DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/3/2025 was filed on or after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “26” has been used to designate both a “sensor” and a “control module”. See at least 0020 and 0026 and figs 1 & 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because at Fig. 2 reference character 78 is directed to a ‘switching circuit’ and reference character 80 is directed to a ‘load’. However, these designations are contrary to what is disclosed in the specifications. See at least 0035-0037. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because (4) Alternate positions and/or (5) Modified forms of construction must be shown in separate views. It appears that the use of a pressure sensor is modified construction. See Patent Rules 1.84. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
At Fig. 2 reference character 78 is directed to a ‘switching circuit’ and reference character 80 is directed to a ‘load’. However, these designations are contrary to what is disclosed in the specifications. See at least 0035-0037
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding Claim 1, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite in part control circuitry configured to “... determine at least one operating temperature of the heat pump; determine a position command based on the at least one operating temperature; communicate the position command to the expansion device to adjust the expansion device; determine a saturated suction temperature (SST) based on the first indication; determine a saturated condensing temperature (SCT) based on the second indication; determine a position estimate of the expansion device based on the SST and the SCT; compare the position command to the position estimate; and determine a condition of the heat pump based on the comparison.”
The limitation of “comparing the position command to the position estimate and determining a condition of the heat pump based on the comparison” is a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the disclosure of a heat pump system, control circuitry and sensors that establish the control parameter. That is, other than disclosing structure and steps to determine a position command, nothing in the claim precludes the steps of “comparing the position command to the position estimate; and determining a condition of the heat pump based on the comparison,” from practically being performed in the mind.”
For example, but for the disclosure of the processor control circuitry and sensors, “comparing”, and “determining” in the context of the claims encompasses a user either mentally or with pen and paper, using the stored control data to compare and determine stored command position to an estimated command position. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim is held to recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the clams recite the additional structures that establish the control parameter. These structures are not used to integrate the ‘comparing’ and ‘determining’ step into a practical application. Furthermore, it is noted that mere instructions to apply an exception using a control circuitry cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional structure does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea; thus, the claim is held to be directed towards the abstract idea.
Regarding Claim 7, claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite in part control circuitry configured to “... store a flow coefficient of the expansion device; determine, based on performance data of the compressor and the first and second indications, a coefficient estimate of the expansion device; compare the flow coefficient to the coefficient estimate; and determine a condition of a heat pump based on the comparison.”
The limitation of “storing a flow coefficient of the expansion device; determining, based on performance data of the compressor and the first and second indications, a coefficient estimate of the expansion device; comparing the flow coefficient to the coefficient estimate; and determining a condition of a heat pump based on the comparison” is a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the disclosure of a heat pump system, control circuitry and sensors. That is, other than disclosing the above-mentioned structure, nothing in the claim precludes the steps of “storing a flow coefficient of the expansion device; determining, based on performance data of the compressor and the first and second indications, a coefficient estimate of the expansion device; comparing the flow coefficient to the coefficient estimate; and determining a condition of a heat pump based on the comparison,” from practically being performed in the mind.”
For example, but for the disclosure of the processor control circuitry and sensors, “storing”, “comparing”, and “determining” in the context of the claims encompasses a user either mentally or with pen and paper, using the stored control data to “…store a flow coefficient of the expansion device; determine, based on performance data of the compressor and the first and second indications, a coefficient estimate of the expansion device; compare the flow coefficient to the coefficient estimate; and determine a condition of a heat pump based on the comparison.” If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim is held to recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the clams recite the additional structures. These structures are not used to integrate the ‘storing’, ‘comparing’ and ‘determining’ step into a practical application. Furthermore, it is noted that mere instructions to apply an exception using a control circuitry cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional structure does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus the claim is held to be directed towards the abstract idea.
