DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Action on the Merits. Claims 1-9 are pending and are addressed below.
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on July 2nd, 2026 has ben considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-2 and 7-8 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
The previous rejection of claims 2, 6, and 8 under 35 USC 112(b) has been overcome due to the applicant’s amendments.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot in view of the newly formulated grounds of rejections necessitated by the applicant’s amendments, however, at least one pertinent argument remains.
The applicant states (Amend. 9-11) that Tsuji (US 20200307631 A1) (“Tsuji”) fails to teach the limitation “the solenoid valve unit is switchable, based on a signal from the controller, between a connection state in which connection between the output port and the input port is not shut off and a checked state in which inflow of the hydraulic oil from the output port to the input port is restricted while outflow of the hydraulic oil from the input port to the output port is allowed” as recited in amended claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Tsuji teaches a first condition in which connection between the output port and the input port is not shutoff (See at least Tusji paragraph 98) and teaches a second condition where inflow of the hydraulic oil from the output port to the input port is restricted while outflow of the hydraulic oil from the input port to the output port is allowed (See at least Tsuji Paragraph 97), such that Tsuji discloses the claim limitations.
Contingent Limitations
Claims 3 and 6 contain conditional limitations:
Claim 3: “the controller drives the motor when the pressure becomes equal to or lower than a predetermined pressure.”
Claim 6: “the controller drives the motor in accordance with the rotation speed when the solenoid on-off valve is in the closed state.”
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, only requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. See MPEP 2111.04, II. Accordingly, a structure capable of performing limitations (1)-(2) as noted above is sufficient to disclose this limitation. See MPEP 2114. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 20200307631 A1) (“Tsuji”) in view of Lee (US 20220135012 A1) (“Lee”).
With respect to claim 1, Tsuji teaches automated driving vehicle comprising:
a vehicle body (See at least Tsuji Paragraph 32 “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle control system 1 according to the present invention is a part of a vehicle system 2 mounted on a vehicle”);
a hydraulic oil tank in which hydraulic oil is stored; a brake that generates braking force on a wheel of the vehicle body in accordance with pressure of the hydraulic oil (See at least Tsuji Paragraphs 86-88 “The vehicle control system 1 is provided with the brake device 4, the power unit 3, the external notification device 14, the control unit 15, and the driving operation device 10 as discussed earlier. In this embodiment, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 3, the vehicle control system 1 includes a brake lamp 14 a as a part of the external notification device 14, and turns on the brake lamp 14 a after the vehicle has come to a stop until the stop process is ended. For this purpose, the vehicle control system 1 is provided with an oil pressure sensor 59 that detects the oil pressure applied to the brake device 4. The brake device 4 includes a hydraulic brake device 81 and a parking brake device 85. The hydraulic brake device 81 includes a brake actuator 82 that converts an input from the control unit 15 or the driving operation device 10 (a brake pedal 89) into a hydraulic pressure and applies a brake force according to the hydraulic pressure value to the wheels. The control unit 15 further includes a brake actuator control unit 62 that controls the brake actuator 82 and a parking brake control unit 63 that controls the parking brake device 85. The control unit 15 turns on the brake lamp 14 a according to the hydraulic pressure detected by the oil pressure sensor 59. As shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, the brake actuator 82 includes a brake force applying device 84 that actuates the brake caliper so as to press a brake pad against a brake disk of each wheel, and a pressurizing/depressurizing device 83. The pressurizing/depressurizing device 83 includes a master cylinder 91, a retaining solenoid valve 92, a pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, a reservoir tank 94, and a pump 95. The master cylinder 91, the retaining solenoid valve 92, the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, the brake force applying device 84, and the pump 95 are connected by piping which is filled with brake oil to form a hydraulic circuit 99. Thus, the brake device 4 includes the hydraulic circuit 99, the brake force applying device 84, and the pressurizing/depressurizing device 83.”);
