DETAIL ACTION
Notice on Prior Art Rejections
Status of Claims
3. This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's application filed March 3, 2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn et al, US 2024/0375749, in view of Akins et al. US 2016/0129960, hereinafter referred to as Hahn and Akins, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Hahn discloses a data interfacing system for electrically powered vehicles. comprising:
a processor; one or more electrical signal interfaces in communication with said processor, said one or more electrical signal interfaces interfaceable with a control system of an electrically powered vehicle and configured to receive from said control system vehicle data comprising at least one of vehicle battery level and vehicle operational information (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, “An interface 132 (e.g., a human machine interface (HMI)) may be mounted to the frame 102 of the bicycle 100. For example, the interface 132 may be mounted to a top tube 134 of the frame 102. The interface 132 may be coupled with the power source 130 ( e.g., a battery) of the e-bike control system 128 via a wire 136”);
one or more operational sensors for detecting motion and/or location of said electrically powered vehicle (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 85, 46, 84, “The sensor 202 is, for example, a speed sensor that is capable of updating at a higher rate than once per revolution of the wheel. The speed sensor 202 reports the speed data asynchronously to consumers of the speed data (e.g., the HMI 132) without having to change an interface to the drive unit 138”);
one or more short-range wireless communication interfaces in communication with said processor and configured to communicate with, using a short-range, low-power communications protocol (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 4, 15, 17, 18, 20, 23, 24, 40, 41, 42, 44, 50, 51, 55, 57, 61, 62, 63, 69, 75, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 85, 22, “The bicycle communication apparatus further includes a wireless communication interface in communication with the processor. The wireless communication interface is wirelessly connectable to a control device attached to a handlebar of the bicycle”):
a software-enabled human interface device (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 2, “The present disclosure is generally directed to a human machine interface (HMI) and, more particularly, to an HMI for an e-bike”); and
one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes on an existing global mesh network of locationally-aware nodes configured for communication using said short-range, low-power communications protocol, said one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes further configured to communicate location data of said electrically-powered vehicle to the software-enabled human interface device (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 62, 61, “the interface 132 may communicate with the rear derailleur 122 with a derailleur protocol, a handheld device with Bluetooth or BTLE, and a wireless fitness device with a low power protocol such as ANT or ANT+. More, fewer, and/or different wireless protocols may be used”); and
a power source that provides electrical power for continuous operation of the data interfacing system (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 47, “The wire 136 extends, for example, through part of the bottom tube 137 of the frame 102 and part of the top tube 134 of the frame to electrically connect the e-bike control system 128 (e.g., the battery 130) and the interface 132”).
Hahn fails to explicitly disclose said one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes further configured to communicate location data of said electrically-powered vehicle to the software-enabled human interface device.
However, Akins teaches said one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes further configured to communicate location data of said electrically-powered vehicle to the software-enabled human interface device (See at least fig 1-21, ¶ 36, 45, 53, 62, 71, 78, 80, 81, 85, 34, “The geopositioning receiver 106 and the antenna 110 are configured to receive signals for determining position based on, for example, triangulation using publically available signals from GPS, AGPS, GLONASS, Galileo, and/or COMPASS global navigation satellites”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hahn and include aid one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes further configured to communicate location data of said electrically-powered vehicle to the software-enabled human interface device as taught by Akins because it would enable periodic or continuous communication of bicycle location for tracking by 3rd parties such as parents, and 3rd parties can be notified if a ride has not been completed within the predefined time or if the ride extends outside of the predetermined area (Akins ¶ 50).
Regarding claim 2, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 1, wherein said one or more electrical signal interfaces comprises an electrical connector connectable to a corresponding connector of said control system (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 60, “The wired interface 154 may be any number of different wired interfaces that are configured to receive/ transmit power and may be for any number of different wired communications on the bicycle 100. For example, the wired interface 154 may be a coaxial cable interface”).
Regarding claim 3, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 2, wherein said electrical connector is in the form of a four- or five-pin connector which is connectable to a plurality of distinctly manufactured control systems (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 60, “The wired interface 154 may be any number of different wired interfaces that are configured to receive/ transmit power and may be for any number of different wired communications on the bicycle 100. For example, the wired interface 154 may be a coaxial cable interface”).
