DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0373304, “Zhang”) in view of Leng et al. (US 2023/0247492, “Leng”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a terminal device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (FIG. 2 – UE 104 includes claimed features), cause the terminal device at least to:
receive, from a network device, before handover from a source cell to a candidate cell of a plurality of candidate cells, a set of measurement configurations ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells. ” [0020] – “The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information, wherein the measurement information comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell. The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information”. Note: measurement configuration, although in singular form, indicates cell specific information such as candidate cell identification, cell basis offset and frequency information. It is understood, since measurement configuration includes “at least one of the candidate cells”, it can include more candidate cells, or different cell identification, cell basis offset and frequency information for each cell which teaches set of measurement configurations) and execution conditions ([0018] “wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”), the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions being associated with selective activation of the plurality of candidate cells ([0206] – “The UE may also trigger the cell group activation/switch based on the pre-configured execution conditions and candidate cell group configuration”), the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions comprising respective measurement configurations and respective lists of execution conditions for the plurality of candidate cells ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells… wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”);
store the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells… wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”. [0131] – “applies/activates the stored cell configuration of the indicated/selected candidate/target cell(s)”);
perform cell changes among the plurality of candidate cells based on the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions ([0018] - “evaluating the measurements for the candidate cells to identify at least one of the candidate cells; and triggering a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (“L1/L2”) mobility from a current serving cell to the identified candidate cell that is based on evaluating whether the measurements of the identified candidate cell satisfies execution conditions and configuration of the identified candidate cell”)
{receive, from the network device, in response to at least one of an addition of ta further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions; and
update the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions for at least one of the further candidate cell to be added or the candidate cell to be released or removed based on the received update without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells}.
It should be noted Zhang discusses removing/adding/changing configurations (e.g, [0006], [0012]) but does not clearly teaches all limitations
receive, from the network device, in response to at least one of an addition of ta further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions; and
update the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions for at least one of the further candidate cell to be added or the candidate cell to be released or removed based on the received update without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells.
However, Leng teaches
receive, from the network device, in response to at least one of an addition of ta further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions; and update the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions for at least one of the further candidate cell to be added or the candidate cell to be released or removed based on the received update without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells ([0078] “Once a CPA/CPC procedure is performed successfully, the UE can retrieve the CPA/CPC configuration of the reserved PSCells and the configuration of the associated SCGs from the stored variable and perform subsequent CPA/CPC operation without re-initiation or reconfiguration. The PSCell reservation configuration can be maintained at the UE to enable successive CPC without re-initiation or reconfiguration at each time. By RRC reconfiguration messages from the serving MN, the reserved PSCell list and the associated CPA/CPC configuration as well as the configuration of the associated SCGs can also be updated via addition/modification/release”. It is understood the RRC reconfiguration messages include execution conditions and conditional measurements as disclosed in [0073]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receive, from the network device, in response to at least one of an addition of ta further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions; and update the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions for at least one of the further candidate cell to be added or the candidate cell to be released or removed based on the received update without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells, as taught by Leng in Zhang to reduce overhead and/or latency and interruption time in handover.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Leng teaches claim 1, and Zhang further teaches wherein the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions comprises a common measurement configuration ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells. ” “a measurement configuration” in singular form indicates a common measurement configuration) and respective lists of execution conditions for the plurality of candidate cells ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells. ” [0018] - “wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”)).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Leng teaches claim 1, and Zhang further teaches terminal device to: receive the update from the network device in response to at least one of addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, or replace of a candidate cell of the plurality candidate cells with a further candidate cell. ([0008] – “sending a message, to the UE, wherein the message comprises at least one of an indicator to remove all stored candidate cell configuration, or a plurality of candidate cell to be removed; wherein the UE removes the stored candidate cell configuration based on the indicator or the indicated plurality of candidate cell to be removed.”)
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Leng teaches claim 1, and Zhang further teaches the terminal device to: receive, from the network device, one or more preparation configurations for handover from a source cell to one or more target cells among the plurality of candidate cells ([0162] “FIG. 9 shows an embodiment of intra-DU mobility based on CU initiated candidate cell preparation. FIG. 9 is applicable to Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 2 from Table 5. The user equipment (UE) communicates with a basestation distributed unit (DU) and a basestation centralized unit (CU). FIG. 4 illustrated intra-DU mobility while FIG. 9 shows intra-DU mobility based on CU initiated candidate cell preparation.” [0164] – “In block 908, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE,”) wherein the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions is received from the network device outside of the one or more preparation configurations ([0072] – “The communication shows how the UE can move from the source cell to the target cell and the L1/L2 signaling that is used as part of the transition. In block 802, the network (“NW”) pre-configures one or multiple candidate/neighbor cells for inter-cell mobility via RRC signaling (e.g. a RRCReconfiguration message). The candidate cell configuration may include a plurality of candidates to act as the target cell. Further, the configuration message includes triggering conditions that are used by the UE for triggering the mobility based also on the configurations for the candidate cells”)
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches a network device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (FIG. 1 – base station 102 includes claimed features), cause the network device at least to:
generate a set of measurement configurations ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells. ” [0020] – “The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information, wherein the measurement information comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell. The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information”. Note: measurement configuration, although in singular form, indicates cell specific information such as candidate cell identification, cell basis offset and frequency information. It is understood, since measurement configuration includes “at least one of the candidate cells”, it can include more cells, or different cell identification, cell basis offset and frequency information for each cell which teaches set of measurement configurations) and execution conditions ([0018] “wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”), the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions being associated with selective activation of a plurality of candidate cells for a terminal device ([0206] – “The UE may also trigger the cell group activation/switch based on the pre-configured execution conditions and candidate cell group configuration”), the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions comprising respective measurement configurations and respective lists of execution conditions for the plurality of candidate cells ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells… wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”); and
transmit the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells … wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells… wherein the UE receives the configuration message or the command from a basestation. ” [0020] – “The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information, wherein the measurement information comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell. The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information.”)
