DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Application #19/067,928
Claim 1: A computer mediated communication system comprising:
a computer system configured to wirelessly communicate with a plurality of communication devices via a wireless transceiver and to mediate communications among the plurality of communication devices, the computer system comprising:
a memory; and
a processor coupled with the memory and configured to:
responsive to an initiator providing an ambiguous input for a communication interaction to the computer mediated communication system, parse the ambiguous input for information about a desired target of the communication interaction;
match the information about the desired target against target data maintained by the computer mediated communication system to select a list of potential targets for the communication interaction;
compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target;
rank the potential targets based on their respective likelihoods of being the desired target to achieve a ranked list of potential targets; and
disambiguate the ambiguous input by communicatively coupling the initiator with at least one of the potential targets based on a ranking in the ranked list.
Patent #12,245,299
Claim 1: A computer mediated communication system comprising:
a plurality of communication devices;
a wireless transceiver; and
a computer system configured to wirelessly communicate with the plurality of communication devices via the wireless transceiver and to mediate communications among the plurality of communication devices, the computer system comprising:
a memory; and
a processor coupled with the memory and configured to:
parse, in response to an initiator providing an ambiguous input for a communication interaction to the computer mediated communication system, the ambiguous input for information about a desired target of the communication interaction;
match the information about the desired target against target data maintained by the computer mediated communication system to select a list of potential targets for the communication interaction;
compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target;
rank the potential targets based on their respective likelihoods of being the desired target to achieve a ranked list of potential targets; and
disambiguate the ambiguous input by communicatively coupling the initiator with at least one of the potential targets based on a ranking in the ranked list.
Claim 2: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, feedback from previous communication interaction attempts by the initiator, such that a presence of previous communication interaction attempts by the initiator increases the likelihood and a greater number of communication interaction attempts by the initiator increases the likelihood more than a lesser number of communication attempts.
Claim 3: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1 wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, call duration information associated with the potential target, such that an increased duration of calls increases the likelihood of the potential target being the desired target.
Claim 4: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, a frequency of use metric of the computer mediated communication system associated with the potential target, such that increased frequency of use by the potential target increases a likelihood of the potential target being the desired target.
Claim 5: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, a recency of use metric of the computer mediated communication system associated with the potential target, such that a more recent use of the computer mediated communication system by the potential target increases the likelihood of the potential target being the desired target more than a less recent use of the computer mediated communication system.
Claim 6: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, a recency of the potential target leaving a message for the initiator via the computer mediated communication system, such that the message being left more recently by the initiator increases the likelihood more than the message being left less recently by the initiator.
Claim 7: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, information about a recency of a response to a request and response event by the potential target, such that the response being made more recently by the potential target increases the likelihood more than the response being made less recently by the potential target.
Claim 8: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, information about a department of assignment of the initiator to adjust the likelihood of the potential target, wherein the department of assignment is one of a plurality of departments of a business employing the computer mediated communication system.
Claim 9: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, information about a personal characteristic of the potential target to adjust the likelihood of the potential target.
Claim 10: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, information about a current physical location of the potential target to adjust the likelihood of the potential target, such that the current physical location of the potential targets correspond to the one of a department name and a responsibility associated with the ambiguous input increases the likelihood.
Claim 11: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to rank the potential targets based on their respective likelihoods of being the desired target to achieve a ranked list of potential targets comprises the processor configured to:
employ connection feedback data to adjust a weighting used in ranking of the potential targets, wherein the connection feedback data is collected by the computer mediated communication system via monitoring of communication connections, such that the weighting is adjusted based on success and failure data of accurately making connections between initiators and desired targets.
Claim 12: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to disambiguate the ambiguous input by communicatively coupling the initiator with at least one of the potential targets based on a ranking within the ranked list comprises the processor configured to:
implement an ad-hoc group communication to a plurality of the potential targets based on respective rankings of the plurality of the potential targets being within a threshold of difference, such that members of the ad-hoc group down-select the ad-hoc group to the desired target by dropping out of the ad-hoc group if they are not the desired target.
Claim 2: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, feedback from previous communication interaction attempts by the initiator, such that a presence of previous communication interaction attempts by the initiator increases the likelihood and a greater number of communication interaction attempts by the initiator increases the likelihood more than a lesser number of communication attempts.
Claim 3: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1 wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, call duration information associated with the potential target, such that an increased duration of calls increases the likelihood of the potential target being the desired target.
Claim 4: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, a frequency of use metric of the computer mediated communication system associated with the potential target, such that increased frequency of use by the potential target increases a likelihood of the potential target being the desired target.
