DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 have been examined and are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12284195 (hereinafter ‘195). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘195 recites every element of claim 1 of the instant application, except for the recitation of continuously detecting cloud identity misuse leveraging runtime context. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the recited invention steps to an techniques for detecting cloud identity misuse leveraging runtime context. As taught by Kilby 12659326 B1 (col 3, lines 54-56 and 63-67; col 75, lines 45-48 50-60; col 75, lines 45-48 50-60; col 11, lines 60-64; and col 11, lines 60-64), in view of Srivastava 20200336508 A1 (¶¶0004 0075-0076 0078 and 0092), each of these components are used interchangeably. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify claims 1, 10, and 11 to achieve the identical invention as recited in claims 1, 10, and 11 of the instant invention. In the same manner, it would have been obvious to modify claims 1, 10, and 11 of ‘195 to achieve the invention as recited in claims 1, 10, and 11, in which the only difference is the manner in which the invention is performed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2025, 09/16/2025 and 04/08/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilby et al, hereinafter (“Kilby”), US Patent 12659326 B1, in view of Srivastava US PG Publication 20200336508 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 11, Kilby teaches a method for detecting cloud identity misuse in a cloud computing environment, comprising:
deploying a runtime sensor on a workload in a cloud computing environment [col 3, lines 54-56 and 63-67 compute assets like physical machines in software runtime environments that include workloads. col 6, lines 34-37 agent 38-1 through 38-N installed on each compute asset 16];
receiving event data from the runtime sensor [col 75, lines 45-48 and 50-60 data processing resources 20 receive snapshot analysis data to a collection of runtime workload data 504. col 76, lines 1-15 anomaly-based detection operation on workload 502];
detecting an identifier of a runtime process in the received event data [col 11, lines 60-64 process identifier scans within proc/pid directory];
generating an activity baseline for the runtime process based at least on the received event data, wherein the runtime sensor is configured to detect a plurality of runtime process identifiers on the workload [col 8, lines 50-55 implementation 100 of configuration 10 shows activities occurring within datacenters modeled using data platform 12 to model a baseline of data center activity to detect anomalies of collected];
While Kilby teaches detecting an event in a cloud log [col 63, lines 38-40 and 50-53 SIEM processes observe and analyze attacks/activities of interest that may be log or stored for subsequent examination.]; however, Kilby fails to explicitly teach but Srivastava teaches detecting an event in a cloud log, the event including an identifier of the workload [¶0004 collected data from one or more sources such as Cloud Logs; where collected datasets produce a consistent set of labels for each event. ¶0024 circuitry configured to collect data from several security data sources; profiles are assigned labels if the profile entity is found to be interacting in an event and the event has been assigned a label; generates the profile where the logs are stored. ¶¶0076 and 0078 profile merging to create entity profile: profile ID, timestamp.];
associating the runtime process detected by the runtime sensor on the workload with the event detected in the cloud log based at least on the identifier of the workload [¶0075 system may then detect changes in sequence of operations for a profile as another signal of suspicion sequence and correlation of different types of activity/labels. ¶¶0123-0125 behavior sequencing label and profile highlighting bad (suspicious) behaviors; current ID profiles build model to predict behavior]; and
determining that the event detected in the cloud log is an anomalous event based on the generated activity baseline of the runtime process [¶0092 system need to be able to detect label severity configuration. ¶0108 11. ProfileAnomaly(risk level) – function returns profiles showing anomalous behaviour].
Kilby teaches all the features of claims 1, 10, and 11 not detecting an event in a cloud log, the event including an identifier of the workload; associating the runtime process detected by the runtime sensor on the workload with the event detected in the cloud log based at least on the identifier of the workload and determining that the event detected in the cloud log is an anomalous event based on the generated activity baseline of the runtime process. Kilby teaches an agentless disk scanning in cloud environment. Srivastava teaches a system to stitch cybersecurity, measure network cyber health, generate business and network risks, enable realtime zero trust verifications, and recommend ordered, predictive risk mitigations. Because both Kilby and Srivastava are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the sequence detection to identify one or more risks associated with each profile as taught by Srivastava to improve the risk migitation against anomalous behaviors [Srivastava, Abstract].
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the combination of Kilby and Srivastava teach claim 1 as described above.
