CTNF 19/068,225 CTNF 98528 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2025 and 01/22/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-6, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2022/0266870) in view of Urano, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2021/0041894) . Regarding Claim 1, Hayashi teaches: An information processing method for use in an information processing device (Hayashi, Para. 0005-0006, 0039 – “a remote support method” for a “remote support system” including “an information processing device that performs various processes for autonomous driving and remote autonomous driving” ), the information processing method comprising: acquiring remote operation information about remote operation on a first mobile body that requires remote operation (Hayashi, Para. 0006, 0057-0058 – obtaining “vehicle motion information”, wherein the vehicle is a vehicle which is “configured to send a remote control request to a remote operator” when the “vehicle traveling autonomously gets into a remote control request situation” ) among a plurality of mobile bodies each capable of traveling autonomously and capable of being remotely operated (Hayashi, Fig. 1 Below and Para. 0027 – a “number of vehicles 10 that are used in the remote support system 100”, where Fig. 1 illustrates a plurality of vehicles 10 ); acquiring mobile body information about one or more second mobile bodies other than the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0035-0037, 0063, 0067 – a “communication device” which “communicates with external devices such as roadside units, surrounding vehicles, and surrounding infrastructure” to obtain “surrounding environment information”, for example, “an oncoming vehicle”; wherein surrounding information may include “a larger number of objects to be avoided” ), the one or more second mobile bodies being remotely monitored by a monitor who is in charge of remote monitoring of the first mobile body among the plurality of mobile bodies ; determining, based on the remote operation information and the mobile body information, whether to allow the monitor to perform remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0047, 0058-0063, 0075 – a “remote control request determination unit 452 determines the necessity of sending a remote control request” based on a “collision determination process” which determines “whether the vehicle 10 is predicted to collide with the oncoming vehicle V1” using “surrounding environment information”, including the oncoming vehicle, and “vehicle motion information” ); and giving notification based on a result of the determining as to whether to allow the monitor to perform remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0075-0077 – the “remote control request determination unit 452 sends the determination result regarding the necessity of sending a remote control request to the remote control request unit 460”, which “sends a remote control request RQ to the remote control device 2 according to the determination result regarding the necessity of sending a remote control request received from the remote control request determination unit 452” ). PNG media_image1.png 463 561 media_image1.png Greyscale Hayashi, Fig. 1 Hayashi does not specifically teach the one or more second mobile bodies being remotely monitored by a monitor who is in charge of remote monitoring of the first mobile body among the plurality of mobile bodies. However, Urano teaches the one or more second mobile bodies being remotely monitored by a monitor who is in charge of remote monitoring of the first mobile body among the plurality of mobile bodies (Urano, Para. 0121 and 0162 – where “traffic information acquisition unit” may acquire traffic information by “communicating with a traffic information center” and obtains “the traffic information of the target route based on information from another autonomous vehicle 2 which is currently traveling”; where “remote commanders”, or monitors, monitor the plurality of autonomous vehicles ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing method of Hayashi to include the one or more second mobile bodies being remotely monitored by a monitor who is in charge of remote monitoring of the first mobile body among the plurality of mobile bodies, as taught by Urano, in order to obtain accurate traffic information and improve determination accuracy based on the information. In regards to Claim 2, Hayashi in view of Urano teaches the information processing method of Claim 1, and Hayashi further teaches wherein the first mobile body outputs request information for requesting remote operation on the first mobile body, the information processing method further comprising: acquiring the request information that is output from the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0006, 0075-0077 – the “remote control request determination unit 452 sends the determination result regarding the necessity of sending a remote control request to the remote control request unit 460”, which “sends a remote control request RQ to the remote control device 2 according to the determination result regarding the necessity of sending a remote control request received from the remote control request determination unit 452”; “the remote control request being a request requesting remote control of the vehicle” ); and identifying the first mobile body in accordance with the request information (Hayashi, Para. 0048 – along with the “remote control request”, the vehicle additionally sends “information necessary for remote control of the vehicle 10, the driving environment information 46 acquired by the information acquisition device 30 to the remote control device 2” ). In regards to Claim 3, Hayashi in view of Urano teaches the information processing method of Claim 1, and Hayashi further teaches wherein the remote operation information includes a required time required to perform remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0050-0053 – determining a “timing of sending a remote control request RQ” ), and the required time includes a time required to determine timing of performing remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0050-0053 – “the collision determination process for sending a remote control request is performed at an early timing in order to allow enough time for the remote operator to make a determination” or “a late timing” based on a “parameter” of the “collision determination process” ), and a time required to perform remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0050-0053 – “remote operator needs about 10 to 15 seconds to make a determination before he or she starts remote control