Claim 5: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, a recency of use metric of the computer mediated communication system associated with the potential target, such that a more recent use of the computer mediated communication system by the potential target increases the likelihood of the potential target being the desired target more than a less recent use of the computer mediated communication system.
Claim 6: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, a recency of the potential target leaving a message for the initiator via the computer mediated communication system, such that the message being left more recently by the initiator increases the likelihood more than the message being left less recently by the initiator.
Claim 7: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, information about a recency of a response to a request and response event by the potential target, such that the response being made more recently by the potential target increases the likelihood more than the response being made less recently by the potential target.
Claim 8: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, information about a department of assignment of the initiator to adjust the likelihood of the potential target, wherein the department of assignment is one of a plurality of departments of a business employing the computer mediated communication system.
Claim 9: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, information about a personal characteristic of the potential target to adjust the likelihood of the potential target.
Claim 10: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target comprises the processor configured to:
incorporate, in the computation of a likelihood of a potential target of the potential targets being the desired target, information about a current physical location of the potential target to adjust the likelihood of the potential target, such that the current physical location of the potential targets correspond to the one of a department name and a responsibility associated with the ambiguous input increases the likelihood.
Claim 11: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to rank the potential targets based on their respective likelihoods of being the desired target to achieve a ranked list of potential targets comprises the processor configured to:
employ connection feedback data to adjust a weighting used in ranking of the potential targets, wherein the connection feedback data is collected by the computer mediated communication system via monitoring of communication connections, such that the weighting is adjusted based on success and failure data of accurately making connections between initiators and desired targets.
Claim 12: The computer mediated communication system of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to disambiguate the ambiguous input by communicatively coupling the initiator with at least one of the potential targets based on a ranking within the ranked list comprises the processor configured to:
implement an ad-hoc group communication to a plurality of the potential targets based on respective rankings of the plurality of the potential targets being within a threshold of difference, such that members of the ad-hoc group down-select the ad-hoc group to the desired target by dropping out of the ad-hoc group if they are not the desired target.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15-21 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US PGPUB #2020/0380077) in view of Gruber et al. (US PGPUB #2012/0016678).
Regarding Claim 1, Ge discloses a computer mediated communication system (title, abstract, figs. 1-7) comprising:
a computer system configured to wirelessly communicate with a plurality of communication devices via a wireless transceiver and to mediate communications among the plurality of communication devices (Ge fig. 7: 706; ¶0119), the computer system comprising:
a memory (Ge fig. 7: 704; ¶0103, ¶0105); and
a processor coupled with the memory (Ge fig. 7: 702; ¶0104) and configured to:
responsive to an initiator providing an ambiguous input for a communication interaction to the computer mediated communication system (Ge figs. 3: 302-308; 6: 602-606 and 612), parse the ambiguous input for information about a desired target of the communication interaction (Ge ¶0097 discloses outputting the clarifying question includes generating a parse graph for the unresolved user utterance and selecting a connected sub-graph of the parse graph. In some examples, the connected sub-graph of the parse graph includes a root node of the parse graph. For example, the parse graph can be a dependency parse tree which identifies a root word of the unresolved user utterance and a clause relationship between clauses in the utterance. Accordingly, selecting an appropriate connected sub-graph can include finding a "question word" from the unresolved user utterance, e.g., "who", "what," "where," "was," and the like, wherein the question word is nearest to an ambiguous coreference in the unresolved user utterance. For example, in fig. 2M, the ambiguous coreference is "she" and the related question word is "what." Outputting the clarifying question can further include replacing the ambiguous coreference with another question word, e.g., "who," as shown in fig. 2M);
match the information about the desired target against target data maintained by the computer mediated communication system to select a list of potential targets for the communication interaction (Ge ¶0092 discloses attempting to resolve the ambiguous entity includes determining that the ambiguous entity is an ambiguous reference to two or more entities, wherein the clarifying question is a request to select one of the two or more entities. For example, the clarifying question may include an ordered list of the two or more entities, and accordingly identifying the disambiguating entity in the clarifying user utterance may include identifying the disambiguating entity by an ordinal number reference to the ordered list of the two or more entities. As shown in fig. 2K, there are two different entities which could match the ambiguous entity from user utterance 208K, namely Bill Gates and Paul Allen);
compute likelihoods of potential targets on the list of potential targets of being the desired target (Ge ¶0092 discloses accordingly, the clarifying question mentions these options to aid the user in disambiguation: "What other companies did who found? Bill Gates or Paul Allen?". Furthermore, the clarifying response refers back to these choices, by clarifying that the user meant "the first one," namely Bill Gates. Alternately or additionally, identifying the disambiguating entity in the clarifying user utterance may include identifying the disambiguating entity by a partial entity name included in the clarifying user utterance, for example, the clarifying user utterance could have specified "Bill" or "Gates" instead of "the first one.").
