DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to US App. 19/068,583. Claims 21-40 have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been cancelled.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 21-22, 29-30, 33, 35, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 7, 9-11, 13-15 of prior U.S. Patent No.12,273,909 (hereafter US PAT 909). This is a statutory double patenting rejection. All limitations (as outlined in the table below) in the instant application are identical or inherently identical to corresponding limitations in US PAT 909.
Instant Application
US PAT 909
21. (New) A computerized method for prioritizing data communications associated with a plurality of computerized client devices served by a Citizens Broadband Radios Service (CBRS)-compliant fixed wireless access (FWA) apparatus, the computerized method comprising:
obtaining, at the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus, first data related to data traffic associated with a plurality of computerized client devices;
characterizing, by the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus, each of the plurality of computerized client devices based at least on the obtained first data;
determining, by the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus, whether prioritization of at least a portion of the data traffic is necessary for one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices; based on the determining, causing prioritization of the data traffic, the prioritization based at least on the respective characterizations of each of the plurality of computerized client devices;
and wirelessly transmitting, from the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus, second data indicative of the prioritization to a CBSD (citizens broadband service device) which is in data communication with the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus.
22. (New) The computerized method of claim 21, wherein the wirelessly transmitting of the second data comprises wirelessly transmitting the second data via one or more CBRS carriers within a frequency band of 3.550 to 3.700 GHz.
1. A computerized method for prioritizing data communications associated with a plurality of computerized client devices served by a Citizens Broadband Radios Service (CBRS) fixed wireless access (FWA) apparatus, the computerized method comprising:
obtaining, at the CBRS FWA apparatus, first data related to data traffic associated with one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices;
characterizing, by the CBRS FWA apparatus, the data traffic based at least on the obtained first data;
prioritizing, by the CBRS FWA apparatus, the data traffic based at least on the characterizing; and
wirelessly transmitting, from the CBRS FWA apparatus, second data indicative of the prioritizing to a Citizens Broadband Radios Service (CBRS)-compliant Citizens Broadband Service Device (CBSD) which is in data communication with the CBRS FWA apparatus and disposed upstream from the CBRS FWA apparatus in a network architecture;
wherein the wirelessly transmitting, from the CBRS FWA apparatus, of the second data indicative of the prioritizing to the CBRS-compliant CBSD enables the CBRS-compliant CBSD to determine (i) which data traffic type will be sent from the CBRS-compliant CBSD to the CBRS FWA apparatus first, and (ii) an allocation of an amount of data distribution for each data traffic type.
7. The computerized method of claim 1, wherein: the wirelessly transmitting comprises transmitting via one or more CBRS carriers within a frequency band of 3.550 to 3.700 GHz.
29. (New) A CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radios Service)-compliant FWA (fixed wireless access) apparatus configured for data communication with a CBRS-compliant CBSD (Citizens Broadband Service Device) and a plurality of computerized client devices in a wireless system, the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus comprising: processor apparatus; and storage apparatus in data communication with the processor apparatus, the storage apparatus comprising at least one computer program configured to, when executed by the processor apparatus, cause the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus to:
obtain first data related to data traffic associated with one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices;
characterize the data traffic based at least on the obtained first data; prioritize the data traffic based at least on the characterizing; and
wirelessly transmit, from the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus, second data indicative of the prioritizing to a Citizens Broadband Service Device (CBSD) which is in data communication with the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus and disposed upstream from the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus in a network architecture.
35. (New) The CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus of claim 29, wherein the wireless transmission of the second data indicative of the prioritization comprises transmission via one or more CBRS carriers within a frequency band of 3.550 to 3.700 GHz.
30. (New) The CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus of claim 29, wherein the obtainment of the first data comprises obtainment of data associated with types of data traffic transacted by the plurality of computerized client devices.
33. (New) The CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus of claim 29, wherein the at least one computer program is further configured to, when executed by the processor apparatus, cause the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus to: generate data representative of a data traffic profile associated with the CBRS FWA apparatus, the data traffic profile based at least on the obtained first data and the characterization.
13. Computer readable apparatus comprising a non-transitory storage medium, the non-transitory storage medium comprising at least one computer program having a plurality of instructions, the plurality of instructions configured to, when executed on a processing apparatus, cause a CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radios Service)-compliant FWA (fixed wireless access) apparatus to:
obtain first data related to data traffic associated with a plurality of computerized client devices;
characterize each of the plurality of computerized client devices based at least on the obtained first data;
determine whether prioritization of at least a portion of the data traffic is necessary for one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices, the determination comprising a comparison of one or more measured QoS (quality of service)-related parameters associated with the one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices to one or more respective prescribed thresholds;
based on the determination, cause prioritization of the data traffic, the prioritization based at least on the respective characterizations of each of the plurality of computerized client devices; and
wirelessly transmit second data indicative of the prioritization to a CBRS-compliant CBSD (citizens broadband service device) which is in data communication with the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus.
14. The computer readable apparatus of claim 13, wherein the wireless transmission comprises transmission via one or more CBRS carriers within a frequency band of 3.550 to 3.700 GHz.
15. The computer readable apparatus of claim 13, wherein the wireless transmission of the second data comprises at least one traffic profile (TP) message, the at least one TP message comprising data relating to one or more applications operative on the one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices, respectively, the one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices serviced by the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus.
37. (New) Computer readable apparatus comprising a non-transitory storage medium, the non-transitory storage medium comprising at least one computer program having a plurality of instructions, the plurality of instructions configured to, when executed on a processing apparatus, cause a CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radios Service)-compliant FWA (fixed wireless access) apparatus to:
obtain first data related to the plurality of computerized client devices;
prioritize data traffic associated with at least one computerized client device of the plurality of computerized client devices based at least on a plurality of data traffic types;
transmit data indicative of the prioritization to a CBSD (citizens broadband service device); and
receive user plane (UP) data for the plurality of computerized client devices via a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) scheduled by a scheduler process of the CBSD and based at least on the transmitted data.
38. (New) The computer readable apparatus of claim 37, wherein the prioritized data traffic comprises data traffic associated with latency-sensitive application operating on the at least one computerized client device.
39. (New) The computer readable apparatus of claim 37, wherein the transmitted data indicative of the prioritization comprises one or more Internet Protocol (IP) messages addressed to a particular socket or port on the CBRS-compliant CBSD.