{and transmit, in response to at least one of an addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells}.
It should be noted Zhang discusses removing/adding/changing configurations (e.g, [0006], [0012]) but does not clearly teaches all limitations
transmit, in response to at least one of an addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells.
However, Leng teaches
transmit, in response to at least one of an addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells ([0078] “Once a CPA/CPC procedure is performed successfully, the UE can retrieve the CPA/CPC configuration of the reserved PSCells and the configuration of the associated SCGs from the stored variable and perform subsequent CPA/CPC operation without re-initiation or reconfiguration. The PSCell reservation configuration can be maintained at the UE to enable successive CPC without re-initiation or reconfiguration at each time. By RRC reconfiguration messages from the serving MN, the reserved PSCell list and the associated CPA/CPC configuration as well as the configuration of the associated SCGs can also be updated via addition/modification/release”. It is understood the RRC reconfiguration messages include execution conditions and conditional measurements as disclosed in [0073]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature transmit, in response to at least one of an addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells, as taught by Leng in Zhang to reduce overhead and/or latency and interruption time in handover.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Leng teaches claim 6 but fails to teach the network device to: collect, from one or more further network devices, measurement configurations and execution conditions associated with the selective activation of respective candidate cells of the one or more further network devices; and generate the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions based on the collected measurement configurations and execution conditions.
Ozturk teaches the network device to: collect, from one or more further network devices, measurement configurations and execution conditions associated with the selective activation of respective candidate cells of the one or more further network devices; and generate the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions based on the collected measurement configurations and execution conditions ([0193] – “The secondary node modification request message may include execution conditions for target PSCells of the subset of secondary nodes 805 (e.g., the execution conditions for target PSCells of the preferred secondary nodes). In addition, the secondary node modification request message may include a measurement configuration (e.g., an updated measurement configuration, measConfig-T-PSCell1) for the PSCell of the secondary node 805-c (e.g., PSCell1).” [0194] – “At 870, the master node 805-a may transmit a second control message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE 815 that includes an indication of the execution conditions for target PSCells of the preferred secondary nodes, the updated measurement configuration, or both.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the network device to: collect, from one or more further network devices, measurement configurations and execution conditions associated with the selective activation of respective candidate cells of the one or more further network devices; and generate the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions based on the collected measurement configurations and execution conditions, as taught by Ozturk in Zhang to enhance network efficiency and reduce signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Leng teaches claim 7 but Zhang fails to teach wherein the network device comprises a master node, and the one or more other network devices comprises a secondary node or a further master node.
Leng teaches wherein the network device comprises a master node, and the one or more other network devices comprises a secondary node or a further master node (FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the network device comprises a master node, and the one or more other network devices comprises a secondary node or a further master node, as taught by Ozturk in Zhang to enhance network efficiency and reduce signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches claim 6, and further teaches wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the network device to: generate the set of measurement configurations ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells. ” [0020] – “The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information, wherein the measurement information comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell. The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information”) and execution conditions per candidate cell ([0018] “wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells.” [0020] – “The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information, wherein the measurement information comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell. The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information” ).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches claim 6, and further teaches wherein the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions comprises a common measurement configuration ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells. ” “a measurement configuration” in singular form indicates a common measurement configuration. and respective lists of execution conditions for the plurality of candidate cells ([0018] “wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells.”)
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches claim 6, and further teaches wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the network device to: transmit the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device before handover from a source cell to a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells ([0018] – “a wireless communications method includes: receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells; and performing a measurement for the at least one candidate cell that is based on the measurement configuration…. The method further includes: evaluating the measurements for the candidate cells to identify at least one of the candidate cells; and triggering a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (“L1/L2”) mobility from a current serving cell to the identified candidate cell that is based on evaluating whether the measurements of the identified candidate cell satisfies execution conditions and configuration of the identified candidate cell); {and in response to accessing a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, transmit, to the terminal device, the list of execution conditions for the candidate cell}.
Zhang does not teach in response to accessing a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, transmit, to the terminal device, the list of execution conditions for the candidate cell.
