DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims X are canceled.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
This action is in reply to the papers filed on 03/03/2025 (effective filing date 04/18/2019).
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statement has been filed.
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted: xxxxxxxx, has/have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on xxx as modified by the amendment filed on xxx.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on xxx disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Pat. No. 12,271,921 has been reviewed and has been placed in the file.
Double Patenting - Withdrawn
The double patenting rejection is withdrawn per the filed terminal disclaimer noted above.
Reasons For Allowance
Prior-Art Rejection withdrawn
Claims xxx are allowed. The closest prior art (See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited) does not teach the claimed:
The invention teaches… and the prior-art teaches…, however, the prior-art does not teach…
The closest prior-art (xxx) teach the features as disclosed in Non-final Rejection (xxxx), however, these cited references do not teach and the prior-art does not teach at least the following combination of features and/or elements:
determining, at a second time after associating the information corresponding to the first loyalty card with the logged location, that a second user computing device is located within a specified distance of the logged location using a second positioning system of the second user computing device; in response to determining that the second user computing device is located within the specified distance of the logged location of the first user computing device at the first time of detecting: retrieving information corresponding to a second loyalty card, the second loyalty card being associated with the merchant and the second user computing device; and displaying, by the second user computing device, data describing the second loyalty card.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101 - Withdrawn
Per Applicant’s amendments and arguments and considering new guidance in the MPEP, the rejections are withdrawn. Specifically, in Applicant’s Remarks (dated 03/14/2017, pgs. 8-11), Applicant traverses the 35 USC §101 rejections arguing that the amended claims recite new limitations that are not abstract, amount to significantly more, are directed to a practical application, etc… For example, Applicant argues….
In support of their arguments, Applicant cites to the following recent Fed. Cir. court cases (i.e., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, SRI Int’l, Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, Berkheimer, Core Wireless, McRO, Enfish, Bascom, DDR, etc…).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,271,921.
19/068,736 – Claim 1. A method, comprising: providing a coupon trading platform operating on one or more cloud servers;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. A method, comprising: providing a coupon trading platform operating on one or more cloud servers;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, first coupon information for a first coupon, the first coupon information indicative of a unique first coupon identifier and a first coupon issuer, wherein a first user is known to the first coupon issuer, and wherein the first coupon identifier is transmittable to the first user;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, first coupon information for a first coupon, the first coupon information indicative of a unique first coupon identifier and a first coupon issuer, wherein a first user is known to the first coupon issuer, and wherein the first coupon identifier is transmittable to the first user;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, an indication that the first coupon has been redeemed;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, an indication that the first coupon has been redeemed;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. generating, in response to receiving the indication that the first coupon has been redeemed, a first notification indicative that the first user has become a customer;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. generating, in response to receiving the indication that the first coupon has been redeemed, a first notification indicative that the first user has become a customer;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. transmitting the first notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the first coupon issuer;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. transmitting the first notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the first coupon issuer;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second coupon information for a second coupon, the second coupon information indicative of a unique second coupon identifier and a second coupon issuer, wherein a second user is known to the second coupon issuer, and wherein the second coupon identifier is transmittable to the second user;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second coupon information for a second coupon, the second coupon information indicative of a unique second coupon identifier and a second coupon issuer, wherein a second user is known to the second coupon issuer, and wherein the second coupon identifier is transmittable to the second user;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second registration information indicative of the second user registering the second coupon identifier;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second registration information indicative of the second user registering the second coupon identifier;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, third coupon information for a third coupon, the third coupon information indicative of a unique third coupon identifier and a third coupon issuer that is different from the second coupon issuer, wherein a third user is known to the third coupon issuer, and wherein the third coupon identifier is transmittable to the third user;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, third coupon information for a third coupon, the third coupon information indicative of a unique third coupon identifier and a third coupon issuer that is different from the second coupon issuer, wherein a third user is known to the third coupon issuer, and wherein the third coupon identifier is transmittable to the third user;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. receiving, on the computing trading platform, a trade confirmation associated with the second coupon identifier and the third coupon identifier, determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. receiving, on the computing trading platform, a trade confirmation associated with the second coupon identifier and the third coupon identifier, determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. generating, in response to determining that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. generating, in response to determining that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. a second notification indicative that a user known to the third coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the third coupon issuer;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. a second notification indicative that a user known to the third coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the third coupon issuer;
/068,736 – Claim 1. transmitting the second notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the third coupon issuer;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. transmitting the second notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the third coupon issuer;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. generating, in response to determining that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. generating, in response to determining that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer;
19/068,736 – Claim 1. a third notification indicative that a user unknown to the second coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the second coupon issuer; and
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. a third notification indicative that a user unknown to the second coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the second coupon issuer; and
19/068,736 – Claim 1. transmitting the third notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the second coupon issuer.
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. transmitting the third notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the second coupon issuer;
19/068,736 – Claim 2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: updating, in response to receiving the trade confirmation after receiving the second registration information, a second user preference score based at least in part on the third coupon issuer; and updating, in response to receiving the trade confirmation after receiving the second registration information, a third user preference score based at least in part on the second coupon issuer.
US 12,271,921 – Claim 2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: updating, in response to receiving the trade confirmation after receiving the second registration information, a second user preference score based at least in part on the third coupon issuer; and updating, in response to receiving the trade confirmation after receiving the second registration information, a third user preference score based at least in part on the second coupon issuer.
19/068,736 – Claim 3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, on the coupon trading platform, fourth coupon information for a fourth coupon, wherein the fourth coupon information is indicative of a unique fourth coupon identifier, a fourth coupon issuer, and a fourth coupon value;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. receiving, on the coupon trading platform, fourth coupon information for a fourth coupon, wherein the fourth coupon information is indicative of a unique fourth coupon identifier, a fourth coupon issuer, and a fourth coupon value;
19/068,736 – Claim 3. receiving a request to divide the fourth coupon;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. receiving a request to divide the fourth coupon;
19/068,736 – Claim 3. dividing the fourth coupon in response to receiving the request to divide the fourth coupon, wherein dividing the fourth coupon results in a plurality of child coupons derived from splitting the fourth coupon, wherein each of the plurality of child coupons has a respective unique child coupon identifier and a respective child coupon value; and
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. dividing the fourth coupon in response to receiving the request to divide the fourth coupon, wherein dividing the fourth coupon results in a plurality of child coupons derived from splitting the fourth coupon, wherein each of the plurality of child coupons has a respective unique child coupon identifier and a respective child coupon value; and
19/068,736 – Claim 3. wherein the sum of the respective child coupon values for the plurality of child coupons equals or is less than the fourth coupon value;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. wherein the sum of the respective child coupon values for the plurality of child coupons equals or is less than the fourth coupon value;
19/068,736 – Claim 3. generating, in response to dividing the fourth coupon, a division notification indicative that the fourth coupon has been divided into the plurality of child coupons; and
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. generating, in response to dividing the fourth coupon, a division notification indicative that the fourth coupon has been divided into the plurality of child coupons;
19/068,736 – Claim 3. transmitting the division notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the fourth coupon issuer.
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. transmitting the division notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the fourth coupon issuer;
19/068,736 – Claim 4. The method of claim 3, wherein dividing the fourth coupon includes: determining that coupon dividing is permitted for the fourth coupon based at least in part on the unique fourth coupon identifier; generating the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the request to divide the fourth coupon; and rendering the fourth coupon unredeemable.
US 12,271,921 – Claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein dividing the fourth coupon includes: determining that coupon dividing is permitted for the fourth coupon based at least in part on the unique fourth coupon identifier; generating the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the request to divide the fourth coupon; and rendering the fourth coupon unredeemable.
19/068,736 – Claim 5. The method of claim 3, wherein each of the respective child coupon values of the plurality of child coupons are equal.
US 12,271,921 – Claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the respective child coupon values of the plurality of child coupons are equal.
19/068,736 – Claim 6. The method of claim 3, wherein dividing the fourth coupon includes: identifying a user associated with the fourth coupon based at least in part on the unique fourth coupon identifier; and registering each unique child coupon identifier of the plurality of child coupons to the user.
US 12,271,921 – Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein dividing the fourth coupon includes: identifying a user associated with the fourth coupon based at least in part on the unique fourth coupon identifier; and registering each unique child coupon identifier of the plurality of child coupons to the user.
19/068,736 – Claim 7. The method of claim 3, further comprising: tracking usage of each of the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the respective unique child coupon identifier;
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. tracking usage of each of the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the respective unique child coupon identifier;
19/068,736 – Claim 7. generating a division summary, the division summary including information associated with the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the tracked usage of each of the plurality of child coupons; and
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. generating a division summary, the division summary including information associated with the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the tracked usage of each of the plurality of child coupons; and
19/068,736 – Claim 7. transmitting the division summary via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the fourth coupon issuer.
US 12,271,921 – Claim 1. transmitting the division summary via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the fourth coupon issuer.
19/068,736 – Claim 8. The method of claim 3, wherein a cumulative value of the plurality of child coupons equals the fourth coupon value less a division fee.
US 12,271,921 – Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein a cumulative value of the plurality of child coupons equals the fourth coupon value less a division fee.
19/068,736 – Claim 9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a first market value associated with the first coupon based on i) a face value of the first coupon; ii) a number of times the first coupon has been traded; iii) a face value of each coupon traded for the first coupon; iv) a type of coupon traded for the first coupon; v) information associated with any consumer previously associated with the first coupon; or vi) any combination of i-v; wherein the first notification is indicative of the first market value associated with the first coupon.
US 12,271,921 – Claim 7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a first market value associated with the first coupon based on i) a face value of the first coupon; ii) a number of times the first coupon has been traded; iii) a face value of each coupon traded for the first coupon; iv) a type of coupon traded for the first coupon; v) information associated with any consumer previously associated with the first coupon; or vi) any combination of i-v; wherein the first notification is indicative of the first market value associated with the first coupon.
19/068,736 – Claim 10. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining a second market value associated with the second coupon based at least in part on the third coupon information, wherein the second notification is indicative of the second market value associated with the second coupon.
US 12,271,921 – Claim 8. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining a second market value associated with the second coupon based at least in part on the third coupon information, wherein the second notification is indicative of the second market value associated with the second coupon.