9. A CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radios Service)-compliant FWA (fixed wireless access) apparatus configured for data communication with a CBRS-compliant CBSD (Citizens Broadband Service Device) and a plurality of computerized client devices in a wireless system, the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus comprising: processor apparatus; and storage apparatus in data communication with the processor apparatus, the storage apparatus comprising at least one computer program configured to, when executed by the processor apparatus, cause the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus to:
obtain first data related to the plurality of computerized client devices;
prioritize data traffic associated with at least one computerized client device of the plurality of computerized client devices based at least on a plurality of data traffic types;
transmit data indicative of the prioritization to the CBRS-compliant CBSD, the transmitted data indicative of the prioritization comprising data indicative of a total number of client devices then-currently consuming traffic via the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus; and
receive user plane (UP) data for the plurality of computerized client devices via a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) scheduled by a scheduler process of the CBRS-compliant CBSD and based at least on the transmitted data;
wherein the transmitted data enables the CBRS-compliant CBSD to establish at least one dedicated bearer based on a ratio of a portion of the total number of the client devices requesting one or more of the plurality of data traffic types associated with latency-sensitivity to a second portion of the total number of the client devices requesting one or more of the plurality of data traffic types associated with non-latency-sensitivity being more than a prescribed threshold.
10. The CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus of claim 9, wherein the prioritized data traffic comprises data traffic associated with latency-sensitive application operating on the at least one computerized client device.
11. The CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus of claim 9, wherein the transmitted data indicative of the prioritization comprises one or more Internet Protocol (IP) messages addressed to a particular socket or port on the CBRS-compliant CBSD.
Claim(s) 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John et al. (US 2021/0185738) hereafter John in view of Das (WO 2019/204336).
Regarding Claim 21,
A computerized method for prioritizing data communications associated with a plurality of computerized client devices served by … fixed wireless access (FWA) apparatus, the computerized method comprising:
obtaining, at the … FWA apparatus, first data related to data traffic associated with a plurality of computerized client devices; characterizing, by the … FWA apparatus, each of the plurality of computerized client devices based at least on the obtained first data [John: 0039; FIGS. 2A and 2B are diagrams illustrating an exemplary process of the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service. For example, the process may correspond to a signaling procedure between end device 199 and a Wi-Fi access device 205; 0040; end device 199 may generate and transmit a probe request. According to an exemplary embodiment, the probe request may include priority information (step 2). For example, the priority information may indicate an access class category of 11 or some other priority value (e.g., 10, 12, 13, 14, 15), as illustrated in FIG. 2A as “Priority=X”; 0041; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access; 0034; the term “priority user” or “priority users” may refer to a user, end device 199, or both];
determining, by the … FWA apparatus, whether prioritization of at least a portion of the data traffic is necessary for one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices [John: 0041; in step (3), based on the receipt of the probe request, Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that it is in a congested state or a predicted congested state; Wi-Fi access device 205 may not grant a new Wi-Fi connection to a non-priority user; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access; 0015; the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may provide priority users with admission control and quality of service (QoS) priority to Wi-Fi access points over other types of users; 0055; a Wi-Fi access point may support QoS, such as the Wireless Multimedia Extension (WMM) enhancement pertaining to the Wi-Fi standard; 0056; For example, referring to a table 300 in FIG. 3, a QoS and priority mapping is shown; 0061; as illustrated in entries 330-9 and 330-10, according to an exemplary embodiment, priority users (e.g., 10-15) may be mapped to an expanded Wi-Fi category of users (e.g., 8 and 9); 0067; the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may provide QoS and prioritization to traffic of the priority user/end device that communicates via a Wi-Fi access point or a Wi-Fi traffic link interfaced to non-Wi-Fi networks (e.g., LTE, LTE-A, LTE-A Pro, 5G, a future generation network, etc.). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, end device 199 of a priority user (not illustrated) may establish and have an application service session in which traffic may be communicated via Wi-Fi access device 205 and an intermediary network 610 to/from external network 170];
based on the determining, causing prioritization of the data traffic, the prioritization based at least on the respective characterizations of each of the plurality of computerized client devices; and wirelessly transmitting, from the … FWA apparatus, second data indicative of the prioritization to a … device … which is in data communication with the … FWA apparatus [John: 0046; Wi-Fi access device 205 may establish a tunnel (e.g., an Internet Protocol Security (IPsec) tunnel) with ePDG (evolved Packet Data Gateway) 210. In step (11), end device synchronization and authentication between end device 199 and a core network of PGW (packet gateway) 215 via ePDG 210 may be performed; 0050; the flying Wi-Fi AP 220-2 and/or ground Wi-Fi AP 230 may include the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service, as described herein; 0052; ground Wi-Fi AP 230 may indicate the HPA (High Priority Access) in an RRC procedure with macrocell 240 and an attachment procedure with core network 150. For example, in an LTE context, an initial message (e.g., S1 Application Protocol (S1AP)) may include an attach request, a packet data network (PDN) request, and priority information; In step (12), ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240 and core network 150 may setup and establish a priority bearer on behalf of end device 199. In step (13), end device 199 may transmit and/or receive data via flying cell/Wi-Fi access device 220, ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240, and core network 150].
However, John does not teach a Citizens Broadband Radios Service (CBRS)-compliant fixed wireless access (FWA) apparatus … wirelessly transmitting, from the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus, … to a CBSD (citizens broadband service device) which is in data communication with the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus ….
Das teaches:
… a Citizens Broadband Radios Service (CBRS)-compliant fixed wireless access (FWA) apparatus … wirelessly transmitting, from the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus, … to a CBSD (citizens broadband service device) which is in data communication with the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus … [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below; a given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404; moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein; p. 55 / line 33 - p. 56 / lines 1-8; two additional RF interfaces on the CPEe of Fig. 8a are included for connecting the CPEe to a 2-port external antenna 416 which is installed outdoors, e.g., on the roof of the small business, multi-dwelling unit (MDU) or multi-story enterprise (see Fig. 9a); this external antenna can be used to receive supplemental signals from outdoor radios installed in the vicinity of the consumer premises; it will be appreciated that the outdoor radios may have a primary purpose of providing coverage for outdoor mobility, but signals from them can also/alternatively be used in a fixed-wireless manner to supplement the capacity from the primary coaxial link and to add redundancy].
Note:
Antenna 416 on CPEe413 (i.e. CBRS FWA apparatus) is used as a supplemental link for fixed wireless to radio node 406a that supports CBRS bands. Because CPEe supports receiving signals via this supplemental link for fixed wireless from a CBRS radio node 406a; therefore, CPEe is inherently capable of receiving this CBRS transmission. Radio node 406a is upstream from a CPEe apparatus 413.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 22,
John teaches that in step (12), ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240 and core network 150 may setup and establish a priority bearer on behalf of end device 199 [John: 0052].
