DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HERMAN et al (US 12,154,236).
Regarding claim 1, HERMAN discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that (abstract; col. 9, line 55-63), when executed by one or more processors of an augmented-reality headset 100, cause the augmented- reality headset to perform: responsive to receiving, at an artificial-reality (AR) headset, a user input requesting an augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be directed to a physical surface 320: presenting, via the AR headset, an augmented-reality interaction guide 314,402,502,512,602,604,702,902 that is (i) co-located with the physical surface, and (ii) presented with a first orientation relative to an orientation of the AR headset (col. 11, line 27-32; col. 12, line 47-67; col. 17, line 23-53; col. 22, line 7-37; presentation of graphical overlay on chosen surface); obtaining data, via the AR headset, indicating that a user interaction has been performed that causes a modification to the physical surface (col. 12, line 40-46; col. 22, line 46-67); and responsive to obtaining additional data, via the AR headset, indicating movement of the physical surface relative to the orientation of the AR headset: presenting, via the AR headset, the augmented-reality interaction guide so that it appears at the physical surface with a second orientation relative to the orientation of the AR headset, different than the first orientation, wherein the second orientation is determined based on: the modification to the physical surface caused by the user interaction at the physical surface, and the movement of the physical surface relative to the orientation of the AR headset (col. 13, line 23-45; col. 21, line 36-57; col. 22, line 7-37, 46-67; col. 42, line 13-23; anchoring and re-anchoring based on pose and detected markings).
Regarding claim 2, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the augmented-reality headset, further cause the augmented-reality headset to perform: before presenting the augmented-reality interaction guide: obtaining object data about the physical surface and/or a physical object having the physical surface (col. 22, line 7-36; col. 39, line 18-33; col. 45, line 45-col. 46, line 8); and identifying the augmented-reality interaction guide based on the object data about the physical surface and/or the physical object (col. 21, line 23-36; col. 22, line 7-36; col. 39, line 18-33; col. 45, line 45-col. 46, line 8).
Regarding claim 3, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the augmented-reality headset, further cause the augmented-reality headset to perform: after identifying the augmented-reality interaction guide based on the object data: presenting, via the AR headset, an interaction guide selector user interface element that includes the augmented-reality interaction guide (col. 22, line 7-37, 46-67; col. 42, line 13-23).
Regarding claim 4, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the augmented-reality headset, further cause the augmented-reality headset to perform: responsive to another user input, directed to the physical surface, to cause a different augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be directed to the physical surface: determining that the physical surface is unsuitable for the different augmented- reality-assisted interaction (col. 19, line 15-52; col. 22, line 37-45; col. 39, line 19-26); and based on determining that the physical surface is unsuitable for the different augmented- reality interaction, forgoing causing the different augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be directed to the physical surface (col. 19, line 15-52; col. 22, line 37-45; col. 39, line 19-26).
Regarding claim 5, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein forgoing causing the different augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be performed at the physical surface includes forgoing presenting a respective augmented-reality interaction guide, corresponding to the different augmented-reality interaction, to appear at the physical surface (col. 19, line 37-51; col. 22, line 37-45).
Regarding claim 6, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the augmented-reality headset, further cause the augmented-reality headset to perform: in accordance with forgoing presenting the respective augmented-reality interaction guide based on determining that the physical surface is unsuitable for of the physical surface for the different augmented-reality-assisted interaction: presenting an indication that the physical surface is unsuitable for the different augmented-reality-assisted interaction (col. 19, line 37-51; col. 22, line 37-45).
Regarding claim 7, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein the augmented-reality-assisted interaction includes one or more of: (i) painting, (ii) calligraphy, (iii) graffiti, and/or (iv) cut-out patterns (col. 12, line 33-47; col. 2, line 1-16).
Regarding claim 8, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the augmented-reality headset, further cause the augmented-reality headset to perform: determining, based on obtaining additional surface data about the physical surface, that a portion of the augmented-reality-assisted interaction facilitated by the augmented-reality interaction guide has been completed (col. 3, line 3-66; col. 14, line 1-14; col. 29, line 46-61); and based on determining that the portion of the augmented-reality-assisted interaction has been completed, adjusting the presenting of the augmented-reality interaction guide to present respective visual elements corresponding to a different portion of the augmented-reality interaction guide (col. 3, line 3-66; col. 14, line 1-14; col. 29, line 46-61).
Regarding claim 9, HERMAN discloses a method (abstract), comprising: responsive to receiving, at an artificial-reality (AR) headset, a user input requesting an augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be directed to a physical surface 320: presenting, via the AR headset, an augmented-reality interaction guide 314,402,502,512,602,604,702,902 that is (i) co-located with the physical surface, and (ii) presented with a first orientation relative to an orientation of the AR headset (col. 11, line 27-32; col. 12, line 47-67; col. 17, line 23-53; col. 22, line 7-37; presentation of graphical overlay on chosen surface); obtaining data, via the AR headset, indicating that a user interaction has been performed that causes a modification to the physical surface (col. 12, line 40-46; col. 22, line 46-67); and responsive to obtaining additional data, via the AR headset, indicating movement of the physical surface relative to the orientation of the AR headset: presenting, via the AR headset, the augmented-reality interaction guide so that it appears at the physical surface with a second orientation relative to the orientation of the AR headset, different than the first orientation, wherein the second orientation is determined based on: the modification to the physical surface caused by the user interaction at the physical surface, and the movement of the physical surface relative to the orientation of the AR headset (col. 13, line 23-45; col. 21, line 36-57; col. 22, line 7-37, 46-67; col. 42, line 13-23; anchoring and re-anchoring based on pose and detected markings).