a pump connected to the hydraulic oil tank; a motor that drives the pump; and a controller that controls the motor; a master cylinder connected to the hydraulic oil tank (See at least Tsuji Paragraph 93 “The pump 95 is provided between the reservoir tank 94 and a part of the piping connecting the retaining solenoid valve 92 with the cut valve 97. The pump 95 circulates the brake oil in the reservoir tank 94 to the part of the piping connecting the retaining solenoid valve 92 with the cut valve 97. The pump 95 is provided with a check valve so that the brake oil is prevented from flowing backward from the part of the piping connecting the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93 with the reservoir tank 94 to the part of the piping connecting the cut valve 97 with the retaining solenoid valve 92.” | Paragraph 112 “The brake oil in the hydraulic circuit 99 is pressurized by the pump 95. At this time, driving of the pump 95 consumes power of the battery mounted on the vehicle. In the present embodiment, the oil pressure in the piping is maintained is equal to or higher than the first threshold so that the brake lamp 14 a is turned on, but is lower than a second threshold so that the hydraulic brake device 81 is not engaged, and the consumption of power by the pump 95 is relatively low. Thus, the brake oil is not pressurized by the pump 95 more than necessary to light the brake lamp 14 a so that the power consumption by the pump 95 is reduced. As a result, the power consumption of the battery required for lighting the brake lamp 14 a is reduced, and after the vehicle has come to a stop, the brake lamp 14 a can be kept turned on for a long period of time to notify the outside of the vehicle that the vehicle is kept parked under an emergency situation.”),
the automated driving vehicle having an automatic stop function that automatically stops the vehicle body by controlling the brake via the pump, with the controller controlling the motor (See at least Tsuji FIG. 2 and Paragraphs 73-84 “When the condition for executing the autonomous driving of the current level ceases to be satisfied, or when an instruction to lower the level of the autonomous driving is input to the autonomous driving level switch 13, the state management unit 37 executes an intervention request process. In the intervention request process, the state management unit 37 first notifies the driver of a handover request. The notification to the driver may be made by displaying a message or image on the display device 31 or generating a speech or an acoustic notification from the sound generator 32. The notification to the driver may continue for a predetermined period of time after the intervention request process is started or may be continued until an input is detected by the occupant monitoring device 11 … Next, a stop position determination process is executed (step ST5). In the stop position determination process, the stop position is determined according to obstacles, road markings, and other objects located around the vehicle recognized by the external environment recognition unit 40. In the stop position determination process, it is possible that the stop position cannot be determined in the stop area due to the presence of surrounding vehicles and obstacles. When the stop position cannot be determined in the stop position determination process (No in step ST6), the stop area determination process (step ST3), the movement process (step ST4), and the stop position determination process (step ST5) are sequentially repeated. If the stop position can be determined in the stop position determination process (Yes in step ST6), a stop execution process is executed (step ST7). In the stop execution process, the action plan unit 42 generates a target trajectory according to the current position of the vehicle and the targeted stop position. The travel control unit 38 controls the power unit 3, the brake device 4, and the steering device 5 according to the target trajectory determined by the action plan unit 42. The vehicle then moves toward the stop position and stops at the stop position.”), wherein
the automated driving vehicle includes a solenoid valve unit that includes an input port connected to an input oil passage connected to the pump and an output port connected to an output oil passage connected to the brake, and the solenoid valve unit is switchable, based on a signal from the controller, between a connection state in which connection between the output port and the input port is not shut off and a checked state in which inflow of the hydraulic oil from the output port to the input port is restricted while outflow of the hydraulic oil from the input port to the output port is allowed (See at least Tsuji Paragraphs 93-98 “The pump 95 is provided between the reservoir tank 94 and a part of the piping connecting the retaining solenoid valve 92 with the cut valve 97. The pump 95 circulates the brake oil in the reservoir tank 94 to the part of the piping connecting the retaining solenoid valve 92 with the cut valve 97. The pump 95 is provided with a check valve so that the brake oil is prevented from flowing backward from the part of the piping connecting the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93 with the reservoir tank 94 to the part of the piping connecting the cut valve 97 with the retaining solenoid valve 92. The oil pressure sensor 59 is provided in a part of the piping connecting brake force applying device 84 with the retaining solenoid valve 92, and detects a hydraulic pressure of the oil in a part of the piping connecting the brake force applying device 84 with the retaining solenoid valve 92. The oil pressure sensor 59 forwards the detected oil pressure value to the control unit 15. The brake actuator control