DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Application filed on 03/03/2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 8 – 9, 12 – 13, 15 – 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2022/0014009; (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses configured to control a power converter, wherein the control circuit is configured to: receive a voltage signal indicative of an output voltage at an output of the power converter [e.g. Vout received by Short Detection Circuit]; receive a current signal indicative of an output current at the output of the power converter [e.g. Iout received by Short Detection Circuit]; and determine a fault condition associated with the voltage signal based on the current signal and the voltage signal [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “the short protection circuit 22 may further comprise a short detection circuit coupled to the switching circuit 21 to receive the output voltage VOUT and the output current IOUT, and is configured to generate the short indication signal EN_SCP based on the output voltage VOUT and/or the output current IOUT. In an embodiment, when the output voltage VOUT is lower than a fault voltage reference VTH and/or the output current IOUT is higher than a fault current reference ITH, the short indication signal EN_SCP indicates that the short fault occurs, and the switching circuit 21 is controlled to work in the hiccup protection mode by the short protection circuit 22”].
Regarding claim 2, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to determine the fault condition if a value of the current signal exceeds a current fault threshold and if a value of the voltage signal is below a voltage fault threshold [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “the short protection circuit 22 may further comprise a short detection circuit coupled to the switching circuit 21 to receive the output voltage VOUT and the output current IOUT, and is configured to generate the short indication signal EN_SCP based on the output voltage VOUT and/or the output current IOUT. In an embodiment, when the output voltage VOUT is lower than a fault voltage reference VTH and/or the output current IOUT is higher than a fault current reference ITH, the short indication signal EN_SCP indicates that the short fault occurs, and the switching circuit 21 is controlled to work in the hiccup protection mode by the short protection circuit 22”].
Regarding claim 3, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses wherein the control circuit comprises a current comparator configured to compare the value of the current signal with the current fault threshold and a voltage comparator configured to compare the value of the voltage signal with the voltage fault threshold [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “the short protection circuit 22 may further comprise a short detection circuit coupled to the switching circuit 21 to receive the output voltage VOUT and the output current IOUT, and is configured to generate the short indication signal EN_SCP based on the output voltage VOUT and/or the output current IOUT. In an embodiment, when the output voltage VOUT is lower than a fault voltage reference VTH and/or the output current IOUT is higher than a fault current reference ITH, the short indication signal EN_SCP indicates that the short fault occurs, and the switching circuit 21 is controlled to work in the hiccup protection mode by the short protection circuit 22”].
Regarding claim 8, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to receive the voltage signal via an external output voltage sense line [e.g. Fig. 2; VOUT external to 21 and/or external to 22]; and wherein the fault condition associated with the voltage signal is associated with an open circuit condition or a short circuit condition associated with the external output voltage sense line [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “the short protection circuit 22 may further comprise a short detection circuit coupled to the switching circuit 21 to receive the output voltage VOUT and the output current IOUT, and is configured to generate the short indication signal EN_SCP based on the output voltage VOUT and/or the output current IOUT. In an embodiment, when the output voltage VOUT is lower than a fault voltage reference VTH and/or the output current IOUT is higher than a fault current reference ITH, the short indication signal EN_SCP indicates that the short fault occurs, and the switching circuit 21 is controlled to work in the hiccup protection mode by the short protection circuit 22”].
Regarding claim 9, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to, in response to determining the fault condition, shut down the power converter [e.g. hiccup mode corresponding to a sleep mode (shut down the normal operation mode); paragraph 027].
Regarding claim 12, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses method of controlling a power converter [e.g. 21], the method comprising receiving, by a control circuit [e.g. 22], a voltage signal indicative of an output voltage at an output of the power converter [e.g. Vout received by Short Detection Circuit]; receiving, by the control circuit, a current signal indicative of an output current at the output of the power converter [e.g. Iout received by Short Detection Circuit]; and determining, by the control circuit, a fault condition associated with the voltage signal based on the current signal and the voltage signal [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “the short protection circuit 22 may further comprise a short detection circuit coupled to the switching circuit 21 to receive the output voltage VOUT and the output current IOUT, and is configured to generate the short indication signal EN_SCP based on the output voltage VOUT and/or the output current IOUT. In an embodiment, when the output voltage VOUT is lower than a fault voltage reference VTH and/or the output current IOUT is higher than a fault current reference ITH, the short indication signal EN_SCP indicates that the short fault occurs, and the switching circuit 21 is controlled to work in the hiccup protection mode by the short protection circuit 22”].
