DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11595083. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claims 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11881912. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claims 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12261657. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Guardo (US 2012/0001593) and further in view of Miyabayashi (US 20150200716), Okamura (US 2012/0288019), Elad (US 2017/0279306), and further in view of Lee (US 20140009109 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, Di Guardo discloses a wireless power receiver (device 2B, Fig. 5 and Para. 25 and 29) comprising:
a power pickup configured to receive, from a wireless power transmitter, wireless power in a power transfer phase (via resonant circuit 5 to receive power from resonant circuit 4, Para. 4, 28 and 25); and
a communicator/controller configured to:
allow a data stream outgoing to the wireless power transmitter and a data stream incoming from the wireless power transmitter simultaneously or separately (via duplex or half-duplex communication, see Para. 9, 20, 22).
Di Guardo fails to disclose the communicator/controller configured to: transmit a configuration packet comprising first information, wherein the first information related to the wireless power receiver informs whether simultaneous incoming and outgoing data stream are supported or not supported; and receive a capability packet comprising second information from the wireless power transmitter, wherein the second information related to the wireless power transmitter informs whether simultaneous incoming and outgoing data stream are supported or not supported.
Miyabayashi teaches power transmission systems can be configured to operate with many different devices with different capabilities and sending a configuration packet and receive a capability packet to properly configure the system (the power transmission device 100 transmits a power capability information transmission request to the power reception device 200 (S102). Here, the power capability information transmission request according to this embodiment is a type of command for causing a device receiving the power capability information transmission request to transmit power capability information indicating a capability regarding the transmission/reception of power in the device, Para. 91).
From the teachings of Miyabayashi, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Di Guardo to include the communicator/controller configured to: transmit a configuration packet comprising first information, wherein the first information related to the wireless power receiver informs whether simultaneous incoming and outgoing data stream are supported or not supported; and receive a capability packet comprising second information from the wireless power transmitter, wherein the second information related to the wireless power transmitter informs whether simultaneous incoming and outgoing data stream are supported or not supported in order to allow more versatility in communications.
Di Guardo and Miyabayashi fail to specifically disclose wherein each of the configuration packet and the capability packet are composed of 1 bit.
Okamura teaches a wireless power and data transmission system including data stream composed of 1 bit (binary data stream formed of a plurality of 0 or 1 bits, Para. 128 and Abstract).
From the teachings of Okamura, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Di Guardo and Miyabayashi to include wherein each of the configuration packet and the capability packet are composed of 1 bit to ensure reliable communication using already known protocols in the art.
The combination of Di Guardo, Miyabayashi and Okamura fail to disclose transmit, to a wireless power transmitter, a first data stream that includes an initial auxiliary data control (ADC) data packet opening the first data stream, (ii) a sequence of auxiliary data transport (ADT) data packets including a first actual message, and (iii) a final ADC data packet closing the first data stream; and receive, from the wireless power transmitter, a second data stream that includes (i) an initial ADC data packet opening the second data stream, (ii) a sequence of ADT data packets including a second actual message, and (iii) a final ADC data packet closing the second data stream, wherein the wireless power receiver transmits the first data stream and simultaneously receive the second data stream, based on the first information and the second information.
Di Guardo already teaches the communicator/controller configured to allow a data stream outgoing to the wireless power transmitter and a data stream incoming from the wireless power receiver simultaneously when possible (via duplex or half-duplex communication, see Para. 9, 20, 22).
Elad teaches that a communication signal transmitted can be configured to include an initial auxiliary data control (ADC) data packet opening the data stream, (ii) a sequence of auxiliary data transport (ADT) data packets including a first actual message, and (iii) a final ADC data packet closing the data stream (via signal comprised of header 604, message 606 and footer 608, See Fig. 6A and Para. 55).
From the teachings of Di Guardo and Elad, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Di Guardo, Miyabayashi and Okamura to include transmit, to a wireless power transmitter, a first data stream that includes an initial auxiliary data control (ADC) data packet opening the first data stream, (ii) a sequence of auxiliary data transport (ADT) data packets including a first actual message, and (iii) a final ADC data packet closing the first data stream; and receive, from the wireless power transmitter, a second data stream that includes (i) an initial ADC data packet opening the second data stream, (ii) a sequence of ADT data packets including a second actual message, and (iii) a final ADC data packet closing the second data stream, wherein the wireless power receiver transmits the first data stream and simultaneously receive the second data stream, based on the first information and the second information in order to use a reliable communication protocol already known in the prior arts.
The combination of Di Guardo, Miyabayashi, Okamura and Elad fail to disclose receiving, from the wireless power transmitter, a digital ping; and wherein, during the first data stream, the wireless power receiver transmits at least one control error packet related to control information to the wireless power transmitter.
Lee teaches a wireless power transfer method comprising receiving, from the wireless power transmitter, a digital ping (ping phase 620, Para. 220, 221); and wherein, during the first data stream, the wireless power receiver transmits at least one control error packet related to control information to the wireless power transmitter (Para. 248).
From the teachings of Lee, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Guardo, Miyabayashi, Okamura and Elad to include receiving, from the wireless power transmitter, a digital ping in order to respond to the ping to inform the transmitter the presence of the receiver; and wherein, during the first data stream, the wireless power receiver transmits at least one control error packet related to control information to the wireless power transmitter in order to correct transmission of power.
Regarding claim 2, the combinaton of Di Guardo, Miyabayashi, Okamura, Elad and Lee teaches the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Conclusion
/YONG HANG JIANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689