unit 62 controls the retaining solenoid valve 92, the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, and the pump 95 according to the signal from the oil pressure sensor 59, and adjusts the oil pressure value in the part of the piping connecting the retaining solenoid valve 92 with the brake force applying device 84. In the present embodiment, the brake actuator 82 can set the oil pressure value in the part of the piping connecting the retaining solenoid valve 92 with the brake force applying device 84 to the oil pressure value commanded by the action plan unit 42. The action plan unit 42 in particular turns on the brake lamp 14 a via the external notification control unit 64 when the oil pressure value is equal to or higher than a first threshold as will be discussed hereinafter. For example, when the brake actuator control unit 62 opens the cut valve 97 and the retaining solenoid valve 92 and closes the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, the connection between the master cylinder 91 and the brake force applying device 84 is established while the connection between the reservoir tank 94 and the piping between the master cylinder 91 and the brake force applying device 84 is cut. When the driver steps on the brake pedal 89, the piston 96 is pushed into the master cylinder 91, and the hydraulic pressure in the master cylinder 91 increases. The hydraulic pressure produced in the master cylinder 91 is transmitted to the brake force applying device 84. As a result, the brake pad is pressed against the brake disk in each of the wheels, and a brake force is applied to the wheels. Further, when the oil pressure in the piping connecting the brake force applying device 84 with the retaining solenoid valve 92 becomes equal to or higher than an oil pressure threshold (first threshold), the brake lamp 14 a is turned on. Similarly, when the brake actuator control unit 62 closes the cut valve 97, opens the retaining solenoid valve 92, closes the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, and drives the pump 95, the oil in the piping connecting the brake force applying device 84 with the cut valve 97 is pressurized by the pump 95. As a result, the brake pad is pressed against the brake disk in each of the wheels, and a brake force is applied to the wheels. Further, when the oil pressure in the piping connecting the brake force applying device 84 with the retaining solenoid valve 92 becomes equal to or higher than the oil pressure threshold (first threshold), the brake lamp 14 a is turned on. When the brake actuator control unit 62 closes the cut valve 97, closes the retaining solenoid valve 92, and opens the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, the oil in the piping between the retaining solenoid valve 92 and the brake force applying device 84 flows into the reservoir tank 94, and the oil in the piping between the retaining solenoid valve 92 and the brake force applying device 84 is depressurized. When the pressure in the piping between the retaining solenoid valve 92 and brake force applying device 84 becomes lower than the oil pressure threshold (first threshold), the brake lamp 14 a turns off.”).
Tsuji fails to explicitly disclose that the master cylinder being between the hydraulic oil tank and the pump.
Lee teaches that the master cylinder being between the hydraulic oil tank and the pump (See at least Lee FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Tsuji to include that the master cylinder being between the hydraulic oil tank and the pump, as taught by Lee as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal braking (Lee Paragraph 8 “According to at least one embodiment, the present disclosure provides an integrated braking device for a vehicle equipped with wheel brakes for braking the vehicle”).
With respect to claim 2, Tsuji in view of Lee teaches that the solenoid valve unit includes: a solenoid on-off valve including a solenoid valve input port connected to the input oil passage and a solenoid valve output port connected to the output port; a branch oil passage having a first end connected to the input oil passage and a second end connected to the output oil passage; and a check valve provided in the branch oil passage (See at least Tsuji Paragraph 91 “The retaining solenoid valve 92 is provided in a part of the piping connecting the brake force applying device 84 with the cut valve 97. Thus, the brake force applying device 84 and the master cylinder 91 are connected to each other via the cut valve 97 and the retaining solenoid valve 92.” | Paragraph 93 “The pump 95 is provided between the reservoir tank 94 and a part of the piping connecting the retaining solenoid valve 92 with the cut valve 97. The pump 95 circulates the brake oil in the reservoir tank 94 to the part of the piping connecting the retaining solenoid valve 92 with the cut valve 97. The pump 95 is provided with a check valve so that the brake oil is prevented from flowing backward from the part of the piping connecting the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93 with the reservoir tank 94 to the part of the piping connecting the cut valve 97 with the retaining solenoid valve 92.”),