Regarding claim 4, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 1, wherein said one or more electrical signal interfaces comprises an operational input connector connectable to a corresponding operational connector of an operational input device of said electrically powered vehicle (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 22, 38, 42, 55, 56, 57, 60, 82, 24, , “The bicycle communication apparatus includes a housing attachable to a frame of the bicycle, a processor supported by the housing, and a wired communication interface in communication with the processor. The
wired communication interface is wiredly connected to the e-bike motor system.”).
Regarding claim 5, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 1, wherein said processor is configured to receive via said one or more short-range wireless communication interfaces external sensor data from an external sensor device (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 41, 42, 44, 40, 57, 61, 62, 63, 75, 50, “The interface 132 may also be in communication with multiple external wireless devices with or without the battery 130 of the e-bike control system 128 being attached”).
Regarding claim 6, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 5, wherein said processor is configured to communicate both said vehicle data and said external sensor data to said software-enabled human interface device for concurrent display (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 72, “The display 164 also displays other information that may be useful to the rider. Data for such displayed information may be received by the interface 132 wirelessly or via wired connection from any number of components of the bicycle 100”).
Regarding claim 7, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 1, wherein said software-enabled human interface device forms a centralized data hub which replaces an original display of said electrically powered vehicle (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 73, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 72, 74, “the function of each of the inputs 158 may be changed through the use of a setup tool such as a phone app, a computer program, or a series of operations on the bicycle 100 that change the interface 132
into a setup mode where button functions are defined and changed. Similarly, display options may be programmed in the same way. The user may change display settings to modify content”).
Regarding claim 8, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 1, further comprising a visual indicator connected to said processor and configured to visually indicate said vehicle battery level of said electrically powered vehicle independent of said software-enabled human interface device (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 37, 42, 67, 69, 72, 75, , 11, “The characteristics related to the e-bike motor system includes battery power, a time to complete a charge, a charge rate, a percent state of charge, power level, speed, cadence, a system warning or error message, or any combination thereof”).
Regarding claim 9, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 1, wherein said software-enabled human interface device comprises at least one of: a data communication interface, one or more sensor components, a visual display, and a touch screen data input component (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 64, “The interface 132 includes inputs 158 in the form of, for example, buttons, though other inputs 158 such as, for example, touch screen control or some other form of motion sensing through the use of sensors or cameras may be
provided”)
Regarding claim 10, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 1, wherein said continuous operation of the data interfacing system includes any one or combination of: during periods of non-use of said electrically powered vehicle; during periods when said electrically powered vehicle has a depleted battery; and/or during periods when said software-enabled human interface device is not proximate said electrically powered vehicle (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 67, “another output is displayed when the battery 130 of thee-bike 100 is charging. For example, the interface 132 may display information about a battery charge cycle such as a remaining time to complete charge, a charge rate, and/or a percent state of charge”).
Regarding claim 11, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 1, wherein said software-enabled human interface device is configured to execute one or more pre-existing software components utilizing data from at least one of: said control system, said one or more operational sensors, one or more external sensor devices, and a peripheral user input device (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 59, 73, 74, 88, 58, “The controller 150 is a single device or multiple devices operating in serial, parallel, or separately. The controller 150 is configured by instructions, design, hardware, and/or software to perform the acts discussed herein”).
Regarding claim 12, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 1, wherein rapid deceleration is detected by at least one of: said one or more operational sensors, one or more sensors forming part of said software- enabled human interface device, one or more sensors forming part of or associated with said electrically powered vehicle, and said communication with said one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes; wherein said processor is configured to communicate a crash alert upon said rapid deceleration exceeding a deceleration safety threshold; and wherein said crash alert is communicated via said one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes on said existing global mesh network to predetermined contact information (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 11, 42, “The e-bike interface is further configured to display characteristics of thee-bike system such as, for example, battery power, gear indication, power level, speed, cadence, system warnings or error messages, and/or other information.”).
Hahn fails to explicitly disclose wherein said processor is configured to communicate a crash alert upon said rapid deceleration exceeding a deceleration safety threshold.