However, John does not teach that wherein the wirelessly transmitting of the second data comprises wirelessly transmitting the second data via one or more CBRS carriers within a frequency band of 3.550 to 3.700 GHz.
Das teaches:
wherein the wirelessly transmitting of the second data comprises wirelessly transmitting the second data via one or more CBRS carriers within a frequency band of 3.550 to 3.700 GHz [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below; a given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404; moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 23,
John teaches:
wherein the wirelessly transmitting of the second data comprises at least one traffic profile (TP) message, the at least one TP message comprising data relating to one or more applications operative on the one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices, respectively, the one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices serviced by the … FWA apparatus [John: 0098; FIG. 9 illustrates an exemplary process 900 of the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service; process 900 may include a step that identifies the type of traffic (e.g., background, best effort, voice, or video); 0095; Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine an access control class value pertaining to end device 199 and the traffic; 0091;process 900 may include steps performed by Wi-Fi access device 205, subsequent to the establishment of a Wi-Fi connection that pertain to QoS and prioritization of traffic (e.g., queuing, scheduling, etc.); 0064; the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to traffic according to traffic categories associated with WMM of the Wi-Fi standard, such as background, best effort, video, and voice; 0019; 0054; the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to all traffic associated with the priority user. According to another exemplary embodiment, the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to traffic according to traffic categories. For example, the traffic categories may be the traffic categories or classification associated with the Wireless Multimedia Extension (WME) of the Wi-Fi 802.11 standard; 0024; A message communicated in support of the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may use at least one of these planes of communication. Additionally, an interface of a network device may be modified (e.g., relative to an interface defined by a standards body, such as 3GPP, 3GPP2, ITU, ETSI, IEEE 802.11, etc.) or a new interface of the network device may be provided in order to support the communication (e.g., transmission and reception of messages, information elements (IE), attribute value pairs (AVPs), etc.) between network devices and the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service logic, as described herein. For example, a Wi-Fi interface may be modified to transmit and receive priority information, as described herein].
However, John does not teach a CBRS-compliant fixed wireless access (FWA) apparatus ….
Das teaches:
… the one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices serviced by the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below; a given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404; moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 24,
John teaches:
wherein the wirelessly transmitting of the second data comprises wirelessly transmitting respective at least one traffic profile (TP) messages, each of the at least one TP messages comprising (i) data relating to individual ones of data traffic types for respective ones of the plurality of computerized client devices, and (ii) priority data associated with each of the plurality of computerized client devices, the one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices serviced by the … FWA apparatus [John: 0098; FIG. 9 illustrates an exemplary process 900 of the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service; process 900 may include a step that identifies the type of traffic (e.g., background, best effort, voice, or video); 0095; Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine an access control class value pertaining to end device 199 and the traffic; 0091;process 900 may include steps performed by Wi-Fi access device 205, subsequent to the establishment of a Wi-Fi connection that pertain to QoS and prioritization of traffic (e.g., queuing, scheduling, etc.); 0064; the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to traffic according to traffic categories associated with WMM of the Wi-Fi standard, such as background, best effort, video, and voice; 0019; 0054; the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to all traffic associated with the priority user. According to another exemplary embodiment, the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to traffic according to traffic categories. For example, the traffic categories may be the traffic categories or classification associated with the Wireless Multimedia Extension (WME) of the Wi-Fi 802.11 standard].
However, John does not teach a CBRS-compliant fixed wireless access (FWA) apparatus ….
Das teaches:
… the one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices serviced by the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below; a given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404; moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 25,
John teaches:
wherein the obtaining of the first data comprises receiving data relating to a configuration of an air interface of the … FWA apparatus between the … FWA apparatus and the CBSD [John: 0091; process 900 may include steps performed by Wi-Fi access device 205, subsequent to the establishment of a Wi-Fi connection that pertain to QoS and prioritization of traffic (e.g., queuing, scheduling, etc.); 0040; end device 199 may generate and transmit a probe request. According to an exemplary embodiment, the probe request may include priority information (step 2). For example, the priority information may indicate an access class category of 11 or some other priority value (e.g., 10, 12, 13, 14, 15), as illustrated in FIG. 2A as “Priority=X”; 0041; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access];
the computerized method further comprises: characterizing one or more capabilities of the … FWA apparatus based at least on the received data, the one or more capabilities comprising maximum available backhaul bandwidth that can be allocated to one or more user plane (UP) data streams associated with the one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices; wherein the prioritization of the data traffic is further based at least on the characterization of the one or more capabilities [John: 0064; the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to traffic according to traffic categories associated with WMM of the Wi-Fi standard, such as background, best effort, video, and voice; 0065; the priority users and their associated access control class may be mapped differently relative to the eight user priorities of the Wi-Fi standard. For example, the priority user (e.g., access control class 10) may be mapped to Wi-Fi user priorities 2, 4, 7, and 10 associated with background, best effort, video, and voice traffic (e.g., entries 430-2, 430-5, 430-8, and 430-11), while priority users (e.g., access control classes 11-15) may be mapped to Wi-Fi user priorities 3, 5, 8, and 11 associated with background, best effort, video, and voice traffic (e.g., entries 430-3, 430-6, 430-9, and 430-12); 0040; the priority information may indicate an access class category of 11 or some other priority value (e.g., 10, 12, 13, 14, 15), as illustrated in FIG. 2A as “Priority=X”; 0034; an ACC elemental file (EF) may include bits corresponding to access classes ranging from 0-15. Access classes 0-9 correspond to standard access class users (e.g., non-priority users), access control class 10 corresponds to emergency call users, and access control classes 11-15 correspond to special access class or high priority access users].
However, John does not teach a CBRS)-compliant fixed wireless access (FWA) apparatus … a CBSD (citizens broadband service device) ….
Das teaches:
… an air interface of the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus between the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus and the CBSD [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below; a given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404; moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 26,
wherein the characterizing of each of the plurality of computerized client devices based at least on the obtained first data comprises assigning a priority level for each of the one or more UP data streams [John: 0065; the priority users and their associated access control class may be mapped differently relative to the eight user priorities of the Wi-Fi standard. For example, the priority user (e.g., access control class 10) may be mapped to Wi-Fi user priorities 2, 4, 7, and 10 associated with background, best effort, video, and voice traffic (e.g., entries 430-2, 430-5, 430-8, and 430-11), while priority users (e.g., access control classes 11-15) may be mapped to Wi-Fi user priorities 3, 5, 8, and 11 associated with background, best effort, video, and voice traffic (e.g., entries 430-3, 430-6, 430-9, and 430-12); 0034; an ACC elemental file (EF) may include bits corresponding to access classes ranging from 0-15. Access classes 0-9 correspond to standard access class users (e.g., non-priority users), access control class 10 corresponds to emergency call users, and access control classes 11-15 correspond to special access class or high priority access users; 0040; the priority information may indicate an access class category of 11 or some other priority value (e.g., 10, 12, 13, 14, 15), as illustrated in FIG. 2A as “Priority=X”; 0041; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access; 0034; the term “priority user” or “priority users” may refer to a user, end device 199, or both].
