DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application no. 19/068,281 for a J-HOOK BRACKET MOUNT LOCATION MARKERS, filed on 3/3/2025. Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 18 is not further limiting as it is a duplicate of claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 13 and 15 recite the limitation "the same" therein. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-7, 9-12 and 14-19 are rejected for the same reasons as dependent on claims 1, 8 and 13.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the hook" therein. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 13-15, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goar (U.S. Pat. 1,113,001) in view of Gier (U.S. Pat. 6,473,983).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Goar teaches a device for supporting an object on a structure, the device comprising: a mounting member having a front face and a side face: a first mounting hole and a second mounting hole passing through the front face, wherein the first mounting hole is a first distance from the second mounting hole, and a hook on the front face; but does not teach a first positioning structure and a second positioning structure on the side face, wherein the first positioning structure is a second distance from the second positioning structure; wherein the first distance is the same as the second distance. Gier, however, teaches a first positioning structure (contact means, 26) and a second positioning structure (contact means, 36) on a face of a hanging device (10), wherein the first positioning structure is a second distance from the second positioning structure; wherein the first distance is the same as the second distance in order to provide a mark on the wall for indicating where to hang a nail for use with a picture frame (65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the device of Goar, with a reasonable expectation of success, comprising a first positioning structure and a second positioning structure on the side face, wherein the first positioning structure is a second distance from the second positioning structure; wherein the first distance is the same as the second distance in order to mark a location for the center point for hanging the device in a level manner.
[AltContent: textbox (1st mounting hole)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mounting member )]
[AltContent: textbox (1st end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Retainment clip)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (3rd mounting hole )]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Side face)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Hook)]
[AltContent: textbox (Front face)][AltContent: textbox (2nd mounting hole )]
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 1,wherein Goar teaches a retainment clip having a first end rotatably attached to the front face and a second end removably attachable to a hook.
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 1, but do not teach that the first distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first mounting hole and a midpoint of the second mounting hole; and the second distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure. Gier, however, teaches that the first distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first mounting notch and a midpoint of the second mounting notch; and the second distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure (see Fig. 7, where distances are based on location of members 29 and 39 spaced apart from each other). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the device of Goar, with a reasonable expectation of success, wherein the first distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first mounting hole and a midpoint of the second mounting hole; and the second distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure in order to mark a precise location.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 1, wherein Goar teaches a third mounting hole passing through the front face between the first mounting hole and the second mounting hole (see figure above); but does not teach a third positioning structure on the side face between the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure; wherein a distance between the first mounting hole and the third mounting hole is the same as a distance between the first positioning structure and the third positioning structure. Gier teaches a positioning structure (contact means, 26) on a face of a hanging device (10) in order to provide a mark on the wall for indicating where to hang a nail for use with a picture frame (65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the device of Goar, with a reasonable expectation of success, comprising a third positioning structure on the side face between the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure; wherein a distance between the first mounting hole and the third mounting hole is the same as a distance between the first positioning structure and the third positioning structure in order to mark a location for the center point for hanging the device in a level manner.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 1, wherein Gier teaches that the first positioning structure comprises a protruding nub.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 1, wherein the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure are configured to, when pressed to a surface by a user, leave a pair of indents on the surface.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Goar teaches a device (see figure above) for supporting an object on a structure, the device comprising: a mounting member; a first mounting hole and a second mounting hole passing through the mounting member, wherein the first mounting hole is a first distance from the second mounting hole; and a hook on the front face; but does not teach a first positioning structure and a second positioning structure on the mounting member, wherein the first positioning structure is a second distance from the second positioning structure; wherein the first distance is the same as the second distance; and wherein the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure protrude from the mounting member such that, when pressed to a surface, the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure leave a pair of indication marks indented onto the surface. Gier, however, teaches a first positioning structure (contact means, 26) and a second positioning structure (contact means, 36) on a hanging device (10), wherein the first positioning structure is a second distance from the second positioning structure; wherein the first distance is the same as the second distance; and wherein the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure protrude such that, when pressed to a surface, the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure leave a pair of indication marks indented onto the surface in order to provide a mark on the wall for indicating where to hang a nail for use with a picture frame (65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the device of Goar, with a reasonable expectation of success, comprising a first positioning structure and a second positioning structure on the mounting member, wherein the first positioning structure is a second distance from the second positioning structure; wherein the first distance is the same as the second distance; and wherein the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure protrude from the mounting member such that, when pressed to a surface, the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure leave a pair of indication marks indented onto the surface in order to mark a location for the center point for hanging the device in a level manner.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 8, further comprising a retainment clip having a first end rotatably attached to the mounting member and a second end removably attachable to the hook (see figure above).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 8, but do not teach that the first distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first mounting hole and a midpoint of the second mounting hole; and the second distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure. Gier, however, teaches that the first distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first mounting notch and a midpoint of the second mounting notch; and the second distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure (see Fig. 7, where distances are based on location of members 29 and 39 spaced apart from each other). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the device of Goar, with a reasonable expectation of success, wherein the first distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first mounting hole and a midpoint of the second mounting hole; and the second distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure in order to mark a precise location.