However, Akins teaches wherein said processor is configured to communicate a crash alert upon said rapid deceleration exceeding a deceleration safety threshold (See at least fig 1-21, ¶ 6, 39, 44, 51, 54, 55, 72, 79, 81, 82, 83, 84, 33, “The disclosed technology can aid in recovery of stolen bikes and other assets and tracking of legitimate users in order to, for example, locate children or to obtain crash alerts.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hahn and include wherein said processor is configured to communicate a crash alert upon said rapid deceleration exceeding a deceleration safety threshold as taught by Akins because it would enable periodic or continuous communication of bicycle location for tracking by 3rd parties such as parents, and 3rd parties can be notified if a ride has not been completed within the predefined time or if the ride extends outside of the predetermined area (Akins ¶ 50).
Regarding claim 13, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 1, wherein to detect motion when the data interfacing system is not in communication range with said software-enabled human interface device, said motion is detected by at least one of: said one or more operational sensors, one or more sensors forming part of or associated with said electrically powered vehicle, and said communication with said one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, “An interface 132 (e.g., a human machine interface (HMI)) may be mounted to the frame 102 of the bicycle 100. For example, the interface 132 may be mounted to a top tube 134 of the frame 102. The interface 132 may be coupled with the power source 130 ( e.g., a battery) of the e-bike control system 128 via a wire 136”).
Regarding claim 14, Hahn discloses the data interfacing system of claim 13, wherein said processor is configured to communicate a theft alert upon said motion outside said communication range with said software-enabled human interface device being detected as exceeding a predetermined radial threshold; and wherein said theft alert is communicated via said one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes on said existing global mesh network to predetermined contact information (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 4, 15, 17, 18, 20, 23, 24, 40, 41, 42, 44, 50, 51, 55, 57, 61, 62, 63, 69, 75, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 85, 22, “The bicycle communication apparatus further includes a wireless communication interface in communication with the processor. The wireless communication interface is wirelessly connectable to a control device attached to a handlebar of the bicycle”).
Hahn fails to explicitly disclose a theft alert upon said motion outside said communication range.
However, Akins teaches a theft alert upon said motion outside said communication range (See at least fig 1-21, ¶ 6, 39, 44, 51, 54, 55, 72, 79, 81, 82, 83, 84, 33, “The disclosed technology can aid in recovery of stolen bikes and other assets and tracking of legitimate users in order to, for example, locate children or to obtain crash alerts.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hahn and include a theft alert upon said motion outside said communication range as taught by Akins because it would enable periodic or continuous communication of bicycle location for tracking by 3rd parties such as parents, and 3rd parties can be notified if a ride has not been completed within the predefined time or if the ride extends outside of the predetermined area (Akins ¶ 50).
Regarding claim 15, Hahn discloses a data interfacing device for an electrically powered vehicle, comprising: a processor;
one or more electrical signal interfaces in communication with said processor, said one or more electrical signal interfaces configured to interface with and receive from a control system of an electrically powered vehicle predefined vehicle data comprising at least one of vehicle battery level and vehicle operational information (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, “An interface 132 (e.g., a human machine interface (HMI)) may be mounted to the frame 102 of the bicycle 100. For example, the interface 132 may be mounted to a top tube 134 of the frame 102. The interface 132 may be coupled with the power source 130 ( e.g., a battery) of the e-bike control system 128 via a wire 136”);
one or more operational sensors for detecting any one or both of motion and location of the electrically powered vehicle (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 85, 46, 84, “The sensor 202 is, for example, a speed sensor that is capable of updating at a higher rate than once per revolution of the wheel. The speed sensor 202 reports the speed data asynchronously to consumers of the speed data (e.g., the HMI 132) without having to change an interface to the drive unit 138”);
a short-range wireless communication interface configured to communicate with, using a short-range, low-power communications protocol, a software-enabled human interface device to provide said predefined vehicle data thereto (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 4, 15, 17, 18, 20, 23, 24, 40, 41, 42, 44, 50, 51, 55, 57, 61, 62, 63, 69, 75, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 85, 22, “The bicycle communication apparatus further includes a wireless communication interface in communication with the processor. The wireless communication interface is wirelessly connectable to a control device attached to a handlebar of the bicycle”): and
a power source that provides electrical power for continuous operation of the data interfacing device during predefined periods (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 47, “The wire 136 extends, for example, through part of the bottom tube 137 of the frame 102 and part of the top tube 134 of the frame to electrically connect the e-bike control system 128 (e.g., the battery 130) and the interface 132”).