Regarding claim 13, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses wherein the determining comprises determining the fault condition if a value of the current signal exceeds a current fault threshold and if a value of the voltage signal is below a voltage fault threshold [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “the short protection circuit 22 may further comprise a short detection circuit coupled to the switching circuit 21 to receive the output voltage VOUT and the output current IOUT, and is configured to generate the short indication signal EN_SCP based on the output voltage VOUT and/or the output current IOUT. In an embodiment, when the output voltage VOUT is lower than a fault voltage reference VTH and/or the output current IOUT is higher than a fault current reference ITH, the short indication signal EN_SCP indicates that the short fault occurs, and the switching circuit 21 is controlled to work in the hiccup protection mode by the short protection circuit 22”].
Regarding claim 15, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 5; paragraph 027 recites “FIG. 5 illustrates a waveform diagram of the output voltage VOUT and the switching control signal SW of the power converter 200 in FIG. 2”] discloses comprising: determining a maximum value of the voltage signal within a time interval [e.g. Fig. 5; Vset]; and using the maximum value of the voltage signal for determining the fault condition [e.g. at Vset it is determined that there’s no fault condition].
Regarding claim 16, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses comprising: in response to determining the fault condition, shutting down the power converter [e.g. hiccup mode corresponding to a sleep mode (shut down the normal operation mode); paragraph 027].
Regarding claim 17, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses computer program comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving a voltage signal indicative of an output voltage at an output of a power converter [e.g. Vout received by Short Detection Circuit]; receiving a current signal indicative of an output current at the output of the power converter [e.g. Iout received by Short Detection Circuit]; and determining a fault condition associated with the voltage signal based on the current signal and the voltage signal [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “the short protection circuit 22 may further comprise a short detection circuit coupled to the switching circuit 21 to receive the output voltage VOUT and the output current IOUT, and is configured to generate the short indication signal EN_SCP based on the output voltage VOUT and/or the output current IOUT. In an embodiment, when the output voltage VOUT is lower than a fault voltage reference VTH and/or the output current IOUT is higher than a fault current reference ITH, the short indication signal EN_SCP indicates that the short fault occurs, and the switching circuit 21 is controlled to work in the hiccup protection mode by the short protection circuit 22”].
Regarding claim 18, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses wherein the determining comprises determining the fault condition if a value of the current signal exceeds a current fault threshold and if a value of the voltage signal is below a voltage fault threshold [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “the short protection circuit 22 may further comprise a short detection circuit coupled to the switching circuit 21 to receive the output voltage VOUT and the output current IOUT, and is configured to generate the short indication signal EN_SCP based on the output voltage VOUT and/or the output current IOUT. In an embodiment, when the output voltage VOUT is lower than a fault voltage reference VTH and/or the output current IOUT is higher than a fault current reference ITH, the short indication signal EN_SCP indicates that the short fault occurs, and the switching circuit 21 is controlled to work in the hiccup protection mode by the short protection circuit 22”].
Regarding claim 20, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 5; paragraph 027 recites “FIG. 5 illustrates a waveform diagram of the output voltage VOUT and the switching control signal SW of the power converter 200 in FIG. 2”] discloses comprising: determining a maximum value of the voltage signal within a time interval [e.g. Fig. 5; Vset]; and using the maximum value of the voltage signal for determining the fault condition [e.g. at Vset it is determined that there’s no fault condition].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 – 7, 10 – 11, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Zhou in view of US Patent No. 10,663,998; (hereinafter Salus).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou fails to disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to: determine a maximum value of the current signal within a time interval; and use the maximum value of the current signal for determining the fault condition.
Salus [e.g. Figs. 1 and 3; col. 5, lines 21 – 23 recite “Control circuitry 300 may correspond to one or more components of circuit 100, such as control circuit 108”] teaches wherein the control circuit [e.g. 300] is configured to: determine a maximum value of the current signal within a time interval [e.g. peak current; col. 6, lines 10 – 13 recite “The over current detection circuitry 328 may detect when a peak (instantaneous) current draw of the voltage regulator exceeds a peak current threshold”]; and use the maximum value of the current signal for determining the fault condition [e.g. over current].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhou by wherein the control circuit is configured to: determine a maximum value of the current signal within a time interval; and use the maximum value of the current signal for determining the fault condition as taught by Salus in order of being able to provide fast protection transition.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 5; paragraph 027 recites “FIG. 5 illustrates a waveform diagram of the output voltage VOUT and the switching control signal SW of the power converter 200 in FIG. 2”] discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to: determine a maximum value of the voltage signal within the time interval [e.g. Fig. 5; Vset]; and use the maximum value of the voltage signal for determining the fault condition [e.g. at Vset it is determined that there’s no fault condition].
