” are values 5/8, 9/16, 17/32 inches as defined for length in [0034]
Claim 6 “slightly smaller” are values 3/8, 7/16, 15/32 inches as defined for length in [0034]
Claim 8 “slightly larger” are values ¼, 3/16, 5/32 inches as defined for width in [0034]
Claim 8 “slightly smaller” are values 1/16, 3/32, 7/64 inches as defined for width in [0034]
Claim 19 “slightly larger or smaller” is interpreted similarly as aforementioned for length/width
Claim 19 “slightly larger” are values 3/8, 5/16 inches as defined for spacing in [0035]
Claim 19 “slightly…smaller” are values 1/8, 1/5 inches as defined for spacing in [0035]
Product by Process
Similar interpretation is applied to Claim 12 as indicated on page 8 of the office action 1/9/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fenske (US Publication 2009/0126084).
Regarding Claim 1, Fenske teaches an anti-torsion clothing strap (it is noted that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations; however, see Fig. 3B; [0028] "Fig. 3B shows one outer shoulder cap strap 52, but it is understood that the opposite cap strap 50 is a mirror image thereof"; [0028] "underside 66 of the outer cap strap is lined with silicone to grip the wearer's skin"; [0028] "silicone…may be applied in patches 68"; Fenske teaches the strap which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being for anti-torsion and for clothing, especially in light of the recitations, and especially inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined), comprising:
a main body, including a generally flattened profile and an underside configured to interface with an outer surface of a user's body (see Fig. 3B for body profile; [0028] "underside 66 of the outer cap strap is lined with silicone to grip the wearer's skin"; [0028] "silicone…may be applied in patches 68"; Fenske teaches the patches which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of interfacing with body as recited), the underside of said main body, comprising:
a set of generally rectangular anti-torsion stabilizing members, arranged in a spaced apart pattern on said underside (see Fig. 3B for pattern and shape; [0028] "silicone…may be applied in patches 68"; Fenske teaches the arrangement of patches which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined);
wherein each length of said anti-torsion stabilizing members is aligned in a same direction as a length of the clothing strap and wherein said anti-torsion stabilizing members are separated from one another by lengthwise interstitial spaces (see Fig. 3B),
but wherein none of the lengthwise interstitial spaces are perpendicular to the length of the clothing strap (as best understood in light of the 112(b) rejections-- see Fig. 3B),
and wherein, at any lengthwise position, at most, only one of said anti-torsion stabilizing members is present and covers a majority of an entire width of the main body (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 2, Fenske teaches the anti-torsion clothing strap of claim 1, wherein said lengthwise interstitial spaces are uniform (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 10, Fenske teaches the anti-torsion clothing strap of claim 1, wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members comprises silicone ([0028] "silicone…applied in patches 68").
Regarding Claim 11, Fenske teaches the anti-torsion clothing strap of claim 10, wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is attached to or integral with the underside and the main body (as best understood in light of the 112(b) rejections-- [0028] "silicone…applied in patches 68"; see Fig. 3B; [0028] "underside 66 of the outer cap strap is lined with silicone to grip the wearer's skin").
Regarding Claim 13, Fenske teaches the anti-torsion clothing strap of claim 1, wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is rectangular (see Fig. 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8, 12, 14, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenske (US Publication 2009/0126084) in view of Baschak et al (USPN 11006686), herein Baschak.
Regarding Claim 3, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein said lengthwise interstitial spaces are each a one-quarter inch space.
However, Fenske teaches the spaces as being between grip elements (see Fig. 3B; [0028]).
Baschak teaches wherein said lengthwise interstitial spaces between grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing elements are each a one-quarter inch space (see Fig. 1; spacing-- Col. 5 Line 65-Col. 6 Line 2 "inter-ovoid distance 126 separates the second side 123 of a first avoid portion 110 and the first side 122 of a second ovoid portion 110. The inter-ovoid distance may be about 7.0 mm, or may be in the range of from about 1.5 mm to about 30 mm", wherein 1/4" is 6.35 mm; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment"; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120”; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
Nevertheless, in the case that the prior art of Baschak lacks sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baschak’s range of spacing from 1.5 mm to 30 mm into 6.35 mm and thereby meet the range as claimed, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see applicant specification [0035]) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s spaces to be as taught by Baschak as known effective spacing for garment grip elements (abstract).