Hahn fails to explicitly disclose one or more operational sensors for detecting any one or both of motion and location of the electrically powered vehicle.
However, Akins teaches one or more operational sensors for detecting any one or both of motion and location of the electrically powered vehicle (See at least fig 1-21, ¶ 36, 45, 53, 62, 71, 78, 80, 81, 85, 34, “The geopositioning receiver 106 and the antenna 110 are configured to receive signals for determining position based on, for example, triangulation using publically available signals from GPS, AGPS, GLONASS, Galileo, and/or COMPASS global navigation satellites”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hahn and include one or more operational sensors for detecting any one or both of motion and location of the electrically powered vehicle as taught by Akins because it would enable periodic or continuous communication of bicycle location for tracking by 3rd parties such as parents, and 3rd parties can be notified if a ride has not been completed within the predefined time or if the ride extends outside of the predetermined area (Akins ¶ 50).
Regarding claim 16, Hahn discloses the device of claim 15, wherein said short-range wireless communications interfaces is further configured to communicate with, using the short-range, low-power communications protocol, one or more external sensor devices, such that any external sensor data is communicable to said software-enabled human interface device via said short-range, low-power communications protocol (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 41, 42, 44, 40, 57, 61, 62, 63, 75, 50, “The interface 132 may also be in communication with multiple external wireless devices with or without the battery 130 of the e-bike control system 128 being attached”).
Regarding claim 17, Hahn discloses the device of claim 15, wherein said short-range wireless communication interface is configured to communicate with, using said short-range, low-power communications protocol, one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes on an existing global mesh network of locationally- aware nodes configured for communicating on said short-range, low-power communications protocol, and further configured to communicate location data to said software-enabled human interface device (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 47, “The wire 136 extends, for example, through part of the bottom tube 137 of the frame 102 and part of the top tube 134 of the frame to electrically connect the e-bike control system 128 (e.g., the battery 130) and the interface 132”).
Hahn fails to explicitly disclose one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes on an existing global mesh network of locationally- aware nodes configured for communicating on said short-range, low-power communications protocol, and further configured to communicate location data to said software-enabled human interface device.
However, Akins teaches one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes on an existing global mesh network of locationally- aware nodes configured for communicating on said short-range, low-power communications protocol, and further configured to communicate location data to said software-enabled human interface device (See at least fig 1-21, ¶ 36, 45, 53, 62, 71, 78, 80, 81, 85, 34, “The geopositioning receiver 106 and the antenna 110 are configured to receive signals for determining position based on, for example, triangulation using publically available signals from GPS, AGPS, GLONASS, Galileo, and/or COMPASS global navigation satellites”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hahn and include one or more proximate locationally-aware nodes on an existing global mesh network of locationally- aware nodes configured for communicating on said short-range, low-power communications protocol, and further configured to communicate location data to said software-enabled human interface device as taught by Akins because it would enable periodic or continuous communication of bicycle location for tracking by 3rd parties such as parents, and 3rd parties can be notified if a ride has not been completed within the predefined time or if the ride extends outside of the predetermined area (Akins ¶ 50).
Regarding claim 18, Hahn discloses the device of claim 15, wherein said one or more electrical signal interfaces comprises: a first electrical signal interface in communication with said processor, said first electrical signal interface interfaceable with said control system of the electrically powered vehicle to receive from said control system predefined vehicle data comprising at least one of said vehicle battery level and said vehicle operational information; and a second electrical signal interface in communication with said processor, said second electrical signal interface interfaceable with a peripheral user input device of the electrically powered vehicle and configured to receive from said peripheral user input device vehicle input data comprising at least vehicle control commands; wherein said short-range, low-power communications protocol is configured to wirelessly communicate both said predefined vehicle data and said vehicle input data to said software-enabled human interface device (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, “An interface 132 (e.g., a human machine interface (HMI)) may be mounted to the frame 102 of the bicycle 100. For example, the interface 132 may be mounted to a top tube 134 of the frame 102. The interface 132 may be coupled with the power source 130 ( e.g., a battery) of the e-bike control system 128 via a wire 136”).