Regarding Claim 20, claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite in part “... controlling the expansion device based on the position command; determining a saturated suction temperature (SST) of the refrigerant using a temperature upstream of the compressor; determining a saturated condensing temperature (SCT) of the refrigerant using a temperature downstream of the compressor and upstream of the condenser; determining a position estimate of the expansion device based on the SST and the SCT; comparing the position command to the position estimate; and determining a condition of the heat pump based on the comparison.”
The limitation of “comparing the position command to the position estimate and determining a condition of the heat pump based on the comparison” is a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the disclosure of a heat pump system, control circuitry and sensors that establish the control parameter. That is, other than disclosing structure and steps to determine a position command, nothing in the claim precludes the steps of “comparing the position command to the position estimate; and determining a condition of the heat pump based on the comparison,” from practically being performed in the mind.”
For example, but for the disclosure of the processor control circuitry and sensors, “comparing”, and “determining” in the context of the claims encompasses a user either mentally or with pen and paper, using the stored control data to compare and determine stored command position to an estimated command position. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim is held to recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the clams recite the additional structures that establish the control parameter. These structures are not used to integrate the ‘comparing’ and ‘determining’ step into a practical application. Furthermore, it is noted that mere instructions to apply an exception using a control circuitry cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional structure does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea; thus, the claim is held to be directed towards the abstract idea.
Claims 2-6 and 8-19 are held to be rejected based upon dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US2024/0318869) in view of Komure et al. (US2024/0295353).
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, Murata teaches a water heater system [fig 1], comprising:
a tank storing water [6; 0022];
a heat pump configured to heat the water, the heat pump including a compressor [12] that compresses a refrigerant of the heat pump, a condenser [17] downstream of the compressor, and an expansion device [13] downstream of the condenser that controls a pressure of the refrigerant [0025-0027; where the condenser exchanges heat to tank of water];
a first sensor [16] communicating a first indication of a temperature upstream of the compressor [0034];
a second sensor [22] communicating a second indication of a temperature of the refrigerant upstream of the condenser and downstream of the compressor [0034]; and
control circuitry 14; 0030-0032] configured to: determine at least one operating temperature of the heat pump [0034].
Murata does not teach where the control circuitry determines a position command based on the at least one operating temperature; communicates the position command to the expansion device to adjust the expansion device; determines a saturated suction temperature (SST) based on the first indication; determines a saturated condensing temperature (SCT) based on the second indication; determines a position estimate of the expansion device based on the SST and the SCT; compares the position command to the position estimate; and determines a condition of the heat pump based on the comparison.
However, Komure teaches a refrigeration cycle apparatus having control circuitry [12, 14] that determines an operating temperature of the refrigerating cycle [via sensor 35; 0031; 0034] having where the control circuitry determines a position command based on the at least one operating temperature [0035]; communicates the position command to the expansion device to adjust the expansion device [0035]; determines a saturated suction temperature (SST) based on the first indication [0034]; determines a saturated condensing temperature (SCT) based on the second indication [0034]; determines a position estimate of the expansion device based on the SST and the SCT [0042-0049]; compares the position command to the position estimate; and determines a condition of the heat pump based on the comparison [0042-0049] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a system that can accurately detect a condition of the refrigeration cycle [0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Murata to have where the control circuitry determines a position command based on the at least one operating temperature; communicates the position command to the expansion device to adjust the expansion device; determines a saturated suction temperature (SST) based on the first indication; determines a saturated condensing temperature (SCT) based on the second indication; determines a position estimate of the expansion device based on the SST and the SCT; compares the position command to the position estimate; and determines a condition of the heat pump based on the comparison in view of the teachings of Komure where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a system that can accurately detect a condition of the refrigeration cycle.
For clarity, in regard to Claim 20, the method as claimed is carried out during the normal operation of the apparatus of Murata, as modified, above.
Regarding Claim 2, Murata, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Murata teaches wherein the determining the position estimate includes determining an inlet pressure to the expansion device based on at least one of the first indication and the second indication [0046].
Regarding Claim 4, Murata, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Murata teaches wherein the comparing includes determining a difference between the position command and the position estimate [0042-0046].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US2024/0318869) and Komure et al. (US2024/0295353) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cowell (US2005/0198980) and Garrabrant et al. (US2020/0182520).
