DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
02. The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 03/03/2025 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 07/14/2025. Claims 2 – 21 are now pending in the present application.
Priority
03. Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Drawings
04. The drawings were received on 03/03/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Double Patenting
06. Claims 2 – 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 16 of prior US Patent 12,242,495. Although the conflicted claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are simplified and/or broadened versions of the claims in the prior patent.
With respect to chart below, the limitations from the prior patent that are indicated in italics are limitations that have simply been removed in the instant application. The limitations in bold show the differences between the claimed inventions.
Application 19/068,675
Patent 12,242,495
2. A method, comprising:
receiving an indication, via a graphical user interface, to create a chart based on a first search-related statement of a data processing package;
causing the graphical user interface to display, at least one display object for selecting at least one parameter for the chart;
receiving at least one parameter for the chart;
receiving an indication to execute the data processing package;
responsive to receiving the indication to execute the data processing package, generating a second search-related statement based on the at least one parameter and the first search-related statement;
appending the second search-related statement to the data processing package to form an enriched data processing package;
communicating the enriched data processing package to a search service;
receiving results from the search service; and
displaying the chart based on the results.
1. A method, comprising:
displaying, via a graphical user interface, a plurality of search-related statements of a data processing package, wherein a first search-related statement of the plurality of search-related statements comprises one or more executable query commands of a query language identifying a respective set of data and a manner of processing the respective set of data;
receiving an indication, via the graphical user interface, to create a chart based on the first search-related statement of the data processing package;
identifying a first command token in the first search-related statement of the data processing package;
identifying a plurality of command tokens based on the first command token;
causing the graphical user interface to display a first display object for selecting at least one command token of the plurality of command tokens;
receiving an indication of a selection of a particular command token of the plurality of command tokens;
identifying a plurality of parameters based on the particular command token;
causing the graphical user interface to display a second display object for selecting at least one parameter of the plurality of parameters for the chart;
receiving an indication of a selection of a particular parameter of the plurality of parameters for the chart;
receiving an indication to execute the data processing package;
based on the indication to execute the data processing package, generating a second search-related statement using the particular command token and the particular parameter;
appending the second search-related statement to the data processing package to form an enriched data processing package;
communicating the enriched data processing package to a search service;
receiving results from the search service; and
displaying the chart based on the results.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein generating the second search-related statement based on the at least one parameter and the first search-related statement comprises:
generating at least one query command using a particular command token and a field identifier, and appending the at least one query command to the first search-related statement.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein generating a second search-related statement based on the at least one parameter and the first search-related statement comprises
generating at least one query command using the particular command token and a field identifier, and appending the at least one query command to the first search-related statement.
4. The method of claim 2, further comprising, in response to communicating the enriched data processing package to the search service, discarding the enriched data processing package.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to communicating the enriched data processing package to the search service, discarding the enriched data processing package.
5. The method of claim 2, wherein receiving an indication to execute the data processing package comprises receiving an indication that a user interacted with the at least one display object associated with executing a search.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving an indication to execute the data processing package comprises receiving an indication that a user interacted with a display object associated with executing a search.
6. The method of claim 2, wherein the first search-related statement comprises one or more executable query commands of a query language identifying a respective set of data and a manner of processing the respective set of data.
1. (a portion of claim 1 shown below):
one or more executable query commands of a query language identifying a respective set of data and a manner of processing the respective set of data.
7. The method of claim 2, further comprising:
identifying a first command token in the first search-related statement of the data processing package;
identifying a plurality of command tokens based on the first command token;
causing the graphical user interface to display the at least one display object for selecting at least one command token of the plurality of command tokens.
1. (portions of claim 1 shown below):
identifying a first command token in the first search-related statement of the data processing package;
identifying a plurality of command tokens based on the first command token;
causing the graphical user interface to display a first display object for selecting at least one command token of the plurality of command tokens.
8. The method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving an indication of a selection of a particular command token of the plurality of command tokens; and
identifying the at least one parameter based on the particular command token.
1. (portions of claim 1 shown below):
receiving an indication of a selection of a particular command token of the plurality of command tokens;
identifying a plurality of parameters based on the particular command token.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein receiving the indication of the selection of the particular command token of the plurality of command tokens comprises receiving, via the graphical user interface, a data field identifier associated with a data field to use to group data and generate the results.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the selection of the particular command token of the plurality of command tokens comprises receiving, via the graphical user interface, a data field identifier associated with a data field to use to group the data and generate the results.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein receiving the indication of the selection of the particular command token of the plurality of command tokens comprises receiving, via the graphical user interface, a time range to use to identify data and generate the results.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the selection of the particular command token of the plurality of command tokens comprises receiving, via the graphical user interface, a time range to use to identify the data and generate the results.