19/068,736 – Claim 11. A system, comprising: a memory storing machine readable instructions and a database, the database including information associated with (i) a plurality of coupons, (ii) a plurality of unique identifiers, each of the plurality of unique identifiers being associated with a corresponding one of a plurality of known consumers; and a control system including one or more processors, the control system being configured to execute the machine readable instructions to perform operations including: providing a coupon trading platform operating on one or more cloud servers; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, first coupon information for a first coupon of the plurality of coupons, the first coupon information indicative of a unique first coupon identifier and a first coupon issuer, wherein a first user is known to the first coupon issuer, and wherein the first coupon identifier is transmittable to the first user; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, an indication that the first coupon has been redeemed; generating, in response to receiving the indication that the first coupon has been redeemed, a first notification indicative that the first user has become a customer; transmitting the first notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the first coupon issuer; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second coupon information for a second coupon of the plurality of coupons, the second coupon information indicative of a unique second coupon identifier and a second coupon issuer, wherein a second user is known to the second coupon issuer, and wherein the second coupon identifier is transmittable to the second user; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second registration information indicative of the second user registering the second coupon identifier; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, third coupon information for a third coupon of the plurality of coupons, the third coupon information indicative of a unique third coupon identifier and a third coupon issuer that is different from the second coupon issuer, wherein a third user is known to the third coupon issuer, and wherein the third coupon identifier is transmittable to the third user; receiving, on the computing trading platform, a trade confirmation associated with the second coupon identifier and the third coupon identifier, determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer; generating, in response to determining that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer; a second notification indicative that a user known to the third coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the third coupon issuer; transmitting the second notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the third coupon issuer; determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer; generating, in response to determining that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer; a third notification indicative that a user unknown to the second coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the second coupon issuer; and transmitting the third notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the second coupon issuer.
19/068,736 – Claim 12. The system of claim 11, further comprising: updating, in response to receiving the trade confirmation after receiving the second registration information, a second user preference score based at least in part on the third coupon issuer; and updating, in response to receiving the trade confirmation after receiving the second registration information, a third user preference score based at least in part on the second coupon issuer.
19/068,736 – Claim 13. The system of claim 11, further comprising: receiving, on the coupon trading platform, fourth coupon information for a fourth coupon of the plurality of coupons, wherein the fourth coupon information is indicative of a unique fourth coupon identifier, a fourth coupon issuer, and a fourth coupon value; receiving a request to divide the fourth coupon; dividing the fourth coupon in response to receiving the request to divide the fourth coupon, wherein dividing the fourth coupon results in a plurality of child coupons derived from splitting the fourth coupon, wherein each of the plurality of child coupons has a respective unique child coupon identifier and a respective child coupon value; and wherein the sum of the respective child coupon values for the plurality of child coupons equals or is less than the fourth coupon value; generating, in response to dividing the fourth coupon, a division notification indicative that the fourth coupon has been divided into the plurality of child coupons; and transmitting the division notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the fourth coupon issuer.
19/068,736 – Claim 14. The system of claim 13, wherein dividing the fourth coupon includes: determining that coupon dividing is permitted for the fourth coupon based at least in part on the unique fourth coupon identifier; generating the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the request to divide the fourth coupon; and rendering the fourth coupon unredeemable.
19/068,736 – Claim 15. The system of claim 13, wherein each of the respective child coupon values of the plurality of child coupons are equal.
19/068,736 – Claim 16. The system of claim 13, wherein dividing the fourth coupon includes: identifying a user associated with the fourth coupon based at least in part on the unique fourth coupon identifier; and registering each unique child coupon identifier of the plurality of child coupons to the user.
19/068,736 – Claim 17. The system of claim 13, further comprising: tracking usage of each of the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the respective unique child coupon identifier; generating a division summary, the division summary including information associated with the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the tracked usage of each of the plurality of child coupons; and transmitting the division summary via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the fourth coupon issuer.
19/068,736 – Claim 18. The system of claim 13, wherein a cumulative value of the plurality of child coupons equals the fourth coupon value less a division fee.
19/068,736 – Claim 19. The system of claim 11, further comprising: determining a first market value associated with the first coupon based on i) a face value of the first coupon; ii) a number of times the first coupon has been traded; iii) a face value of each coupon traded for the first coupon; iv) a type of coupon traded for the first coupon; v) information associated with any consumer previously associated with the first coupon; or vi) any combination of i-v; wherein the first notification is indicative of the first market value associated with the first coupon.
19/068,736 – Claim 20. The system of claim 11, further comprising determining a second market value associated with the second coupon based at least in part on the third coupon information, wherein the second notification is indicative of the second market value associated with the second coupon.
The remaining independent claims contain feature similar to that of claim 1 and are rejected accordingly. The dependent claims are further rejected for their dependency upon a rejected independent base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims recite a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons.
Claim 1 recites [a] method, comprising: providing a coupon trading platform operating on one or more cloud servers; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, first coupon information for a first coupon, the first coupon information indicative of a unique first coupon identifier and a first coupon issuer, wherein a first user is known to the first coupon issuer, and wherein the first coupon identifier is transmittable to the first user; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, an indication that the first coupon has been redeemed; generating, in response to receiving the indication that the first coupon has been redeemed, a first notification indicative that the first user has become a customer; transmitting the first notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the first coupon issuer; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second coupon information for a second coupon, the second coupon information indicative of a unique second coupon identifier and a second coupon issuer, wherein a second user is known to the second coupon issuer, and wherein the second coupon identifier is transmittable to the second user; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second registration information indicative of the second user registering the second coupon identifier; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, third coupon information for a third coupon, the third coupon information indicative of a unique third coupon identifier and a third coupon issuer that is different from the second coupon issuer, wherein a third user is known to the third coupon issuer, and wherein the third coupon identifier is transmittable to the third user; receiving, on the computing trading platform, a trade confirmation associated with the second coupon identifier and the third coupon identifier, determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer; generating, in response to determining that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer; a second notification indicative that a user known to the third coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the third coupon issuer; transmitting the second notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the third coupon issuer; determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer; generating, in response to determining that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer; a third notification indicative that a user unknown to the second coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the second coupon issuer; and transmitting the third notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the second coupon issuer.
The claims are being rejected according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 5, p. 50-57 (Jan. 7, 2019)).
Step 1: Does the Claim Fall within a Statutory Category?
Yes. Claims 1-10 recite a method and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of a process. Claims 11-20 recite a system/apparatus and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of machine.
Step 2A, Prong One: Is a Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The following tables identify the specific limitations that recite an abstract idea. The column that identifies the additional elements will be relevant to the analysis in step 2A, prong two, and step 2B.
Claim 1: Identification of Abstract Idea and Additional Elements, using Broadest Reasonable Interpretation
Claim Limitation
Abstract Idea
Additional Element
1. A method, comprising:
No additional elements are positively claimed.
providing a coupon trading platform operating on one or more cloud servers;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: providing a coupon trading platform operating on one or more cloud servers.
But for the one or more cloud servers, this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
providing a coupon trading platform operating on one or more cloud servers
receiving, on the coupon trading platform, first coupon information for a first coupon, the first coupon information indicative of a unique first coupon identifier and a first coupon issuer, wherein a first user is known to the first coupon issuer, and wherein the first coupon identifier is transmittable to the first user;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: receiving, on the coupon trading platform, first coupon information for a first coupon, the first coupon information indicative of a unique first coupon identifier and a first coupon issuer, wherein a first user is known to the first coupon issuer, and wherein the first coupon identifier is transmittable to the first user.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
receiving, on the coupon trading platform, an indication that the first coupon has been redeemed;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: receiving, on the coupon trading platform, an indication that the first coupon has been redeemed.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
generating, in response to receiving the indication that the first coupon has been redeemed, a first notification indicative that the first user has become a customer;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: generating, in response to receiving the indication that the first coupon has been redeemed, a first notification indicative that the first user has become a customer.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
transmitting the first notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the first coupon issuer;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: transmitting the first notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the first coupon issuer.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second coupon information for a second coupon, the second coupon information indicative of a unique second coupon identifier and a second coupon issuer, wherein a second user is known to the second coupon issuer, and wherein the second coupon identifier is transmittable to the second user;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second coupon information for a second coupon, the second coupon information indicative of a unique second coupon identifier and a second coupon issuer, wherein a second user is known to the second coupon issuer, and wherein the second coupon identifier is transmittable to the second user.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second registration information indicative of the second user registering the second coupon identifier;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second registration information indicative of the second user registering the second coupon identifier.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
receiving, on the coupon trading platform, third coupon information for a third coupon, the third coupon information indicative of a unique third coupon identifier and a third coupon issuer that is different from the second coupon issuer, wherein a third user is known to the third coupon issuer, and wherein the third coupon identifier is transmittable to the third user;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: receiving, on the coupon trading platform, third coupon information for a third coupon, the third coupon information indicative of a unique third coupon identifier and a third coupon issuer that is different from the second coupon issuer, wherein a third user is known to the third coupon issuer, and wherein the third coupon identifier is transmittable to the third user.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
receiving, on the computing trading platform, a trade confirmation associated with the second coupon identifier and the third coupon identifier, determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: receiving, on the computing trading platform, a trade confirmation associated with the second coupon identifier and the third coupon identifier, determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
generating, in response to determining that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: generating, in response to determining that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
a second notification indicative that a user known to the third coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the third coupon issuer;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: a second notification indicative that a user known to the third coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the third coupon issuer.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
transmitting the second notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the third coupon issuer;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: transmitting the second notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the third coupon issuer.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
generating, in response to determining that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: generating, in response to determining that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
a third notification indicative that a user unknown to the second coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the second coupon issuer; and
This limitation includes the step(s) of: a third notification indicative that a user unknown to the second coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the second coupon issuer.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
transmitting the third notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the second coupon issuer.
This limitation includes the step(s) of: transmitting the third notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the second coupon issuer.
No additional elements are positively claimed.
This limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information (e.g., receiving and transmitting information) to facilitate a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons which may be categorized as any of the following:
certain method of organizing human activity –
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), and/or
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
No additional elements are positively claimed.