after receiving the remote control request RQ” ). In regards to Claim 4, Hayashi in view of Urano teaches the information processing method of Claim 3, and Hayashi further teaches wherein the required time is determined in advance based on a tool for performing remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0050-0054 – wherein the “remote support system” uses one of two “parameters” for a “collision determination process”, wherein which parameter, A or B, determines the “the timing of sending a remote control request RQ”; i.e. when “the parameter A that focuses on running efficiency is used”, “a late timing” is generated, and when “using the parameter B that focuses on safety”, “an earlier timing” is generated ). In regards to Claim 5, Hayashi in view of Urano teaches the information processing method of Claim 3, but Hayashi does not specifically teach wherein the required time is determined in advance for each of a plurality of sections in a region within which the first mobile body moves and that is divided into the plurality of sections. However, Urano teaches wherein the required time is determined in advance for each of a plurality of sections in a region within which the first mobile body moves and that is divided into the plurality of sections (Urano, Para. 0137, 0142-0148 – a “time prediction unit” which predicts “a time earlier by the amount of a preparation time length than the arrival time at which the autonomous vehicle 2 arrives at the location at which the remote instruction point situation occurs”; where the preparation time length may vary based on location, for example, “a degree of complexity of the road environment at the location” determined based on “map information”, an “intersection without traffic lights” compared to an “intersection with traffic lights”, etc. ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing method including the above limitations of Hayashi in view of Urano to further include wherein the required time is determined in advance for each of a plurality of sections in a region within which the first mobile body moves and that is divided into the plurality of sections, as taught by Urano, in order to provide the monitor ample time to perform remote operation according to the region and improve safety of the mobile body. In regards to Claim 6, Hayashi in view of Urano teaches the information processing method of Claim 3, and Hayashi in view of Urano further teaches wherein the required time is determined in advance based on at least one of a date on which remote operation is performed on the first mobile body, a time period during which remote operation is performed on the first mobile body (Urano, Para. 0141-0142, 0149 – wherein a “time prediction unit 45 may predict the arrival time based on the information on a scheduled passing time of a train at the railroad crossing on the target route”, wherein the arrival time is a time to arrive at a location during remote monitoring and occurs after a “monitoring start time” ), or a weather in which remote operation is performed on the first mobile body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing method including the above limitations of Hayashi in view of Urano to further include wherein the required time is determined in advance based on at least one of a time period during which remote operation is performed on the first mobile body, as taught by Urano, in order to account for the surrounding environment when determining a required time for remote operation. In regards to Claim 11, Hayashi in view of Urano teaches the information processing method of Claim 1, and Hayashi further teaches wherein when the monitor is determined to be allowed to perform remote operation on the first mobile body, the notification indicating that the monitor is allowed to perform remote operation on the first mobile body is given (Hayashi, Para. 0048, 0075-0077 – the “remote control request determination unit 452 sends the determination result regarding the necessity of sending a remote control request to the remote control request unit 460”, which “sends a remote control request RQ to the remote control device 2 according to the determination result regarding the necessity of sending a remote control request received from the remote control request determination unit 452”, where “remote control device 2 performs remote autonomous driving by the remote operator in response to the remote control request RQ” ). Regarding Claim 13, Hayashi teaches: An information processing device (Hayashi, Para. 0005-0006, 0039 – a “remote support system” including “an information processing device that performs various processes for autonomous driving and remote autonomous driving” ) comprising: a remote operation information acquirer that acquires remote operation information about remote operation on a first mobile body that requires remote operation (Hayashi, Para. 0006, 0032, 0057-0058 – an “information acquisition device” which obtains “vehicle motion information”, wherein the vehicle is a vehicle which is “configured to send a remote control request to a remote operator” when the “vehicle traveling autonomously gets into a remote control request situation” ) among a plurality of mobile bodies each capable of traveling autonomously and capable of being remotely operated (Hayashi, Fig. 1 Below and Para. 0027 – a “number of vehicles 10 that are used in the remote support system 100”, where Fig. 1 illustrates a plurality of vehicles 10 ); a mobile body information acquirer that acquires mobile body information about one or more second mobile bodies other than the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0032, 0035-0037, 0063, 0067 – an “information acquisition device” in connection to a “communication device” which “communicates with external devices such as roadside units, surrounding vehicles, and surrounding infrastructure” to obtain “surrounding environment information”, for example, “an oncoming vehicle”; wherein surrounding information may include “a larger number of objects to be avoided” ), the one or more second mobile bodies being remotely monitored by a monitor who is in charge of remote monitoring of the first mobile body among the plurality of mobile bodies ; a determiner that determines, based on the remote operation information and the mobile body information, whether to allow the monitor to perform remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0047, 0058-0063, 0075 – a “remote control request determination unit 452 determines the necessity of sending a remote control request” based on a “collision determination process” which determines “whether the vehicle 10 is predicted to