Regarding claim 10, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses before presenting the augmented-reality interaction guide: obtaining object data about the physical surface and/or a physical object having the physical surface (col. 22, line 7-36; col. 39, line 18-33; col. 45, line 45-col. 46, line 8); and identifying the augmented-reality interaction guide based on the object data about the physical surface and/or the physical object (col. 21, line 23-36; col. 22, line 7-36; col. 39, line 18-33; col. 45, line 45-col. 46, line 8).
Regarding claim 11, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses after identifying the augmented-reality interaction guide based on the object data: presenting, via the AR headset, an interaction guide selector user interface element that includes the augmented-reality interaction guide (col. 22, line 7-37, 46-67; col. 42, line 13-23).
Regarding claim 12, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses responsive to another user input, directed to the physical surface, to cause a different augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be directed to the physical surface: determining that the physical surface is unsuitable for the different augmented- reality-assisted interaction (col. 19, line 15-52; col. 22, line 37-45; col. 39, line 19-26); and based on determining that the physical surface is unsuitable for the different augmented- reality interaction, forgoing causing the different augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be directed to the physical surface (col. 19, line 15-52; col. 22, line 37-45; col. 39, line 19-26).
Regarding claim 13, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein forgoing causing the different augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be performed at the physical surface includes forgoing presenting a respective augmented-reality interaction guide, corresponding to the different augmented-reality interaction, to appear at the physical surface (col. 19, line 37-51; col. 22, line 37-45).
Regarding claim 14, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses in accordance with forgoing presenting the respective augmented-reality interaction guide based on determining that the physical surface is unsuitable for of the physical surface for the different augmented-reality-assisted interaction: presenting an indication that the physical surface is unsuitable for the different augmented-reality-assisted interaction (col. 19, line 37-51; col. 22, line 37-45).
Regarding claim 15, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein the augmented-reality-assisted interaction includes one or more of: (i) painting, (ii) calligraphy, (iii) graffiti, and/or (iv) cut-out patterns (col. 12, line 33-47; col. 2, line 1-16).
Regarding claim 16, HERMAN discloses a system (abstract), comprising an augmented-reality headset, comprising one or more processors and memory, the memory comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause performance of: responsive to receiving, at an artificial-reality (AR) headset, a user input requesting an augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be directed to a physical surface 320: presenting, via the AR headset, an augmented-reality interaction guide 314,402,502,512,602,604,702,902 that is (i) co-located with the physical surface, and (ii) presented with a first orientation relative to an orientation of the AR headset (col. 11, line 27-32; col. 12, line 47-67; col. 17, line 23-53; col. 22, line 7-37; presentation of graphical overlay on chosen surface); obtaining data, via the AR headset, indicating that a user interaction has been performed that causes a modification to the physical surface (col. 12, line 40-46; col. 22, line 46-67); and responsive to obtaining additional data, via the AR headset, indicating movement of the physical surface relative to the orientation of the AR headset: presenting, via the AR headset, the augmented-reality interaction guide so that it appears at the physical surface with a second orientation relative to the orientation of the AR headset, different than the first orientation, wherein the second orientation is determined based on: the modification to the physical surface caused by the user interaction at the physical surface, and the movement of the physical surface relative to the orientation of the AR headset (col. 13, line 23-45; col. 21, line 36-57; col. 22, line 7-37, 46-67; col. 42, line 13-23; anchoring and re-anchoring based on pose and detected markings).
Regarding claim 17, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the augmented-reality headset, further cause the augmented-reality headset to perform: before presenting the augmented-reality interaction guide: obtaining object data about the physical surface and/or a physical object having the physical surface (col. 22, line 7-36; col. 39, line 18-33; col. 45, line 45-col. 46, line 8); and identifying the augmented-reality interaction guide based on the object data about the physical surface and/or the physical object (col. 21, line 23-36; col. 22, line 7-36; col. 39, line 18-33; col. 45, line 45-col. 46, line 8).
Regarding claim 18, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the augmented-reality headset, further cause the augmented-reality headset to perform: after identifying the augmented-reality interaction guide based on the object data: presenting, via the AR headset, an interaction guide selector user interface element that includes the augmented-reality interaction guide (col. 22, line 7-37, 46-67; col. 42, line 13-23).
Regarding claim 19, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the augmented-reality headset, further cause the augmented-reality headset to perform: responsive to another user input, directed to the physical surface, to cause a different augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be directed to the physical surface: determining that the physical surface is unsuitable for the different augmented- reality-assisted interaction (col. 19, line 15-52; col. 22, line 37-45; col. 39, line 19-26); and based on determining that the physical surface is unsuitable for the different augmented- reality interaction, forgoing causing the different augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be directed to the physical surface (col. 19, line 15-52; col. 22, line 37-45; col. 39, line 19-26).
Regarding claim 20, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. HERMAN further discloses wherein forgoing causing the different augmented-reality-assisted interaction to be performed at the physical surface includes forgoing presenting a respective augmented-reality interaction guide, corresponding to the different augmented-reality interaction, to appear at the physical surface (col. 19, line 37-51; col. 22, line 37-45).
Conclusion
/ARIEL A BALAOING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624