the solenoid on-off valve is switchable, based on the signal from the controller, between a closed state in which connection between the solenoid valve output port and the solenoid valve input port is shut off and an open state in which the connection between the solenoid valve output port and the solenoid valve input port is not shut off, and the check valve allows outflow of the hydraulic oil from the input oil passage toward the output oil passage in the branch oil passage, and shuts off inflow of the hydraulic oil from the output oil passage toward the input oil passage (See at least Tsuji Paragraphs 96-98 “For example, when the brake actuator control unit 62 opens the cut valve 97 and the retaining solenoid valve 92 and closes the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, the connection between the master cylinder 91 and the brake force applying device 84 is established while the connection between the reservoir tank 94 and the piping between the master cylinder 91 and the brake force applying device 84 is cut. When the driver steps on the brake pedal 89, the piston 96 is pushed into the master cylinder 91, and the hydraulic pressure in the master cylinder 91 increases. The hydraulic pressure produced in the master cylinder 91 is transmitted to the brake force applying device 84. As a result, the brake pad is pressed against the brake disk in each of the wheels, and a brake force is applied to the wheels. Further, when the oil pressure in the piping connecting the brake force applying device 84 with the retaining solenoid valve 92 becomes equal to or higher than an oil pressure threshold (first threshold), the brake lamp 14 a is turned on. Similarly, when the brake actuator control unit 62 closes the cut valve 97, opens the retaining solenoid valve 92, closes the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, and drives the pump 95, the oil in the piping connecting the brake force applying device 84 with the cut valve 97 is pressurized by the pump 95. As a result, the brake pad is pressed against the brake disk in each of the wheels, and a brake force is applied to the wheels. Further, when the oil pressure in the piping connecting the brake force applying device 84 with the retaining solenoid valve 92 becomes equal to or higher than the oil pressure threshold (first threshold), the brake lamp 14 a is turned on. When the brake actuator control unit 62 closes the cut valve 97, closes the retaining solenoid valve 92, and opens the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, the oil in the piping between the retaining solenoid valve 92 and the brake force applying device 84 flows into the reservoir tank 94, and the oil in the piping between the retaining solenoid valve 92 and the brake force applying device 84 is depressurized. When the pressure in the piping between the retaining solenoid valve 92 and brake force applying device 84 becomes lower than the oil pressure threshold (first threshold), the brake lamp 14 a turns off.”).
With respect to claim 3, it is important to note per the conditional limitation section above, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, only requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. See MPEP 2111.04, II. Accordingly, a structure capable of performing limitation (1) as noted above, such as a controller, is sufficient to disclose this limitation. See MPEP 2114. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
The conditional limitations carried out in claim 3 are performed by a controller (Spec. FIG. 2, 21 “controller”). Tsuji discloses the same structure (Tsuji Paragraph 32 “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle control system 1 according to the present invention is a part of a vehicle system 2 mounted on a vehicle. The vehicle system 2 includes a power unit 3, a brake device 4, a steering device 5, an external environment recognition device 6, a vehicle sensor 7, a communication device 8, a navigation device 9 (map device), a driving operation device 10, an occupant monitoring device 11, an HMI 12 (Human Machine Interface), an autonomous driving level switch 13, an external notification device 14, and a control unit 15. These components of the vehicle system 2 are connected to one another so that signals can be transmitted between them via a communication means such as CAN 16 (Controller Area Network)”) such that Tsuji discloses a structure capable of performing limitation (1).
With respect to claim 3, Tsuji in view of Lee teaches the output oil passage is provided with a pressure sensor that measures pressure of the hydraulic oil flowing through the output oil passage and transmits the pressure to the controller (See at least Tsuji Paragraph 94 “The oil pressure sensor 59 is provided in a part of the piping connecting brake force applying device 84 with the retaining solenoid valve 92, and detects a hydraulic pressure of the oil in a part of the piping connecting the brake force applying device 84 with the retaining solenoid valve 92. The oil pressure sensor 59 forwards the detected oil pressure value to the control unit 15.”).
With respect to claim 5, Tsuji in view of Lee teaches that the pump and the motor are integrated as a hydraulic actuator (See at least Tsuji Paragraph 95 “The brake actuator control unit 62 controls the retaining solenoid valve 92, the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, and the pump 95 according to the signal from the oil pressure sensor 59, and adjusts the oil pressure value in the part of the piping connecting the retaining solenoid valve 92 with the brake force applying device 84”).