Regarding claim 6, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to determine the fault condition if the maximum value of the current signal exceeds the current fault threshold and if the maximum value of the voltage signal is below the voltage fault threshold [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “the short protection circuit 22 may further comprise a short detection circuit coupled to the switching circuit 21 to receive the output voltage VOUT and the output current IOUT, and is configured to generate the short indication signal EN_SCP based on the output voltage VOUT and/or the output current IOUT. In an embodiment, when the output voltage VOUT is lower than a fault voltage reference VTH and/or the output current IOUT is higher than a fault current reference ITH, the short indication signal EN_SCP indicates that the short fault occurs, and the switching circuit 21 is controlled to work in the hiccup protection mode by the short protection circuit 22”].
Regarding claim 7, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to start the time interval when a first pulse is transmitted from the control circuit to a power stage of the power converter [e.g. Fig. 5; first pulse of SW before ta].
Zhou fails to disclose wherein the first pulse is a pulse width modulation (PWM) pulse.
Salus [e.g. Fig. 2] teaches wherein the pulse is a pulse width modulation (PWM) pulse [e.g. col. 4, lines 4 – 5 recite “A PWM circuit 212 may provide respective PWM signals to the cascode driver 206 of the active phases 204”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhou by wherein the first pulse is a pulse width modulation (PWM) pulse as taught by Salus in order of being able to provide reliability.
Regarding claim 10, Zhou [e.g. Fig. 2] discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to: transmit a pulse signal [e.g. Fig. 5; SW] to the power converter for driving one or more switches of the power converter [e.g. S1 of 21]; and in response to determining the fault condition, stop increasing a duty cycle of the signal [e.g. Fig. 5 during hiccup protection mode].
Zhou fails to disclose wherein the pulse is a pulse width modulation (PWM) signal.
Salus [e.g. Fig. 2] teaches wherein the pulse is a pulse width modulation (PWM) signal [e.g. col. 4, lines 4 – 5 recite “A PWM circuit 212 may provide respective PWM signals to the cascode driver 206 of the active phases 204”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhou by wherein the pulse is a pulse width modulation (PWM) signal as taught by Salus in order of being able to provide reliability.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou fails to disclose wherein the power converter is a multi-phase power converter, wherein the control circuit is configured to: receive phase current signals indicative of one or more currents of one or more phases of the multi-phase power converter; and determine the current signal based on the phase current signals.
Salus [e.g. Figs. 1 – 3] teaches wherein the power converter is a multi-phase power converter [e.g. voltage regulator 102 is a multiphase converter comprising phases 104 Fig. 1 (204 Fig. 2)], wherein the control circuit [e.g. Fig. 3] is configured to: receive phase current signals indicative of one or more currents of one or more phases of the multi-phase power converter; and determine the current signal based on the phase current signals [e.g. col. 6, lines 18 – 24 recite “the over current detection circuitry 328 may monitor the current draw per phase of the voltage regulator. For example, the overall current draw of the voltage regulator may be monitored, and the threshold to which the current draw is compared may be based on the power state (e.g., the number of active phases) of the voltage regulator”. Examiner note:The overall current corresponds to the current signal which is determined by monitoring each phase current].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhou by wherein the power converter is a multi-phase power converter, wherein the control circuit is configured to: receive phase current signals indicative of one or more currents of one or more phases of the multi-phase power converter; and determine the current signal based on the phase current signals as taught by Salus in order of being able to provide fast protection transition.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou fails to disclose comprising: determining a maximum value of the current signal within a time interval; and using the maximum value of the current signal for determining the fault condition.
Salus [e.g. Figs. 1 and 3; col. 5, lines 21 – 23 recite “Control circuitry 300 may correspond to one or more components of circuit 100, such as control circuit 108”] teaches comprising: determining a maximum value of the current signal within a time interval [e.g. peak current; col. 6, lines 10 – 13 recite “The over current detection circuitry 328 may detect when a peak (instantaneous) current draw of the voltage regulator exceeds a peak current threshold”]; and using the maximum value of the current signal for determining the fault condition [e.g. over current].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhou by determining a maximum value of the current signal within a time interval; and using the maximum value of the current signal for determining the fault condition as taught by Salus in order of being able to provide fast protection transition.
Regarding claim 19, Zhou fails to disclose comprising: determining a maximum value of the current signal within a time interval; and using the maximum value of the current signal for determining the fault condition.
Salus [e.g. Figs. 1 and 3; col. 5, lines 21 – 23 recite “Control circuitry 300 may correspond to one or more components of circuit 100, such as control circuit 108”] teaches comprising: determining a maximum value of the current signal within a time interval [e.g. peak current; col. 6, lines 10 – 13 recite “The over current detection circuitry 328 may detect when a peak (instantaneous) current draw of the voltage regulator exceeds a peak current threshold”]; and using the maximum value of the current signal for determining the fault condition [e.g. over current].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhou by determining a maximum value of the current signal within a time interval; and using the maximum value of the current signal for determining the fault condition as taught by Salus in order of being able to provide fast protection transition.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838