collide with the oncoming vehicle V1” using “surrounding environment information”, including the oncoming vehicle, and “vehicle motion information” ); and a notifier that gives notification based on a result of the determining as to whether to allow the monitor to perform remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0075-0077 – the “remote control request determination unit 452 sends the determination result regarding the necessity of sending a remote control request to the remote control request unit 460”, which “sends a remote control request RQ to the remote control device 2 according to the determination result regarding the necessity of sending a remote control request received from the remote control request determination unit 452” ). Hayashi does not specifically teach the one or more second mobile bodies being remotely monitored by a monitor who is in charge of remote monitoring of the first mobile body among the plurality of mobile bodies. However, Urano teaches the one or more second mobile bodies being remotely monitored by a monitor who is in charge of remote monitoring of the first mobile body among the plurality of mobile bodies (Urano, Para. 0121 and 0162 – where “traffic information acquisition unit” may acquire traffic information by “communicating with a traffic information center” and obtains “the traffic information of the target route based on information from another autonomous vehicle 2 which is currently traveling”; where “remote commanders”, or monitors, monitor the plurality of autonomous vehicles ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing device of Hayashi to include the one or more second mobile bodies being remotely monitored by a monitor who is in charge of remote monitoring of the first mobile body among the plurality of mobile bodies, as taught by Urano, in order to obtain accurate traffic information and improve determination accuracy based on the information. Regarding Claim 14, Hayashi in view of Urano teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute (Hayashi, Para. 0013 – “a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by one or more processors and that cause the one or more processors to perform functions” ) the information processing method according to claim 1 ( See Claim 1 Above ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi in view of Urano, and further in view of Brooks (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2018/0356814) . In regards to Claim 7, Hayashi in view of Urano teaches the information processing method of Claim 1, but Hayashi in view of Urano does not teach wherein whether not performing remote operation on each of the one or more second mobile bodies entails a risk is determined based on the remote operation information and the mobile body information, and when no risk is determined to be entailed, the monitor is determined to be allowed to perform remote operation on the first mobile body. However, Brooks teaches wherein whether not performing remote operation on each of the one or more second mobile bodies entails a risk is determined based on the remote operation information and the mobile body information (Brooks, Para. 0036, 0063, 0068-0069, 0114-0116 – determining, for a “remotely controlled vehicle”, a “risk profile” and “specialized qualifications” necessary depending on “the risks involved in remotely controlling the vehicle” requiring “different operator qualifications”; where an operator can be assigned “multiple vehicle systems” within “one or more limits” ), and when no risk is determined to be entailed, the monitor is determined to be allowed to perform remote operation on the first mobile body (Brooks, Para. 0036, 0084-0087, 0114-0116, 0214 – wherein if assignment of a “vehicle system” does not violate “one or more limits”, the operator is assigned to the vehicle system; where for example vehicle systems having higher risk are prioritized for “dedicated expert operator[s]” or “operator[s] 102 having specialized qualifications” ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the information processing method including the above limitations of Hayashi in view of Urano to include wherein whether not performing remote operation on each of the one or more second mobile bodies entails a risk is determined based on the remote operation information and the mobile body information, and when no risk is determined to be entailed, the monitor is determined to be allowed to perform remote operation on the first mobile body, as taught by Brooks, in order to prioritize remote operations for mobile bodies having higher risk to prevent collisions and other dangerous situations. In regards to Claim 8, Hayashi in view of Urano and Brooks teaches the information processing method of Claim 7, and Hayashi in view of Urano and Brooks further teaches wherein, for each of a plurality of sections in a region within which the one or more second mobile bodies travel and that is divided into the plurality of sections, whether the section has the risk is set in advance (Brooks, Para. 0046-0047, 0059, 0087 – “time-varying risks can be different for different locations along the route or routes”, for example “urban or more heavily populated areas”, “the location of the emergency situation”, “locations where the weather is forecasted to include precipitation, elevated temperatures, strong side winds, or other hazardous conditions”, etc. can “pose greater risks” ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing method including the above limitations of Hayashi in view of Urano and Brooks to further include wherein, for each of a plurality of sections in a region within which the one or more second mobile bodies travel and that is divided into the plurality of sections, whether the section has the risk is set in advance, as taught by Brooks, in order to improve safety of the mobile bodies by accounting for varying risks. In regards to Claim 9, Hayashi in view of Urano and Brooks teaches the information processing method of Claim 8, and Hayashi in view of Urano and Brooks teaches wherein, for each of the plurality of sections, whether the section has the risk is determined in advance based on at least one of a date on which remote operation is performed on the first mobile body, a time period during which remote operation is performed on the first mobile body (Brooks, Para. 0057 – a “time-varying risk” such as “increase in the risk profile due to traffic congestion” during “certain periods of the day (for example, during morning or evening rush hour)” ), or a weather in which remote operation is performed on the first mobile body (Brooks, Para. 0059 – “locations where the weather is