Regarding Claim 4, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein said lengthwise interstitial spaces are approximately a one-quarter inch space.
However, Fenske teaches the spaces as being between grip elements (see Fig. 3B; [0028]).
Baschak teaches wherein said lengthwise interstitial spaces between grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing members are approximately a one-quarter inch space (see Fig. 1; spacing-- Col. 5 Line 65-Col. 6 Line 2 "inter-ovoid distance 126 separates the second side 123 of a first avoid portion 110 and the first side 122 of a second ovoid portion 110. The inter-ovoid distance may be about 7.0 mm, or may be in the range of from about 1.5 mm to about 30 mm", wherein 1/4" is 6.35 mm; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment"; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120” Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
Nevertheless, in the case that the prior art of Baschak lacks sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baschak’s range of spacing from about 1.5 mm to about 30 mm into 6.35 mm and thereby meet the range of approximately one-quarter inch as claimed, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see applicant specification [0035]) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s spaces to be as taught by Baschak as known effective spacing for garment grip elements (abstract).
Regarding Claim 5, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-half inch long.
However, Fenske teaches the members as being grip elements ([0028]).
Baschak teaches wherein each of the grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-half inch long (see Fig. 1; length-- Col. 6 Lines 3-8 "each ovoid portion 110 may have a major axis 118…and a minor axis 116…length 112 as measured along the major axis 118…may be about 13.25 mm, or may be in the range of from about 5 mm to about 50 mm"; wherein 1/2" is 12.7 mm; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment"; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120"; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
Nevertheless, in the case that the prior art of Baschak lacks sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baschak’s range of length from about 5 mm to about 50 mm into 12.7 mm and thereby meet the range of one-half inch as claimed, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see applicant specification [0034]) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s lengths to be as taught by Baschak as known effective lengths for garment grip elements (abstract).
Regarding Claim 6, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-half inch long, or slightly larger or slightly smaller than a one-half inch long.
However, Fenske teaches the members as being grip elements ([0028]).
Baschak teaches wherein each of the grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-half inch long, or slightly larger or slightly smaller than a one-half inch long (see claim interpretation, where values can be 3/8, 7/16, 15/32, ½, 17/32, 9/16, 5/8 inches; see Fig. 1; length-- Col. 6 Lines 3-8 "each ovoid portion 110 may have a major axis 118…and a minor axis 116…length 112 as measured along the major axis 118…may be about 13.25 mm, or may be in the range of from about 5 mm to about 50 mm"; wherein 1/2" is 12.7 mm; 3/8” is 9.525 mm and 5/8” is 15.875 mm; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment"; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120"; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
Nevertheless, in the case that the prior art of Baschak lacks sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baschak’s range of length from about 5 mm to about 50 mm into about 9.525 mm to about 15.875 mm and thereby meet the range of one-half inch or slightly larger or slightly smaller as claimed, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see applicant specification [0034]) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s lengths to be as taught by Baschak as known effective lengths for garment grip elements (abstract).
Regarding Claim 7, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-eighth inch wide.
However, Fenske teaches the members as being grip elements ([0028]).
Baschak teaches wherein each of the grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing members is wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-eighth inch wide (see Fig. 1; width-- Col. 6 Lines 3-8 "each ovoid portion 110 may have a major axis 118…and a minor axis 116...each ovoid portion 110 may also have a width 114 as measured along the minor axis 116...about 4.6 mm, or may be in the range of from about 2 mm to about 15 mm"; wherein 1/8" is 3.175 mm; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment"; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120”; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
Nevertheless, in the case that the prior art of Baschak lacks sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baschak’s range of length from about 2 mm to about 15 mm into 3.175 mm and thereby meet the range of one-eighth inch as claimed, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see applicant specification [0034]) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s widths to be as taught by Baschak as known effective widths for garment grip elements (abstract).
Regarding Claim 8, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-eighth inch wide, or slightly larger or slightly smaller than one-eighth inch wide.