Regarding Claim 27,
wherein the characterizing of each of the plurality of computerized client devices comprises: characterizing a first one of the plurality of computerized client devices to (i) determine at least a configuration of the first one of the plurality of computerized client devices, (ii) evaluate at least a portion of the first data associated with the first one of the plurality of computerized client devices, and (ii) assign a score for the first one of the plurality of computerized client devices based at least on the configuration and the evaluation [John: 0041; in step (3), based on the receipt of the probe request, Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that it is in a congested state or a predicted congested state; Wi-Fi access device 205 may not grant a new Wi-Fi connection to a non-priority user; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access; 0095; Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine an access control class value pertaining to end device 199 and the traffic; 0096; in block 925, the Wi-Fi access device may correlate a priority level to a user priority. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may correlate the access control class value of the traffic to a matched access control value included in the application service information; Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine the QoS and prioritization that correlate to the matched access control value and/or the user priority that is above the user priorities of the Wi-Fi standard; 0097; In block 930, the Wi-Fi access device may apply the QoS and prioritization. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may apply queueing, scheduling, and other parameters as described herein, to the traffic that are indicative of a higher priority and QoS relative to the eight user priorities of the Wi-Fi standard]; and
incrementing a counter to characterize a next one of the plurality of computerized client devices, the incrementing continuing until each of the plurality of computerized client devices have been characterized [John: 0041; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access; Wi-Fi access device 205 may compare the number of current Wi-Fi connections associated with priority users to the reserved connection value; Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine whether establishing the Wi-Fi connection with end device 199 would exceed the reserved connection value; 0045; assume that the association is successful and a Wi-Fi connection between end device 199 and Wi-Fi access device 205 is established; 0065; the priority users and their associated access control class may be mapped differently relative to the eight user priorities of the Wi-Fi standard; For example, the priority user (e.g., access control class 10) may be mapped to Wi-Fi user priorities 2, 4, 7, and 10 associated with background, best effort, video, and voice traffic (e.g., entries 430-2, 430-5, 430-8, and 430-11), while priority users (e.g., access control classes 11-15) may be mapped to Wi-Fi user priorities 3, 5, 8, and 11 associated with background, best effort, video, and voice traffic (e.g., entries 430-3, 430-6, 430-9, and 430-12); 0084; Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine whether the reserved connection value is greater than a current usage value indicating the reserved Wi-Fi connections currently being used; Wi-Fi access device 205 may compare the reserved connection value to the current usage value to make such a determination; 0095; Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine an access control class value pertaining to end device 199 and the traffic; 0096; in block 925, the Wi-Fi access device may correlate a priority level to a user priority. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may correlate the access control class value of the traffic to a matched access control value included in the application service information].
Note:
Counter is inherent in determining a number of current WiFi connections associated with priority users. For comparison to a reserved connection value, each connection with associated priority is considered.
Regarding Claim 28,
John teaches:
further comprising, based on the second data indicative of the prioritization, transmitting data representative of a request to the CBSD for one or more dedicated bearers to be assigned to at least a portion of the data traffic, the request based on at least one application operating on at least one of the plurality of computerized client devices requiring one or more quality of service (QoS) levels mapped to one or more QoS class identifier (QCI) values associated with the one or more dedicated bearers [John: 0046; Wi-Fi access device 205 may establish a tunnel (e.g., an Internet Protocol Security (IPsec) tunnel) with ePDG (evolved Packet Data Gateway) 210. In step (11), end device synchronization and authentication between end device 199 and a core network of PGW (packet gateway) 215 via ePDG 210 may be performed; 0050; the flying Wi-Fi AP 220-2 and/or ground Wi-Fi AP 230 may include the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service, as described herein; 0052; ground Wi-Fi AP 230 may indicate the HPA (High Priority Access) in an RRC procedure with macrocell 240 and an attachment procedure with core network 150. For example, in an LTE context, an initial message (e.g., S1 Application Protocol (S1AP)) may include an attach request, a packet data network (PDN) request, and priority information; In step (12), ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240 and core network 150 may setup and establish a priority bearer on behalf of end device 199. In step (13), end device 199 may transmit and/or receive data via flying cell/Wi-Fi access device 220, ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240, and core network 150].
However, John does not teach … a request to the CBSD (citizens broadband service device) ….
Das teaches:
… a request to the CBSD [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below; a given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404; moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 29,
A … FWA (fixed wireless access) apparatus configured for data communication with a … Device … and a plurality of computerized client devices in a wireless system, the … FWA apparatus comprising: processor apparatus; and storage apparatus in data communication with the processor apparatus, the storage apparatus comprising at least one computer program configured to, when executed by the processor apparatus [John: 0048; the process may correspond to a signaling procedure between end device 199, a flying cell/Wi-Fi access device 220 (e.g., a flying cell 220-1 and a flying Wi-Fi AP 220-2), a ground Wi-Fi AP 230, and a macrocell 240; 0014; a Fifth Generation (5G) or future generation fixed wireless access device may have a built-in Wi-Fi modem connected to a data network that may be managed by a network provider; 0028; the Wi-Fi access device may be a stationary device, a mobile device, included in an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (e.g., a drone, etc.), included in a manned aerial vehicle (MAV) (e.g., a helicopter, etc.), a portable device, a home device, an enterprise device, a public device, a private device, an ad hoc device, a hotspot device, or a fixed wireless access point, for example], cause the … FWA apparatus to:
obtain first data related to data traffic associated with one or more of the plurality of computerized client devices; characterize the data traffic based at least on the obtained first data [John: 0039; FIGS. 2A and 2B are diagrams illustrating an exemplary process of the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service. For example, the process may correspond to a signaling procedure between end device 199 and a Wi-Fi access device 205; 0040; end device 199 may generate and transmit a probe request. According to an exemplary embodiment, the probe request may include priority information (step 2). For example, the priority information may indicate an access class category of 11 or some other priority value (e.g., 10, 12, 13, 14, 15), as illustrated in FIG. 2A as “Priority=X”; 0041; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access; 0034; the term “priority user” or “priority users” may refer to a user, end device 199, or both];
prioritize the data traffic based at least on the characterizing; and wirelessly transmit, from the … FWA apparatus, second data indicative of the prioritizing to a … Device … which is in data communication with the CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus and disposed upstream from the … FWA apparatus in a network architecture [John: 0046; referring to FIG. 2B, in step (10), in response to receiving the association response, end device 199 may perform an authentication procedure with an ePDG 210 via Wi-Fi access device 205; Wi-Fi access device 205 may establish a tunnel (e.g., an Internet Protocol Security (IPsec) tunnel) with ePDG (evolved Packet Data Gateway) 210; in step (11), end device synchronization and authentication between end device 199 and a core network of PGW (packet gateway) 215 via ePDG 210 may be performed; 0050; the flying Wi-Fi AP 220-2 and/or ground Wi-Fi AP 230 may include the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service, as described herein; 0052; ground Wi-Fi AP 230 may indicate the HPA (High Priority Access) in an RRC procedure with macrocell 240 and an attachment procedure with core network 150. For example, in an LTE context, an initial message (e.g., S1 Application Protocol (S1AP)) may include an attach request, a packet data network (PDN) request, and priority information; In step (12), ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240 and core network 150 may setup and establish a priority bearer on behalf of end device 199. In step (13), end device 199 may transmit and/or receive data via flying cell/Wi-Fi access device 220, ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240, and core network 150].
