DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 08/06/2026. As directed by the amendment- claims 1 and 2 are amended. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims, Specification, and Drawings have overcome each and every objection and rejection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 06/03/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 08/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of JPS4912421.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/06/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The amendment to the specification was received on 08/06/2026 and is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPS4912421.
Annotated Figure 4 from JPS4912421.
Regarding claim 1, JPS4912421 discloses:
A valve comprising:
an adaptor 8 (see translation paragraph 0003)
a first port 2 (see translation paragraph 0003)
a second port 3 (see translation paragraph 0003)
a fluid path (4) extending between the first port (2) and the second port 3 (see translation paragraph 0003)
a plunger (9) situated in the fluid path between the first port (2) and the second port (3), the plunger (9) selectively and linearly movable between a closed position blocking the fluid path (4) and an open position (see translation paragraph 0003)
a valve seat assembly (5, 6) in the fluid path 4 (see translation paragraph 0003)
the valve seat assembly (5, 6) comprising:
a gasket (6) and a frame (5) having a seat 5 (see translation paragraph 0003)
wherein the gasket (6) is separate from the adaptor (8) and the seat (5) and is in contact with both interposed between the adaptor (8) and the seat 5 (see Figure 4)
wherein the adaptor (8) has a first aperture having a first diameter and wherein the gasket (6) has a second aperture having a second diameter (see Figure 4)
wherein the first diameter is larger than the second diameter (see Figure 4)
wherein in the open position the plunger (9) is detached from the gasket (6) to enable a flow of a fluid through the second aperture and along the fluid path 4 (see Figure 3; see translation paragraph 0003)
wherein in the closed position the plunger (9) abuts the gasket (6) to prevent the flow of the fluid through the second aperture and along the fluid path 4 (see translation paragraph 0003; see Figure 4)
wherein the seat (5) comprises a seat surface
wherein a protrusion (see annotated figure above) projects from the seat surface and imbeds itself into the gasket 6 (see translation paragraph 0003; see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 2, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein the protrusion (see annotated figure above) comprises at least one of: an edge, an annular edge, a circular edge, a rim, an annular rim, and a circular rim (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 4, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein the protrusion (see annotated figure above) is formed in the surface of the seat 5 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 6, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein: a first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) and a first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (6) are each substantially perpendicular to an axis defined by linear movement of the plunger 9 (see Figure 4)
the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) abuts the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket 6 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 7, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein: the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) is flat (see Figure 4)
wherein the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (6) is flat (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 8, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) is substantially parallel to the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket 6
Regarding claim 9, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein: a second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) is different from the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat 5
a second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (6) is different from the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket 6
the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) and the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (6) are each substantially perpendicular to the axis (see Figure 4)
the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) abuts the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket 6 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 10, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein: the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) is flat (see Figure 4)
wherein the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (6) is flat (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 11, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) is substantially parallel to the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket 6 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 12, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein the protrusion (see annotated figure above) is interposed between the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) and the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat 5 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 13, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein the protrusion (see annotated figure above) and the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) and the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) have rotational symmetry about the axis (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 14, JPS4912421 discloses:
wherein the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) and the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (6) and the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (5) and the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (6) are substantially parallel to one another
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS4912421 in view of Aoyama (U.S. 2012/0097881).
Regarding claim 3, JPS4912421 discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein the protrusion projects at least 0.2 millimetres from the surface of the seat.
Aoyama teaches a valve seat assembly wherein a protrusion projects at least 0.2 millimetres from a surface of a seat (see paragraph 0077).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein the protrusion projects at least 0.2 millimetres from the surface of the seat, as taught by Aoyama, because Applicant has not disclosed that having wherein the protrusion projects at least 0.2 millimetres from the surface of the seat, provides an advantage, is used for any particular purpose, or solves any stated problem, beyond increasing retention, which would happen at any given projection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified JPS4912421 to provide wherein the protrusion projects at least 0.2 millimetres from the surface of the seat, as taught by Aoyama, because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS4912421 in view of Fujita et al. (U.S. 2016/0115845).
Regarding claim 5, JPS4912421 discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein: the protrusion comprises an end pointing toward the gasket; the protrusion tapers toward the end at an obtuse angle; and the obtuse angle is between 105 and 150 degrees.
Fujita teaches a sealing interface wherein: a protrusion (303) comprises an end pointing toward a gasket 109 (see Figure 9); the protrusion (303) tapers toward the end at an obtuse angle (see Figure 9); and the obtuse angle is between 105 and 150 degrees (see Figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified JPS4912421to provide wherein: the protrusion comprises an end pointing toward the gasket; the protrusion tapers toward the end at an obtuse angle; and the obtuse angle is between 105 and 150 degrees, as taught by Fujita. Doing so would further attach the protrusion into the gasket.
Regarding claim 15, JPS4912421 discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein: a second protrusion projects from the seat surface and imbeds itself into the gasket; and the second protrusion is different from the protrusion.
Fujita teaches a sealing interface wherein: a second protrusion (32) projects from a seat surface and imbeds itself into a gasket 9 (see paragraph 0051; see Figures 3 and 4); and the second protrusion (32) is different from a protrusion 31 (see Figures 3 and 4; see paragraph 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified JPS4912421 to provide wherein: a second protrusion projects from the seat surface and imbeds itself into the gasket; and the second protrusion is different from the protrusion, as taught by Fujita. Doing so would provide further adhesion between the gasket and valve seat.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753