DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/21/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sano, U.S. Patent 8,316,514.
Regarding Claim 1, Sano teaches:
A first connecter (7) having an axis and a central channel (27) extending along the axis,
the first connecter being provided with a groove (13) on an outer peripheral wall; and
a second connecter (3) comprising:
a main body portion (3) provided with a retaining cavity (22) and at least one retaining arm (30), the at least one retaining arm being connected to an inner surface of the main body portion at one end and extending from the inner surface of the main body portion toward the retaining cavity; and
a sleeve portion (6) connected to the top of the main body portion and receivable in the central channel of the first connecter (Figs. 11A, 12A, 13A);
wherein the first connecter and the second connecter are configured to be releasably connected to each other (Figs. 11A, 12A, 13A).
Regarding Claim 2, Sano teaches:
The first connecter comprises at least one snap-fit spring clip (83, 26) obliquely
extending, from a wall (see below) that defines the central channel, toward the central channel, and the sleeve portion of the second connecter is releasably connected to the first connecter via the at least one snap-fit spring clip in a snap-fit manner (Figs. 11A, 12A, 13A).
Regarding Claim 3, Sano teaches:
Each of the snap-fit spring clips has a connection end (see above) and a free end (see
above), one end of each of the snap-fit spring clips being connected to the wall that defines the central channel to form the connection end, and the other end of each of the snap-fit spring clips forming the free end; and
wherein the at least one snap-fit spring clip is configured to be elastically deformable to allow the sleeve portion of the second connecter to enter the central channel and restorable to retain the sleeve portion in the central channel (Figs. 11A, 12A, 13A).
Regarding Claim 4, Sano teaches:
The sleeve portion comprises a step portion (35) formed protruding outwardly
from an outer wall of the sleeve portion (see below); and
wherein the sleeve portion is configured such that when the at least one snap-fit spring clip is restored, the step portion abuts against the free end of the at least one snap-fit spring clip to retain the sleeve portion in the central channel (Figs 11A, 13A).
Regarding Claim 5, Sano teaches:
The step portion has a guided surface (35) disposed at the top of the step portion and extending obliquely outwardly in the top-bottom direction, the guided surface being configured to cooperate with the at least one snap-fit spring clip so as to urge the at least one snap-fit spring clip to elastically deform to allow the sleeve portion of the second connecter to enter the central channel (see Figs. 13A, 12A, 11A).
Regarding Claim 6, Sano teaches:
The step portion has a flat top end surface which has a smooth edge (see Figs. 5-6, element 35).
Regarding Claim 7, Sano teaches:
A neck (see below) defining the central channel;
a top flange (see below) formed extending outwardly from the top of the neck; and
a bottom flange (see below) formed extending outwardly from the bottom of the neck;
wherein a ring-shaped groove is defined to form on an outer side of the neck between the top flange and the bottom flange.
Regarding Claim 15, Sano teaches:
The sleeve portion comprises at least one elastic leg (37) configured to be releasably connected to the at least one snap-fit spring clip in a snap-fit manner (see 17, 37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3677