DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (WO 2016140754).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a metallic dynamic seal 100 Fig. 2C, comprising: an annular main body comprising an axial axis 110, an external peripheral surface 114 and an internal peripheral surface 131, said internal peripheral surface comprising at least two convex contact surfaces (at 131) configured to define a metal-to-metal sealing region, and wherein the external surface comprises a flange 104 projecting radially outward from the axial axis 110 of said annular main body 100.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses said external peripheral surface 114 comprises at least two concave surfaces 118 separated from each other by said flange 104.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses said flange 104 has an inclined face (1040 of Annotated Fig. 2C, below) that is connected to one of the concave surfaces 118 of the external peripheral surface 114 by means of an intermediate surface 116.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses said two concave surfaces 118 extend around the entire perimeter of the external peripheral surface 114. Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses two convex contact surfaces 131 Fig. 2E are parallel to each other.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses that the two convex surfaces 131 are parallel to each other.
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses said two convex contact surfaces 131 are separated by an intermediate surface 126.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses that the convex contact surfaces 131 and the intermediate surface 123 form a sealing test chamber (area below 126).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a thickness of the convex contact surfaces ranging from 0.1 to 0.35 inches. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the convex contact surfaces to any number of ranges (i.e. 0.1 to 0.35 inches) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a that the convex contact surfaces are made of a chromium-nickel alloy. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used as a matter of obvious design choice. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Paton (US 2024/0209943).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose that the contact surfaces are coated with silver. Paton shows this to be well known in the art. Paton, a metallic dynamic seal 1 Fig. 1, discloses the use of contact surfaces coated with silver (Para. 0011). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the surfaces of Chen with a silver coating as taught by Paton in order to prevent seizing (Para. 0053 of Paton).
Conclusion
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675