DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because as stated in MPEP 608.02Vm, shading is only allowed when it aids in the understanding of the invention. The figures appear to be completely and darkly shaded, which makes the drawings unclear. Cross-hatching should be used in cross-sectional views.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the adaptor is listed as 14a-14e, however, only 14a and 14b are shown in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “the first protrusion” is unclear and indefinite. Claim 2 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 states “a protrusion”, not multiple protrusion, so it is therefore unclear and indefinite if the first protrusion from claim 2 is the same protrusion from claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as the same protrusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoyama (U.S. 2012/0097881).
Annotated Figure 4 from Aoyama.
Regarding claim 1, Aoyama discloses:
A valve (1) comprising:
an adaptor 71 (see paragraph 0059)
a first port 41 (see paragraph 0060)
a second port 42 (see paragraph 0060)
a fluid path extending between the first port (41) and the second port 42 (see Figure 1)
a plunger (60, 65, 66) situated in the fluid path between the first port (41) and the second port (42), the plunger (60, 65, 66) selectively and linearly movable between a closed position blocking the fluid path and an open position (see paragraph 0067)
a valve seat assembly (40, 43, 44, 51, 52) in the fluid path, the valve seat assembly (40, 43, 44, 51, 52) comprising: (see paragraphs 0059-0062)
a gasket (51, 52) and a frame (40) having a seat 43, 44 (see paragraphs 0059-0062; see Figures 1 and 4)
wherein the gasket (51, 52) is separate from the adaptor (71) and the seat (43, 44) and is interposed between the adaptor (71) and the seat 43, 44 (see Figure 1)
wherein the adaptor (71) has a first aperture having a first diameter and wherein the gasket (51, 52) has a second aperture having a second diameter (see Figure 1)
wherein the first diameter is larger than the second diameter (see Figure 1)
wherein in the open position the plunger (60, 65, 66) is detached from the gasket (51, 52) to enable a flow of a fluid through the second aperture and along the fluid path
wherein in the closed position the plunger (60, 65, 66) abuts the gasket (51, 52) to prevent the flow of the fluid through the second aperture and along the fluid path
wherein the seat (43, 44) comprises a seat surface (see Figure 4)
wherein a protrusion (44) projects from the seat surface and imbeds itself into the gasket 51, 52 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 2, Aoyama discloses:
wherein the protrusion (44) comprises at least one of: an edge, an annular edge, a circular edge, a rim, an annular rim, and a circular rim (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 3, Aoyama discloses:
wherein the protrusion (44) projects at least 0.2 millimetres from the surface of the seat 43, 44 (see paragraph 0077)
Regarding claim 4, Aoyama discloses:
wherein the protrusion (44) is formed in the surface of the seat 43, 44 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 6, Aoyama discloses:
wherein: a first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) and a first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (51, 52) are each substantially perpendicular to an axis defined by linear movement of the plunger 60, 65, 66 (see Figure 4)
the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) abuts the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket 51, 52 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 7, Aoyama discloses:
wherein: the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) is flat (see Figure 4)
wherein the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (51, 52) is flat (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 8, Aoyama discloses:
wherein the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) is substantially parallel to the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket 51, 52 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 9, Aoyama discloses:
wherein: a second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) is different from the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat 43, 44 (see Figure 4)
a second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (51, 52) is different from the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket 51, 52 (see Figure 4)
the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) and the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (51, 52) are each substantially perpendicular to the axis (see Figure 4)
the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) abuts the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket 51, 52 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 10, Aoyama discloses:
wherein: the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) is flat (see Figure 4)
wherein the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (51, 52) is flat (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 11, Aoyama discloses:
wherein the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) is substantially parallel to the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket 51, 52 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 12, Aoyama discloses:
wherein the protrusion (44) is interposed between the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) and the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat 43, 44 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 13, Aoyama discloses:
wherein the protrusion (44) and the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) and the second portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) have rotational symmetry about the axis (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 14, Aoyama discloses:
wherein the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the seat (43, 44) and the first portion (see annotated figure above) of the surface of the gasket (51, 52) and the second portion of the surface of the seat (43, 44) and the second portion of the surface of the gasket (51, 52) are substantially parallel to one another (see Figure 4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama in view of Fujita et al. (U.S. 2016/0115845).
Regarding claim 5, Aoyama discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein: the protrusion comprises an end pointing toward the gasket; the protrusion tapers toward the end at an obtuse angle; and the obtuse angle is between 105 and 150 degrees.
Fujita teaches a sealing interface wherein: a protrusion (303) comprises an end pointing toward a gasket 109 (see Figure 9); the protrusion (303) tapers toward the end at an obtuse angle (see Figure 9); and the obtuse angle is between 105 and 150 degrees (see Figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectilvey filed to have modified Aoyama to provide wherein: the protrusion comprises an end pointing toward the gasket; the protrusion tapers toward the end at an obtuse angle; and the obtuse angle is between 105 and 150 degrees, as taught by Fujita. Doing so would further attach the protrusion into the gasket.
Regarding claim 15, Aoyama discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein: a second protrusion projects from the seat surface and imbeds itself into the gasket; and the second protrusion is different from the protrusion.
Fujita teaches a sealing interface wherein: a second protrusion (32) projects from a seat surface and imbeds itself into a gasket 9 (see paragraph 0051; see Figures 3 and 4); and the second protrusion (32) is different from a protrusion 31 (see Figures 3 and 4; see paragraph 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Aoyama to provide wherein: a second protrusion projects from the seat surface and imbeds itself into the gasket; and the second protrusion is different from the protrusion, as taught by Fujita. Doing so would provide further adhesion between the gasket and valve seat.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 116906656 discloses a valve comprising: an adaptor; a first port; a second port; a fluid path extending between the first port and the second port; a plunger situated in the fluid path between the first port and the second port, the plunger selectively and linearly movable between a closed position blocking the fluid path and an open position; a valve seat assembly in the fluid path, the valve seat assembly comprising: a gasket and a frame having a seat; wherein the gasket is separate from the adaptor and the seat and is interposed between the adaptor and the seat (15); wherein the adaptor has a first aperture having a first diameter and wherein the gasket has a second aperture having a second diameter; wherein the first diameter is larger than the second diameter; wherein in the open position the plunger is detached from the gasket to enable a flow of a fluid through the second aperture and along the fluid path; wherein in the closed position the plunger abuts the gasket to prevent the flow of the fluid through the second aperture and along the fluid path; wherein the seat comprises a seat surface; and wherein a protrusion projects from the seat surface, but fails to disclose the protrusion imbedded into the gasket.
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753