July 9, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 1 of the specification, in paragraph [0001], under “CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS”, applicant needs to insert - - now U.S. Patent No. 12,409,763 B2 - - after “This application is a continuation-in-part of United States Patent Application Serial No. 17/834,670, filed June 7, 2022,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-8, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-11, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,409,763 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of Claims 1, 6-8, and 17-20 of the present invention is claimed in claims 1, 8-11, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,409,763 B2..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aliev (U.S. Patent No. 7,287,813 B2).
As for claim 1, Aliev teaches a vehicle protection system comprising:
a vehicle seat cover comprising a lower portion 54 that is configured to protect a seat portion of a vehicle seat and an upper portion 20 that is configured to protect a back portion of the vehicle seat (see Figures 1 and 3); and
a vehicle door guard comprising a cover portion 16 that is configured to be secured to the lower portion 54 of the vehicle seat cover and one or more fasteners 38, 44, 46, 50 that are configured to support the cover portion from a portion of the vehicle.
As for Claim 2, Aliev teaches that the coupler comprises a zipper (see the specification where it reads “ Side sheets 16 are releasably joined to base sheet 54, as shown in FIG. 4. Similarly to front sheet 18, the side sheets are releasably secured along their rear edges by hook and loop fasteners, zippers, buttons, snaps or any other suitable releasable fasteners.
As for Claim 3, if the side sheets or panels 16 are secured to the lower portion 54 with zippers 26,28 along the side edges and the bottom edges, as shown in Figures 1 and 3-4, the zipper comprises a continuous unit extending along a bottom and a side of the door guard.
As for Claim 5, Aliev teaches that the door guard is selectively removable from the vehicle seat cover.
As for Claim 11, Aliev teaches that the coupler is configured such that, when it is fastened, there are no substantial gaps between the coupler and the upper portion of the vehicle seat cover.
As for Claim 15, Aliev further comprises a hinge at an interface between the front portion of the vehicle seat cover and the door guard.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aliev (U.S. Patent No. 7,287,813 B2) in view of Godshaw et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0236874 A1 ).
Aliev teaches the structure substantially as claimed including straps coupled to a portion of the vehicle (See Fig. 1) but does not teach that an upper edge of the cover comprises a support member configured to prevent the upper edge from sagging.
However, Godshaw et al. teach the concept of an upper edge of a similar cover that comprises a support member 254 that is selectively removable form a pocket 250; wherein the support member maintains the upper edge in a horizontal orientation independently of a fastener. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cover, as taught by Aliev, to include a support member in an upper edge of the cover, as taught by Godshaw et al., sine it would serve as a stiffener to the cover and prevent the cover form sagging.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aliev (U.S. Patent No. 7,287,813 B2) in view of Ott et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0236874 A1 ) or Pettet (U.S. Patent No. 10,264,827 B1).
Aliev teaches the structure substantially as claimed but does not teach that the zipper is configured to selectively open bidirectionally. However, Ott et al. and Pettit teach bidirectional zippers to e old It would advantageous to use bidirectional zippers in the Aliev cover since it allow one to open the cover from both ends
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the aforementioned patents and publications .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the method of using a vehicle door guard, as recited as this would be the normal and logical manner of using a vehicle door guard, as taught by the combination of references discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636