However, Fenske teaches the members as being grip elements ([0028]).
Baschak teaches wherein each of the grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-eighth inch wide, or slightly larger or slightly smaller than one-eighth inch wide (see claim interpretation, wherein values can be 1/16, 3/32, 7/64, 1/8, 5/32, 3/16, 1/4 inches; see Fig. 1; width-- Col. 6 Lines 3-8 "each ovoid portion 110 may have a major axis 118…and a minor axis 116...each ovoid portion 110 may also have a width 114 as measured along the minor axis 116...about 4.6 mm, or may be in the range of from about 2 mm to about 15 mm"; wherein 1/8" is 3.175 mm; wherein 1/16” is 1.5875 mm; wherein ¼” is 6.35 mm; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment"; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120"; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
Nevertheless, in the case that the prior art of Baschak lacks sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baschak’s range of length from about 2 mm to about 15 mm into about 1.5875 mm to about 6.35 mm and thereby meet the range of one-eighth inch or slightly larger or slightly smaller as claimed, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see applicant specification [0034]) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s widths to be as taught by Baschak as known effective widths for garment grip elements (abstract).
Regarding Claim 12, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 11.
Fenske further teaches wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is attached to or integral with the underside and the main body (as best understood in light of the 112(b) rejections-- [0028] "silicone…applied in patches 68"; see Fig. 3B; [0028] "underside 66 of the outer cap strap is lined with silicone to grip the wearer's skin").
Fenske does not explicitly teach attached or integral by heat fusion.
See claim interpretation; the recitation “by heat fusion” is being treated as a product-by-process limitation. Therefore, even if Fenske’s application results in different structural characteristics of the end product than other attachment/integral methods, it still would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to use the applying in the Fenske reference above as claimed since such a process is a well-known technique in the art. in other words, the structure of the applied silicone patch teaches the structure of Claim 12 because it has the structure of Claim 12).
Nevertheless, Fenske teaches that the members are silicone grip elements ([0028], wherein it is known in the art that silicone is elastomeric, see extrinsic evidence Hoeven USPN 10165803).
Baschak teaches wherein each of the elastomeric grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing members is attached to or integral with the underside and the main body by heat fusion (see Fig. 7; Col. 10 Lines 33-35 “at least one ovoid portion 710…to form the grip film kit 700”; Col. 10 Lines 39-40 "grip film kit 700 may be configured such that when applied to a substrate, such as a garment…the grip film is bonded to the substrate, using…heat activated adhesive"; Col. 10 Lines 50-52 "the grip film may…be applied to the substrate using an adhesive or bonding process, such as a heat process, to create a more permanent bond"; Col. 2 Lines 35-37 "grip film may be formed of an elastomeric material...that has stretch and recovery properties"; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s members to be attached via heat fusion as taught by Baschak as a known process for attaching elastomeric grip materials.
Regarding Claim 14, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members comprises rounded ends.
However, Fenske teaches rectangular grip elements (see Fig. 3B; [0028]).
Baschak teaches wherein each of the rectangular grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing members comprises rounded ends (see Fig. 1; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120"; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment”; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s shape to be as taught by Baschak as known effective rectangular shape for garment grip elements (abstract), especially as a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding Claim 19, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein each of said lengths of said anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-half inch, or slightly larger or smaller than one-half inch,
wherein each width of said anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-eighth inch, or slightly larger or smaller than one-eighth inch,
and wherein each interstitial space is one-quarter inch, or slightly larger or smaller than one-quarter inch.
However, Fenske teaches the members as being grip elements ([0028]).
Baschak wherein each of said lengths of said anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-half inch, or slightly larger or smaller than one-half inch (see claim interpretation, where values can be 3/8, 7/16, 15/32, ½, 17/32, 9/16, 5/8 inches; see Fig. 1; length-- Col. 6 Lines 3-8 "each ovoid portion 110 may have a major axis 118…and a minor axis 116…length 112 as measured along the major axis 118…may be about 13.25 mm, or may be in the range of from about 5 mm to about 50 mm"; wherein 1/2" is 12.7 mm; 3/8” is 9.525 mm and 5/8” is 15.875 mm; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment"; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120"; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
Nevertheless, in the case that the prior art of Baschak lacks sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baschak’s range of length from about 5 mm to about 50 mm into about 9.525 mm to about 15.875 mm and thereby meet the range of one-half inch or slightly larger or slightly smaller as claimed, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see applicant specification [0034]) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s lengths to be as taught by Baschak as known effective lengths for garment grip elements (abstract).
