DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marsh et al (2023/0080994) (herein “Marsh”). In regards to claims 1 and 11, Marsh teaches a gaming system comprising: one or more gameplay stations, the gameplay stations including a user interface; and a gaming server in communication with the one or more gameplay stations through a communications interface, the gaming server comprising a memory and a processor configured for executing instructions stored on the memory (See; Fig. 1, p[0036] and p[0055]) to perform the following steps: receive a gameplay request from at least one of the one or more gameplay stations (See; Fig. 13 for initiate a base game 1302); evaluate a continuation award for the gameplay request based on one or more of essential, immaterial, and/or supplemental elements of a bingo card; and determine an award value for the gameplay request based on the continuation award evaluation (See; Fig. 13 and p[0098]-p[0099] for determining an amount of bonus free spins based on the award amount determined by winning bingo patterns on the bingo card. The winning pattern can be considered an essential, immaterial and/or supplemental element of the bingo card. Further including secondary bonus games).
In regards to claims 2 and 12, Marsh teaches wherein the gameplay request comprises at least a bingo card and a bingo call (See; p[0033], p[0094] and p[0098] for a bingo game with card and call).
In regards to claims 3 and 13, Marsh teaches wherein the essential, immaterial, and/or supplemental elements of the bingo card include one or more of a size, color, and/or layout of the bingo card (See; p[0033], p[0094] and p[0098]-p[0099] for a bingo game with winning bingo patterns). In regards to claims 7 and 17, Marsh teaches wherein the essential, immaterial, and/or supplemental elements of the bingo card are compared to a match element in the continuation award evaluation (See; p[0004], p[0034], p[0106], p[0125]).
In regards to claims 8 and 18, Marsh teaches wherein the gameplay request further comprises a wager value (See; p[0043], p[0064]-p[0066]).
In regards to claim 9, Marsh teaches wherein the continuation award evaluation does not end the gameplay request; wherein the gameplay request ends when a game ending pattern occurs (See; Fig. 13 and p[0098]-p[0099] for determining an amount of bonus free spins based on the award amount determined by winning bingo patterns on the bingo card, thus not ending the game since bonus spins are implemented, where the game would only end if no winning patterns are identified).
In regards to claim 10, Marsh teaches wherein evaluating the continuation award for the gameplay request is based on a sequential daubing of one or more of essential, immaterial, and/or supplemental elements of a bingo card (See; p[0106] and p[0131]-p[0132] for a daubed bingo card). In regards to claim 19, Marsh teaches wherein the continuation award evaluation does not end the gameplay request (See; Fig. 13 and p[0098]-p[0099] for determining an amount of bonus free spins based on the award amount determined by winning bingo patterns on the bingo card, thus not ending the game since bonus spins are implemented, where the game would only end if no winning patterns are identified). In regards to claim 20, Marsh teaches wherein the gameplay request ends when a game ending pattern occurs (See; Fig. 13 and p[0098]-p[0099] where the game would end if there are no winning bingo patterns identified).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsh et al (2023/0080994) (herein “Marsh”). In regards to claims 4 and 14, Marsh fails to explicitly teach wherein the essential, immaterial, and/or supplemental elements of the bingo card include one or more of a playing card suite and a playing card value. However, Marsh teaches that many different types of games can be implemented such as poker or black jack (See; p[0053] where poker or black jack inherently use playing card suits and values). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Marsh to use a playing card suit and value so as to combine other combinations of wagering games to get interest from the user.
In regards to claims 5 and 15, Marsh fails to explicitly teaches wherein the essential, immaterial, and/or supplemental elements of the bingo card include one or more of a roulette space and a roulette chip. However, Marsh teaches that many different types of wagering games can be implemented such as roulette games (See; p[0003] and p[0053] for open ended wagering game implementations where roulette games are mentioned as a type of wagering game). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Marsh to use roulette so as to combine other combinations of wagering games to get interest from the user. In regards to claims 6 and 16, Marsh fails to explicitly teaches wherein the essential, immaterial, and/or supplemental elements of the bingo card include one or more of a rock-paper-scissors element. However, Marsh teaches that many different types of wagering games can be implemented (See; p[0003] and p[0053] for open ended wagering game implementations. Where rock paper scissors is a well-known game). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Marsh to use rock paper scissors so as to combine other combinations of wagering games to get interest from more users.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN A BOYD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627