With respect to the independent claims (as show in claim 2 above), the only differences, outside of the removed limitations from the prior patent, are that the claim recites “command token” instead of “parameters”. However, a command token is understood to be just a particular type of parameter, as these terms are used somewhat interchangeable. For example, Applicant’s specification, paragraph [0205], defines parameters as being functions and other types command tokens.
The rest of the dependent claims recite either identical or very similar type limitations as those found in the prior patent. Different wording is used at times, as shown in the table above, but the same general claimed concepts are otherwise found. Claims 6 – 8 map to portions of claim 1 of the prior patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
09. Claims 2 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Genochio et al. (US PGPub 2013/0086107), hereinafter “Genochio”.
Consider claim 2, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
receiving an indication, via a graphical user interface, to create a chart based on a first search-related statement of a data processing package (paragraphs [0039], [0040], [0051], a query is received, such as by a user that interacts with a GUI, that is executed and then obtains and generates one or more charts on a GUI for a user);
causing the graphical user interface to display at least one display object for selecting at least one parameter for the chart (paragraph [0041] – [0043], the chart is displayed on the GUI, which includes the selecting and changing of parameters for the chart by a user, such as selecting different fields and query refinement);
receiving at least one parameter for the chart (paragraphs [0052], [0054], different parameters can be selected by the user, which can be used to obtain and change the chart and/or chart data);
receiving an indication to execute the data processing package (paragraph [0054], a user can select one or more buttons to initiate the chart generation and display);
responsive to receiving the indication to execute the data processing package, generating a second search-related statement based on the at least one parameter and the first search-related statement (paragraphs [0058], [0065], additional query commands can be created based on user input and other query options. A user is able to interact with the interface in order to change the query and/or select different parameters);
appending the second search related statement to the data processing package to form an enriched data processing package (paragraph [0065], based on the interactions that the user performs, additional search criteria can be appended in order to form an updated search criteria for the query);
communicating the enriched data processing package to a search service (paragraphs [0064], [0065], the updated search criteria is sent to the database for execution);
receiving results from the search service (paragraphs [0064], [0065], query results are obtained based on the execution of the query);
displaying the chart based on the results (paragraphs [0064], [0065], the chart is updated on the display).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 2 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
generating at least one query command using a particular command token and a field identifier, and appending the at least one query command to the first search-related statement (paragraphs [0051], [0052], [0065], users make selections in the GUI that include a where clause, which is added to the query).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 2 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising: in response to communicating the enriched data processing package to the search service, discarding the enriched data processing package (Fig. 6, the updated search criteria is not saved).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 2 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
receiving an indication that a user interacted with the at least one display object associated with executing a search (paragraphs [0054], a user selects an option to execute the query).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 2 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising: the first search-related statement comprises one or more executable query commands of a query language identifying a respective set of data and a manner of processing the respective set of data (paragraph [0065], users make selections on the GUI in order to include different components for a query, such as a where clause, which is type of command token).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 2 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
identifying a first command token in the first search-related statement of the data processing package (paragraph [0065], users make selections on the GUI in order to include a where clause, which is type of command token).
identifying a plurality of command tokens based on the first command token (paragraph [0049], [0065], a plurality of command tokens, such as where, from, and select statements, can be identified);
causing the graphical user interface to display the at least one display object for selecting at least one command token of the plurality of command tokens (paragraphs [0049], [0052], [0054], [0055], the GUI allows for the user to visualize the different parameters that can be selected).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 7 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising: receiving at least one parameter for the chart comprises receiving, via the graphical user interface, a command token corresponding to a command to use to process the data and generate the results (paragraph [0065], users make selections on the GUI in order to include a where clause, which is type of command token).
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 8 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
receiving, via the graphical user interface, a data field identifier associated with a data field to use to group data and generate results (paragraphs [0051], [0052], [0063], the users select various components of the query and interface, such as a field to group data by within the chart).
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 8 above, Genochio discloses a method comprising:
receiving, via the graphical user interface, a time range to use to identify data and generate the results (paragraphs [0055] – [0057], [0063], a user selection can be for a field to group data by in the chart).
Claims 11 – 21 are rejected under the same rational provided above with respect to claims 2 – 10. Each of claims 11 – 21 recite the same limitations as in preceding claims, except that either a method, system, or media is claimed.
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) Oattes et al. (US PGPub 2023/0185818) disclose a method of defining a query that allows for options for generating a visualization from the query results, including chart generation and displaying. Different filter options are selected by a user that allow for new and different visualization to be generated based on selections made. As a result of user interaction, query statements can be updated that then lead to the different visualizations of the charts.
Conclusion
11. Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ajay Bhatia can be reached on (571) 272-3906. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/CHRISTOPHER J RAAB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156
November 13, 2025