Kilby teaches further comprising: detecting a code object utilized to deploy the workload in the cloud computing environment [col 3, lines 54-56 and 63-65 deployed container images of compute assets 16 of cloud environment 14; col 80, lines 12-19 workload 502 within Google Cloud Platform (GCP) environment 1102 include container image, workload, etc.]; inspecting the code object for a cybersecurity object, wherein the cybersecurity object indicates an identity utilized by the workload [col 80, lines43-45 and 61-67 unprivileged agentless workload 1106 generates replication dataset of workload 502 which is further analyzed for security, compliance, etc.]; associating the runtime process with the event based on an identifier of the workload and the indicated identity [col 8, lines 48-60 …an identity of a user accessing workload 502, a time associated with workload 502, one or more events associated with workload 502… ].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the combination of Kilby and Srivastava teach claim 1 as described above.
Kilby teaches further comprising: generating the activity baseline based on a plurality of events detected in the received event data [col 15, lines 50-61 received traffic connections used to establish baseline for detecting deviations].
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the combination of teach claim 3 as described above.
Kilby teaches further comprising: generating the activity baseline based only on a group of events of the plurality of events corresponding to a first event type [See col 15, lines 50-61. Examiner interprets that the generated baselines can correlate information as needed; as such analogous to generating the activity baseline based only on a group of events of the plurality of events corresponding to a first event type].
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the combination of Kilby and Srivastava teach claim 1 as described above.
Kilby teaches further comprising: generating the activity baseline based on runtime data from a plurality of workloads, each workload deployed based on a common code object [See col 3, lines 54-56 and 63-65].
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the combination of teach claim 5 as described above.
Kilby teaches wherein the common code object is a software image [See col 3, lines 54-56 and 63-65 ].
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the combination of Kilby and Srivastava teach claim 1 as described above.
While Kilby teaches detecting a plurality of processes by the runtime sensor on the workload; [col 63, lines 38-40 and 50-53 SIEM processes observe and analyze attacks/activities of interest that may be log or stored for subsequent examination. See also col 75, lines 45-48 and 50-60]; however, Kilby fails to explicitly teach but Srivastava teaches further comprising: generating a unique activity baseline for each detected process. [See ¶0075 system may then detect changes in sequence of operations for a profile as another signal of suspicion sequence and correlation of different types of activity/labels. ¶¶0123-0125 behavior sequencing label and profile highlighting bad (suspicious) behaviors; current ID profiles build model to predict behavior. Examiner interprets each activity baseline modeled will be inherently unique with behavior distinctive for the suspicious sequence of activities analyzed; as such appears to teach detecting a plurality of processes by the runtime sensor on the workload; and generating a unique activity baseline for each detected process]
Kilby teaches all the features of claims 1, 10, and 11 not urther comprising: generating a unique activity baseline for each detected process. Kilby teaches an agentless disk scanning in cloud environment. Srivastava teaches a system to stitch cybersecurity, measure network cyber health, generate business and network risks, enable realtime zero trust verifications, and recommend ordered, predictive risk mitigations. Because both Kilby and Srivastava are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the sequence detection to identify one or more risks associated with each profile as taught by Srivastava to improve the risk migitation against anomalous behaviors [Srivastava, Abstract].
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the combination of Kilby and Srivastava teach claim 1 as described above.
Kilby teaches further comprising: generating the activity baseline further based on detected events in the cloud log. [See col 15, lines 50-61 received traffic connections used to establish baseline for detecting deviations].
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilby et al, hereinafter (“Kilby”), US Patent 12659326 B1, in view of Srivastava US PG Publication 20200336508 A1, in view of Kaliya Perumal et al, hereinafter (“Kaliya”) US PG Publication 20220239683 A1.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the combination of Kilby and Srivastava teach claim 1 as described above.
However, the combination of Kilby and Srivastava fail to explicitly teach but Kaliya teaches further comprising: removing a data point from the activity baseline based on an eviction policy. [See ¶¶0097-0098 stored entries for tuples have been removed; eviction policies]
Kilby teaches all the features of claims 1, 10, and 11 not further comprising: removing a data point from the activity baseline based on an eviction policy. Kaliya teaches a security threat detection based on network flow analysis. Kilby teaches an agentless disk scanning in cloud environment. Srivastava teaches a system to stitch cybersecurity, measure network cyber health, generate business and network risks, enable realtime zero trust verifications, and recommend ordered, predictive risk mitigations. Because Kilby, Srivastava, and Kaliya are all from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the sequence detection to identify one or more risks associated with each profile as taught by Srivastava to improve the risk migitation against anomalous behaviors and further identify tuple (data) to be removed using an eviction policy [Kaliya].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Harel (12549589 B1) teaches detection engine having risk-based severity alerts.
SAKINAH WHITE-TAYLOR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2407
/Sakinah White-Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407