forecasted to include precipitation, elevated temperatures, strong side winds, or other hazardous conditions” ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing method including the above limitations of Hayashi in view of Urano and Brooks to further include wherein, for each of the plurality of sections, whether the section has the risk is determined in advance based on at least one of a time period during which remote operation is performed on the first mobile body or a weather in which remote operation is performed on the first mobile body, as taught by Brooks, in order to improve safety of the mobile bodies by accounting for varying risks. In regards to Claim 10, Hayashi in view of Urano and Brooks teaches the information processing method of Claim 8, and Hayashi further teaches wherein the remote operation information includes a required time required to perform remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0050-0053 – determining a “timing of sending a remote control request RQ” ), the required time includes a time required to determine timing of performing remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0050-0053 – “the collision determination process for sending a remote control request is performed at an early timing in order to allow enough time for the remote operator to make a determination” or “a late timing” based on a “parameter” of the “collision determination process” ), and a time required to perform remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0050-0053 – “remote operator needs about 10 to 15 seconds to make a determination before he or she starts remote control after receiving the remote control request RQ” ), but Hayashi does not teach and when at least one of the one or more second mobile bodies is located in a section that has the risk among the plurality of sections during the required time, the risk is determined to be entailed. However, Brooks teaches when at least one of the one or more second mobile bodies is located in a section that has the risk among the plurality of sections during the required time, the risk is determined to be entailed (Brooks, Para. 0046-0047, 0059, 0087 – “time-varying risks can be different for different locations along the route or routes”, for example “urban or more heavily populated areas”, “the location of the emergency situation”, “locations where the weather is forecasted to include precipitation, elevated temperatures, strong side winds, or other hazardous conditions”, etc. can “pose greater risks” ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing method including the above limitations of Hayashi in view of Urano and Brooks to further include when at least one of the one or more second mobile bodies is located in a section that has the risk among the plurality of sections during the required time, the risk is determined to be entailed, as taught by Brooks, in order to improve safety of the mobile bodies by accounting for varying risks. In regards to Claim 12, Hayashi in view of Urano teaches the information processing method of Claim 1, and Hayashi teaches when the monitor is determined not to be allowed to perform remote operation on the first mobile body (Hayashi, Para. 0074-0075 – wherein when “the remote control request determination unit 452 determines that it is not necessary to send a remote control request” ), but Hayashi does not teach wherein when the monitor is determined not to be allowed to perform remote operation on the first mobile body, the notification indicating that the first mobile body is to be stopped is given. However, Brooks teaches wherein when the monitor is determined not to be allowed to perform remote operation on the first mobile body, the notification indicating that the first mobile body is to be stopped is given (Brooks, Para. 0090, 0115, 0211-0212, 0288 – in one example, “vehicle systems may have to stop for a crew change to allow for the operators having work shifts that are ending to be removed from the vehicle systems and replaced by other operators”, wherein an “output device” communicates “a notification signal to the operator of the vehicle that automatically informs (e.g., notifies) the operator of the vehicle that control of the movement of the vehicle system has changed” ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the information processing method including the above limitations of Hayashi in view of Urano and Brooks to further include wherein when the monitor is determined not to be allowed to perform remote operation on the first mobile body, the notification indicating that the first mobile body is to be stopped is given, as taught by Brooks, in order to provide clear communication to the monitor on the status of remote operation on the mobile body . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ueda, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2019/0361436) teaches a remote monitoring system including a vehicle and a remote monitoring device, and further including a risk degree calculator which calculates the current risk degree of the vehicle . Yunoki, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2018/0231982) teaches moving object movement system includes a moving object that moves in accordance with any one method of autonomous movement or remote controlled movement, a control server that is connected to the moving object via wireless communication, and a traveling path deciding unit that calculates an unable-to-move risk indicating a possibility that movement is unable to be performed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HELEN LI whose telephone number is (703)756-4719. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday, from 9am to 5pm eastern. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hunter Lonsberry can be reached at (571) 272-7298. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /H.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 2 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 3 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 4 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 5 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 6 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 7 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 8 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 9 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 10 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 11 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 12 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 13 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 14 Art Unit: 3665 Application/Control Number: 19/068,225 Page 15 Art Unit: 3665