As shown above, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea). The claims are directed to the abstract idea of trading and tracking digitized coupons, which, pursuant to MPEP 2106.04, is aptly categorized as a mental process and/or a method of organizing human activity. Therefore, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception.
Next, the aforementioned claims recite additional functional elements that are associated with the judicial exception, including: Scanning the bar code of an item using an RFID reader, receiving a WAP link, and sending an SMS message to a user with a link to webpages. Examiner understands these limitations to be insignificant extrasolution activity. (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Cf. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191-192 (1981) ("[I]nsignificant post-solution activity will not transform an unpatentable principle in to a patentable process.”).
The aforementioned claims recite additional technical elements including: a “server” to execute the method and a database to execute the system. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and appear to be nothing more than generic computer components. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2358, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 134 S. Ct. at 2389, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Is the Abstract Idea Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements listed above that relate to computing components are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic components performing generic computer functions such as communicating, receiving, processing, analyzing, and outputting/displaying data) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Additionally, the claims do not purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. There is no technological problem that the claimed invention solves. Rather, the computer system is invoked merely as a tool. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, these claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Furthermore, looking at the elements individually and in combination, under Step 2A, Prong Two, the claims as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they fail to: improve the functioning of a computer or a technical field, apply the judicial exception in the treatment or prophylaxis of a disease, apply the judicial exception with a particular machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply the judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Rather, the claims merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea(s), and/or add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Provide an Inventive Concept?
Next, under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Simply put, as noted above, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer (or any other technology), and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements relating to computing components amount to no more than applying the exception using a generic computing components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computing component cannot provide an inventive concept. Furthermore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed computer components (i.e., additional elements) includes any generic computing components that are capable of being programmed to communicate, receive, send, process, analyze, output, or display data.
Additionally, pursuant to the requirement under Berkheimer, the following citations are provided to demonstrate that the additional elements, identified as extra-solution activity, amount to activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Capturing an image (code) with an RFID reader. Ritter, US Patent No. 7734507 (Col. 3, Lines 56-67); “RFID: Riding on the Chip” by Pat Russo. Frozen Food Age. New York: Dec. 2003, vol. 52, Issue 5; page S22.
Receiving or transmitting data over a network. Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Storing and retrieving information in memory. Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Outputting/Presenting data to a user. Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015); MPEP 2106.05(g)(3).
Using a machine learning model to determine user segment characteristics for an ad campaign. https://whites.agency/blog/how-to-use-machine-learning-for-customer-segmentation/.
Thus, taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea), and are ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Independent system claim 11 also contains the identified abstract ideas, with the additional elements of a processor and storage medium, which are a generic computer components, and thus not significantly more for the same reasons and rationale above.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 further describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of the dependent claims fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, as the dependent claims remain directed to a judicial exception, and as the additional elements of the claims do not amount to significantly more, the dependent claims are not patent eligible.
As such, the claims are not patent eligible.
Invention Could be Performed Manually
It is conceivable that the invention could be performed manually without the aid of machine and/or computer. For example, Applicant claims receiving coupon information, generating notifications, etc… Each of these features could be performed manually and/or with the aid of a simple generic computer to facilitate the transmission of data.
See also Leapfrog Enterprises, Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., and In re Venner, which stand for the concept that automating manual activity and/or applying modern electronics to older mechanical devices to accomplish the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. Here, applicant is merely claiming computers to facilitate and/or automate functions which used to be commonly performed by a human.
Leapfrog Enterprises, Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., 485 F.3d 1157, 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007) "[a]pplying modern electronics to older mechanical devices has been commonplace in recent years…"). The combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is commonly available and understood in the art.
In In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958), the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04, III Automating a Manual Activity.
MPEP 2144.04 III - Automating a Manual Activity and In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) further stand for and provide motivation for using technology, hardware, computer, or server to automate a manual activity.
Therefore, the Office finds no improvements to another technology or field, no improvements to the function of the computer itself, and no meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, based on the two-part Alice Corp. analysis, there are no limitations in any of the claims that transform the exception (i.e., the abstract idea) into a patent eligible application.
Claim Rejections - Not an Ordered Combination
None of the limitations, considered as an ordered combination provide eligibility, because taken as a whole, the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea with routine, conventional activity.
Claim Rejections - Preemption
Allowing the claims, as presently claimed, would preempt others from implementing a method and system for trading and tracking digitized coupons. Furthermore, the claim language only recites the abstract idea of performing this method, there are no concrete steps articulating a particular way in which this idea is being implemented or describing how it is being performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183; in view of O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169.
19/068,736 – Claim 1. McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 teaches A method, comprising: providing a coupon trading platform operating on one or more cloud servers (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0078 - a tool to manage coupon templates in order to provide a system and method for sharing an experience] In some circumstances, customized coupons should be validated before being shared. For example, pictures taken by requesting users to use as part of a location-based coupon may lack a predetermined level of quality. For example, the picture may be blurry, too light, too dark, may not feature the product prominently enough, may be cut off along an edge of the photo, may have an unacceptable background (e.g., photobombing), may depict the product unflatteringly, and so forth. Customized coupons may also be validated with respect to any changes in business-related terms, such that the changes in terms are acceptable to the participating merchant. In order to deal with poor quality photographs, a business may set up and implement incremental incentives for customers in a coupon template management and rewards system, e.g., a tool to manage coupon templates in order to provide a system and method for sharing an experience. Embodiments described herein may facilitate establishing and/or using such a reward system in order to allow businesses to create incentives that encourage the location-based coupon consumer creating the location-based coupon to want to get more friends to redeem their location-based coupon. Incentives may include reward payments, e.g., rewards per redemption of a newly created, unique location-based coupon created with a personal photo of an offer item and an existing offer for that item, on a per-recipient basis. [0081 - user requests a location-based coupon and shares it with a first recipient user, and if the first recipient user further shares it with a second recipient user (who otherwise may be unknown to or unconnected to the requesting user), then it may be said that the second recipient user and the requesting user are separated by one degree] As used herein "degrees" may refer to the number of relationships that exist between entities. For example, if a requesting user requests a location-based coupon and shares it with a first recipient user, and if the first recipient user further shares it with a second recipient user (who otherwise may be unknown to or unconnected to the requesting user), then it may be said that the second recipient user and the requesting user are separated by one degree. A similar idea may be known colloquially in other contexts as "Degrees of Bacon." "Degree" is used by embodiments as a weight to help determine a user clout score and thereby help derive a requesting user's influential value to businesses providing location-based coupon templates and tracking rewards and loyalty rewards for that requesting user. [0103 - methods may be readily implemented in software, such as by using object or object-oriented software development environments that provide portable source code that can be used on a variety of computer or workstation platforms] The disclosed methods may be readily implemented in software, such as by using object or object-oriented software development environments that provide portable source code that can be used on a variety of computer or workstation platforms. Alternatively, the disclosed system may be implemented partially or fully in hardware, such as by using standard logic circuits or VLSI design. Whether software or hardware may be used to implement the systems in accordance with various embodiments of the present invention may be dependent on various considerations, such as the speed or efficiency requirements of the system, the particular function, and the particular software or hardware systems being utilized.); receiving, on the coupon trading platform, first coupon information for a first coupon (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0004 - "Photopon location-based coupon" as used herein may refer to a location-based sharable benefit such as a discount, rebate, loyalty points, free item, etc.] A "Photopon location-based coupon" as used herein may refer to a location-based sharable benefit such as a discount, rebate, loyalty points, free item, etc., which may be enabled by a business (e.g., a business such as a restaurant or tavern, etc.), and which may be selected by a requesting user (e.g., a user or a customer of the business), who may also be referred to herein as a requesting user, and delivered to a recipient user (e.g., a person within a social circle of the requesting user). The locations of the business and the requesting user, either absolutely or relative to each other, may determine a selection of available location-based coupons. The location of the recipient user (either absolutely or relative to the business or the requesting user) may determine whether a location-based coupon may be delivered to the recipient user. [0031 - combined coupon template and media data object file for a particular user are synchronized by the coupon template sequencer 128 to tag the geo-location information, and/or the object information and/or the branded product/service information] Each communications server 124 includes a coupon template sequencer 128 and a process engine 132. The process engine 132 for a communications server 124 is used to combine the chosen coupon template with the user's media data object file. In particular, the process engine 132 may be accessible by users and/or by marketing administrative personnel. The combined coupon template and media data object file for a particular user are synchronized by the coupon template sequencer 128 to tag the geo-location information, and/or the object information and/or the branded product/service information, from the user with the newly created digital postcard. The coupon template sequencer 128 can provide communication features directly into the communication session or the coupon template sequencer 128 can determine an application sequence, which will be invoked during tagging, synthesizing of the template to the media data object file, and used during the communication session. An application sequence may indicate or control how a media data object (e.g., photo, textual message, and so forth as described elsewhere herein), including active elements (e.g., Flash, Shockwave, Java, etc.), will be included with the coupon template to produce the digital postcard. [0089 - Coupon template data] Next, process 300 transitions to step 305, at which coupon template data for the nearby participating merchants identified in step 303, which may be retrieved from a database such as database 162 of FIG. 1, is received from application server 144. Coupon template data or a portion thereof (such as a summary without the fine print) may be presented along with the compilation results in order to permit the requesting user to make a more informed choice when selecting a participating merchant.), the first coupon information indicative of a unique first coupon identifier and a first coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0041 - generate a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID for visual promotion and tracking in a coupon template-based system] When a requesting user selects a coupon template and shares a location-based coupon, embodiments may generate a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID for visual promotion and tracking in a coupon template-based system.), wherein a first user is known to the first coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0045 - loyalty tracking implies that a user is known to the coupon issuer] In some embodiments, each time a requesting user shares a location-based coupon, the corresponding coupon template is updated with the additional photos and unique IDs of other users who have also shared the same coupon template as their own personalized location-based coupon. Coupons may be personalized for design content (e.g., photograph, written message, layout, etc.) within any boundaries