Note:
An ePDG is upstream from a WiFi AP.
However, John does not explicitly teach a CBRS-compliant CBSD or a CBRS FWA apparatus.
Das teaches:
wirelessly transmit, from the CBRS FWA apparatus, … to a Citizens Broadband Radios Service (CBRS)-compliant Citizens Broadband Service Device (CBSD) which is in data communication with the CBRS FWA apparatus and disposed upstream from the CBRS FWA apparatus in a network architecture [Das: CBRS-CBSD == radio node 406a; p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below. A given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404. Moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein; p. 55 / line 33 - p. 56 / lines 1-8; two additional RF interfaces on the CPEe of Fig. 8a are included for connecting the CPEe to a 2-port external antenna 416 which is installed outdoors, e.g., on the roof of the small business, multi-dwelling unit (MDU) or multi-story enterprise (see Fig. 9a); this external antenna can be used to receive supplemental signals from outdoor radios installed in the vicinity of the consumer premises; it will be appreciated that the outdoor radios may have a primary purpose of providing coverage for outdoor mobility, but signals from them can also/alternatively be used in a fixed-wireless manner to supplement the capacity from the primary coaxial link and to add redundancy].
Note:
Antenna 416 on CPEe413 (i.e. CBRS FWA apparatus) is used as a supplemental link for fixed wireless to radio node 406a that supports CBRS bands. Because CPEe supports receiving signals via this supplemental link for fixed wireless from a CBRS radio node 406a; therefore, CPEe is inherently capable of receiving this CBRS transmission. Radio node 406a is upstream from a CPEe apparatus 413.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 30,
wherein the obtainment of the first data comprises obtainment of data associated with types of data traffic transacted by the plurality of computerized client devices [John: 0040; For example, the priority information may indicate an access class category of 11 or some other priority value (e.g., 10, 12, 13, 14, 15), as illustrated in FIG. 2A as “Priority=X”; 0041; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access; 0055; the Wi-Fi standard defines eight user priorities, four access categories, and a queueing structure for different types of traffic associated with the access categories; 0034; an ACC elemental file (EF) may include bits corresponding to access classes ranging from 0-15. Access classes 0-9 correspond to standard access class users (e.g., non-priority users), access control class 10 corresponds to emergency call users, and access control classes 11-15 correspond to special access class or high priority access users. For example, access control class 11 may be for public land mobile network (PLMN) use, access control class 12 may be for security services, access control class 13 may be for public utilities, access control class 14 may be for national security services, and access control class 15 may be for PLMN staff. The term “priority user” or “priority users” may refer to a user, end device 199, or both].
Regarding Claim 31,
John teaches:
wherein the characterization of the data traffic comprises a determination of identification data associated with a communication channel associated with the … FWA apparatus, the identification data comprising an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the communication channel, the communication channel comprising a default data bearer assigned to the … FWA apparatus … [John: 0046; Wi-Fi access device 205 may establish a tunnel (e.g., an Internet Protocol Security (IPsec) tunnel) with ePDG (evolved Packet Data Gateway) 210. In step (11), end device synchronization and authentication between end device 199 and a core network of PGW (packet gateway) 215 via ePDG 210 may be performed; 0052; n step (12), ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240 and core network 150 may setup and establish a priority bearer on behalf of end device 199; 0014; a Fifth Generation (5G) or future generation fixed wireless access device may have a built-in Wi-Fi modem connected to a data network that may be managed by a network provider].
Note:
IP address is inherent in IPSec tunnel.
However, John does not explicitly teach a CBSD or a CBRS FWA apparatus.
Das teaches:
… the communication channel comprising a default bearer assigned to the CBRS FWA apparatus by the CBSD [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein; p. 30 / lines 26-30; ; the system of FIG. 4 may deliver Internet data and OTT (over-the-top) services to the end users (including those of the DU e's 406a) via the Internet protocol (IP) and TCP (i.e., over the 5G radio bearer); p. 55 / line 33 - p. 56 / lines 1-8; two additional RF interfaces on the CPEe of Fig. 8a are included for connecting the CPEe to a 2-port external antenna 416 which is installed outdoors, e.g., on the roof of the small business, multi-dwelling unit (MDU) or multi-story enterprise (see Fig. 9a); this external antenna can be used to receive supplemental signals from outdoor radios installed in the vicinity of the consumer premises; it will be appreciated that the outdoor radios may have a primary purpose of providing coverage for outdoor mobility, but signals from them can also/alternatively be used in a fixed-wireless manner to supplement the capacity from the primary coaxial link and to add redundancy].
Note:
Antenna 416 on CPEe413 is used as a supplemental link for fixed wireless to radio node 406a that supports CBRS bands. Because CPEe supports receiving signals via this supplemental link for fixed wireless from a CBRS radio node 406a; therefore, CPEe is inherently capable of receiving this CBRS transmission. Radio node 406a is upstream from a CPEe apparatus 413.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 32,
John teaches:
wherein the at least one computer program is further configured to, when executed by the processor apparatus, cause the … FWA apparatus to: perform, via the … FWA apparatus, a packet analysis of data traffic generated from the plurality of computerized client devices [John: 0041; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access; 0095; Wi-Fi access device 205 may correlate the traffic to the priority information and/or the unique identifier of end device 199. Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine an access control class value pertaining to end device 199 and the traffic; 0014; a Fifth Generation (5G) or future generation fixed wireless access device may have a built-in Wi-Fi modem connected to a data network that may be managed by a network provider].
