DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: “when the charging member is performed” lacks antecedent basis, should probably be “when the correction mode is performed.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu et al. US 2021/0149321 A1 (Shimizu).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu teaches an image forming apparatus comprising: an image forming portion including:
an image carrying member (1a) having a photosensitive layer formed on a surface thereof;
a charging device (34) including a charging member that electrostatically charges the image carrying member;
an exposure device (5) that forms an electrostatic latent image by exposing to light the image carrying member electrostatically charged by the charging device; and
a developing device (3a) disposed opposite the image carrying member and including a developer carrying member (31) that carries developer, the developing device forming a toner image by attaching toner to the electrostatic latent image formed on the image carrying member (¶004-¶0045);
a developing voltage power supply (43) that applies a developing voltage to the developer carrying member;
a charging voltage power supply (45) that applies a charging voltage containing at least a direct- current component to the charging member;
a developing current sensing portion (44) that senses a developing current passing between the developer carrying member and the image carrying member;
a charging current sensing portion (50) that senses a charging current passing between the charging member and the image carrying member; and
a control portion (80) that controls the image forming portion, the developing voltage power supply, and the charging voltage power supply,
wherein the control portion can perform
an image formation mode (s2) in which the control portion performs image formation while controlling, based on a relationship between the charging current and a surface potential on the image carrying member (s3-s6), the charging voltage applied and thereby adjusting the surface potential (¶0053-¶0056) and
a correction mode (s7-s12) in which the control portion corrects the relationship between the charging current and the surface potential, and
when the correction mode is performed, the control portion calculates the surface potential on the image carrying member based on the developing voltage applied (s7-s9) and the developing current sensed by the developing current sensing portion (s9-s11) and corrects the relationship between the charging current and the surface potential based on the calculated surface potential (s12).
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the correction mode is performed, the control portion applies different developing voltages as the developing voltage for the same charging current and calculates the surface potential from a relationship between the developing current sensed by the developing current sensing portion (44) and the developing voltage (¶0044-¶0051).
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the correction mode is performed, the control portion calculates, from a relationship between the developing current and the developing voltage (¶0044), the developing voltage that produces the developing current with a same current value as a reference developing current sensed by the developing current sensing portion in a non-charged state with a zero surface potential on the image carrying member, and calculates the calculated developing voltage as the surface potential (¶0043-¶0045).
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the correction mode is performed, the control portion applies the same developing voltage (Vdc) for different charging currents as the charging current (non-exposed and exposed ¶0041), and calculates the surface potential from a relationship between the developing current sensed by the developing current sensing portion and the charging current (¶0041-¶0042).
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim l, wherein when the correction mode is performed, the control portion calculates, from a relationship between the developing current (Id) and the charging current (Ic), the charging current (Ic) that produces the developing current with a same current value as a reference developing current sensed by the developing current sensing portion in a non-charged state (non-exposed, ¶0041) with a zero surface potential (v0) on the image carrying member, and calculates the developing voltage corresponding to the calculated charging current as the surface potential (¶0040-¶0050).
Regarding claim 6, Shimizu teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the developer is a two-component developer containing magnetic carrier and toner (¶0008), and when the charging member is performed, the direct-current component of the charging voltage (Vdc) that the control portion applies in a non-charged state with a zero surface potential (V0) on the image carrying member is zero. (¶0042-¶0044)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. US 2021/0149321 A1 (Shimizu).
Regarding claim 7, Shimizu teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1. Shimizu differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: a temperature measuring portion. However Shimizu does suggest that environmental conditions such as temperature and humidity effects developer and is known to contribute to developer issues such as deterioration, fogging scattering (¶0003). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a temperature sensing portion to the device taught by Shimizu such that is measures temperature around the image carrying member, and when the correction mode is performed, the control portion corrects the relationship between the charging current and the surface potential based on predicted variation of the temperature around the image carrying member and the calculated surface potential, since doing so would have yielded a predictable result, namely the temperature can now be factored into the correction control calculations resulting in a better outcome.
Conclusion
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852