With respect to claim 6, it is important to note per the conditional limitation section above, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, only requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. See MPEP 2111.04, II. Accordingly, a structure capable of performing limitation (2) as noted above, such as a controller, is sufficient to disclose this limitation. See MPEP 2114. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
The conditional limitations carried out in claim 6 are performed by a controller (Spec. FIG. 2, 21 “controller”). Tsuji discloses the same structure (Tsuji Paragraph 32 “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle control system 1 according to the present invention is a part of a vehicle system 2 mounted on a vehicle. The vehicle system 2 includes a power unit 3, a brake device 4, a steering device 5, an external environment recognition device 6, a vehicle sensor 7, a communication device 8, a navigation device 9 (map device), a driving operation device 10, an occupant monitoring device 11, an HMI 12 (Human Machine Interface), an autonomous driving level switch 13, an external notification device 14, and a control unit 15. These components of the vehicle system 2 are connected to one another so that signals can be transmitted between them via a communication means such as CAN 16 (Controller Area Network)”) such that Tsuji discloses a structure capable of performing limitation (2).
With respect to claim 6, Tsuji in view of Lee teaches a rotation speed sensor that measures a rotation speed of the wheel and transmits the rotation speed to the controller (See at least Tsuji Paragraph 59 “The action plan unit 42 sequentially creates an action plan for driving the vehicle along the route. More specifically, the action plan unit 42 first determines a set of events for traveling on the target lane determined by the route determination unit 24 without the vehicle coming into contact with an obstacle. The events may include a constant speed traveling event in which the vehicle travels in the same lane at a constant speed, a preceding vehicle following event in which the vehicle follows a preceding vehicle at a certain speed which is equal to or lower than a speed selected by the driver or a speed which is determined by the prevailing environment, a lane changing event in which the vehicle change lanes, a passing event in which the vehicle passes a preceding vehicle, a merging event in which the vehicle merge into the traffic from another road at a junction of the road, a diverging event in which the vehicle travels into a selected road at a junction of the road, an autonomous driving end event in which autonomous driving is ended, and the driver takes over the driving operation, and a stop event in which the vehicle is brought to a stop when a certain condition is met, the condition including a case where the control unit 15 or the driver has become incapable of continuing the driving operation.”).
With respect to claim 7, Tsuji in view of Lee teaches a brake pedal, wherein the master cylinder is connected to each of the motor and the hydraulic oil tank, and the brake pedal is provided on the vehicle body and is coupled to the master cylinder (See at least Tsuji Paragraph 96 “For example, when the brake actuator control unit 62 opens the cut valve 97 and the retaining solenoid valve 92 and closes the pressure reducing solenoid valve 93, the connection between the master cylinder 91 and the brake force applying device 84 is established while the connection between the reservoir tank 94 and the piping between the master cylinder 91 and the brake force applying device 84 is cut. When the driver steps on the brake pedal 89, the piston 96 is pushed into the master cylinder 91, and the hydraulic pressure in the master cylinder 91 increases. The hydraulic pressure produced in the master cylinder 91 is transmitted to the brake force applying device 84. As a result, the brake pad is pressed against the brake disk in each of the wheels, and a brake force is applied to the wheels. Further, when the oil pressure in the piping connecting the brake force applying device 84 with the retaining solenoid valve 92 becomes equal to or higher than an oil pressure threshold (first threshold), the brake lamp 14 a is turned on.”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 20200307631 A1) (“Tsuji”) in view of Lee (US 20220135012 A1) (“Lee”) in view of Wang (CN 216424081 U) (“Wang”) (Translation Attached)
With respect to claim 4, Tsuji in view of Lee teaches the predetermined pressure is set based on an amount of the hydraulic oil required to be pumped to the brake by the motor to prevent the wheel from rotating (See at least Tsuji Paragraph 95).
Tsuji in view of Lee, however, fails to explicitly disclose to prevent the wheel from rotating on a slope inclined at a predetermined angle.