However, John does not explicitly teach a CBRS FWA apparatus.
Das teaches:
perform, via the CBRS FWA apparatus, a packet analysis of data traffic generated from the plurality of computerized client devices [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below. A given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404. Moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein; p. 55 / line 33 - p. 56 / lines 1-8; two additional RF interfaces on the CPEe of Fig. 8a are included for connecting the CPEe to a 2-port external antenna 416 which is installed outdoors, e.g., on the roof of the small business, multi-dwelling unit (MDU) or multi-story enterprise (see Fig. 9a); this external antenna can be used to receive supplemental signals from outdoor radios installed in the vicinity of the consumer premises; it will be appreciated that the outdoor radios may have a primary purpose of providing coverage for outdoor mobility, but signals from them can also/alternatively be used in a fixed-wireless manner to supplement the capacity from the primary coaxial link and to add redundancy; p. 31 / lines 32-33 – p. 32 lines 1-2; device profiles for particular devices (e.g., 3GPP 5g NR and WLAN-enabled UE, or the CPEe 413 and any associated antenna 416, etc.) can be maintained by the MSO, such that the MSO ( or its automated proxy processes) can model the device for wireless or other capabilities].
Note:
Antenna 416 on CPEe413 is used as a supplemental link for fixed wireless to radio node 406a that supports CBRS bands. Because CPEe supports receiving signals via this supplemental link for fixed wireless from a CBRS radio node 406a; therefore, CPEe is inherently capable of receiving this CBRS transmission. Radio node 406a is upstream from a CPEe apparatus 413.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 33,
John teaches:
wherein the at least one computer program is further configured to, when executed by the processor apparatus, cause the … FWA apparatus to: generate data representative of a data traffic profile associated with the … FWA apparatus, the data traffic profile based at least on the obtained first data and the characterization [John: 0098; FIG. 9 illustrates an exemplary process 900 of the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service; process 900 may include a step that identifies the type of traffic (e.g., background, best effort, voice, or video); 0095; Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine an access control class value pertaining to end device 199 and the traffic; 0091;process 900 may include steps performed by Wi-Fi access device 205, subsequent to the establishment of a Wi-Fi connection that pertain to QoS and prioritization of traffic (e.g., queuing, scheduling, etc.); 0064; the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to traffic according to traffic categories associated with WMM of the Wi-Fi standard, such as background, best effort, video, and voice; 0019; 0054; the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to all traffic associated with the priority user. According to another exemplary embodiment, the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to traffic according to traffic categories. For example, the traffic categories may be the traffic categories or classification associated with the Wireless Multimedia Extension (WME) of the Wi-Fi 802.11 standard; 0014; a Fifth Generation (5G) or future generation fixed wireless access device may have a built-in Wi-Fi modem connected to a data network that may be managed by a network provider].
However, John does not explicitly teach a CBRS FWA apparatus.
Das teaches:
… generate data representative of a data traffic profile associated with the CBRS FWA apparatus … [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below. A given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404. Moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein; p. 55 / line 33 - p. 56 / lines 1-8; two additional RF interfaces on the CPEe of Fig. 8a are included for connecting the CPEe to a 2-port external antenna 416 which is installed outdoors, e.g., on the roof of the small business, multi-dwelling unit (MDU) or multi-story enterprise (see Fig. 9a); this external antenna can be used to receive supplemental signals from outdoor radios installed in the vicinity of the consumer premises; it will be appreciated that the outdoor radios may have a primary purpose of providing coverage for outdoor mobility, but signals from them can also/alternatively be used in a fixed-wireless manner to supplement the capacity from the primary coaxial link and to add redundancy; p. 31 / lines 32-33 – p. 32 lines 1-2; device profiles for particular devices (e.g., 3GPP 5g NR and WLAN-enabled UE, or the CPEe 413 and any associated antenna 416, etc.) can be maintained by the MSO, such that the MSO ( or its automated proxy processes) can model the device for wireless or other capabilities].
Note:
Antenna 416 on CPEe413 is used as a supplemental link for fixed wireless to radio node 406a that supports CBRS bands. Because CPEe supports receiving signals via this supplemental link for fixed wireless from a CBRS radio node 406a; therefore, CPEe is inherently capable of receiving this CBRS transmission. Radio node 406a is upstream from a CPEe apparatus 413.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 34,
John teaches:
wherein the wireless transmission of the second data indicative of the prioritization comprises wireless transmission the generated data representative of the data traffic profile associated with the CBRS FWA apparatus in an information element (IE) of a control plane (CP) protocol message [John: 0024; Environment 100 may include various planes of communication including, for example, a control plane, a user plane, and a network management plane. Environment 100 may include other types of planes of communication. A message communicated in support of the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may use at least one of these planes of communication. Additionally, an interface of a network device may be modified (e.g., relative to an interface defined by a standards body, such as 3GPP, 3GPP2, ITU, ETSI, IEEE 802.11, etc.) or a new interface of the network device may be provided in order to support the communication (e.g., transmission and reception of messages, information elements (IE), attribute value pairs (AVPs), etc.) between network devices and the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service logic, as described herein. For example, a Wi-Fi interface may be modified to transmit and receive priority information, as described herein].
However, John does not explicitly teach a CBRS FWA apparatus.
Das teaches:
… the generated data representative of the data traffic profile associated with the CBRS FWA apparatus … [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below. A given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404. Moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein; p. 55 / line 33 - p. 56 / lines 1-8; two additional RF interfaces on the CPEe of Fig. 8a are included for connecting the CPEe to a 2-port external antenna 416 which is installed outdoors, e.g., on the roof of the small business, multi-dwelling unit (MDU) or multi-story enterprise (see Fig. 9a); this external antenna can be used to receive supplemental signals from outdoor radios installed in the vicinity of the consumer premises; it will be appreciated that the outdoor radios may have a primary purpose of providing coverage for outdoor mobility, but signals from them can also/alternatively be used in a fixed-wireless manner to supplement the capacity from the primary coaxial link and to add redundancy; p. 31 / lines 32-33 – p. 32 lines 1-2; device profiles for particular devices (e.g., 3GPP 5g NR and WLAN-enabled UE, or the CPEe 413 and any associated antenna 416, etc.) can be maintained by the MSO, such that the MSO ( or its automated proxy processes) can model the device for wireless or other capabilities].
