DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
02. This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 05/19/2026. Claims 2 – 20 are pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL, as necessitated by amendment.
Remarks
03. Examiner notes that the response filed on 05/19/2026 does not recite a claim 21. The claims previously recited a claim 21, but that no longer exists in the previous response. Examiner request clarification in the next response with regards to claim 21 as to if it was cancelled or inadvertently omitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
06. Claims 2 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Genochio et al. (US PGPub 2013/0086107), hereinafter “Genochio”, in view of Bhatt et al. (US PGPub 2006/0168575), hereinafter “Bhatt”.
Consider claim 2, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
receiving an indication, via a graphical user interface, to create a chart based on a first search-related statement of a data processing package (paragraphs [0039], [0040], [0051], a query is received, such as by a user that interacts with a GUI, that is executed and then obtains and generates one or more charts on a GUI for a user);
causing the graphical user interface to display at least one display object for selecting at least one parameter of a plurality of parameters for the chart, wherein the plurality of parameters are identified based on a selection of a particular [command] token (paragraph [0041] – [0043], the chart is displayed on the GUI, which includes the selecting and changing of parameters for the chart by a user, such as selecting different fields and query refinement);
receiving at least one parameter for the chart (paragraphs [0052], [0054], different parameters can be selected by the user, which can be used to obtain and change the chart and/or chart data);
receiving an indication to execute the data processing package (paragraph [0054], a user can select one or more buttons to initiate the chart generation and display);
responsive to receiving the indication to execute the data processing package, generating a second search-related statement based on the at least one parameter and the first search-related statement (paragraphs [0058], [0065], additional query commands can be created based on user input and other query options. A user is able to interact with the interface in order to change the query and/or select different parameters);
appending the second search related statement to the data processing package to form an enriched data processing package (paragraph [0065], based on the interactions that the user performs, additional search criteria can be appended in order to form an updated search criteria for the query);
communicating the enriched data processing package to a search service (paragraphs [0064], [0065], the updated search criteria is sent to the database for execution);
receiving results from the search service (paragraphs [0064], [0065], query results are obtained based on the execution of the query);
displaying the chart based on the results (paragraphs [0064], [0065], the chart is updated on the display).
Although Genochio discloses a user selecting different parameters for the chart, which can include commands, Genochio does not specifically disclose that the parameters are identified based on a selected command token.
In the same field of endeavor, Bhatt discloses a method comprising:
the plurality of parameters are identified based on a selection of a particular command token (paragraphs [0085] – [0087], Fig. 9, a selection of a command is made, which then allows for parameters to be determined).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the identification of parameters based on a selection of a command token taught by Bhatt into the searching and displaying of a chart taught by Genochio for the purpose of allowing additional customizations to made by a user so that the user can obtain better suited charts based on the personal needs of the user.
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 2 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
generating at least one query command using the particular command token and a field identifier, and appending the at least one query command to the first search-related statement (paragraphs [0051], [0052], [0065], users make selections in the GUI that include a where clause, which is added to the query).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 2 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising: in response to communicating the enriched data processing package to the search service, discarding the enriched data processing package (Fig. 6, the updated search criteria is not saved).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 2 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
receiving an indication that a user interacted with the at least one display object associated with executing a search (paragraphs [0054], a user selects an option to execute the query).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 2 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising: the first search-related statement comprises one or more executable query commands of a query language identifying a respective set of data and a manner of processing the respective set of data (paragraph [0065], users make selections on the GUI in order to include different components for a query, such as a where clause, which is type of command token).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 2 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
identifying a first command token in the first search-related statement of the data processing package (paragraph [0065], users make selections on the GUI in order to include a where clause, which is type of command token).
identifying a plurality of command tokens based on the first command token (paragraph [0049], [0065], a plurality of command tokens, such as where, from, and select statements, can be identified);
causing the graphical user interface to display the at least one display object for selecting at least one command token of the plurality of command tokens (paragraphs [0049], [0052], [0054], [0055], the GUI allows for the user to visualize the different parameters that can be selected).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 7 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising: receiving an indication of a selection of the particular command token of the plurality of command tokens, and identifying at least one parameters based on the particular command token (paragraph [0065], users make selections on the GUI in order to include a where clause, which is type of command token).
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 8 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
receiving, via the graphical user interface, a data field identifier associated with a data field to use to group data and generate results (paragraphs [0051], [0052], [0063], the users select various components of the query and interface, such as a field to group data by within the chart).
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 8 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
receiving, via the graphical user interface, a time range to use to identify data and generate the results (paragraphs [0055] – [0057], [0063], a user selection can be for a field to group data by in the chart).
Claims 11 – 20 are rejected under the same rational provided above with respect to claims 2 – 10. Each of claims 11 – 20 recite the same limitations as in preceding claims, except that either a method, system, or media is claimed.
Conclusion
07. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ajay Bhatia can be reached on (571) 272-3906. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/CHRISTOPHER J RAAB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156
August 13, 2026