Wang teaches to prevent the wheel from rotating on a slope inclined at a predetermined angle (See at least Wang Paragraph 47 “As can be seen from the above embodiments, the slope α of the ramp can be obtained based on the angle sensor 5, and the weight of the vehicle body of the working machinery 4 can be obtained based on the gravity sensor 6. Thus, the control module 102 shown in this embodiment can obtain the gravity component Gsinα of the vehicle body in the extension direction of the slope based on the information fed back by the angle sensor 5 and the gravity sensor 6. Since the torque F should be greater than the gravitational component Gsinα of the working machine 4 in the direction of the slope when the working machine 4 achieves a non-slip start, and the torque F is directly related to the pressure difference between the two oil ports of the hydraulic motor 2, this embodiment can determine the preset value shown in the above embodiment based on the information fed back by the angle sensor 5 and the gravity sensor 6. Thus, it can not only control the discharge of the first hydraulic pump 1 according to the pressure difference between the two oil ports of the hydraulic motor 2, but also control the braking system to release the brake on the traveling device when the pressure difference reaches the preset value, so as to ensure that the working machine 4 can reliably start uphill.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Tsuji in view of Lee to prevent the wheel from rotating on a slope inclined at a predetermined angle, as taught by Wang as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal vehicle control (Wang Paragraph 4 “This utility model provides a hydraulic control system and operating machinery for preventing slippage when starting on an incline, in order to solve or improve the problem of slippage that occurs when starting on an incline in existing mechanically driven operating machinery.”).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (US 20200307631 A1) (“Tsuji”) in view of Lee (US 20220135012 A1) (“Lee”) in view of Otsuka (JP 2001335299 A) (“Otsuka”) (Translation Attached)
With respect to claim 8, Tsuji in view of Lee teaches fails to explicitly disclose that the solenoid valve unit is switchable, based on the signal from the controller, to a shut-off state in which the output port and the input port are shut off.
Otsuka, however, teaches that the solenoid valve unit is switchable, based on the signal from the controller, to a shut-off state in which the output port and the input port are shut off (See at least Otsuka Paragraph 58 “The shutoff valve 82 is controlled to be opened/closed by its solenoid 82A being excited and demagnetized by the control unit 26. The shutoff valve 82 is closed by the biasing force of the spring when the solenoid 82A is demagnetized, and is opened when the solenoid 82A is excited. The linear solenoid valve 83 is controlled in current value (for example, duty control) by the control unit 26, so that the opening degree is controlled according to the current value flowing in the solenoid 83A, and the hydraulic pressure introduced by opening the shutoff valve 82. Is applied to the input port through the oil passage 76, the hydraulic pressure proportional to the current value flowing through the solenoid 83A is output from the output port. The output port of the linear solenoid valve 83 is connected to the two brake ports B1 and B2, and the discharge port thereof is connected to the tank port T through the conduit 78.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Tsuji in view of Lee to include that the solenoid valve unit is switchable, based on the signal from the controller, to a shut-off state in which the output port and the input port are shut off, as taught by Otsuka as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal vehicle control (Otsuka Paragraph 9 “The present invention has been made to solve the above problems, and an object of the present invention is to perform automatic braking independent of a braking operation even when there is a factor such as a slip of a braking wheel that increases a braking distance when a braking operation is performed. It is an object of the present invention to provide a hydraulic control device for braking in an industrial vehicle, which can effectively reduce the braking distance of the vehicle by the brake control and is suitable for hydraulic control for automatic brake control.”).
With respect to claim 9, Tsuji in view of Lee teaches fails to explicitly disclose that the automated driving vehicle is an industrial vehicle including a load-handling device.
Otsuka, however, teaches that the automated driving vehicle is an industrial vehicle including a load-handling device (See at least Otsuka Paragraph 22 “As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, a reach type forklift truck 10 (hereinafter referred to as a forklift) as an industrial vehicle is a three-wheel vehicle type having two front wheels and one rear wheel. A pair of left and right reach legs 12 extend forward from the front of the vehicle body (machine stand) 11. The left and right front wheels (driven wheels) 13 are rotatably supported by the tip ends of the respective reach rails 12a forming the left and right reach legs 12. The rear wheels shown in FIG. 6 are drive wheels 14 that also function as steering wheels. The drive wheel 14 is offset to the left in the vehicle width direction, and an auxiliary wheel (caster) (not shown) is provided on the right side of the drive wheel 14 at a predetermined distance.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Tsuji in view of Lee to include that the automated driving vehicle is an industrial vehicle including a load-handling device, as taught by Otsuka as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal brake control for various vehicles (Otsuka Paragraph 9 “The present invention has been made to solve the above problems, and an object of the present invention is to perform automatic braking independent of a braking operation even when there is a factor such as a slip of a braking wheel that increases a braking distance when a braking operation is performed. It is an object of the present invention to provide a hydraulic control device for braking in an industrial vehicle, which can effectively reduce the braking distance of the vehicle by the brake control and is suitable for hydraulic control for automatic brake control.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY/Examiner, Art Unit 3667 /KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667