Regarding Claim 3, Murata, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 above and teaches determining the position estimate [As modified above, see the rejection of claim 1 above for detailed discussion]. Murata does not explicitly teach calculating the inlet pressure to the expansion device using a stored isentropic efficiency of the compressor; determining a pressure change across the expansion device based on the inlet pressure; calculating a flow coefficient of the expansion device based on the pressure difference; and correlating the flow coefficient with a position of the expansion device.
However, Cowell teaches an air conditioning system [0001] that calculates the inlet pressure to the expansion device using a stored isentropic efficiency of the compressor [0019; 0020; where a correlation between isentropic efficiency of the compressor and expansion valve inlet pressure is disclosed] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a system that can achieve optimum COP in all operating conditions [0020].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Murata to calculate the inlet pressure to the expansion device using a stored isentropic efficiency of the compressor in view of the teachings of Cowell where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a system that can achieve optimum COP in all operating conditions.
Lastly, Garrabrant teaches an expansion valve [fig 1] where a pressure change across the expansion device is based on the inlet pressure [0030]; and calculating a flow coefficient of the expansion device is based on a pressure difference [see fig 4]; and where the flow coefficient is correlated with a position of the expansion device [0033; 0034] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a system that effectively adjust the flow rate of fluids across a wide range of pressures [0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Murata to determine a pressure change across the expansion device based on the inlet pressure; calculate a flow coefficient of the expansion device based on the pressure difference; and correlate the flow coefficient with a position of the expansion device in view of the teachings of Garrabrant where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a system that effectively adjust the flow rate of fluids across a wide range of pressures.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US2024/0318869) and Komure et al. (US2024/0295353) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wallace et al. (US2017/0089625).
Regarding Claim 5, Murata, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the control circuitry is configured to: receive electrical parameter data; determine a first estimate of power draw to the compressor based on the electrical parameter data; determine a second estimate of electrical power draw to the compressor based on the SST and the SCT; and compare the first estimate to the second estimate.
However, Wallace teaches a refrigeration system [0002] having wherein control circuitry [70] is configured to: receive electrical parameter data [0081]; determine a first estimate of power draw to the compressor based on the electrical parameter data [0096]; determine a second estimate of electrical power draw to the compressor based on the SST and the SCT [0036; 0096]; and compare the first estimate to the second estimate [0095; 0096] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a system that accurately analyze system performance and energy consumption data to effectively manage energy consumption costs for the refrigeration system [0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Murata to have wherein the control circuitry is configured to: receive electrical parameter data; determine a first estimate of power draw to the compressor based on the electrical parameter data; determine a second estimate of electrical power draw to the compressor based on the SST and the SCT; and compare the first estimate to the second estimate in view of the teachings of Wallace where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a system that accurately analyze system performance and energy consumption data to effectively manage energy consumption costs for the refrigeration system.
Regarding Claim 6, Murata, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 5 above and Wallace teaches wherein the control circuitry is configured to: control the water heater system based on the comparison of the first and second estimates [0116; where the refrigeration system of the water heater system can be controlled similarly to the system of Wallace].
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10, 11, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al. (JP2013011391A) in view of Tanaka et al. (US2015/0362238).
Regarding Claim 7, Aoyama teaches a heat pump water heater [0034; fig 1], comprising:
a condenser [22; 0027];
a compressor [21] upstream of the condenser that compresses a refrigerant [0027];
a first sensor [61] communicating a first indication of a temperature upstream of the compressor p0071];
a second sensor [64] communicating a second indication of a temperature of the refrigerant upstream of the condenser and downstream of the compressor [0071];
an expansion device [24] downstream of the condenser that controls a pressure of the refrigerant [0072]; and
control circuitry [4; 0070] configured to:
store a flow coefficient of the expansion device [0045; implicit where the controller determines flow coefficient of valve 24 based upon mass flow rate];
determine, based on performance data of the compressor and the first and second indications, a coefficient estimate of the expansion device [0050; 0064-0070; where system parameters are used to develop mass flow rate and opening degree…from which a flow coefficient can also be determined].