Ge may not explicitly disclose rank the potential targets based on their respective likelihoods of being the desired target to achieve a ranked list of potential targets; and disambiguate the ambiguous input by communicatively coupling the initiator with at least one of the potential targets based on a ranking in the ranked list.
However, Gruber (figs. 1-47) teaches rank the potential targets based on their respective likelihoods of being the desired target to achieve a ranked list of potential targets (Gruber fig. 22: 126, 128, 130; ¶0314-¶0316); and
disambiguate the ambiguous input (Gruber ¶0088 discloses the user's requests are ambiguous or need further clarification, assistant 1002 can use the various techniques including active elicitation, paraphrasing, suggestions, and the like, to obtain the needed information so that the correct services 1340 are called and the intended action taken) by communicatively coupling the initiator with at least one of the potential targets based on a ranking in the ranked list (Gruber fig. 28: 230; ¶0241 discloses by performing active input elicitation, assistant 1002 is able to disambiguate intent at an early phase of input processing. ¶0341 discloses the context of possible event trigger 162 can include information about people, places, times, and other data. ¶0342 discloses these data from the context of event trigger 162 can be used to disambiguate speech or text inputs from the user. For example, if a calendar event alert includes the name of a person invited to the event, that information can help disambiguate input which might match several people with the same or similar name).
Ge and Gruber are analogous art as they pertain to a communication system. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the recognition of entity constraints of the ambiguous entity (as taught by Ge) to disambiguate intent at an early phase of input processing (as taught by Gruber, ¶0241) to overcome difficulties with large number of diverse and inconsistent functions (Gruber, ¶0005-¶0007).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US PGPUB #2020/0380077) in view of Gruber et al. (US PGPUB #2012/0016678) further in view of Rathod (US PGPUB #2019/0052701).
Regarding Claim 13, Ge in view of Gruber discloses the computer mediated communication system of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the initiator provides the input via a first communication device of the plurality of communication devices and the desired target is a user of a second communication device of the plurality of communication devices.
However, Rathod (title, abstract, figs. 1-19B) teaches wherein the initiator provides the input via a first communication device of the plurality of communication devices and the desired target is a user of a second communication device of the plurality of communication devices (Rathod ¶0257 discloses determining targeted receiving users or users of network(s) for connecting requestor with matched or determined users of network(s), identifying availability and presence information of prospective receivers or determined users of network(s), dynamically identifying current or updated priorities and limits of receiving messages of prospective receivers or determined users of network(s), applying privacy settings and preferences, associating metadata including keywords, categories, semantic syntax, ontologies, context data and system data including date & time. ¶0331 discloses advertiser user(s) can also present advertisement(s) to particular or selected presented or contextual candidate connections based on targeted advertisement criteria including keywords, categories, location, language, user data, and user profile and/or other users' requests).
Ge, Gruber, and Rathod are analogous art as they pertain to a communication system. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Ge in view of Gruber in light of the teachings of Rathod to present advertisement(s) to particular or selected presented or contextual candidate (as taught by Rathod, ¶0101) to automatically determining matchmaking, removal or blocking of unwanted users from communications sessions, channels or networks or platforms (Rathod, ¶0003).
Regarding Claim 14, Ge in view of Gruber and Rathod discloses the computer mediated communication system of claim 13. But Ge in view of Gruber may not explicitly disclose wherein the initiator provides the input via the computer system and the desired target is a user of a communication device of the plurality of communication devices.
However, Rathod (title, abstract, figs. 1-19B) teaches wherein the initiator provides the input via the computer system and the desired target is a user of a communication device of the plurality of communication devices (Rathod ¶0331 discloses advertiser user(s) can also present advertisement(s) to particular or selected presented or contextual candidate connections based on targeted advertisement criteria including keywords, categories, location, language, user data, and user profile and/or other users' requests).
Ge, Gruber, and Rathod are analogous art as they pertain to a communication system. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Ge in view of Gruber in light of the teachings of Rathod to present advertisement(s) to particular or selected presented or contextual candidate (as taught by Rathod, ¶0101) to automatically determining matchmaking, removal or blocking of unwanted users from communications sessions, channels or networks or platforms (Rathod, ¶0003).
Conclusion
/YOGESHKUMAR PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691