Note:
Antenna 416 on CPEe413 is used as a supplemental link for fixed wireless to radio node 406a that supports CBRS bands. Because CPEe supports receiving signals via this supplemental link for fixed wireless from a CBRS radio node 406a; therefore, CPEe is inherently capable of receiving this CBRS transmission. Radio node 406a is upstream from a CPEe apparatus 413.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 35,
John teaches that access devices 110 may include an evolved Node B (eNB), a next generation Node B (gNB), an evolved Long Term Evolution (eLTE) eNB, a radio network controller (RNC), a remote radio head (RRH), a baseband unit (BBU), a centralized unit (CU), a distributed unit (DU), a small cell node (e.g., a picocell device, a femtocell device, a microcell device, a home eNB, etc.), a future generation wireless access device, another type of wireless node (e.g., a WiMax device, a hotspot device, etc.) that provides a wireless access service [John: 0027].
However, John does not explicitly teach CBRS carriers within a frequency band of 3.55 to 3.7 GHz.
Das teaches:
wherein the wireless transmission of the second data indicative of the prioritization comprises transmission via one or more CBRS carriers within a frequency band of 3.550 to 3.700 GHz [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below; a given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404; moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 36,
wherein prioritization of the data traffic based at least on the characterization comprises an allocation of respective weight values to each of a plurality of different user plane (UP) data traffic types [John: 0065; the priority users and their associated access control class may be mapped differently relative to the eight user priorities of the Wi-Fi standard. For example, the priority user (e.g., access control class 10) may be mapped to Wi-Fi user priorities 2, 4, 7, and 10 associated with background, best effort, video, and voice traffic (e.g., entries 430-2, 430-5, 430-8, and 430-11), while priority users (e.g., access control classes 11-15) may be mapped to Wi-Fi user priorities 3, 5, 8, and 11 associated with background, best effort, video, and voice traffic (e.g., entries 430-3, 430-6, 430-9, and 430-12); 0040; the priority information may indicate an access class category of 11 or some other priority value (e.g., 10, 12, 13, 14, 15), as illustrated in FIG. 2A as “Priority=X”; 0034; an ACC elemental file (EF) may include bits corresponding to access classes ranging from 0-15. Access classes 0-9 correspond to standard access class users (e.g., non-priority users), access control class 10 corresponds to emergency call users, and access control classes 11-15 correspond to special access class or high priority access users].
Regarding Claim 37,
John teaches:
Computer readable apparatus comprising a non-transitory storage medium, the non-transitory storage medium comprising at least one computer program having a plurality of instructions, the plurality of instructions configured to, when executed on a processing apparatus, cause a … FWA (fixed wireless access) apparatus to [John: 0014; a Fifth Generation (5G) or future generation fixed wireless access device may have a built-in Wi-Fi modem connected to a data network that may be managed by a network provider; 0028; the Wi-Fi access device may be a stationary device, a mobile device, included in an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (e.g., a drone, etc.), included in a manned aerial vehicle (MAV) (e.g., a helicopter, etc.), a portable device, a home device, an enterprise device, a public device, a private device, an ad hoc device, a hotspot device, or a fixed wireless access point, for example]:
obtain first data related to the plurality of computerized client devices; prioritize data traffic associated with at least one computerized client device of the plurality of computerized client devices based at least on a plurality of data traffic types [John: 0039; FIGS. 2A and 2B are diagrams illustrating an exemplary process of the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service. For example, the process may correspond to a signaling procedure between end device 199 and a Wi-Fi access device 205; 0040; end device 199 may generate and transmit a probe request. According to an exemplary embodiment, the probe request may include priority information (step 2). For example, the priority information may indicate an access class category of 11 or some other priority value (e.g., 10, 12, 13, 14, 15), as illustrated in FIG. 2A as “Priority=X”; 0041; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access; 0055; the Wi-Fi standard defines eight user priorities, four access categories, and a queueing structure for different types of traffic associated with the access categories; 0034; an ACC elemental file (EF) may include bits corresponding to access classes ranging from 0-15. Access classes 0-9 correspond to standard access class users (e.g., non-priority users), access control class 10 corresponds to emergency call users, and access control classes 11-15 correspond to special access class or high priority access users. For example, access control class 11 may be for public land mobile network (PLMN) use, access control class 12 may be for security services, access control class 13 may be for public utilities, access control class 14 may be for national security services, and access control class 15 may be for PLMN staff; the term “priority user” or “priority users” may refer to a user, end device 199, or both];
transmit data indicative of the prioritization to … device … [John: 0052; ground Wi-Fi AP 230 may indicate the HPA (High Priority Access) in an RRC procedure with macrocell 240 and an attachment procedure with core network 150. For example, in an LTE context, an initial message (e.g., S1 Application Protocol (S1AP)) may include an attach request, a packet data network (PDN) request, and priority information; In step (12), ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240 and core network 150 may setup and establish a priority bearer on behalf of end device 199. In step (13), end device 199 may transmit and/or receive data via flying cell/Wi-Fi access device 220, ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240, and core network 150]; and
receive user plane (UP) data for the plurality of computerized client devices … scheduled by a scheduler process … and based at least on the transmitted data [John: 0026; access network 105 may be implemented according to various wireless technologies (e.g., radio access technologies (RATs), etc.), wireless standards, wireless frequencies/bands/carriers (e.g., centimeter (cm) wave, millimeter (mm) wave, below 6 Gigahertz (GHz), above 6 GHz, licensed radio spectrum, unlicensed radio spectrum, etc.), and/or other attributes of radio communication; 0065; For example, the priority user (e.g., access control class 10) may be mapped to Wi-Fi user priorities 2, 4, 7, and 10 associated with background, best effort, video, and voice traffic (e.g., entries 430-2, 430-5, 430-8, and 430-11), while priority users (e.g., access control classes 11-15) may be mapped to Wi-Fi user priorities 3, 5, 8, and 11 associated with background, best effort, video, and voice traffic (e.g., entries 430-3, 430-6, 430-9, and 430-12); 0091;process 900 may include steps performed by Wi-Fi access device 205, subsequent to the establishment of a Wi-Fi connection that pertain to QoS and prioritization of traffic (e.g., queuing, scheduling, etc.)].
However, John does not teach a CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radios Service)-compliant FWA (fixed wireless access) … a CBSD (citizens broadband service device) … receive user plane (UP) data for the plurality of computerized client devices via a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) scheduled by a scheduler process of the CBSD ….