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 8, wherein Goar teaches a third mounting hole passing through the mounting member between the first mounting hole and the second mounting hole (see figure above); but does not teach a third positioning structure on the mounting member between the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure; wherein a distance between the first mounting hole and the third mounting hole is the same as a distance between the first positioning structure and the third positioning structure. Gier teaches a positioning structure (contact means, 26) on a face of a hanging device (10) in order to provide a mark on the wall for indicating where to hang a nail for use with a picture frame (65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the device of Goar, with a reasonable expectation of success, comprising a third positioning structure on the mounting member between the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure; wherein a distance between the first mounting hole and the third mounting hole is the same as a distance between the first positioning structure and the third positioning structure in order to mark a location for the center point for hanging the device in a level manner.
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Goar teaches a device for supporting an object on a structure, the device comprising: a mounting member; a first mounting hole and a second mounting hole, wherein the first mounting hole is a first distance from the second mounting hole; but does not teach a first positioning structure and a second positioning structure, wherein the first positioning structure is a second distance from the second positioning structure; wherein the first distance is the same as the second distance; and wherein the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure protrude such that, when pressed to a surface, the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure leave a pair of indication marks indented onto the surface. Gier, however, teaches a first positioning structure (contact means, 26) and a second positioning structure (contact means, 36) on a hanging device (10), wherein the first positioning structure is a second distance from the second positioning structure; wherein the first distance is the same as the second distance; and wherein the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure protrude such that, when pressed to a surface, the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure leave a pair of indication marks indented onto the surface in order to provide a mark on the wall for indicating where to hang a nail for use with a picture frame (65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the device of Goar, with a reasonable expectation of success, comprising a first positioning structure and a second positioning structure on the mounting member, wherein the first positioning structure is a second distance from the second positioning structure; wherein the first distance is the same as the second distance; and wherein the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure protrude from the mounting member such that, when pressed to a surface, the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure leave a pair of indication marks indented onto the surface in order to mark a location for the center point for hanging the device in a level manner.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 13, but do not teach that the first distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first mounting hole and a midpoint of the second mounting hole; and the second distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure. Gier, however, teaches that the first distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first mounting notch and a midpoint of the second mounting notch; and the second distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure (see Fig. 7, where distances are based on location of members 29 and 39 spaced apart from each other). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the device of Goar, with a reasonable expectation of success, wherein the first distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first mounting hole and a midpoint of the second mounting hole; and the second distance comprises a distance between a midpoint of the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure in order to mark a precise location.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 13, wherein Goar teaches a third mounting hole passing through the mounting member between the first mounting hole and the second mounting hole (see figure above); but does not teach a third positioning structure on the mounting member between the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure; wherein a distance between the first mounting hole and the third mounting hole is the same as a distance between the first positioning structure and the third positioning structure. Gier teaches a positioning structure (contact means, 26) on a face of a hanging device (10) in order to provide a mark on the wall for indicating where to hang a nail for use with a picture frame (65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the device of Goar, with a reasonable expectation of success, comprising a third positioning structure on the mounting member between the first positioning structure and the second positioning structure; wherein a distance between the first mounting hole and the third mounting hole is the same as a distance between the first positioning structure and the third positioning structure in order to mark a location for the center point for hanging the device in a level manner.
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 13, wherein Goar teaches that the mounting member comprises a hook, the device further comprising a retainment clip having a first end rotatably attached to the mounting member and a second end removably attachable to the hook (see figure above).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claim 13, wherein Gier teaches that the pair of indication marks are indentations on the surface.
Claim(s) 7, 12, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goar (U.S. Pat. 1,113,001) in view of Gier (U.S. Pat. 6,473,983) in further view of Karaaslan (U.S. 11,047,526).
Regarding claims 7, 12, 16 and 18, as best understood, Goar and Gier teach the device of claims 1, 8 and 13, but do not teach that at least one of the first mounting hole or the second mounting hole is a keyhole. Karaaslan, however teaches a mounting bracket with a mounting hole being a keyhole (130) in order to accommodate larger fastening devices such as a screw. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the device of Goar and Gier, with a reasonable expectation of success, wherein at least one of the first mounting hole or the second mounting hole is a keyhole in order to provide a larger fastening device to support a heavier weighted object for additional support.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,241,585. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the prior art teaches the exact same structure of the device comprising the mounting member, first mounting hole, second mounting hole, third mounting hole, first positioning structure, second positioning structure, third positioning structure, hook, and retainment clip.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP 11788678, 8113476 (mounting devices).
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 June 5, 2026