DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the solar modules in the first row are arranged in portrait orientation along the pair of mounting rails, and wherein the solar modules in the second row are in landscape orientation” as recited in claims 14 and 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “the first solar module in the first row and the first solar module in the first row connected by the splice.” It is unclear as to how the first solar module in the first row can be connected to itself. For purposes of examination, claim 15 is interpreted as reciting that the first solar module in the first row and the first solar module in the second row connected by the splice.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 15-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2015/0288320 to Stearns et al. ("Stearns").
Regarding claim 1, Stearns discloses a mounting system for solar modules (Fig. 60), the mounting system comprising: a pair of mounting rails 601, 602 configured to support a first solar module 603 when a first mounting rail 601 of the pair is positioned under (see Fig. 59 showing part of the rail under adjacent solar panels) a first half (upper half) of the first solar module and a second mounting rail 602 of the pair is positioned under a second half (lower half) of the first solar module 603, wherein the first solar module 603 has a top edge 603a and a bottom edge 603b opposite the top edge; a third mounting rail 604 configured to support a second solar module 605 when the third mounting rail 604 is positioned under the second solar module 605, wherein the second solar module 605 has a top edge 605a and a bottom edge 605b opposite the top edge; and a splice 606 configured to connect the top edge of the first solar module to the bottom edge of the second solar module, wherein the splice 606 is positioned between the second mounting rail 602 and the third mounting rail 604.
Regarding claim 2, Stearns discloses that the third mounting rail 604 is configured to extend under a second half (upper half) of the second solar module 605 between the top edge 605a and the bottom edge 605b of the second solar module.
Regarding claim 3, Stearns discloses one or more mounts 1643 configured to attach the pair of mounting rails and the third mounting rail to a roof surface.
Regarding claim 4, Stearns discloses one or more clamps 1644, 1646 configured to attach the first solar module to the first mounting rail.
Regarding claim 5, Stearns discloses that the top edge 603a of the first solar module 603 and the top edge 605a of the second solar module 605 are parallel to the pair of mounting rails 601, 602.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Stearns discloses a mounting system (Fig. 60) for solar modules, the mounting system comprising: a pair of mounting rails 601, 607 configured to support a plurality of solar modules 603, 605 in a first row R1, wherein a first mounting rail 601 of the pair is positioned under a first half of each of the solar modules 603, 605 in the first row, and wherein a second mounting rail 607of the pair is positioned under a second half of each of the solar modules 603, 605 in the first row; a third mounting rail 609 configured to support a second row R2 of solar modules 610, 611, wherein the third mounting rail 609 is positioned under a second half of each of the solar modules 610, 611 in the second row; and a splice 606 configured to connect a top edge of a first solar module 603 in the first row to a bottom edge of a first solar module 610 in the second row. Moreover, the method steps of claim 16 are necessarily performed in assembling the structure of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Stearns discloses that the first mounting rail 601 is parallel to the second mounting rail 607, and wherein the second mounting rail 607 is further parallel to the third mounting rail 609.
Regarding claim 8, Stearns discloses that the first mounting rail 601, the second mounting rail 607, and the third mounting 609 rail are parallel to a bottom edge 603c of the first row of solar modules.
Regarding claim 9, Stearns discloses that the splice 606 is further configured to connect two solar modules 603, 605 in the first row R1 to two solar modules 610, 611 in the second row R2.
Regarding claim 10, Stearns discloses that the splice 606is further configured to connect one solar module 603 in the first row to two solar modules 610, 611 in the second row.
Regarding claim 11, Stearns discloses at least one of: one or more clamps 1644, 1646 configured to attach a solar module in the first row to one or more of the first mounting rail and the second mounting rail; or one or more mounts 1643 configured to attach one or more of the first mounting rail, the second mounting rail, and the third mounting rail to a roof surface.
Regarding claims 12 and 17, Stearns discloses that the solar modules in the first row are arranged in portrait orientation along the pair of mounting rails, and wherein the solar modules in the second row are arranged in portrait orientation along the third mounting rail.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Stearns discloses that the first solar module 603 in the first row and the first solar module 610 in the second row connected by the splice 606 are respectively at an end of the first row and the second row, and further comprising a second splice 612 configured to connect a top edge of a third solar module 613 in the first row to a bottom edge of a fourth solar module 614 in the second row, wherein the third solar module and the fourth solar module are respectively in a middle of the first row and the second row.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 14, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stearns.
Regarding claims 13, 14, 18, and 19, Stearns does not disclose that the solar modules in the first row are arranged in landscape orientation along the pair of mounting rails, and wherein the solar modules in the second row are arranged in landscape orientation along the third mounting rail or that the solar modules in the first row are arranged in portrait orientation along the pair of mounting rails, and wherein the solar modules in the second row are in landscape orientation along the third mounting rail. It would have been obvious to arrange the rows in landscape orientation or both portrait and landscape because the rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and such placement would not alter the performance of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Annotate Figure 60 of Stearn
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-20 of U.S. Patent No.12289079. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each element in the instant claims are recited by and thus within the scope of the patented claims. While claims 8-20 of the patented claims do not disclose a plurality of solar modules forming first and second rows, it has been held that a mere duplication of parts, such as the duplication of the solar modules, has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE T CAJILIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633