DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicants’ Application filed on March 3, 2025. Claims 1-15 have been canceled. Applicants newly add claims 16-35. Newly added claims 16-35 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 7, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the status of the related application in paragraph 0001 needs to be updated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 18, 26 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities: the word “and” should be placed before the last limitation of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-22, 24-30 and 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Simon et al (hereinafter, “Simon”, U.S. Pat. No. 8,185,644).
As per claims 16, 24 and 32, Simon discloses a method, system and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising:
receiving, by an application (i.e. SMS), data related to a location, the data comprising information related to a detected event by at least one sensor at the location (col. 3, lines 1-4, lines 8-27 and col. 4, lines 57-67 discloses receiving by SMS information regarding the location of the event based upon the location of the sensor that detected the event);
analyzing, by the application, the data, and determining an enrollment status for the location, the enrollment status corresponding to a manner in which the detected event is capable of being handled by the application (col. 3, lines 28-40 and col. 4, lines 57-67 discloses a host website that enables a user to register a remote device to received information regarding the sensor that detected the event); and
outputting, by the application, a communication responsive to the received data. the communication comprising information and being a type of communication that is based on the determined enrollment status (col. 3, lines 1-4, lines 8-27 and col. 4, lines 57-67 discloses receiving by SMS information regarding the location of the event based upon the location of the sensor that detected the event).
As per claims 17, 25 and 33, Simon further discloses:
determining, based on the analysis, that the location is a registered location within a device registration, the enrollment status comprising information related to such registration (col. 3, lines 28-40 and col. 4, lines 57-67 discloses a host website that enables a user to register a remote device to received information regarding the sensor that detected the event); and
communicating, over a network, a message to a central monitoring station, the message indicating the detected event (col. 3, lines 1-4, lines 8-27 discloses sending a message to a central monitoring station regarding the detected event).
As per claims 18, 26 and 34, Simon further discloses:
determining, based on the analysis, a condition of the detected event (col. 4, lines 11-19); and
determining, based on the condition, a type of detected event (col. 4, lines 11-19).
As per claims 19, 27 and 35, Simon further discloses:
the type of detected event corresponding to a security event at the location, wherein the communication comprises an indication of the security event, and the communication is provided over a network to a central monitoring station (col. 3, lines 1-4, lines 8-27 and col. 4, lines 57-67 discloses receiving by SMS information regarding the location of the event based upon the location of the sensor that detected the event).
As per claims 20 and 28, Simon further discloses:
the communication comprising information sent to a device at the location when the type of detected event is not a security event (col. 3, lines 1-4 and lines 8-27).
As per claims 21 and 29, Simon further discloses:
the condition corresponding to an indication of a status of a security system at the location (col. 4, lines 4-19).
As per claims 22 and 30, Simon further discloses:
the data further comprising information related to an identifier of the location, the identifier corresponding to at least the at least one sensor (col. 3, lines 58-67 and col. 4, lines 57-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon in view of Brazao et al (hereinafter, “Brazao”, U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0337611).
As per claims 23 and 31, Simon discloses the invention substantially as claims discussed above. However, Simon does not explicitly disclose:
the application corresponding to an application program interface (API) executing on a network server.
Brazao discloses systems and methods for monitoring records in an Internet of Things (IoT) device registry for changes in device property data comprising:
the application corresponding to an application program interface (API) executing on a network server (paragraphs 0185 and 0198).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Simon by using an Application Programming Interface (API) that allows a user to register one or more devices and view events in a timely and efficient manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cohn et al (U.S. Pat. No. 11,341,840) discloses processing security event data associated with a premises management system.
Hicks, III (U.S. Pat. No. 11,315,407) discloses notifying alarms associated with security systems.
Krishnamoorthy et al (U.S. Pat. No. 11,004,316) discloses responding to an abnormal event in a region monitored by a security system.
Haupt et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0099357) discloses a remote location monitoring system including sensors and receivers may communicate with a remote central server via a gateway device and the detection data received from the sensors and receivers.
/LASHONDA JACOBS-BURTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
ljb
July 22, 2026