set by the retailer regarding business-related boundaries of the offer (e.g., percentage discount, items included in or excluded from the offer, blackout days, etc.). Personalized coupons are more likely to be noticed by a recipient and redeemed. This helps provide deep customer intent and loyalty tracking. Deep customer impact in this context means at least a clearer, deeper and/or more insightful picture or analysis of customer intent, i.e., what the customer may be looking to purchase versus what is available to the customer or what the customer actually settles for purchase if what they are looking for is not available. [0047 - a requesting user who in the past had not requested many location-based coupons, but recently has requested many location-based coupons and has had them redeemed, may have a relatively higher clout than another requesting user with similar absolute number but who has been inactive recently] Furthermore, a clout score is generated for businesses to target their coupon templates based on influential power. Clout is associated with a requesting user who desires to send a location-based coupon. Clout may be determined by a number of ways, such as a number of requests for location-based coupons, a number of location-based coupons that were forwarded, a number of forwarded location-based coupons that were redeemed, a percentage of forwarded location-based coupons that were redeemed, and/or any combination of such metrics, and so forth. Clout may also be determined by recent trends in such metrics. For example, a requesting user who in the past had not requested many location-based coupons, but recently has requested many location-based coupons and has had them redeemed, may have a relatively higher clout than another requesting user with similar absolute number but who has been inactive recently. [0080 - a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, etc.) coupon redemptions in order to gauge customer loyalty and clout score, etc.] In some embodiments, a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, etc.) coupon redemptions in order to gauge customer loyalty and clout score, etc., to as many degrees as specified by the business user.), and wherein the first coupon identifier is transmittable to the first user (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0041] When a requesting user selects a coupon template and shares a location-based coupon, embodiments may generate a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID for visual promotion and tracking in a coupon template-based system. [0071] Geographic location information (also known as geo-location information), such as geographic location information about a user or about a recipient of a Photopon location-based coupon, may be determined by use of RF-based location determination technology other than GPS. For example, a short-range location service or location determination system may augment GPS data or may be used when GPS data is not available or not preferred (e.g., at indoor locations with poor or unusable GPS signal strength). An example of a short-range location determination system is iBeacon.TM. technology. iBeacon refers to an indoor proximity system that uses low-powered, low-cost transmitters that can notify nearby communication devices (e.g., external communication device 112 such as Apple.TM. iOS 7 devices) of their presence. The technology uses Bluetooth low energy proximity sensing to transmit from a relatively fixed base location a universally unique identifier that is received by a relatively mobile compatible app or operating system. The identifier can then be looked-up over the internet to determine the device's physical location or trigger an action on the device, such as an interaction with embodiments in accordance with the present disclosure. The technology enables a smart phone or other device to perform actions when in close proximity to a compatible transponder. For example, enabled smart phones may determine a more precise position or context in which to perform other actions. With such a short-range location system, a smartphone can pinpoint its own location in a store or shopping area, in order to further customize coupon templates for users (e.g., to distinguish a grocery store from a donut counter or coffee kiosk within the grocery store).); receiving, on the coupon trading platform, an indication that the first coupon has been redeemed (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0067 - a redeem code may be presented to the customer. The redeem code is a unique new coupon code the business and customer can now track after it is created] At that point a redeem code may be presented to the customer. The redeem code is a unique new coupon code the business and customer can now track after it is created, in order to use as a separate promotion and/or a referral code to another potential customer.); generating, in response to receiving the indication that the first coupon has been redeemed, a first notification indicative that the first user has become a customer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0075 - Employees of the business may have access to a compatible scanner in order to mark a location-based coupon as having been used, and to automatically update a requesting user's reward balance, clout status or the like, and update a status of the promotion provided to the business. Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business…] Employees of the business may have access to a compatible scanner in order to mark a location-based coupon as having been used, and to automatically update a requesting user's reward balance, clout status or the like, and update a status of the promotion provided to the business. Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user. [0100 - the recipient user takes some relevant action … actions may include … redeeming the photo coupon… When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server 144. The notification may include the tracking ID…] Next, process 500 transitions to step 507, at which the recipient user takes some relevant action based upon the photo coupon. Relevant actions may include viewing the photo coupon, clicking on the photo coupon for more information, adding an event described by the photo coupon to a calendar, redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server 144. The notification may include the tracking ID.); transmitting the first notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the first coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0075 - Employees of the business may have access to a compatible scanner in order to mark a location-based coupon as having been used, and to automatically update a requesting user's reward balance, clout status or the like, and update a status of the promotion provided to the business. Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business…] Employees of the business may have access to a compatible scanner in order to mark a location-based coupon as having been used, and to automatically update a requesting user's reward balance, clout status or the like, and update a status of the promotion provided to the business. Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user. [0100 - the recipient user takes some relevant action … actions may include … redeeming the photo coupon… When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server 144. The notification may include the tracking ID…] Next, process 500 transitions to step 507, at which the recipient user takes some relevant action based upon the photo coupon. Relevant actions may include viewing the photo coupon, clicking on the photo coupon for more information, adding an event described by the photo coupon to a calendar, redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server 144. The notification may include the tracking ID.); receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second coupon information for a second coupon, the second coupon information indicative of a unique second coupon identifier and a second coupon issuer, wherein a second user is known to the second coupon issuer, and wherein the second coupon identifier is transmittable to the second user (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0080-0084 – secondary and tertiary coupon redemptions… sharing coupons from a first to second recipient…][0080] In some embodiments, a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, etc.) coupon redemptions in order to gauge customer loyalty and clout score, etc., to as many degrees as specified by the business user. [0081] As used herein "degrees" may refer to the number of relationships that exist between entities. For example, if a requesting user requests a location-based coupon and shares it with a first recipient user, and if the first recipient user further shares it with a second recipient user (who otherwise may be unknown to or unconnected to the requesting user), then it may be said that the second recipient user and the requesting user are separated by one degree. A similar idea may be known colloquially in other contexts as "Degrees of Bacon." "Degree" is used by embodiments as a weight to help determine a user clout score and thereby help derive a requesting user's influential value to businesses providing location-based coupon templates and tracking rewards and loyalty rewards for that requesting user. [0082] Degrees may become important when a requesting user creates a location-based coupon and sends it to a recipient user who further forwards the location-based coupon to a large number (e.g., more than ten) other recipient users to redeem the location-based coupon. This scenario may be problematic because there is no direct connection between the requesting user and the forwarded-to recipient users. Embodiments are able to track and allocate rewards to the requesting user and/or intermediate recipient users based upon redemptions by the forwarded-to recipient users. However, a reduced amount of clout may accrue to the requesting user because not all of the credit for the forwarded-to recipient users may be fairly attributed to the recipient user--at least some of the credit may be attributed to the intermediate recipient users. The amount of reduction may depend upon the degree of separation. [0084] In some embodiments, a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, and so on to the n-th degree, etc.) coupon redemptions and/or snips arising from location-based coupons derived from a requesting user (e.g., user "A"). Tracking may include friends of user "A", the friends being designated as "group A." Friends of the members of group "A" may be referred to as "group B," and groups of associations may repeat this way to define "group C" and beyond.); receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second registration information indicative of the second user registering the second coupon identifier (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0080 - business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, etc.) coupon redemptions] In some embodiments, a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, etc.) coupon redemptions in order to gauge customer loyalty and clout score, etc., to as many degrees as specified by the business user.); receiving, on the coupon trading platform, third coupon information for a third coupon, the third coupon information indicative of a unique third coupon identifier and a third coupon issuer that is different from the second coupon issuer, wherein a third user is known to the third coupon issuer, and wherein the third coupon identifier is transmittable to the third user (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0080 - a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, etc.) coupon redemptions] In some embodiments, a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, etc.) coupon redemptions in order to gauge customer loyalty and clout score, etc., to as many degrees as specified by the business user. [0084 - a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, and so on to the n-th degree, etc.) coupon redemptions and/or snips arising from location-based coupons derived from a requesting user (e.g., user "A"). Tracking may include friends of user "A", the friends being designated as "group A." Friends of the members of group "A" may be referred to as "group B," and groups of associations may repeat this way to define "group C" and beyond] In some embodiments, a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, and so on to the n-th degree, etc.) coupon redemptions and/or snips arising from location-based coupons derived from a requesting user (e.g., user "A"). Tracking may include friends of user "A", the friends being designated as "group A." Friends of the members of group "A" may be referred to as "group B," and groups of associations may repeat this way to define "group C" and beyond.); receiving, on the computing trading platform, a trade confirmation associated with the second coupon identifier and the third coupon identifier, determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0080 - a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, etc.) coupon redemptions] In some embodiments, a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, etc.) coupon redemptions in order to gauge customer loyalty and clout score, etc., to as many degrees as specified by the business user. [0084 - a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, and so on to the n-th degree, etc.) coupon redemptions and/or snips arising from location-based coupons derived from a requesting user (e.g., user "A"). Tracking may include friends of user "A", the friends being designated as "group A." Friends of the members of group "A" may be referred to as "group B," and groups of associations may repeat this way to define "group C" and beyond] In some embodiments, a business user can track the secondary (and tertiary, and so on to the n-th degree, etc.) coupon redemptions and/or snips arising from location-based coupons derived from a requesting user (e.g., user "A"). Tracking may include friends of user "A", the friends being designated as "group A." Friends of the members of group "A" may be referred to as "group B," and groups of associations may repeat this way to define "group C" and beyond.); generating, in response to determining that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer; a second notification indicative that a user known to the third coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the third coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0040 - Enabling a sharable benefit by the business] Enabling a sharable benefit by the business may include providing a coupon template that defines the business-related boundaries of a benefit offered by the business, e.g., an allowable percentage discount, what items the discount applies to, expiration or blackout dates, amount of rebate or loyalty points, and so forth. The benefit is a benefit that would be relevant to a customer, and in particular to a targeted customer who would use the coupon. For example, a benefit may include a rebate or other monetary benefit, gratuity, thank-you gift or other non-monetary benefit, benefits in an affiliated account (e.g., double points on a credit card or loyalty card), etc., as determined by the business. As a counter-example, an interest rate offer is not likely to be relevant to a restaurant-based business or to the targeted customer of a restaurant. The coupon template, before customization by a user, does not necessarily define a layout of how the business-related boundaries of the benefit will be graphical presented to a user or recipient. The coupon template may be customized to a geographic location or other characteristic (e.g., a demographic) of the requesting user when a coupon template is selected by the requesting user. The coupon template may then be customized by a user (e.g., by adding or modifying a user-supplied photo, adding or modifying a stock system-supplied photo, adding or modifying a user-supplied message to the intended recipient, adding or modifying a user-supplied audio signal, adding or modifying an artistic graphic element (e.g., free-form finger drawing, hearts, smiley face, emoticon, etc.) and so forth) to generate a Photopon location-based coupon, and sending the Photopon location-based coupon to an intended recipient. An audio signal may include a voice recording, music, tones, ringtones, beeps, etc. Such customization may allow a user to create a coupon that is more realistic (e.g., uses real photos rather than a doctored composite photo such as one person's head on a different person's body), and is likely to lead to a higher response rate from a recipient. A more realistic photo is more likely to focus a recipient user's attention on the business offer rather than on flaws in the photo. [0081 - user requests a location-based coupon and shares it with a first recipient user, and if the first recipient user further shares it with a second recipient user…] As used herein "degrees" may refer to the number of relationships that exist between entities. For example, if a requesting user requests a location-based coupon and shares it with a first recipient user, and if the first recipient user further shares it with a second recipient user (who otherwise may be unknown to or unconnected to the requesting user), then it may be said that the second recipient user and the requesting user are separated by one degree. A similar idea may be known colloquially in other contexts as "Degrees of Bacon." "Degree" is used by embodiments as a weight to help determine a user clout score and thereby help derive a requesting user's influential value to businesses providing location-based coupon templates and tracking rewards and loyalty rewards for that requesting user.); transmitting the second notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the third coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0075 - Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user] Employees of the business may have access to a compatible scanner in order to mark a location-based coupon as having been used, and to automatically update a requesting user's reward balance, clout status or the like, and update a status of the promotion provided to the business. Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user. [0100 - Relevant actions may include … redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server…] Next, process 500 transitions to step 507, at which the recipient user takes some relevant action based upon the photo coupon. Relevant actions may include viewing the photo coupon, clicking on the photo coupon for more information, adding an event described by the photo coupon to a calendar, redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server 144. The notification may include the tracking ID.); determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0081 - location-based coupon and shares it with a first recipient user, and if the first recipient user further shares it with a second recipient user (who otherwise may be unknown to or unconnected to the requesting user), then it may be said that the second recipient user and the requesting user are separated by one degree] As used herein "degrees" may refer to the number of relationships that exist between entities. For example, if a requesting user requests a location-based coupon and shares it with a first recipient user, and if the first recipient user further shares it with a second recipient user (who otherwise may be unknown to or unconnected to the requesting user), then it may be said that the second recipient user and the requesting user are separated by one degree. A similar idea may be known colloquially in other contexts as "Degrees of Bacon." "Degree" is used by embodiments as a weight to help determine a user clout score and thereby help derive a requesting user's influential value to businesses providing location-based coupon templates and tracking rewards and loyalty rewards for that requesting user.); generating, in response to determining that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer; a third notification (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0075 - Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user] Employees of the business may have access to a compatible scanner in order to mark a location-based coupon as having been used, and to automatically update a requesting user's reward balance, clout status or the like, and update a status of the promotion provided to the business. Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user. [0100 - Relevant actions may include … redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server…] Next, process 500 transitions to step 507, at which the recipient user takes some relevant action based upon the photo coupon. Relevant actions may include viewing the photo coupon, clicking on the photo coupon for more information, adding an event described by the photo coupon to a calendar, redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server 144. The notification may include the tracking ID.) indicative that a user unknown to the second coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the second coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0081 - location-based coupon and shares it with a first recipient user, and if the first recipient user further shares it with a second recipient user (who otherwise may be unknown to or unconnected to the requesting user), then it may be said that the second recipient user and the requesting user are separated by one degree] As used herein "degrees" may refer to the number of relationships that exist between entities. For example, if a requesting user requests a location-based coupon and shares it with a first recipient user, and if the first recipient user further shares it with a second recipient user (who otherwise may be unknown to or unconnected to the requesting user), then it may be said that the second recipient user and the requesting user are separated by one degree. A similar idea may be known colloquially in other contexts as "Degrees of Bacon." "Degree" is used by embodiments as a weight to help determine a user clout score and thereby help derive a requesting user's influential value to businesses providing location-based coupon templates and tracking rewards and loyalty rewards for that requesting user.); and transmitting the third notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the second coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0075 - Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user] Employees of the business may have access to a compatible scanner in order to mark a location-based coupon as having been used, and to automatically update a requesting user's reward balance, clout status or the like, and update a status of the promotion provided to the business. Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user. [0100 - Relevant actions may include … redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server…] Next, process 500 transitions to step 507, at which the recipient user takes some relevant action based upon the photo coupon. Relevant actions may include viewing the photo coupon, clicking on the photo coupon for more information, adding an event described by the photo coupon to a calendar, redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server 144. The notification may include the tracking ID.).
McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 may not expressly disclose the “traded or trading” coupon(s) features, however, O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169 teaches these features (O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169 [0047 – registration and redemption of coupons… Redemption of a coupon will include, but is not limited to, exchanging, turning in, trading, converting, cashing, using, or otherwise redeeming a coupon…] For purposes of explanation, but not limitation, of the present invention, registration of a coupon will include, but is not limited to, completion of a survey, form, web site page, notice, etc. by a recipient of a coupon indicating that the recipient has received the coupon. A recipient of a coupon may register a coupon on-line, such as by visiting a World Wide Web site or page, communicating with a coupon offer issuer server via email, etc., or off-line, such as by physically registering the coupon in a store, mailing in a registration form, etc. Redemption of a coupon will include, but is not limited to, exchanging, turning in, trading, converting, cashing, using, or otherwise redeeming a coupon to receive, select, spend, or otherwise obtain the coupon's associated benefit, typically as part of an exchange or transaction for receiving a service, product, prize, discount, rebate, etc. or other item or value. Like registration of a coupon, redemption of a coupon can occur in an on-line manner, in a store, etc. In some embodiments, a coupon may be redeemed more than once by a recipient of the coupon.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 to include the features as taught by O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for trading and tracking digitized coupons which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue (i.e., advertisement optimization / improve user experience).
19/068,736 – Claim 11. McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 further teaches A system, comprising: a memory storing machine readable instructions and a database (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0018 - term "computer-readable medium" as used herein refers to any tangible storage and/or transmission medium that participate in storing and/or providing instructions to a processor for execution] The term "computer-readable medium" as used herein refers to any tangible storage and/or transmission medium that participate in storing and/or providing instructions to a processor for execution. Such a medium may take many forms, including but not limited to, non-volatile media, volatile media, and transmission media. Non-volatile media includes, for example, NVRAM, or magnetic or optical disks. Volatile media includes dynamic memory, such as main memory. Common forms of computer-readable media include, for example, a floppy disk, a flexible disk, hard disk, magnetic tape, or any other magnetic medium, magneto-optical medium, a CD-ROM, any other optical medium, punch cards, paper tape, any other physical medium with patterns of holes, RAM, PROM, EPROM, FLASH-EPROM, solid state medium like a memory card, any other memory chip or cartridge, a carrier wave as described hereinafter, or any other medium from which a computer can read. [0019 - computer-readable media is configured as a database] A media data object file attachment to e-mail or other self-contained information archive or set of archives is considered a distribution medium equivalent to a tangible storage medium. When the computer-readable media is configured as a database, it is to be understood the database may be any type of database, such as hierarchical, object-oriented, and/or the like. Accordingly, the disclosure is considered to include a tangible storage medium or distribution medium and prior art-recognized equivalents and successor media, in which the software implementations of the present disclosure are stored.), the database including information associated with (i) a plurality of coupons (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0031; 0038; 0089; Fig. 1:162 database]), (ii) a plurality of unique identifiers, each of the plurality of unique identifiers being associated with a corresponding one of a plurality of known consumers (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0041 - a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID…] When a requesting user selects a coupon template and shares a location-based coupon, embodiments may generate a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID for visual promotion and tracking in a coupon template-based system. [0045 - unique IDs of other users][0068 - combination of unique device ID of the user and user ID…]); and a control system including one or more processors, the control system being configured to execute the machine readable instructions to perform operations (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0039; Fig. 2]) including: …
19/068,736 – Claim 11. A system, comprising: a memory storing machine readable instructions and a database, the database including information associated with (i) a plurality of coupons, (ii) a plurality of unique identifiers, each of the plurality of unique identifiers being associated with a corresponding one of a plurality of known consumers; and a control system including one or more processors, the control system being configured to execute the machine readable instructions to perform operations including: providing a coupon trading platform operating on one or more cloud servers; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, first coupon information for a first coupon of the plurality of coupons, the first coupon information indicative of a unique first coupon identifier and a first coupon issuer, wherein a first user is known to the first coupon issuer, and wherein the first coupon identifier is transmittable to the first user; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, an indication that the first coupon has been redeemed; generating, in response to receiving the indication that the first coupon has been redeemed, a first notification indicative that the first user has become a customer; transmitting the first notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the first coupon issuer; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second coupon information for a second coupon of the plurality of coupons, the second coupon information indicative of a unique second coupon identifier and a second coupon issuer, wherein a second user is known to the second coupon issuer, and wherein the second coupon identifier is transmittable to the second user; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, second registration information indicative of the second user registering the second coupon identifier; receiving, on the coupon trading platform, third coupon information for a third coupon of the plurality of coupons, the third coupon information indicative of a unique third coupon identifier and a third coupon issuer that is different from the second coupon issuer, wherein a third user is known to the third coupon issuer, and wherein the third coupon identifier is transmittable to the third user; receiving, on the computing trading platform, a trade confirmation associated with the second coupon identifier and the third coupon identifier, determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer; generating, in response to determining that the second user is known to the third coupon issuer; a second notification indicative that a user known to the third coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the third coupon issuer; transmitting the second notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the third coupon issuer; determining, in response to receiving the trade confirmation, that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer; generating, in response to determining that the third user is unknown to the second coupon issuer; a third notification indicative that a user unknown to the second coupon issuer has traded for a coupon associated with the second coupon issuer; and transmitting the third notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the second coupon issuer.
The remaining features of Claim 11, have similar limitations as of Claim 1, and are therefore REJECTED under the same rationale as Claim 1.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183; in view of O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169.