… receive user plane (UP) data for the plurality of computerized client devices via a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) scheduled by a scheduler process of the CBSD … [Das: p. 30 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below; a given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404. Moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB. Prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein; p. 28 / lines 6-9; Point-to-Multipoint (PtMP) downstream transmissions from the transceiver node to the CPEe are achieved in one variant by scheduling payload for different CPEe on different 3GPP 5G NR physical resource blocks (PRBs) which are separated in frequency; p. 54 / lines 6-9; Point-to-Multipoint (PtMP) downstream transmissions from the node 409 to the CPEe 413 can be achieved by, for instance, scheduling payload for different CPEe on different 3GPP 5G NR physical resource blocks (PRB) which are separated in frequency].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John-Kwok and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 38,
wherein the prioritized data traffic comprises data traffic associated with latency-sensitive application operating on the at least one computerized client device [John: 0040; For example, the priority information may indicate an access class category of 11 or some other priority value (e.g., 10, 12, 13, 14, 15), as illustrated in FIG. 2A as “Priority=X”; 0041; in step (4), Wi-Fi access device 205 may determine that end device 199 is of a priority class. For example, Wi-Fi access device 205 may inspect and/or read an information element or other data field of the probe request, and determine that end device 199 has priority access; 0064; the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service may afford priority to traffic according to traffic categories associated with WMM of the Wi-Fi standard, such as background, best effort, video, and voice].
Regarding Claim 39,
John teaches:
wherein the transmitted data indicative of the prioritization comprises one or more Internet Protocol (IP) messages addressed to a particular socket or port on the CBRS-compliant CBSD [John: socket == a connection supporting a session; 0035; the Wi-Fi access point may be limited to accept a finite number of connections that may correspond to the number of Internet Protocol (IP) addresses that are configured. For example, a Class-C IP address range may support about 253 Wi-Fi connections; 0046; Wi-Fi access device 205 may establish a tunnel (e.g., an Internet Protocol Security (IPsec) tunnel) with ePDG (evolved Packet Data Gateway) 210. In step (11), end device synchronization and authentication between end device 199 and a core network of PGW (packet gateway) 215 via ePDG 210 may be performed; 0052; n step (12), ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240 and core network 150 may setup and establish a priority bearer on behalf of end device 199; 0089; Wi-Fi access device 205 may establish a Wi-Fi data connection, which supports an application service session, with end device 199].
However, John does not teach a CBRS-compliant CBSD.
… one or more … messages addressed to a particular socket or port on the CBRS-compliant CBSD [Das: p. 28 / lines 4-11, 18-20; prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein; p. 30 / lines 26-30; ; the system of FIG. 4 may deliver Internet data and OTT (over-the-top) services to the end users (including those of the DU e's 406a) via the Internet protocol (IP) and TCP (i.e., over the 5G radio bearer); p. 55 / line 33 - p. 56 / lines 1-8; two additional RF interfaces on the CPEe of Fig. 8a are included for connecting the CPEe to a 2-port external antenna 416 which is installed outdoors, e.g., on the roof of the small business, multi-dwelling unit (MDU) or multi-story enterprise (see Fig. 9a); this external antenna can be used to receive supplemental signals from outdoor radios installed in the vicinity of the consumer premises; it will be appreciated that the outdoor radios may have a primary purpose of providing coverage for outdoor mobility, but signals from them can also/alternatively be used in a fixed-wireless manner to supplement the capacity from the primary coaxial link and to add redundancy].
Note:
Antenna 416 on CPEe413 is used as a supplemental link for fixed wireless to radio node 406a that supports CBRS bands. Because CPEe supports receiving signals via this supplemental link for fixed wireless from a CBRS radio node 406a; therefore, CPEe is inherently capable of receiving this CBRS transmission. Radio node 406a is upstream from a CPEe apparatus 413.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 40,
John teaches:
wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to, when executed on the processing apparatus, cause the … FWA apparatus to: allocate dedicated bearers established by the CBSD to at least one of: (i) individual ones of the plurality of computerized client devices, or (ii) individual processes of the individual ones of the plurality of computerized client devices, respectively, such that the dedicated bearers are differentiated on at least one of a per-client or per-process basis, rather than a per-FWA basis [John: 0046; Wi-Fi access device 205 may establish a tunnel (e.g., an Internet Protocol Security (IPsec) tunnel) with ePDG (evolved Packet Data Gateway) 210. In step (11), end device synchronization and authentication between end device 199 and a core network of PGW (packet gateway) 215 via ePDG 210 may be performed; 0050; the flying Wi-Fi AP 220-2 and/or ground Wi-Fi AP 230 may include the Wi-Fi admission control and prioritization service, as described herein; 0052; ground Wi-Fi AP 230 may indicate the HPA (High Priority Access) in an RRC procedure with macrocell 240 and an attachment procedure with core network 150. For example, in an LTE context, an initial message (e.g., S1 Application Protocol (S1AP)) may include an attach request, a packet data network (PDN) request, and priority information; In step (12), ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240 and core network 150 may setup and establish a priority bearer on behalf of end device 199. In step (13), end device 199 may transmit and/or receive data via flying cell/Wi-Fi access device 220, ground Wi-Fi AP 230, macrocell 240, and core network 150].
However, John does not teach a CBRS-compliant FWA apparatus …. established by the CBSD ….
Das teaches:
… cause the … FWA apparatus to: allocate … established by the CBSD [Das: p. 30 / lines 4-11, 18-20; radio nodes 406a are located on an "edge" of a network (i.e., functioning as a network node proximate to the premises and away from the core), and are enabled for 4G and/or 5G communications as described in greater detail below; a given DU that provides 5G coverage to the premises thereby supplements the ultra-low latency and high-bandwidth services by the CUe 404. Moreover, as described further below, the CUe may be logically and functionally grouped with one or more DUes 406 to together make up a gNB. Prescribed unlicensed and/or licensed frequency bands are utilized by the nodes 406a; it will also be appreciated that so-called "quasi-licensed" spectrum (such as for instance that within the 3.55-3.70 GHz CBRS bands in the U.S.) may be utilized consistent with the methods and apparatus described herein; p. 28 / lines 6-9; Point-to-Multipoint (PtMP) downstream transmissions from the transceiver node to the CPEe are achieved in one variant by scheduling payload for different CPEe on different 3GPP 5G NR physical resource blocks (PRBs) which are separated in frequency; p. 54 / lines 6-9; Point-to-Multipoint (PtMP) downstream transmissions from the node 409 to the CPEe 413 can be achieved by, for instance, scheduling payload for different CPEe on different 3GPP 5G NR physical resource blocks (PRB) which are separated in frequency].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of John and Das in order to provide for ultra-low latency requirements of 5G applications [Das: p. 14 / lines 4-7].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Kwok (US 2021/0409962).
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468