Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 2/6/26 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 6-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11712028 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12262700. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the recite the same arrangement of a post, fishing net, rope, actuator, wireless communication, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poirot US 3905143 in view of Terry US20150156998.
Regarding claim 6, Poirot teaches a fishing system for fishing in a body of water, comprising:
a post disposed in the body of water (50 figure 1);
a net disposed in the body of water (20);
a rope attached to the post (64/60 figures 1 and 5), a portion of the rope being connected to the net (figures 1 and 5);
an actuator; wherein the actuator is configured to cause the net to rise (132/136 figures 12-13 and described in column 11 line 60-column 12 line 67);
but does not specify a wireless receiver for receiving a wireless signal to control the actuator.
Terry; however, teaches the use of wireless technologies (figure 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide wireless capabilities; in order to enhance efficient use of the system by a user at a remote location; since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention; and since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and it is obvious to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, the references teach the fishing system of claim 6, wherein Poirot further teaches the actuator includes a motor (column 13 lines 20-23).
Regarding claim 8, the references teach the fishing system of claim 6, wherein Poirot further teaches the actuator includes a winch (column 13 line 23).
Regarding claim 9, the references teach the fishing system of claim 6, wherein Poirot further teaches the actuator includes a winch, which is configured to rotate a spool in one direction to pull in the rope (see previous rejections); but does not specify and in an opposite direction to let out the rope, thereby controlling a position of the net.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such reverse functions, in order to provide efficient resetting of the system by a user at a remote location as previously described; since if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 10, the references teach the fishing system of claim 6, wherein Terry further teaches further comprising a sensor disposed above or under a surface of the water (1000 figure 10), wherein the sensor includes a camera, an acoustic sensor, an electric inductance sensor, a heat sensor, or a wireless signal tracing receiver (paragraph 0039). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such sensor functions; in order to enhance efficient use of the system by a user at a remote location; since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the references teach the fishing system of claim 10, wherein the sensor collects data including at least some of time, lightness, temperature, sonic signals, and images, and transmits the data to a mobile device, computer, remote controller, or control center (see previous rejections); but does not specify exactly time, lightness, temperature, sonic signals, and images. However, such type of data is well known and suggested in Terry. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such various combinations of data; in order to meet user design preferences for fishing particular types of fish; since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the references teach the fishing system of claim 6, wherein Poirot further teaches further comprising a baiting device disposed within the net (66/88 figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, the references teach the fishing system of claim 10, wherein Terry further teaches further comprising a control unit configured to analyze data collected by the sensor and trigger the actuator based on predetermined thresholds (as previously described and summarized in figure 9).
Regarding claim 14, the references teach the fishing system of claim 13, but do not specify wherein the control unit is capable of switching the fishing system from a baiting mode to a harvest mode based on the analyzed data.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such functions, (see previous rejections) in order to provide efficient resetting of the system by a user at a remote location as previously described; since if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim; and since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention; and it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; and it is obvious to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/JESSICA B WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644