Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (ABAB pattern) and Species III (FIG. 5A-B) in the reply filed on 19 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-8, 10, and 15-19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08 December 2025.
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication(s) filed on 08 December 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 5-8, 10, and 15-19 are withdrawn by the Applicant.
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-14, and 20 are being considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims (specifically claims 1 and 11). Therefore, the reduced chord length from a trailing edge in a tip region of the one or more intentionally mistuned blades relative to a chord length of the one or more baseline blades; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 1 and 11. The Examiner notes, while the verbiage in the Specification (see [0071], last sentence) supports the Species III reducing the chord of the blade at either the leading or trailing edges, only a reduced chord length at the leading edge is depicted in the Figures. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 11-13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Schoenenborn (US 9835166), hereafter referred to as Schoenenborn.
Regarding Claim 1, Schoenenborn discloses the following:
A rotor (for example see Col. 4, lines 60-65) blade system comprising:
a rotor (for example see Col. 4, lines 60-65); and
a plurality of blades (10, 20) coupled to the rotor (for example see Col. 4, lines 60-65), the plurality of blades (10, 20) arranged in an airfoil distribution pattern,
the airfoil distribution pattern comprising one or more baseline blades (20) and one or more intentionally mistuned blades (10; see Col. 5, lines 4-26),
the one or more intentionally mistuned blades (10; see Col. 5, lines 4-26) including an intentional mistuning feature (cutback of trailing edge 12, see dashed line FIG. 1; Col. 5, lines 4-26) that includes a reduced chord length from a trailing edge in a tip region of the one or more intentionally mistuned blades (10; see Col. 5, lines 4-26) relative to a chord length of the one or more baseline blades (20).
Regarding Claim 2, Schoenenborn discloses the following:
The rotor (for example see Col. 4, lines 60-65) blade system of claim 1,
wherein the one or more baseline blades (20) include at least one of a baseline shape, a baseline size, or baseline features, and the intentional mistuning feature (cutback of trailing edge 12, see dashed line FIG. 1; Col. 5, lines 4-26) is different than the at least one of the baseline shape, the baseline size, or the baseline features of the one or more baseline blades (20).
Regarding Claim 3, Schoenenborn discloses the following:
The rotor (for example see Col. 4, lines 60-65) blade system of claim 1,
wherein the airfoil distribution pattern is AB, wherein A is a baseline blade and B is a first intentionally mistuned blade with a first intentionally mistuning feature (Col. 1, lines 15-20 discloses EP 1211382, which teaches an AB distribution pattern, for example see FIG. 5 and Col. 1, lines 50-55 disclose an array of alternating first and second rotor blades). (Examiner note, EP 1211382 has been cited by Schoenenborn as prior art. A statement by an applicant in the specification or made during prosecution identifying the work of another as “prior art” is an admission which can be relied upon for both anticipation and obviousness determinations, regardless of whether the admitted prior art would otherwise qualify as prior art under the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 102. See MPEP 2129. EP 1211382 has been cited by Schoenenborn as prior art.)
Regarding Claim 9, Schoenenborn discloses the following:
The rotor (for example see Col. 4, lines 60-65) blade system of claim 1,
wherein a span of the one or more intentionally mistuned blades (10; see Col. 5, lines 4-26) is substantially equal to a span of the one or more baseline blades (20)(as can be seen in FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Schoenenborn discloses the following:
A turbine engine comprising:
a fan section;
a compressor section; and
a turbine section, wherein at least one of the fan section, the compressor section, and the turbine section includes a rotor (for example see Col. 4, lines 60-65) blade system comprising:
a rotor (for example see Col. 4, lines 60-65); and
a plurality of blades (10, 20) coupled to the rotor (for example see Col. 4, lines 60-65), the plurality of blades (10, 20) arranged in an airfoil distribution pattern, the airfoil distribution pattern comprising one or more baseline blades (20) and one or more intentionally mistuned blades (10; see Col. 5, lines 4-26), the one or more intentionally mistuned blades (10; see Col. 5, lines 4-26) including an intentional mistuning feature (cutback of trailing edge 12, see dashed line FIG. 1; Col. 5, lines 4-26) that includes a reduced chord length from a trailing edge in a tip region of the one or more intentionally mistuned blades (10; see Col. 5, lines 4-26) relative to a chord length of the one or more baseline blades (20).
Regarding Claim 12, Schoenenborn discloses the following:
The turbine engine of claim 11,
wherein the one or more baseline blades (20) include at least one of a baseline shape, a baseline size, or baseline features, and the intentional mistuning feature is different than the at least one of the baseline shape, the baseline size, or the baseline features of the one or more baseline blades (20).
Regarding Claim 13, Schoenenborn discloses the following:
The turbine engine of claim 11,
wherein the airfoil distribution pattern is AB, wherein A is a baseline blade and B is a first intentionally mistuned blade with a first intentionally mistuning feature (Col. 1, lines 15-20 discloses EP 1211382, which teaches an AB distribution pattern, for example see FIG. 5 and Col. 1, lines 50-55 disclose an array of alternating first and second rotor blades). (Examiner note, EP 1211382 has been cited by Schoenenborn as prior art. A statement by an applicant in the specification or made during prosecution identifying the work of another as “prior art” is an admission which can be relied upon for both anticipation and obviousness determinations, regardless of whether the admitted prior art would otherwise qualify as prior art under the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 102. See MPEP 2129. EP 1211382 has been cited by Schoenenborn as prior art.)
Regarding Claim 20, Schoenenborn discloses the following:
The turbine engine of claim 11,
wherein a chord of the one or more intentionally mistuned blades (10; see Col. 5, lines 4-26) is substantially equal to a chord of the one or more baseline blades (20)(as can be seen in FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenenborn (US 9835166), hereafter referred to as Schoenenborn as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Li (US 20160290137).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Schoenenborn discloses the following:
The rotor (for example see Col. 4, lines 60-65) blade system of claim 1, and
the turbine engine of claim 11, (respectively)
it is well known to use variations in the chord to modify the vibrational frequency of a mistuned blade adjacent to a standard blade to reduce blade flutter (see for example Col. 1, lines 15-20 cited reference EP 1211382, FIG. 5, [0011]).
Schoenenborn does not teach the following:
wherein the intentional mistuning feature is a first intentional mistuning feature and the one or more intentionally mistuned blades include a second intentional mistuning feature.
However Li teaches the following:
it is well known to modify the chord of a blade at the tip of the blade by providing a cutback in either the leading edge, the trailing edge, or both the leading and trailing edge (FIG. 2, [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cutback in the tip of the blade, as disclosed by Schoenenborn, by adding a cutback to the leading edge of the blade, as taught by Li, with the reasonable expectation of successfully reducing the mode shape of a targeted frequency, and thereby reducing the noise generated by the blade during engine operation (see for example Li, [0033-35]). The Examiner further notes, since Schoenenborn cited reference EP 1211382 teaches it is well known to vary the chord of a blade to modify the vibrational frequency of a mistuned blade adjacent to a standard blade, it would have been further obvious to try adding a cutback to the leading edge of the blade disclosed by Schoenenborn, because there are only three possible means for varying the chord of the blade at the tip (i.e. providing a cutback on the leading edge, trailing edge, or both). This rationale supports a conclusion of obviousness since there are only a finite number of predictable locations the cutback can be provided at the tip, because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, and in this instance doing so leads to the anticipated success of frequency mistuning, thus it is likely that product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense (See MPEP 2143, I. E.).
Prior Art
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar blade mistuning arrangements see Pages 1-2.
Conclusion
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745