Baschak further teaches wherein each width of said anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-eighth inch, or slightly larger or smaller than one-eighth inch (see claim interpretation, wherein values can be 1/16, 3/32, 7/64, 1/8, 5/32, 3/16, 1/4 inches; see Fig. 1; width-- Col. 6 Lines 3-8 "each ovoid portion 110 may have a major axis 118…and a minor axis 116...each ovoid portion 110 may also have a width 114 as measured along the minor axis 116...about 4.6 mm, or may be in the range of from about 2 mm to about 15 mm"; wherein 1/8" is 3.175 mm; wherein 1/16” is 1.5875 mm; wherein ¼” is 6.35 mm; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment"; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120"; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
Nevertheless, in the case that the prior art of Baschak lacks sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baschak’s range of length from about 2 mm to about 15 mm into about 1.5875 mm to about 6.35 mm and thereby meet the range of one-eighth inch or slightly larger or slightly smaller as claimed, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see applicant specification [0034]) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s widths to be as taught by Baschak as known effective widths for garment grip elements (abstract).
Baschak further teaches and wherein each interstitial space between grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing members is one-quarter inch, or slightly larger or smaller than one-quarter inch (see claim interpretation, wherein values can be 1/8, 1/5, ¼, 5/16, 3/8 inches; see Fig. 1; spacing-- Col. 5 Line 65-Col. 6 Line 2 "inter-ovoid distance 126 separates the second side 123 of a first avoid portion 110 and the first side 122 of a second ovoid portion 110. The inter-ovoid distance may be about 7.0 mm, or may be in the range of from about 1.5 mm to about 30 mm", wherein 1/4" is 6.35 mm; 1/8” is 3.175 mm; 3/8” is 9.525 mm; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment"; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120”; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
Nevertheless, in the case that the prior art of Baschak lacks sufficient specificity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baschak’s range of spacing from 1.5 mm to 30 mm into 3.175 to 9.525 mm and thereby meet the range as claimed, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see applicant specification [0035]) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s spaces to be as taught by Baschak as known effective spacing for garment grip elements (abstract).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 19.
Fenske further teaches wherein each of said anti-torsion stabilizing members covers a majority of the entire width of the main body of the clothing strap (see Fig. 3B).
Fenske does not explicitly teach and wherein each of said anti-torsion stabilizing members has at least partially rounded ends.
However, Fenske teaches rectangular grip elements (see Fig. 3B; [0028]).
Baschak teaches wherein each of the rectangular grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing members comprises rounded ends (see Fig. 1; Col. 5 Lines 55-57 "each ovoid portion 110 may be pill-shaped, generally resembling a rectangle with a semicircular first end 121 and a semicircular second end 120"; abstract "grip that may assist in maintaining position and/or configuration of the extremity covering portion on the body a wearer"; Col. 8 Lines 50-52 "extremity covering portion 500 may comprise....an upper-body portion of a garment"; Col. 8 Lines 57-61 "grip film 506 may be coupled to an inner-facing surface of...the garment”; Col. 1 Lines 15-16 “ovoid portions providing grip-enhancing properties”; Baschak teaches the ovoid portions which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s shape to be as taught by Baschak as known effective rectangular shape for garment grip elements (abstract), especially as a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenske (US Publication 2009/0126084) in view of Pagnon (USPN 9516905).
Regarding Claim 9, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein each of the anti-torsion stabilizing members is less than 3 millimeter thick.
However, Fenske teaches the members as being grip elements ([0028]).