19/068,736 – Claim 2. McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 further teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: updating, in response to receiving the trade confirmation after receiving the second registration information, a second user preference score based at least in part on the third coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0035 - a user may have a first set of preferences for …, a second set of preferences for …, and a third set of preferences …] Moreover, the application sequence can vary based on the media type(s) that are being used in the communication session. For instance, a user may have a first set of preferences for photographic data communications, a second set of preferences for video-based communications, and a third set of preferences for text-based or audio-based communications. Additionally, a user may have preferences defining preferred media types and rules for converting communication sessions from one media type to another different media type. Still further, a user may have preferences defining the manner in which multi-media communications are established and conducted.); and updating, in response to receiving the trade confirmation after receiving the second registration information, a third user preference score based at least in part on the second coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0035 - a user may have a first set of preferences for …, a second set of preferences for …, and a third set of preferences …] Moreover, the application sequence can vary based on the media type(s) that are being used in the communication session. For instance, a user may have a first set of preferences for photographic data communications, a second set of preferences for video-based communications, and a third set of preferences for text-based or audio-based communications. Additionally, a user may have preferences defining preferred media types and rules for converting communication sessions from one media type to another different media type. Still further, a user may have preferences defining the manner in which multi-media communications are established and conducted.).
McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 may not expressly disclose the “traded or trading” coupon(s) features, however, O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169 teaches these features (O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169 [0047 – registration and redemption of coupons… Redemption of a coupon will include, but is not limited to, exchanging, turning in, trading, converting, cashing, using, or otherwise redeeming a coupon…] For purposes of explanation, but not limitation, of the present invention, registration of a coupon will include, but is not limited to, completion of a survey, form, web site page, notice, etc. by a recipient of a coupon indicating that the recipient has received the coupon. A recipient of a coupon may register a coupon on-line, such as by visiting a World Wide Web site or page, communicating with a coupon offer issuer server via email, etc., or off-line, such as by physically registering the coupon in a store, mailing in a registration form, etc. Redemption of a coupon will include, but is not limited to, exchanging, turning in, trading, converting, cashing, using, or otherwise redeeming a coupon to receive, select, spend, or otherwise obtain the coupon's associated benefit, typically as part of an exchange or transaction for receiving a service, product, prize, discount, rebate, etc. or other item or value. Like registration of a coupon, redemption of a coupon can occur in an on-line manner, in a store, etc. In some embodiments, a coupon may be redeemed more than once by a recipient of the coupon.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 to include the features as taught by O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for trading and tracking digitized coupons which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue (i.e., advertisement optimization / improve user experience).
19/068,736 – Claim 12. The system of claim 11, further comprising: updating, in response to receiving the trade confirmation after receiving the second registration information, a second user preference score based at least in part on the third coupon issuer; and updating, in response to receiving the trade confirmation after receiving the second registration information, a third user preference score based at least in part on the second coupon issuer.
Claim 12, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 2, therefore it is REJECTED under the same rationale as Claim(s) 2.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183; in view of O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169; in further view of Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101.
19/068,736 – Claim 3. McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 further teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, on the coupon trading platform, fourth coupon information for a fourth coupon, wherein the fourth coupon information is indicative of a unique fourth coupon identifier (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0041 - generate a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID for visual promotion and tracking in a coupon template-based system] When a requesting user selects a coupon template and shares a location-based coupon, embodiments may generate a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID for visual promotion and tracking in a coupon template-based system.), a fourth coupon issuer, and a fourth coupon value (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0040 - providing a coupon template that defines the business-related boundaries of a benefit offered by the business, e.g., an allowable percentage discount, what items the discount applies to, expiration or blackout dates, amount of rebate or loyalty points, and so forth] Enabling a sharable benefit by the business may include providing a coupon template that defines the business-related boundaries of a benefit offered by the business, e.g., an allowable percentage discount, what items the discount applies to, expiration or blackout dates, amount of rebate or loyalty points, and so forth. The benefit is a benefit that would be relevant to a customer, and in particular to a targeted customer who would use the coupon. For example, a benefit may include a rebate or other monetary benefit, gratuity, thank-you gift or other non-monetary benefit, benefits in an affiliated account (e.g., double points on a credit card or loyalty card), etc., as determined by the business. As a counter-example, an interest rate offer is not likely to be relevant to a restaurant-based business or to the targeted customer of a restaurant. The coupon template, before customization by a user, does not necessarily define a layout of how the business-related boundaries of the benefit will be graphical presented to a user or recipient. The coupon template may be customized to a geographic location or other characteristic (e.g., a demographic) of the requesting user when a coupon template is selected by the requesting user. The coupon template may then be customized by a user (e.g., by adding or modifying a user-supplied photo, adding or modifying a stock system-supplied photo, adding or modifying a user-supplied message to the intended recipient, adding or modifying a user-supplied audio signal, adding or modifying an artistic graphic element (e.g., free-form finger drawing, hearts, smiley face, emoticon, etc.) and so forth) to generate a Photopon location-based coupon, and sending the Photopon location-based coupon to an intended recipient. An audio signal may include a voice recording, music, tones, ringtones, beeps, etc. Such customization may allow a user to create a coupon that is more realistic (e.g., uses real photos rather than a doctored composite photo such as one person's head on a different person's body), and is likely to lead to a higher response rate from a recipient. A more realistic photo is more likely to focus a recipient user's attention on the business offer rather than on flaws in the photo.); receiving a request to divide the fourth coupon; dividing the fourth coupon in response to receiving the request to divide the fourth coupon, wherein dividing the fourth coupon results in a plurality of child coupons derived from splitting the fourth coupon, wherein each of the plurality of child coupons has a respective unique child coupon identifier and a respective child coupon value (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0041 - generate a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID for visual promotion and tracking in a coupon template-based system] When a requesting user selects a coupon template and shares a location-based coupon, embodiments may generate a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID for visual promotion and tracking in a coupon template-based system.); and wherein the sum of the respective child coupon values for the plurality of child coupons equals or is less than the fourth coupon value; generating, in response to dividing the fourth coupon, a division notification indicative that the fourth coupon has been divided into the plurality of child coupons; and transmitting the division notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the fourth coupon issuer (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0075 - Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user] Employees of the business may have access to a compatible scanner in order to mark a location-based coupon as having been used, and to automatically update a requesting user's reward balance, clout status or the like, and update a status of the promotion provided to the business. Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user. [0100 - Relevant actions may include … redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server…] Next, process 500 transitions to step 507, at which the recipient user takes some relevant action based upon the photo coupon. Relevant actions may include viewing the photo coupon, clicking on the photo coupon for more information, adding an event described by the photo coupon to a calendar, redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server 144. The notification may include the tracking ID.).
McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 may not expressly disclose the “dividing, splitting, and child coupon” features, however, Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101 teaches these features (Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101 [0033 - dividing the credit voucher into multiple child credit vouchers] Optionally, the system further comprises a credit voucher splitter module for dividing the credit voucher into multiple child credit vouchers, such that the sum of the face value of all child credit vouchers is equal to the face value of the credit voucher. [0141 - divided up into multiple child credit vouchers] Optionally, at 211A, the credit voucher of the seller may be divided up into multiple child credit vouchers, where the sum of the face value of all child credit vouchers is equal to the face value of the original credit voucher. Each child credit voucher may be sold to a different buyer. Each child may have a different face-value. [0142 - Splitting of the credit voucher may be performed] Splitting of the credit voucher may be performed, for example, by a credit voucher splitting module 312G stored on server 302, which may request from the respective associated merchant 316 to re-issue the credit voucher as multiple child vouchers. The original parent voucher may be cancelled. [0143 - credit voucher may be split, when the face value of the credit voucher…] The credit voucher may be split, when the face value of the credit voucher is high, for example, above a predefined threshold that is based, for example, on the demand for credit vouchers according to face value. High valued vouchers may take longer to sell, and/or may require larger discounts for a buyer to purchase them. High valued vouchers may have a smaller market, as consumers typically may not spend large sums in a single transaction and/or at a single store. The high valued voucher may require redemption in a single transaction by the redeeming merchant. Multiple vouchers with lower and/or moderate values obtained from a split high value voucher may each sell quicker than the parent and/or be sold with a lower relative discount than the parent.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 to include the features as taught by Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for trading and tracking digitized coupons which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue (i.e., advertisement optimization / improve user experience).
19/068,736 – Claim 13. The system of claim 11, further comprising: receiving, on the coupon trading platform, fourth coupon information for a fourth coupon of the plurality of coupons, wherein the fourth coupon information is indicative of a unique fourth coupon identifier, a fourth coupon issuer, and a fourth coupon value; receiving a request to divide the fourth coupon; dividing the fourth coupon in response to receiving the request to divide the fourth coupon, wherein dividing the fourth coupon results in a plurality of child coupons derived from splitting the fourth coupon, wherein each of the plurality of child coupons has a respective unique child coupon identifier and a respective child coupon value; and wherein the sum of the respective child coupon values for the plurality of child coupons equals or is less than the fourth coupon value; generating, in response to dividing the fourth coupon, a division notification indicative that the fourth coupon has been divided into the plurality of child coupons; and transmitting the division notification via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the fourth coupon issuer.
Claim 13, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 3, therefore it is REJECTED under the same rationale as Claim(s) 3.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183; in view of O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169; in further view of Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101.
19/068,736 – Claim 4. McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 further teaches The method of claim 3, wherein dividing the fourth coupon includes: determining that coupon dividing is permitted for the fourth coupon based at least in part on the unique fourth coupon identifier; generating the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the request to divide the fourth coupon; and rendering the fourth coupon unredeemable (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0043] In some embodiments, a requesting user may earn a base predetermined reward level or other benefit simply from creating a custom relevant location-based coupon as a gift to a recipient user, even if the recipient user does not redeem the location-based coupon. The base predetermined reward level rewards the requesting user for the effort of creating a relevant photo, review and/or explanation of the good or service that the requesting user is enjoying in person. A recipient user may treat the location-based coupon with a relatively higher level of trust compared to mass marketing because the location-based coupon may be interpreted as a form of social proof--the location-based coupon is a first-hand testimonial description from a trusted person together with a visual artifact (i.e., a photo) to accompany it. Such interpretations make a recipient user to be far more likely to redeem the location-based coupon, and thereby convert the recipient user to a future longtime customer. In contrast to conventional mass marketing in which businesses may try to collect personal information impersonally in order to find receptive consumers, embodiments in accordance with the present disclosure allow personal information to stay private while still targeting offers to receptive consumers.).
McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 may not expressly disclose the “dividing and child coupon” features, however, Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101 teaches these features (Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101 [0033 - dividing the credit voucher into multiple child credit vouchers] Optionally, the system further comprises a credit voucher splitter module for dividing the credit voucher into multiple child credit vouchers, such that the sum of the face value of all child credit vouchers is equal to the face value of the credit voucher. [0141 - divided up into multiple child credit vouchers] Optionally, at 211A, the credit voucher of the seller may be divided up into multiple child credit vouchers, where the sum of the face value of all child credit vouchers is equal to the face value of the original credit voucher. Each child credit voucher may be sold to a different buyer. Each child may have a different face-value. [0142 - Splitting of the credit voucher may be performed] Splitting of the credit voucher may be performed, for example, by a credit voucher splitting module 312G stored on server 302, which may request from the respective associated merchant 316 to re-issue the credit voucher as multiple child vouchers. The original parent voucher may be cancelled. [0143 - credit voucher may be split, when the face value of the credit voucher…] The credit voucher may be split, when the face value of the credit voucher is high, for example, above a predefined threshold that is based, for example, on the demand for credit vouchers according to face value. High valued vouchers may take longer to sell, and/or may require larger discounts for a buyer to purchase them. High valued vouchers may have a smaller market, as consumers typically may not spend large sums in a single transaction and/or at a single store. The high valued voucher may require redemption in a single transaction by the redeeming merchant. Multiple vouchers with lower and/or moderate values obtained from a split high value voucher may each sell quicker than the parent and/or be sold with a lower relative discount than the parent.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 to include the features as taught by Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for trading and tracking digitized coupons which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue (i.e., advertisement optimization / improve user experience).
19/068,736 – Claim 14. The system of claim 13, wherein dividing the fourth coupon includes: determining that coupon dividing is permitted for the fourth coupon based at least in part on the unique fourth coupon identifier; generating the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the request to divide the fourth coupon; and rendering the fourth coupon unredeemable.
Claim 14, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 4, therefore it is REJECTED under the same rationale as Claim(s) 4.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183; in view of O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169; in further view of Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101.
19/068,736 – Claim 5. McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 further teaches The method of claim 3, wherein each of the respective child coupon values of the plurality of child coupons are equal (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0043] In some embodiments, a requesting user may earn a base predetermined reward level or other benefit simply from creating a custom relevant location-based coupon as a gift to a recipient user, even if the recipient user does not redeem the location-based coupon. The base predetermined reward level rewards the requesting user for the effort of creating a relevant photo, review and/or explanation of the good or service that the requesting user is enjoying in person. A recipient user may treat the location-based coupon with a relatively higher level of trust compared to mass marketing because the location-based coupon may be interpreted as a form of social proof--the location-based coupon is a first-hand testimonial description from a trusted person together with a visual artifact (i.e., a photo) to accompany it. Such interpretations make a recipient user to be far more likely to redeem the location-based coupon, and thereby convert the recipient user to a future longtime customer. In contrast to conventional mass marketing in which businesses may try to collect personal information impersonally in order to find receptive consumers, embodiments in accordance with the present disclosure allow personal information to stay private while still targeting offers to receptive consumers.).
McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 may not expressly disclose the “child coupon” features, however, Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101 teaches these features (Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101 [0033 - child credit vouchers is equal] Optionally, the system further comprises a credit voucher splitter module for dividing the credit voucher into multiple child credit vouchers, such that the sum of the face value of all child credit vouchers is equal to the face value of the credit voucher. [0141 - divided up into multiple child credit vouchers] Optionally, at 211A, the credit voucher of the seller may be divided up into multiple child credit vouchers, where the sum of the face value of all child credit vouchers is equal to the face value of the original credit voucher. Each child credit voucher may be sold to a different buyer. Each child may have a different face-value. [0142 - Splitting of the credit voucher may be performed] Splitting of the credit voucher may be performed, for example, by a credit voucher splitting module 312G stored on server 302, which may request from the respective associated merchant 316 to re-issue the credit voucher as multiple child vouchers. The original parent voucher may be cancelled. [0143 - credit voucher may be split, when the face value of the credit voucher…] The credit voucher may be split, when the face value of the credit voucher is high, for example, above a predefined threshold that is based, for example, on the demand for credit vouchers according to face value. High valued vouchers may take longer to sell, and/or may require larger discounts for a buyer to purchase them. High valued vouchers may have a smaller market, as consumers typically may not spend large sums in a single transaction and/or at a single store. The high valued voucher may require redemption in a single transaction by the redeeming merchant. Multiple vouchers with lower and/or moderate values obtained from a split high value voucher may each sell quicker than the parent and/or be sold with a lower relative discount than the parent.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 to include the features as taught by Zelkind et al. 2016/0155101. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for trading and tracking digitized coupons which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue (i.e., advertisement optimization / improve user experience).
19/068,736 – Claim 15. The system of claim 13, wherein each of the respective child coupon values of the plurality of child coupons are equal.
Claim 15, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 5, therefore it is REJECTED under the same rationale as Claim(s) 5.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183; in view of O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169; in further view of Le et al. 2019/0220886.
19/068,736 – Claim 9. McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 further teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a first market value associated with the first coupon based on i) a face value of the first coupon (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0004] A "Photopon location-based coupon" as used herein may refer to a location-based sharable benefit such as a discount, rebate, loyalty points, free item, etc., which may be enabled by a business (e.g., a business such as a restaurant or tavern, etc.), and which may be selected by a requesting user (e.g., a user or a customer of the business), who may also be referred to herein as a requesting user, and delivered to a recipient user (e.g., a person within a social circle of the requesting user). The locations of the business and the requesting user, either absolutely or relative to each other, may determine a selection of available location-based coupons. The location of the recipient user (either absolutely or relative to the business or the requesting user) may determine whether a location-based coupon may be delivered to the recipient user.); ii) a number of times the first coupon has been traded (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0045] In some embodiments, each time a requesting user shares a location-based coupon, the corresponding coupon template is updated with the additional photos and unique IDs of other users who have also shared the same coupon template as their own personalized location-based coupon. Coupons may be personalized for design content (e.g., photograph, written message, layout, etc.) within any boundaries set by the retailer regarding business-related boundaries of the offer (e.g., percentage discount, items included in or excluded from the offer, blackout days, etc.). Personalized coupons are more likely to be noticed by a recipient and redeemed. This helps provide deep customer intent and loyalty tracking. Deep customer impact in this context means at least a clearer, deeper and/or more insightful picture or analysis of customer intent, i.e., what the customer may be looking to purchase versus what is available to the customer or what the customer actually settles for purchase if what they are looking for is not available.); iii) a face value of each coupon traded for the first coupon (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0101] Next, process 500 transitions to step 509, at which server receives the notification that the recipient user performed a relevant action. Server 144 may associate the tracking ID in the notification with the requesting user, and thereupon provide a benefit to the requesting user. The benefit may be in a monetary form (e.g., a commission), non-monetary form (e.g., an increased clout score), or a form that may combine both monetary and non-monetary aspects (e.g., discount on a future purchase, free appetizer, etc.). The amount of benefit may depend upon the specific relevant action taken by the recipient user. A more valuable relevant action (e.g., making a purchase) may accrue greater benefit than a less valuable relevant action (e.g., viewing an offer). The requesting user may accrue multiple benefits if the recipient user performs multiple relevant actions. Greater benefits or more flexible benefits may accrue to requesting users with greater clout. Clout may "age", such that older relevant actions provide less clout than more recent relevant actions of the same kind.); iv) a type of coupon traded for the first coupon (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0082] Degrees may become important when a requesting user creates a location-based coupon and sends it to a recipient user who further forwards the location-based coupon to a large number (e.g., more than ten) other recipient users to redeem the location-based coupon. This scenario may be problematic because there is no direct connection between the requesting user and the forwarded-to recipient users. Embodiments are able to track and allocate rewards to the requesting user and/or intermediate recipient users based upon redemptions by the forwarded-to recipient users. However, a reduced amount of clout may accrue to the requesting user because not all of the credit for the forwarded-to recipient users may be fairly attributed to the recipient user--at least some of the credit may be attributed to the intermediate recipient users. The amount of reduction may depend upon the degree of separation.); v) information associated with any consumer previously associated with the first coupon (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0038] Embodiments of the present invention may utilize the communication system of FIG. 1 to allow users to generate their own media coupon template data for free market distribution and financial gain through a separate interface. A marketing administrator or designer at one of external communication devices 112 may utilize the system of FIG. 1 to create a "digital postcard coupon template" to be stored in database 162, and that users/consumers can search for and combine with their own media data object file captured at a particular location, with a particular object (e.g., person or thing) or with a branded product/service. When that consumer uploads the digital postcard to his or her social media network(s), the information from the user may be synthesized with centrally accessed information about the business location, object, or product/service being endorsed and socially proven by the user who created the media data object file.); or vi) any combination of i-v; wherein the first notification is indicative of the first market value associated with the first coupon (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0075 - Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user] Employees of the business may have access to a compatible scanner in order to mark a location-based coupon as having been used, and to automatically update a requesting user's reward balance, clout status or the like, and update a status of the promotion provided to the business. Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user. [0100 - Relevant actions may include … redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server…] Next, process 500 transitions to step 507, at which the recipient user takes some relevant action based upon the photo coupon. Relevant actions may include viewing the photo coupon, clicking on the photo coupon for more information, adding an event described by the photo coupon to a calendar, redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server 144. The notification may include the tracking ID.).
McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 may not expressly disclose the “face value” features, however, Le et al. 2019/0220886 teaches these features (Le et al. 2019/0220886 [0021] Durable coupon tokens can be marketed and traded for in a number of different ways. For example, in a system similar to the distributed trading system utilized to trade Bitcoins, a system of security keys and digital wallets can be used to distribute and execute digital transfers of durable coupon tokens. For example, the redemption company can pay the coupon vendor a fee to create and market a thousand digital coupons with a selected face value for the coupons valid for redemption at the redemption company. The coupon vendor can advertise and execute transfers for each of the thousand coupons until they are gone. The coupons can be free to consumers but are frequently sold for a price to consumers. In some instances, some or all of the funds paid by consumers for the coupons can go back to the redemption company. In other instances, all of the funds paid by the consumers can be kept by the coupon vendor. The coupons can be marketed to consumers in any number of known ways, such as but not limited to email lists, advertisements on coupon offering websites, or through physical mailing advertisements. Such marketing can include directions for how to pay for and acquire access to the digital security key for the durable coupon token being sold. In other embodiments, the coupons can be made directly available upon coupon trading marketplaces. [0042] Exemplary transactions within the marketplace are provided as process steps 210, 212, 214, and 218. It will be appreciated that a particular durable coupon token can take any of process steps 210, 212, 214, and 218, may cycle through the process steps repeatedly, or may stay in the possession of a single owner for any amount of time. In step 210, a consumer purchases a durable coupon token from the marketplace, and the process advances to step 216. In step 212, a speculator purchases a durable coupon token from the marketplace, and the process advances to step 216. In step 214, another company purchases a durable coupon token from the marketplace, and the process advances to step 216. At step 216, a coupon owner may either trade the durable coupon token upon the market by returning to step 208 or redeem the durable coupon token for face value with the redemption company, ending process 200 for that particular coupon token at step 222.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 to include the features as taught by Le et al. 2019/0220886. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for trading and tracking digitized coupons which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue (i.e., advertisement optimization / improve user experience).
19/068,736 – Claim 19. The system of claim 11, further comprising: determining a first market value associated with the first coupon based on i) a face value of the first coupon; ii) a number of times the first coupon has been traded; iii) a face value of each coupon traded for the first coupon; iv) a type of coupon traded for the first coupon; v) information associated with any consumer previously associated with the first coupon; or vi) any combination of i-v; wherein the first notification is indicative of the first market value associated with the first coupon.
Claim 19, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 9, therefore it is REJECTED under the same rationale as Claim(s) 9.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183; in view of O’Shea et al. 2008/0052169; in further view of Jain et al. 2008/0313027.
19/068,736 – Claim 10. McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 further teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising determining a second market value associated with the second coupon based at least in part on the third coupon information (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0041 - generate a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID for visual promotion and tracking in a coupon template-based system] When a requesting user selects a coupon template and shares a location-based coupon, embodiments may generate a unique coupon code based on one or more of a selected coupon ID, a coupon template ID, and/or a user ID for visual promotion and tracking in a coupon template-based system.), wherein the second notification is indicative of the second market value associated with the second coupon (McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 [0075 - Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user] Employees of the business may have access to a compatible scanner in order to mark a location-based coupon as having been used, and to automatically update a requesting user's reward balance, clout status or the like, and update a status of the promotion provided to the business. Real-time notifications may be sent to inform the business and/or requesting user. [0100 - Relevant actions may include … redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server…] Next, process 500 transitions to step 507, at which the recipient user takes some relevant action based upon the photo coupon. Relevant actions may include viewing the photo coupon, clicking on the photo coupon for more information, adding an event described by the photo coupon to a calendar, redeeming the photo coupon, and so forth. Relevant actions may be defined by the requesting user or be predefined in server 144. When the recipient user performs a relevant action, a notification is communicated to server 144. The notification may include the tracking ID.).
McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 may not expressly disclose the “market value” features, however, Jain et al. 2008/0313027 teaches these features (Jain et al. 2008/0313027 [0022] Now turning to the figures, FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 that facilitates utilizing a coupon or a discount in an online auction environment in a uniform and/or fair manner. The system 100 can include a randomizer component 102 that can employ a randomizing technique in connection with an online auction environment 104 via an interface 106 (discussed in more detail below) in order to determine whether an auction winner is identified within a collection of bidders having coupons/discounts or a collection of bidders not having coupons/discounts. In general, the online auction environment 104 can ascertain a fair market value for any suitable good or service by receiving bids from consumers, wherein the online auction environment 104 can reflect each consumer's fair market evaluation or true market value of such good or service. However, conventional auctions fail to consider the use of coupons and/or discounts by auction participants (e.g., bidders) which can skew such fair market evaluations and/or true market values based on an unfair advantage to bidders with coupons and/or discounts giving lower prices and/or additional benefits. With the randomizer component 102 employing a randomizing technique to select a collection of bidders (e.g., either a collection of bidders having a coupon/discount or a collection of bidders not having a coupon/discount) that can be the potential auction winner (e.g., dependent upon if the bidder is within the selected collection and provides the highest bid amongst all collections), the use of coupons and/or discounts is placed on a level and fair playing field. In other words, the randomizer component 102 enables the online auction environment 104 to receive bids from a plurality of bidders (e.g., bidders with coupons, bidders without coupons, etc.) and selecting an auction winner in a fair and unbiased manner while maintaining the fair market value evaluation/determination.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified McEvilly et al. 2015/0106183 to include the features as taught by Jain et al. 2008/0313027. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for trading and tracking digitized coupons which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue (i.e., advertisement optimization / improve user experience).
19/068,736 – Claim 20. The system of claim 11, further comprising determining a second market value associated with the second coupon based at least in part on the third coupon information, wherein the second notification is indicative of the second market value associated with the second coupon.
Claim 20, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 10, therefore it is REJECTED under the same rationale as Claim(s) 10.
No Prior-art Rejection / Potentially Allowable
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 cannot be rejected with prior-art. Individual claimed features are taught in the prior-art, however, the unique combination of features and elements are not taught by the prior-art without hindsight reasoning. These claims are further rejected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but might possibly be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
19/068,736 – Claim 6. The method of claim 3, wherein dividing the fourth coupon includes: identifying a user associated with the fourth coupon based at least in part on the unique fourth coupon identifier; and registering each unique child coupon identifier of the plurality of child coupons to the user.
19/068,736 – Claim 7. The method of claim 3, further comprising: tracking usage of each of the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the respective unique child coupon identifier; generating a division summary, the division summary including information associated with the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the tracked usage of each of the plurality of child coupons; and transmitting the division summary via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the fourth coupon issuer.
19/068,736 – Claim 8. The method of claim 3, wherein a cumulative value of the plurality of child coupons equals the fourth coupon value less a division fee.
19/068,736 – Claim 16. The system of claim 13, wherein dividing the fourth coupon includes: identifying a user associated with the fourth coupon based at least in part on the unique fourth coupon identifier; and registering each unique child coupon identifier of the plurality of child coupons to the user.
19/068,736 – Claim 17. The system of claim 13, further comprising: tracking usage of each of the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the respective unique child coupon identifier; generating a division summary, the division summary including information associated with the plurality of child coupons based at least in part on the tracked usage of each of the plurality of child coupons; and transmitting the division summary via the coupon trading platform for receipt by the fourth coupon issuer.
19/068,736 – Claim 18. The system of claim 13, wherein a cumulative value of the plurality of child coupons equals the fourth coupon value less a division fee.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §101
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn. See notes above for additional reasoning and rationale for dropping 35 USC 101 rejection including Applicant’s amendments, arguments, lack of abstract idea, and practical integration.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Regarding Claims 1-15, on page(s) 6-12 of Applicant’s Remarks (dated 12/27/2016), Applicants traverse the 35 USC §101 rejections arguing the following:
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102 / § 103
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn. See notes above for additional reasoning and rationale for dropping prior-art rejection including Applicant’s amendments and arguments and unique combination of features and elements not taught by the prior-art without hindsight reasoning.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Regarding Claim X, on page(s) 8-9 of Applicant’s Remarks / After Final Amendments (dated 07/15/2011), Applicant(s) argues that the cited reference(s) (Ellis and Vandermolen) fails to teach, describe, or suggest the amended features. Specifically, Applicant(s) argues that cited reference(s) do not teach, describe, or suggest the following: . With respect, Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive and the amended feature(s) remain rejected as follows.
With respect, Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive and the amended feature(s) remain rejected as follows.
Conclusion
PERTINENT PRIOR ART – Patent Literature
The prior-art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. 2014/0207557 [0089 - second user registers a Baskin Robbins coupon having a value of]
Thomas 2016/0055322 [0085 - the information is financial-related information, such as account information, voucher information, coupons, gift certificates, and other benefits and entitlements, and payment authorization]
HSU et al. 2008/0097844 [0062 - the messaging hub may transmit a user identifier for the user with a coupon identifier for the redeemed coupon to the application server]
Cervenka et al. 2011/0047019 [0051 - sponsor's issuer may automatically deactivate the sponsor's account(s) for a Globally Unique IDentifier (GUID) that is associated with that particular coupon]
Heath 2013/0073389 [0031 - allows Social Shoppers to interact and share the latest ad links, promotions, online coupons, mobile services, Sports related Products, Goods, Gambling and/or Services with their friends, acquaintances, strangers, family, business associates, and others]
Wills 2005/0222910 [0040 - electronic coupon data is provided, by a coupon distributor 16 or coupon issuer]
Abhyanker 2008/0221984 [0099 - sharing coupons with other parties in the social network]
Myman et al. 2012/0215618 [0063 - consumers who are interested in Coupons are often a member of a social string of people who share a common interest and actively share information related to that interest, for instance via e-mail or on social networks such as Facebook]
Tarailo et al. 2015/0193806 [Abstract - redeemable reward coupon in exchange for providing feedback via a known platform that provides short and easy-to-take surveys combined with virtually tradable rewards via a group of mutually connected social contacts]
Ayeni 2009/0055436 [0030 - trade, barter or exchange these coupons and other metadata with other consumers who have presence on the intermediary]
Akbarpour Mashadi et al. 2017/0148046 [0034 - exchange platform via a trusted social network where members of a group can deposit, share, and/or trade their value elements (coupons, gift cards, loyalty points, and other promotional items)]
PERTINENT PRIOR ART – Non-Patent Literature (NPL)
The NPL prior-art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant’s amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection and FINAL Rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MATTHEW T SITTNER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629b