Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) was/were considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Figs. 1-3 in the reply filed on 06/02/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 17 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 10, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smart (U.S. Patent 5,370,151).
In regards to claim 1, Smart discloses a disc (40) for a pressure relief valve (10), the disc (40) comprising a disc body that includes: a core (51) defining a central axis of the disc (40), and a flange (50) flexibly coupled to the core, the flange (50) defining a seat surface of the disc (40),wherein the seat surface is axially movable relative to the core (51).
In regards to claim 2, the flange (50) is resiliently biased toward an unloaded configuration relative to the core (51), wherein the seat surface extends substantially radial to the central axis in the unloaded configuration.
In regards to claim 6, the flange (50) extends radially outward from the core (51).
In regards to claim 10, the disc body defines an annular groove (52) above the flange (50), wherein the annular groove (52) is defined at least partially by the flange (50).
In regards to claim 13, Smart further discloses a disc holder (30) defining a disc cavity that accommodates the core (51) of the disc (40)
In regards to claim 20, Smart further discloses a nozzle (41) defining a bore, an opening at an end of the bore, and a seat surface that surrounds a perimeter to the opening, wherein the disc assembly is translatable between an open configuration in which the seat surface of the disc is spaced from the seat surface of the nozzle, and a closed configuration in which the seat surface of the disc engages the seat surface of the nozzle. See Fig. 2.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alberts et al. (U.S. Patent 5,011,116).
In regards to claim 1, Alberts discloses a disc (22) for a pressure relief valve (10), the disc (22) comprising a disc body that includes: a core (36) defining a central axis of the disc (22), and a flange (40) flexibly coupled to the core (22), the flange (40) defining a seat surface (38)of the disc (22), wherein the seat surface (38) is axially movable relative to the core (22).
In regards to claim 2, the flange (40) is resiliently biased toward an unloaded configuration relative to the core (22), wherein the seat surface (38) extends substantially radial to the central axis in the unloaded configuration.
In regards to claim 5, the flange (40) includes: a distal portion that defines the seat surface (38), and a proximal portion that flexibly couples the distal portion to the core (22),wherein a ratio of a smallest axial thickness of the proximal portion to a largest axial thickness of the distal portion is about 0.20 to about 0.32. See col. 3, line 63 - col. 4, line 9.
In regards to claim 6, the flange (40) extends radially outward from the core (22).
In regards to claim 11, the disc body defines a recess (R), wherein the seat surface (38) extends outward from an outer perimeter of the recess (R)
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smart in view of Martin et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0157116), hereinafter “Martin”.
Smart discloses all of the elements as discussed above.
Smart does not specifically disclose that the disc body comprises polytetrafluoroethylene. However, Martin teaches a safety valve wherein a sealing member is made of polytetrafluoroethylene (para. [0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have designed the disc body of Smart from polytetrafluoroethylene to provide a chemically inert and wide temperature array seal as taught by Martin.
Claim(s) 13-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howes et al. (U.S. Patent 4,726,395), hereinafter “Howes” in view of Alberts.
In regards to claim 13, Howes discloses a disc assembly including a disc (31), and a disc holder (19) defining a disc cavity that accommodates a core of the disc (31).
Howes does not specifically disclose the disc according to claim 1. However, Alberts teaches a safety valve according to claim 1 as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have made the assembly of Howes with the disc of Alberts to absorb closing shocks (see Alberts abstract)
In regards to claim 14, the disc holder (19) includes a frustoconical skirt surface (S) extending outward from an outer perimeter of the disc cavity.
In regards to claim 15, Howes, as modified, discloses that the disc cavity further accommodates the flange of the disc.
In regards to claim 19, Howes, as modified, discloses that the disc holder includes a frustoconical skirt surface extending outward from an outer perimeter of the holder surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-9, 12, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753