Aoyama does not teach comparing the flow coefficient to the coefficient estimate; and determines a condition of a heat pump based on the comparison.
However, Tanaka teaches a refrigeration cycle apparatus [0002] that compares the flow coefficient to the coefficient estimate; and determine a condition of a heat pump based on the comparison [see fig 4]; and where the flow coefficient is correlated with a position of the expansion device [0100-0117] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. improving device reliability by suppressing an excessive increase in a discharge temperature at the compressor [0020].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Aoyama to compare the flow coefficient to the flow coefficient estimate; and determine a condition of a heat pump based on the comparison in view of the teachings of Tanaka where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. improving device reliability by suppressing an excessive increase in a discharge temperature at the compressor.
Regarding Claim 8, Aoyama, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 7 above and Tanaka teaches wherein the expansion device includes an electronic expansion valve [0042].
Regarding Claim 10, Aoyama, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 7 above and Aoyama teaches wherein the control circuitry is configured to: determine at least one operating temperature of the heat pump; and determine the position command based on the at least one operating temperature [0030; 0066; 0067].
Regarding Claim 11, Aoyama, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 10 above and Aoyama teaches wherein the control circuitry is configured to communicate the position command to the expansion device to adjust the expansion device [0030; 0066; 0067].
Regarding Claim 13, Aoyama, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 above and Aoyama teaches wherein the control circuitry is configured to: determine a saturated condensing temperature (SCT) based on the first indication and the second indication, wherein the SCT is determined without the use of a temperature sensor at the condenser [0029; where one skilled in the art would recognize that a saturated condensing temperature can be determined from a discharge pressure sensor].
Regarding Claim 17, Aoyama, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 7 above and Tanaka teaches wherein the comparing includes determining a difference between the flow coefficient and the coefficient estimate [0100-0117].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al. (JP2013011391A) and Tanaka et al. (US2015/0362238) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Swain et al. (US2022/0412619).
Regarding Claim 9, Aoyama, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 above but does not teach wherein the electronic expansion valve is controlled via a positioning motor.
However, Swain teaches systems and methods for thermal management [0006] having wherein an electronic expansion valve [114] is controlled via a positioning motor [0124; 0125] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. realizing a structure that controls vapor quality and thereby improve the system [0108].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Aoyama to have wherein the electronic expansion valve is controlled via a positioning motor in view of the teachings of Swain where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. realizing a structure that controls vapor quality and thereby improve the system.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al. (JP2013011391A) and Tanaka et al. (US2015/0362238) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Oshitani et al. (US2007/0028646).
Regarding Claim 12, Aoyama, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 7 above but does not teach wherein the coefficient estimate corresponds to a fixed size of an opening of the expansion device.
However, Oshitani teaches a refrigeration cycle [0003] having wherein the coefficient estimate corresponds to a fixed size of an opening of the expansion device [0065; where a flow coefficient is related to the fixed diameter of a capillary tube] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. realizing a structure which gradually reduces the pressure and thereby incurring relatively small refrigerant flow loss [0065].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Aoyama to have wherein the coefficient estimate corresponds to a fixed size of an opening of the expansion device in view of the teachings of Oshitani where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. realizing a structure which gradually reduces the pressure and thereby incurring relatively small refrigerant flow loss.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al. (JP2013011391A) and Tanaka et al. (US2015/0362238) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sayo et al. (US4653288).
Regarding Claim 14, Murata, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 13 above but does not teach wherein the control circuitry is configured to: calculate an inlet pressure to the expansion device using the SCT and a stored efficiency of the compressor.
