DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 are pending in the application and examined herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/13/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Specifically, while a copy of NPL Cite No. 1 has been provided, this copy is not a legible copy of the non-patent literature publication. Additionally, the information disclosure statement filed 08/13/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. Specifically, NPL Cite No. 2 is not in the English language. However, a translation or other concise explanation of relevance has not been provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “[a] control rod assembly with improved rod worth.” It is unclear compared to what standard the “control rod assembly” is “improved.”
Claim 2 recites “the neutron absorber.” However, parent claim 1 previously recited plural “shutdown group neutron absorbers.” It is therefore unclear if the “neutron absorber” in claim 2 is intending to refer to one of the “shutdown group neutron absorbers,” each of the “shutdown group neutron absorbers,” or another “neutron absorber.”
Claim 3 recites “wherein the control rod assembly is used under boric acid-free operating conditions.” The claim is directed towards a “control rod assembly,” i.e., an apparatus. However, the phrase “wherein the control rod assembly is used under boric acid-free operating conditions” is directed towards a method step of using the apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). Further, the claim appears to merely recite a process of using the “control rod assembly” without reciting any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. It is therefore unclear how the claim is intended to further limit the structure of the claimed “control rod assembly.”
Any claim not explicitly addressed above is rejected because it is dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN Publication No. 113012826 (“Liu”).
Regarding claims 1-2, Liu (newly cited) discloses a control rod assembly (“safety rod assembly,” “O”) with improved rod worth, the control rod assembly comprising:
shutdown group neutron absorbers (“safety rod”) made of B4C comprising B-10 enriched to 95% ([0025], [0036], [0064]-[0065], [0079]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the control rod assembly of claim 1. The limitation “wherein the control rod assembly is used under boric acid-free operating conditions” is essentially a method limitation and statement of intended or desired use. This clause does not serve to patentably distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference as long as the structure of the cited reference is capable of performing the intended use. See MPEP 2111-2115. As discussed above, Liu discloses all the structural limitations of the claim. Additionally, there is nothing in Liu to suggest that the control rod assembly cannot be used under boric acid-free operating conditions. Thus, the recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from Liu’s apparatus.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 19/068,238 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitations are substantially similar to the limitations recited in the reference application (see claim 1 of the present application vs. claim 1 of the reference application; claim 2 of the present application vs. claim 4 of the reference application; claim 3 of the present application vs. claim 5 of the reference application). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Additional References
The following references would also appear to be relevant to Applicant’s invention and are therefore cited in the attached PTO-892:
US Publication No. 2018/0144834: discloses a control rod assembly (35) comprising: shutdown group neutron absorbers made of B4C comprising B-10 enriched to 80% (FIGS. 1, 5, [0056]-[0056], [0061]).
CN Publication No. 117344243: discloses a control rod assembly (“safety rod”) comprising: shutdown group neutron absorbers (5) made of B4C comprising B-10 enriched to at least 95% (FIG. 2, [0001]-[0002], [0007], [0025], [0038]).
The Applied References
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the applied reference(s) have been cited (as examples) to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety by Applicant, including any disclosures that may teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02(VI).
Application Status Information
Interview Information
Contact Information
Examiner Jinney Kil can be reached at (571) 270-5217, on Monday-Thursday from 8:30AM-6:30PM ET. Supervisor Jack Keith (SPE) can be reached at (571) 272-6878.
/JINNEY KIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3646