DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 05/27/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stearns (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20150288320 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Habdank teaches a rail-less roof mounting apparatus comprising:
a clamp assembly including:
a first clamp portion (Fig. 5; 11) configured to clamp against a top surface of a solar panel module, and
a second clamp portion (12) configured to engage the first clamp portion, the second clamp portion including:
a fastener section (portion of 12 receiving 10) configured to receive a fastener (10), a clamp support ledge (one of laterally extending portion of the two laterally extending portion of lower part 12) extending in a first direction, having a first surface configured to planarly engage with a bottom surface of the solar panel module, the clamp support ledge having:
a soft-clamping arm (13) attached to a second surface of the clamp support ledge, and
a protrusion (other laterally extending portion of 12) having a surface configured to planarly engage with a bottom surface of a second solar panel module, the protrusion extending from the fastener section in a second direction opposite the first direction;
and a base (3) that is rotatable with respect to the clamp assembly, wherein the fastener extends through the clamp assembly and the base, the fastener engaging a nut (5) therein.
Regarding claim 3, Habdank teaches wherein the base includes:
a first end (Fig. 4a; one end of 3 receiving 3) includes a first row of first mounting holes (holes receiving 9), and
a second end (opposing end of 3) includes a second row of second mounting holes (holes receiving 9 at opposing end).
Regarding claim 7, Habdank teaches the first clamp portion of the clamp assembly including:
a first side wall (Fig. 5; 11a) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end,
a first clamp wing (laterally extending portion at one end of 11a) extending outwardly from the first end of the first side wall,
a second side wall having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, the second side wall being opposite the first side wall,
a second clamp wing (laterally extending portion at another end of 11a) extending outwardly from the first end of the second side wall, and
a top wall (top wall between 11a) extending from the first end of the first side wall to the first end of the second side wall, the top wall including an aperture configured to accommodate the fastener.
Claims 8, 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by of Kemple (20120138764 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Habdank teaches a rail-less roof mounting system, comprising:
a clamp assembly including:
a first clamp portion (Kemple; Fig. 1; 2),
a second clamp portion (Kemple; 1) configured to receive the first clamp portion, the second clamp portion including:
a clamp support ledge (laterally extending portion of 1) having a first surface configured to engage with a bottom surface of a solar panel module,
a soft-clamping arm (top portion of 10) attached to a second surface of the clamp support ledge, and
a return flange (lip 5) extending from an end of the soft-clamping arm in a direction toward the first clamp portion, and
a height adjustment assembly (40) configured to adjust a distance between the first clamp portion and the second clamp portion;
a base (45) that is rotatable relative to the clamp assembly; and
a fastener (40) extending through the clamp assembly and the base, the fastener engaging a nut therein.
Regarding claim 12, Habdank teaches wherein the base is rotatable around the fastener such that the base may rotate while the clamp assembly remains stationary.
Regarding claim 13, Habdank teaches the soft-clamping arm further including a return flange (5) configured to curve around a ledge of the solar panel module.
Alternatively, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stearns (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20150288320 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stearns teaches a rail-less roof mounting apparatus comprising:
a clamp assembly including:
a first clamp portion (Fig. 30; 846) configured to clamp against a top surface of a solar panel module (814 right), and
a second clamp portion (844) configured to engage the first clamp portion, the second clamp portion including:
a fastener section (section having 872, 913) configured to receive a fastener (902), a clamp support ledge (870a) extending in a first direction, having a first surface (surface at 870b) configured to planarly engage with a bottom surface of the solar panel module, the clamp support ledge having:
a soft-clamping arm (809) attached to a second surface (surface at portion of 870a near 872) of the clamp support ledge, and
a protrusion (terminal portion of 870a) having a surface configured to planarly engage with a bottom surface of a second solar panel module (814 right), the protrusion extending from the fastener section in a second direction opposite the first direction;
and a base (830, 807) that is rotatable with respect to the clamp assembly, wherein the fastener extends through the clamp assembly and the base, the fastener engaging a nut (913) therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stearns (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20150288320 A1) in view of Kemple (20120138764 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Habdank teaches the first row of first mounting holes.
However, Habdank is silent to disclose the specific spacing. The Examiner notes that
it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the first row of first mounting holes that includes a first individual mounting hole spaced approximately 3/4" from a second individual mounting hole, and
the second row of second mounting holes includes a first individual mounting hole spaced approximately 3/4" from a second individual mounting hole.
since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). The motivation would have been to provide appropriate strength during the retention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-6, 9-11 and 14-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631