DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 2020/0332621).
Regarding claim 1, Smith et al. discloses a metallic dynamic seal 152 Fig. 1, comprising: an annular main body comprising an axial axis, an external peripheral surface (152a of Annotated Fig. 1, below) and an internal peripheral surface (152b of Annotated Fig. 1, below), said internal peripheral surface comprising at least two convex contact surfaces (152c) configured to define a metal-to-metal sealing region, said external peripheral surface comprising at least two concave surfaces (152d of Annotated Fig. 1, below) corresponding to respective ones of said convex contact surfaces, and wherein the external surface comprises a flange (152e of Annotated Fig. 1, below) projecting radially outward from the axial axis of said annular main body 100.
Regarding claim 4, Smith et al. discloses said two concave surfaces 152d extend around the entire perimeter of the external peripheral surface 152a. Regarding claims 5 and 6, Smith et al. discloses two convex contact surfaces 152c are parallel to each other.
Regarding claim 7, Smith et al. discloses said two convex contact surfaces 152c are separated by an intermediate surface (152f of Annotated Fig. 1, above).
Regarding claim 11, Smith et al. discloses that the convex contact surfaces 152c and the intermediate surface 152f form a sealing test chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al.
Regarding claim 8, Smith et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a thickness of the convex contact surfaces ranging from 0.1 to 0.35 inches. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the convex contact surfaces to any number of ranges (i.e. 0.1 to 0.35 inches) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Regarding claim 9, Smith et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a that the convex contact surfaces are made of a chromium-nickel alloy. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used as a matter of obvious design choice. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. in view of Paton (US 2024/0209943).
Regarding claim 10, Smith et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose that the contact surfaces are coated with silver. Paton shows this to be well known in the art. Paton, a metallic dynamic seal 1 Fig. 1, discloses the use of contact surfaces coated with silver (Para. 0011). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the surfaces of Smith et al. with a silver coating as taught by Paton in order to prevent seizing (Para. 0053 of Paton).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In view of a review of the prior art by the Examiner; the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests all of the claimed subject matter of claim 3 including where the flange has an inclined face that is connected to one of the concave surfaces of the external peripheral surface by means of an intermediate surface. There is no motivation to modify the prior art references, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, in the manner required by the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675