Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the prior art Plate does not disclose “flagging one or more of the identified third party libraries as vulnerable, each flagged library including a function reaching the vulnerable function, wherein the flagging of one or more of the identified third party libraries as vulnerable comprises associating one or more of the identified third party libraries with the software vulnerability; flagging one or more first party libraries as vulnerable, the flagged one or more first party libraries matching one or more of the flagged third party libraries”, as recited in independent claims.
In response to Applicants arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant and would like to show that Plate discloses flagging one or more of the identified third party libraries as vulnerable, each flagged library including a function reaching the vulnerable function, wherein the flagging of one or more of the identified third party libraries as vulnerable comprises associating one or more of the identified third party libraries with the software vulnerability; flagging one or more first party libraries as vulnerable, the flagged one or more first party libraries matching one or more of the flagged third party libraries. The Examiner points out that Plate discloses at 306, for each fix commit that addresses the vulnerability, the process may identify functions (or code segments) affected by the vulnerability. At 308, for each function (or code segment) that is identified as being affected by the vulnerability, the process may determine which versions include the vulnerability. At 310, for each function (or code segment) that is identified as being affected by the vulnerability, determine which versions include a fix to address the vulnerability (Paragraph 54). Further Plate discloses after receiving the security advisory 134, the AI 123 may become aware of the existence of the vulnerability 136. The AI 123 may analyze the commit histories 122 of each of the third-party libraries 116 to identify one or more fix commits (e.g., the representative fix commit 124(M)) that address the vulnerability 136 (Paragraph 52). Examiner asserts that the third-party libraries and function in Plate is germane to the identified third party libraries and vulnerable function, as described in Applicant’s invention.
As such the Examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Plate (US Patent Pub. 2024/0411897)
As per claims 1, 8 and 15: Plate discloses a computerized method of contextual security analysis for software artifacts, the method comprising, using a computer processor (see abstract):
for each of a plurality of software vulnerabilities, each software vulnerability associated with a vulnerable function, the vulnerable function included in a vulnerable library (Paragraph 52; after receiving the security advisory 134, the AI 123 may become aware of the existence of the vulnerability 136. The AI 123 may analyze the commit histories 122 of each of the third-party libraries 116 to identify one or more fix commits (e.g., the representative fix commit 124(M)) that address the vulnerability 136):
identifying one or more third party libraries using the vulnerable library (Paragraph 51; the process determines, based on a security advisory, an existence of a vulnerability. At 304, the process may analyze a commit history to identify one or more fix commits that address the vulnerability);
flagging one or more of the identified third party libraries as vulnerable, each flagged library including a function reaching the vulnerable function, wherein the flagging of one or more of the identified third party libraries as vulnerable comprises associating one or more of the identified third party libraries with the software vulnerability (Paragraph 51; At 306, for each fix commit that addresses the vulnerability, the process may identify functions (or code segments) affected by the vulnerability. At 308, for each function (or code segment) that is identified as being affected by the vulnerability, the process may determine which versions include the vulnerability. At 310, for each function (or code segment) that is identified as being affected by the vulnerability, determine which versions include a fix to address the vulnerability); and
flagging one or more first party libraries as vulnerable, the flagged one or more first party libraries matching one or more of the flagged third party libraries (Paragraph 52; A code developer or the AI 123 may automatically (without human interaction) modify the project code 104 to use the fixed versions of a function and not use versions of the function that include the vulnerability 136).
As per claims 2, 9 and 16: Plate discloses the computerized method of claim 1, comprising, for each of the identified one or more third party libraries:
building a reachability graph, the reachability graph including one or more functions of the identified third party library (Paragraph 30; This may done by obtaining packages from package registries, such as Maven Central or npm, and determining whether they include the function 138 in a vulnerable form (e.g., with the vulnerability 136) or a fixed form (e.g., without the vulnerability 136). This comparison can involve the source code representation, abstractions thereof, e.g. abstract syntax trees or control flow graphs, as well as their compiled form); and
extracting one or more of the functions from the reachability graph, wherein each of the extracted functions reach the vulnerable function (Paragraph 48; identifying vulnerable code within a project may include extracting components from a fixed commit and determining whether the vulnerability can be reached from an application (e.g., project code). Reachability analysis is used to determine whether a vulnerability is reachable by the application);
wherein the flagging of the one or more of the identified third party libraries is performed based on the extracting of the one or more of the functions from the reachability graph (Paragraph 48).
As per claims 3, 10 and 17: Plate discloses the computerized method of claim 1, wherein the flagging of one or more of the identified third party libraries as vulnerable comprises storing a database entry in cache memory, the database entry associating the one or more flagged third party libraries and the one or more functions reaching the vulnerable function with the software vulnerability (Paragraph 18-19; identifying and addressing vulnerabilities in third-party library functions and components. The systems and techniques enrich vulnerability descriptions with detailed code-level information, which is typically absent in existing vulnerability databases).
As per claims 4, 11 and 18: Plate discloses the computerized method of claim 2, comprising filtering out one or more of the extracted functions, the filtered out functions called from outside of the identified library (Paragraph 20; Using the fix commits as input, the systems and techniques may identify the individual functions that were vulnerable and that have been modified to address the vulnerability).
As per claim 5, 12 and 19: Plate discloses the computerized method of claim 1, comprising iteratively repeating, for one or more of the third party libraries flagged as vulnerable, the identifying of one or more third party libraries using the vulnerable library and the flagging of one or more of the identified third party libraries as vulnerable (Paragraph 56; In this way, 404, 408, 412 may be repeated until the machine learning is able to classify the test data 410 with the desired accuracy).
As per claims 6, 13 and 20: Plate discloses the computerized method of claim 1, wherein the function reaching the vulnerable function comprises one or more of: a function passing one or more data items into the vulnerable function, a function including a call chain wherein the call chain includes the vulnerable function, and a function included in a software module wherein the software module includes the vulnerable function (Paragraph 28; The function name 125 is a unique identifier of a function (or set of functions) associated with the fix commit 124(M). The function associated with the function name 125 may include multiple versions 126(1) to 126(P), with each version 126 having a different set of code. The fix commit 124(M) may address a vulnerability 127 included in one or more of the versions 126 of the function name 125).
As per claims 7 and 14: Plate discloses the computerized method of claim 1, comprising displaying an alert on a graphical user interface (GUI) of a computer system, the alert describing the flagged one or more first party libraries (Paragraph 49; vulnerability alerting system).
Relevant Prior Art References
The following prior art is cited as being of interest to the claimed invention but has not been applied in any of the current rejections.
Neystadt et al.- US Patent Publication 2020/0117808- the prior art teaches techniques for assess the vulnerability of one or more system devices.
Nelson et al.- US Patent Pub. 2023/0097733 - the prior art teaches techniques for automatically identify types and status of vulnerabilities in identified software.
Gottschlich et al.- US Patent Pub. 2021/0073391 - the prior art teaches techniques for identifying a vulnerability in the first representation of the algorithm.
DiValentin et al.- US Patent Pub. 2024/0330484 - the prior art teaches techniques for identify changes to a third-party library after a vulnerability patch occurs.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ANTHONY D BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408