DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim appears to state that the first mixed layer is both distinct from and part of the individual electrode. Clarification is required.
Because claims 3-5 depend from claim 2, they are also rejected on this basis.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim appears to state that the second mixed layer is both distinct from and part of the common electrode. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu (2022/0063273).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Shimizu teaches a liquid ejecting head comprising:
a first piezoelectric element (fig. 3, item 230) including a first individual electrode (figs. 4, 5, item 280 with second precursor layer L2p), a first piezoelectric layer (fig. 4, item 260), and a common electrode (figs. 4, 5, item 270 with first precursor layer L1p);
a second piezoelectric element (fig. 3, item 230) including an individual electrode (figs. 4, 5, item 280 with second precursor layer L2p), a piezoelectric layer (fig. 4, item 260), and a common electrode (figs. 4, 5, item 270 with first precursor layer L1p); and
a vibration plate (fig. 4, item 231), wherein the individual electrode is individually provided for each of a plurality of piezoelectric elements ([0095]), the common electrode is provided in common for the plurality of piezoelectric elements ([0095]), the piezoelectric layer is made of a piezoelectric material containing lead as a constituent element ([0099]), each of the individual electrode and the common electrode contains lead, and a lead content in the common electrode is lower than a lead content in the individual electrode ([0061]).
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 1, further comprising a first mixed layer (fig. 5, item P1b) that is disposed between the individual electrode and the piezoelectric layer and in which a first electrode material constituting the individual electrode and lead are mixed or alloyed ([0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 2, wherein the first mixed layer includes a first adhesion material ([0065], adhesion layer) that assists adhesion between the individual electrode and the piezoelectric layer, and the first adhesion material, the first electrode material, and lead are mixed or alloyed ([0069]).
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 3, wherein the first adhesion material contains titanium oxide as a constituent element ([0069]).
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 2, further comprising a second mixed layer (fig. 5, item L2p) that is disposed between the common electrode and the piezoelectric layer and in which a second electrode material constituting the common electrode and lead are mixed or alloyed ([0063]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Shimizu teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 1, further comprising a lead diffusion suppression layer ([0067], layer 233) disposed between the individual electrode and the vibration plate, wherein the vibration plate, the individual electrode, the piezoelectric layer, and the common electrode are stacked in order in a stacking direction (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Shimizu teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 6, wherein the lead diffusion suppression layer contains one or both of zirconium and silicon ([0035]).
Regarding claim 8, Shimizu teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 1, wherein the vibration plate, the common electrode, the piezoelectric layer, and the individual electrode are stacked in order in a stacking direction (fig. 4, Z direction), and the piezoelectric layer includes a plurality of layers made of the piezoelectric 4 material ([0063]).
Regarding claim 9, Shimizu teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 5, wherein the vibration plate, the common electrode, the piezoelectric layer, and the individual electrode are stacked in order in a stacking direction (fig. 4, Z direction), and the piezoelectric layer includes a plurality of layers made of the piezoelectric material ([0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Shimizu teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 1, wherein the vibration plate, the individual electrode, the piezoelectric layer, and the common electrode are stacked in order in a stacking direction (fig. 4, Z direction), and the piezoelectric layer includes a plurality of layers made of the piezoelectric material ([0063]).
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853