Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on April 22, 2026 has been entered. Accordingly, Claims 1-5 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 4 are independent claims and have been amended.
In view of Applicant’s Amendment, it is the position of the Examiner that Claims 1-5 no longer invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
In view of Applicant’s Amendment, the rejection of Claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to software per se has been withdrawn.
It is the position of the Examiner that Claims 1-5 are not directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, as they are directed to a technological solution to a technological problem. Accordingly, the rejection of Claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Factor (US Patent No. 9,697,224 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Factor discloses a pipeline for data ingestion to a database, comprising one or more processors configured to implement:
an index-generating component based on a deterministic function, and a comparison component adapted to determine if an index generated by said index generating component already exists in the database (see Factor, column 2, lines 45-52, where the method also includes calculating a hash for the data content by the distributed data storage system, writing the data content of an object used for data deduplication, wherein a name of the object is based on the hash and determining whether the data content is present in the distributed data storage system based on the name of an object previously stored on the distributed data storage system [it is the position of the Examiner that searching for an object in a database using a hash as search input is not patentably distinguishable from hash indexing]);
wherein data is ingested into the database only if the generated index is determined to be unique in the database (see Factor, column 2, lines 32-36, where it is also desirable to allow for the avoidance of sending data content over the network (“over-the-wire”) into the system when that data content already exists in the distributed data storage system); and
wherein the pipeline operates without database locking and without synchronization with parallel ingestion processes, thereby enabling simultaneous ingestion operations (see Factor, column 2, lines 40-45, where according to an embodiment of the present invention, a method for performing data deduplication for an eventually consistent distributed data storage system includes receiving data content from one or more clients by a distributed data storage system, wherein the one or more clients do not coordinate transmitting of the data content; see also column 1, lines 11-12, where the implementation is lock-free).
Regarding Claim 2, Factor discloses the pipeline according to Claim 1, wherein the deterministic function is a hash function (see Factor, column 2, lines 45-52, where the method also includes calculating a hash for the data content by the distributed data storage system, writing the data content of an object used for data deduplication, wherein a name of the object is based on the hash and determining whether the data content is present in the distributed data storage system based on the name of an object previously stored on the distributed data storage system).
Regarding Claim 4, Factor discloses a method for ingesting data into a database, comprising:
generating an index of the data being ingested by applying a deterministic function to the data’s attributes (see Factor, column 2, lines 45-52, where the method also includes calculating a hash for the data content by the distributed data storage system, writing the data content of an object used for data deduplication, wherein a name of the object is based on the hash and determining whether the data content is present in the distributed data storage system based on the name of an object previously stored on the distributed data storage system [it is the position of the Examiner that searching for an object in a database using a hash as search input is not patentably distinguishable from hash indexing]), and;
ingesting the data into the database only if the generated index is determined to be unique in the database (see Factor, column 2, lines 32-36, where it is also desirable to allow for the avoidance of sending data content over the network (“over-the-wire”) into the system when that data content already exists in the distributed data storage system); and
wherein the method is performed without database locking and without synchronization with parallel ingestion processes, thereby enabling simultaneous ingestion operations (see Factor, column 2, lines 40-45, where according to an embodiment of the present invention, a method for performing data deduplication for an eventually consistent distributed data storage system includes receiving data content from one or more clients by a distributed data storage system, wherein the one or more clients do not coordinate transmitting of the data content; see also column 1, lines 11-12, where the implementation is lock-free).
Regarding Claim 5, Factor discloses the method of Claim 4, wherein the deterministic function is a hash function (see Factor, column 2, lines 45-52, where the method also includes calculating a hash for the data content by the distributed data storage system, writing the data content of an object used for data deduplication, wherein a name of the object is based on the hash and determining whether the data content is present in the distributed data storage system based on the name of an object previously stored on the distributed data storage system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Factor as applied to Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 above, and further in view of Wang (PG Pub. No. 2022/0269659 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Factor discloses the pipeline of Claim 1, wherein:
Factor does not disclose the database is a graph database. Wang discloses the database is a graph database (see Wang, paragraph [0004], where a method for deduplicating entity nodes in a graph database is provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Factor with Wang for the benefit of deduplicating entity nodes in a graph database (see Wang, Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments, filed April 22, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are moot as they are not directed to the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Camper (PG Pub. No. 2022/0156236 A1), which concerns fuzzy search using field-level deletion neighborhoods.
/FARHAD AGHARAHIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161