However, Sayo teaches a refrigeration cycle [fig 1] having wherein the control circuitry [18] is configured to: calculate an inlet pressure to the expansion device using the SCT and a stored efficiency of the compressor [col 4, lines 22-32; col 8, line 56-col 9, line 16; where a relationship between expansion valve inlet pressure, compressor efficiency and compressor discharge temperature/pressure and where manipulating said parameter involve only routine skill in the art] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a system that detects a leak of the system [col 9, lines 10-20].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Murata to have wherein the control circuitry is configured to: calculate an inlet pressure to the expansion device using the SCT and a stored efficiency of the compressor in view of the teachings of Sayo where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a system that detects a leak of the system.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al. (JP2013011391A) and Tanaka et al. (US2015/0362238) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Garrabrant et al. (US2020/0182520).
Regarding Claim 15, Aoyama, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 13 above but does not teach wherein the determining the coefficient estimate includes determining an inlet pressure to the expansion device based on at least one of the first indication and the second indication.
However, Garrabrant teaches an expansion valve [fig 1] wherein the determining the coefficient estimate includes determining an inlet pressure to the expansion device based on at least one of the first indication and the second indication [0030; 0033; 0034; fig 4] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a system that effectively adjust the flow rate of fluids across a wide range of pressures [0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Aoyama to have wherein the determining the coefficient estimate includes determining an inlet pressure to the expansion device based on at least one of the first indication and the second indication in view of the teachings of Garrabrant where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a system that effectively adjust the flow rate of fluids across a wide range of pressures.
Regarding Claim 16, Aoyama, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 15 above and Garrabrant teaches wherein determining the coefficient estimate includes determining a pressure change across the expansion device based on the inlet pressure [0030; 0033; 0034; fig 4].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al. (JP2013011391A) and Tanaka et al. (US2015/0362238) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Tomita et al. (US6039071).
Regarding Claim 18, Aoyama, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 17 above and teaches control circuitry [As modified above, see the rejection of claim 7 above for detailed discussion]. Aoyama does comparing a difference to a threshold difference, wherein a condition is an aberrant condition determined when the difference exceeds the threshold difference.
However, Tomita teaches a pressure reducing valve [col 1, lines5-8] compares a difference to a threshold difference, wherein the condition is an aberrant condition determined when the difference exceeds the threshold difference [col 6, line 50-col 7 line 11] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a valve having constant quality [col 7, lines 1-11].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Aoyama to compare a difference to a threshold difference, wherein a condition is an aberrant condition determined when the difference exceeds the threshold difference in view of the teachings of Tomita where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a valve having constant quality.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al. (JP2013011391A) and Tanaka et al. (US2015/0362238) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Wallace et al. (US2017/0089625).
Regarding Claim 19, Murata, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 7 above but does not teach wherein the control circuitry is configured to: receive electrical parameter data; determine a first estimate of power draw to the compressor based on the electrical parameter data; determine a second estimate of electrical power draw to the compressor based on the SST and the SCT; compare the first estimate to the second estimate; and control the heat pump water heater based on the comparison of the first and second estimates.
However, Wallace teaches a refrigeration system [0002] having wherein control circuitry [70] is configured to: receive electrical parameter data [0081]; determine a first estimate of power draw to the compressor based on the electrical parameter data [0096]; determine a second estimate of electrical power draw to the compressor based on the SST and the SCT [0036; 0096]; and compare the first estimate to the second estimate [0095; 0096] and control the water heater system based on the comparison of the first and second estimates [0116; where the refrigeration system of the water heater system can be controlled similarly to the system of Wallace] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a system that accurately analyze system performance and energy consumption data to effectively manage energy consumption costs for the refrigeration system [0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Aoyama to have wherein the control circuitry is configured to: receive electrical parameter data; determine a first estimate of power draw to the compressor based on the electrical parameter data; determine a second estimate of electrical power draw to the compressor based on the SST and the SCT; compare the first estimate to the second estimate; and control the heat pump water heater based on the comparison of the first and second estimates in view of the teachings of Wallace where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a system that accurately analyze system performance and energy consumption data to effectively manage energy consumption costs for the refrigeration system.
Conclusion
/LARRY L FURDGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763