DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A and A1 in the reply filed on 1/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,437,629 to Davids.
Regarding claims 1-3, Davids teaches a photoelectric conversion device comprising
An emitter electrode 202 that receives incident light having a predetermined wavelength and emits electrons (Figs. 2, 3, C2/L52-58, C3/L19-35, C3/L42-53, C4/L4-17)
An anode electrode (not shown) that absorbs the electrons (C3/L3-7, C4/L51-52)
An insulator 310 that supports the emitter electrode 202 and the anode electrode (C4/L29-36)
A fixed charge portion 204 (204 is doped with ions in an embodiment to aid with conduction, C3/L53-63, C6/L7-20) that generates an electric field for giving the electrons a potential to help to jump out of from the emitter electrode 202 and move toward the anode electrode (C3/L19-35, C5/L19-31).
Per claims 2 and 3, Davids teaches the limitations of claim 2. The fixed charge portion 204 is formed on the insulator (204 is on a lower side of the insulator 310 in the frame of Fig. 3), or at a predetermined position in the insulator (204 extends into insulator 310 in an upwards direction in the frame of Fig. 3).
The predetermined position is on the path between the emitter electrode 202 and the anode electrode (Fig. 3, the fixed charge portion 204 extends into insulator 310 to intercede between the portions 302, 304, 306 of the emitter electrode 202 and the anode electrode associated with 311).
Regarding claim 9, Davids teaches a method for manufacturing a photoelectric conversion device including
An emitter electrode 202 that receives incident light having a predetermined wavelength and emits electrons (Figs. 2, 3, C2/L52-58, C3/L19-35, C3/L42-53, C4/L4-17)
An anode electrode (not shown) that absorbs the electrons (C3/L3-7, C4/L51-52)
An insulator 310 that supports the emitter electrode 202 and the anode electrode (C4/L29-36)
Wherein the method comprises
Forming a fixed charge portion 204 (204 is doped with ions in an embodiment to aid with conduction, C3/L19-35, C3/L53-63, C6/L7-20, C5/L19-31)
Forming the emitter electrode 202 and the anode electrode in such a manner that the fixed charge portion is positioned on the path between the position where the emitter electrode 202 is formed and the position where the anode electrode is formed (Fig. 3, the fixed charge portion 204 extends into insulator 310 to intercede between the portions 302, 304, 306 of the emitter electrode 202 and the anode electrode associated with 311).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davids, and further in view of US 8,115,683 to Stefanakos.
Regarding claim 4, 5, and 7, Davids teaches a photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Davids teaches that the device of that invention is a rectenna that converts infrared energy to electrical energy (C1/L48-52, C3/L22-28, C4/L5-17, C4/L59-C5/L5). Davids does not specifically teach a photovoltaic device comprising a plurality of photoelectric conversion devices according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion devices are coupled in series, in parallel, or in series and parallel.
Stefanakos teaches a photovoltaic device (Fig. 13) comprising a plurality of photoelectric conversion devices as photoelectric conversion layers, wherein the plurality of devices are configured to convert light of different polarization (C3/L66-C4/L4, C13/L9-47). Therefore it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form a photovoltaic device comprising a plurality of photoelectric conversion devices according to claim 1 in order to convert different light polarities. Stefanakos teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form such a plurality of devices are connected in series and/or parallel in order to form a useful setup (C10/L63-C11/L14). The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Regarding claim 5, Davids teaches a photoelectric conversion layer including
An emitter electrode 202 that receives incident light having a predetermined wavelength and emits electrons (Figs. 2, 3, C2/L52-58, C3/L19-35, C3/L42-53, C4/L4-17)
An anode electrode (not shown) that absorbs the electrons (C3/L3-7, C4/L51-52)
An insulator 310 that supports the emitter electrode 202 and the anode electrode (C4/L29-36)
A fixed charge portion 204 (204 is doped with ions in an embodiment to aid with conduction, C3/L53-63, C6/L7-20) that generates an electric field for giving the electrons a potential to help to jump out of from the emitter electrode 202 and move toward the anode electrode (C3/L19-35, C5/L19-31).