Regarding claim 19, Hahn discloses the device of claim 15, being retrofittable to the electrically powered vehicle such that the software-enabled human interface device in communication therewith replaces an original display of said electrically powered vehicle (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 47, “The wire 136 extends, for example, through part of the bottom tube 137 of the frame 102 and part of the top tube 134 of the frame to electrically connect the e-bike control system 128 (e.g., the battery 130) and the interface 132”).
Regarding claim 20, Hahn discloses a method of determining electrically powered vehicle fleet usage insights, comprising the steps of: fitting a data interfacing device to each electrically powered vehicle of fleet of electrically powered vehicles, wherein said data interfacing device comprises: a processor;
one or more electrical signal interfaces in communication with said processor, said one or more electrical signal interfaces configured to interface with and receive from a control system of said electrically powered vehicle predefined vehicle data comprising at least one of vehicle battery level and vehicle operational information (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, “An interface 132 (e.g., a human machine interface (HMI)) may be mounted to the frame 102 of the bicycle 100. For example, the interface 132 may be mounted to a top tube 134 of the frame 102. The interface 132 may be coupled with the power source 130 ( e.g., a battery) of the e-bike control system 128 via a wire 136”);
one or more operational sensors for detecting any one or both of motion and location of said electrically powered vehicle (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 47, 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 85, 46, 84, “The sensor 202 is, for example, a speed sensor that is capable of updating at a higher rate than once per revolution of the wheel. The speed sensor 202 reports the speed data asynchronously to consumers of the speed data (e.g., the HMI 132) without having to change an interface to the drive unit 138”);
a short-range wireless communication interface configured to communicate with, using a short-range, low-power communications protocol, a software-enabled human interface device to provide said predefined vehicle data thereto (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 4, 15, 17, 18, 20, 23, 24, 40, 41, 42, 44, 50, 51, 55, 57, 61, 62, 63, 69, 75, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 85, 22, “The bicycle communication apparatus further includes a wireless communication interface in communication with the processor. The wireless communication interface is wirelessly connectable to a control device attached to a handlebar of the bicycle”); and
a power source that provides electrical power for continuous operation of said data interfacing device during predefined periods (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 49, 50, 51, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 82, 84, 85, 46, 47, “The wire 136 extends, for example, through part of the bottom tube 137 of the frame 102 and part of the top tube 134 of the frame to electrically connect the e-bike control system 128 (e.g., the battery 130) and the interface 132”);
storing electrically powered vehicle usage data from software-enabled human interface devices associated with said fleet of electrically powered vehicles in a remote data storage (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 57, 59, “The memory 152 is configured to store data regarding e-bike settings, usage, or use, or identification of external paired devices. The memory 152 may also be configured to store data received from components of the bicycle 100 outside of the interface 132 (e.g., the rear derailleur 122, the e-bike control system 128, and the shifters on the handlebar 104).”); and
determining, using a digital data processor executing a set of stored computer-readable instructions, electrically powered vehicle fleet usage insights based on said electrically powered vehicle usage data stored in said remote data storage (See at least fig 1-11, ¶ 14, 15, 17, 22, 24, 38, 40, 13, “The processor is configured to control the drive motor of the e-bike motor system via the first communication interface based on the first control signal or the received second control signal”).
Hahn fails to explicitly disclose one or more operational sensors for detecting any one or both of motion and location of said electrically powered vehicle.
However, Akins teaches one or more operational sensors for detecting any one or both of motion and location of said electrically powered vehicle (See at least fig 1-21, ¶ 36, 45, 53, 62, 71, 78, 80, 81, 85, 41, 42, 34, “The geopositioning receiver 106 and the antenna 110 are configured to receive signals for determining position based on, for example, triangulation using publically available signals from GPS, AGPS, GLONASS, Galileo, and/or COMPASS global navigation satellites”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hahn and include one or more operational sensors for detecting any one or both of motion and location of said electrically powered vehicle as taught by Akins because it would enable periodic or continuous communication of bicycle location for tracking by 3rd parties such as parents, and 3rd parties can be notified if a ride has not been completed within the predefined time or if the ride extends outside of the predetermined area (Akins ¶ 50).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO whose email is luis.martinezborrero@uspto.gov and telephone number is (571)272-4577. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, HUNTER LONSBERRY can be reached on (571)272-7298. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665