Pagnon teaches the grip elements/anti-torsion stabilizing members is less than 3 millimeter thick (see Figs. 1, 2; for 27-- Col. 4 Lines 21-31 “inner surface 22 of each cup 20 may include one or more first inserts 27 made of a first flexible material”; Col. 5 Lines 52-56 “first and/or the second polymeric material may be chosen from silicones…which make them suitable for protracted contact with the human skin”; Claim 1 in Col. 9 Lines 6-11 " wherein the first inserts have a maximum height outward of the inner surface of each of the cups of less than 1 mm when the cups are not worn, so as to provide a uniform profile to the outer surface of each of the cups during the use of the bra"; Col. 7 Lines 43, 47-50 “to ensure an optimum aesthetic appearance, each of the first inserts 27 may have such a maximum height H…less than 1 mm…same as …the third inserts 28”; Pagnon teaches the silicon member which meets the structural limitations in the claims and performs the functions as recited such as being capable of being anti-torsion and stabilizing, inasmuch as the terms have been structurally defined).
Fenske discloses the general conditions of the claimed invention except for the express disclosure of the member thickness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the member thickness in the range recited, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Especially absent a showing of criticality with respect to the member width ([0034]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s member thickness to be of the range recited, especially as Pagnon teaches a variation in member thickness is known in the flesh grip area of bra arts based on the amount of securement desired (Col. 4 Lines 29-30), as a results-effective variable.
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenske (US Publication 2009/0126084) in view of Kogon (US Publication 2016/0037832).
Regarding Claim 15, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein the main body comprises silk.
Kogon teaches wherein the main body comprises silk (see Fig. 6; [0003] "straps made of silk…tend to slide down"; [0035] "A non-slipping material layer can be sewn onto bra straps 91-92 to keep the article of clothing in a proper position in shoulder area").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s main body to be of silk as taught by Kogon as a known material for a brassiere, especially a non-slip brassiere (abstract).
Regarding Claim 16, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske further teaches wherein the main body comprises at least one ply of material (see Fig. 3B).
Fenske does not explicitly teach that the material is made of silk.
Kogon teaches wherein the main body material comprises silk (see Fig. 6; [0003] "straps made of silk…tend to slide down"; [0035] "A non-slipping material layer can be sewn onto bra straps 91-92 to keep the article of clothing in a proper position in shoulder area").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s main body to be of silk as taught by Kogon as a known material for a brassiere, especially a non-slip brassiere (abstract).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenske (US Publication 2009/0126084) in view of Henricksen (USPN 6332825) and Kogon (US Publication 2016/0037832).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein the main body comprises at least two plies of material made of silk.
Henricksen teaches wherein the main body comprises at least two plies of material (see Figs. 1, 2; Col. 3 Lines 18-21 "This garment is comprised of two layers of fabric, the outer layer 13 and the inner layer 14, and this double layer gives extra support to the breasts", wherein strap main body is part of garment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske to be of two ply as taught by Henricksen such as to provide support (Col. 3 Lines 18-23) and/or for easier construction (material of straps/cups being the same).
Kogon teaches wherein the main body material comprises silk (see Fig. 6; [0003] "straps made of silk…tend to slide down"; [0035] "A non-slipping material layer can be sewn onto bra straps 91-92 to keep the article of clothing in a proper position in shoulder area").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske’s main body to be of silk as taught by Kogon as a known material for a brassiere, especially a non-slip brassiere (abstract).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenske (US Publication 2009/0126084) in view of Henricksen (USPN 6332825).
Regarding Claim 18, Fenske teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Fenske does not explicitly teach wherein the main body is lined with interfacing.
Henricksen further teaches wherein the main body is lined with interfacing (see Figs. 1, 2; Col. 3 Lines 18-23 "This garment is comprised of two layers of fabric, the outer layer 13 and the inner layer 14, and this double layer gives extra support to the breasts. The preferred materials for these layers of fabric are knitted fabrics comprised of absorbing or wicking yarns with an elastic yarn as part", wherein strap main body is part of garment; wherein second ply is the interfacing/lining).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenske to be of the interfacing-lined main body (two ply) as taught by Henricksen such as to provide support (Col. 3 Lines 18-23) and/or for easier construction (material of straps/cups being the same).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. Therefore, see aforementioned rejections for the argued missing limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be used to formulate a rejection if necessary: Gazit et al (USPN 11272745) directed to grip element lengths and widths.
/GRACE HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732