Davids teaches that the device of that invention is a rectenna that converts infrared energy to electrical energy (C1/L48-52, C3/L22-28, C4/L5-17, C4/L59-C5/L5), and that the dimensions, shape, and configuration emitter electrodes affects the predetermined wavelength and polarization that is captured by a photoelectric conversion layer (Fig. 4, C4/L4-21, C4/L37-46, C5/L6-17). Davids does not specifically teach a photoelectric conversion device comprising a plurality of such photoelectric conversion layers, wherein a length of emitter electrode is set in such a manner that the predetermined wavelength is different for each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion layers.
Stefanakos teaches a photovoltaic device (Fig. 13) comprising a plurality of photoelectric conversion devices as photoelectric conversion layers, wherein the plurality of devices are configured to convert light of different polarization and wavelength (C3/L66-C4/L4, C13/L9-47). Therefore it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form a photoelectric conversion device comprising a plurality of photoelectric conversion layers according to Davids’ teachings, a length of the emitter electrode of a photoelectric conversion layer set in such a manner that the predetermined wavelength is different for each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion layers, in order to convert different light polarities and wavelength.
Regarding claim 7, Davids teaches a photoelectric conversion layer including
An emitter electrode 202 that receives incident light having a predetermined wavelength and emits electrons (Figs. 2, 3, C2/L52-58, C3/L19-35, C3/L42-53, C4/L4-17)
An anode electrode (not shown) that absorbs the electrons (C3/L3-7, C4/L51-52)
An insulator 310 that supports the emitter electrode 202 and the anode electrode (C4/L29-36)
A fixed charge portion 204 (204 is doped with ions in an embodiment to aid with conduction, C3/L53-63, C6/L7-20) that generates an electric field for giving the electrons a potential to help to jump out of from the emitter electrode 202 and move toward the anode electrode (C3/L19-35, C5/L19-31).
Davids teaches that the device of that invention is a rectenna that converts infrared energy to electrical energy (C1/L48-52, C3/L22-28, C4/L5-17, C4/L59-C5/L5), and that the dimensions, shape, and configuration emitter electrodes affects the polarization that is captured by a photoelectric conversion layer (Fig. 4, C4/L4-21, C4/L37-46, C5/L6-17). Davids does not specifically teach a photoelectric conversion device comprising a plurality of such photoelectric conversion layers, wherein an orientation of respective emitter electrodes is set corresponding to a polarization plane of the incident light to be received, different for each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion layers.
Stefanakos teaches a photovoltaic device (Fig. 13) comprising a plurality of photoelectric conversion devices as photoelectric conversion layers, wherein the plurality of devices are configured to convert light of different polarization (C3/L66-C4/L4, C13/L9-47). Therefore it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form a photoelectric conversion device comprising a plurality of photoelectric conversion layers according to Davids’ teachings, an orientation of an emitter electrode of a photoelectric conversion layer set corresponding to a polarization plane of the incident light to be received in order to convert different light polarities.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davids and Stefanakos, and further in view of US 2013/0146117 to Brady.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Davids and Stefanakos renders the photoelectronic conversion device according to claim 5 obvious (see rejection of claim 5 above), but the combination of those references does not teach a plurality of such photoelectric conversion devices coupled in series and/or parallel. Brady that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to compile a plurality of photoelectric conversion devices (similar to subarray 405 of Fig. 4) and couple them in series in order to provide power to an electrical circuit (¶0034, 0035).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Davids and Stefanakos renders the photoelectronic conversion device according to claim 7 obvious (see rejection of claim 7 above), but the combination of those references does not teach a plurality of such photoelectric conversion devices coupled in series and/or parallel. Brady that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to compile a plurality of photoelectric conversion devices (similar to subarray 405 of Fig. 4) and couple them in series in order to provide power to an electrical circuit (¶0034, 0035).
Conclusion
Ryan S. Cannon
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726