However, Leng teaches in response to accessing a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, transmit, to the terminal device, the list of execution conditions for the candidate cell ([0078] “Once a CPA/CPC procedure is performed successfully, the UE can retrieve the CPA/CPC configuration of the reserved PSCells and the configuration of the associated SCGs from the stored variable and perform subsequent CPA/CPC operation without re-initiation or reconfiguration. The PSCell reservation configuration can be maintained at the UE to enable successive CPC without re-initiation or reconfiguration at each time. By RRC reconfiguration messages from the serving MN, the reserved PSCell list and the associated CPA/CPC configuration as well as the configuration of the associated SCGs can also be updated via addition/modification/release”. It is understood the RRC reconfiguration messages include execution conditions and conditional measurements as disclosed in [0073]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature in response to accessing a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, transmit, to the terminal device, the list of execution conditions for the candidate cell, as taught by Leng in Zhang to reduce overhead and/or latency and interruption time in handover.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Leng teaches claim 1, and Zhang further teaches wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the network device to: transmit the update in response to at least one of: addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, or replace of a candidate cell of the plurality candidate cells with a further candidate cell ([0008] – “sending a message, to the UE, wherein the message comprises at least one of an indicator to remove all stored candidate cell configuration, or a plurality of candidate cell to be removed; wherein the UE removes the stored candidate cell configuration based on the indicator or the indicated plurality of candidate cell to be removed.”)
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Leng teaches claim 6, and Zhang further teaches wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the network device to: transmit, to the terminal device, one or more preparation configurations for handover from a source cell to one or more target cells among the plurality of candidate cells ([0162] “FIG. 9 shows an embodiment of intra-DU mobility based on CU initiated candidate cell preparation. FIG. 9 is applicable to Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 2 from Table 5. The user equipment (UE) communicates with a basestation distributed unit (DU) and a basestation centralized unit (CU). FIG. 4 illustrated intra-DU mobility while FIG. 9 shows intra-DU mobility based on CU initiated candidate cell preparation.” [0164] – “In block 908, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE,”) wherein the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions is transmitted to the terminal device outside of the one or more preparation configurations ([0072] – “The communication shows how the UE can move from the source cell to the target cell and the L1/L2 signaling that is used as part of the transition. In block 802, the network (“NW”) pre-configures one or multiple candidate/neighbor cells for inter-cell mobility via RRC signaling (e.g. a RRCReconfiguration message). The candidate cell configuration may include a plurality of candidates to act as the target cell. Further, the configuration message includes triggering conditions that are used by the UE for triggering the mobility based also on the configurations for the candidate cells”)
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches a method ([0018]) comprising:
receiving, from a network device, before handover from a source cell to a candidate cell of a plurality of candidate cells, a set of measurement configurations ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells. ” [0020] – “The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information, wherein the measurement information comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell. The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information”. Note: measurement configuration, although in singular form, indicates cell specific information such as candidate cell identification, cell basis offset and frequency information. It is understood, since measurement configuration includes “at least one of the candidate cells”, it can include more candidate cells, or different cell identification, cell basis offset and frequency information for each cell which teaches set of measurement configurations) and execution conditions ([0018] “wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”), the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions being associated with selective activation of the plurality of candidate cells ([0206] – “The UE may also trigger the cell group activation/switch based on the pre-configured execution conditions and candidate cell group configuration”), the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions comprising respective measurement configurations and respective lists of execution conditions for the plurality of candidate cells ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells… wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”);
storing the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells… wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”. [0131] – “applies/activates the stored cell configuration of the indicated/selected candidate/target cell(s)”);
performing cell changes among the plurality of candidate cells based on the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions ([0018] - “evaluating the measurements for the candidate cells to identify at least one of the candidate cells; and triggering a Layer 1 or Layer 2 (“L1/L2”) mobility from a current serving cell to the identified candidate cell that is based on evaluating whether the measurements of the identified candidate cell satisfies execution conditions and configuration of the identified candidate cell”);
{receiving, from the network device, in response to at least one of an addition of ta further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions; and
updating the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions for at least one of the further candidate cell to be added or the candidate cell to be released or removed based on the received update without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells}.
It should be noted Zhang discusses removing/adding/changing configurations (e.g, [0006], [0012]) but does not clearly teaches all limitations
receiving, from the network device, in response to at least one of an addition of ta further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions; and
updating the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions for at least one of the further candidate cell to be added or the candidate cell to be released or removed based on the received update without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells.
However, Leng teaches
receiving, from the network device, in response to at least one of an addition of ta further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions; and updating the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions for at least one of the further candidate cell to be added or the candidate cell to be released or removed based on the received update without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells ([0078] “Once a CPA/CPC procedure is performed successfully, the UE can retrieve the CPA/CPC configuration of the reserved PSCells and the configuration of the associated SCGs from the stored variable and perform subsequent CPA/CPC operation without re-initiation or reconfiguration. The PSCell reservation configuration can be maintained at the UE to enable successive CPC without re-initiation or reconfiguration at each time. By RRC reconfiguration messages from the serving MN, the reserved PSCell list and the associated CPA/CPC configuration as well as the configuration of the associated SCGs can also be updated via addition/modification/release”. It is understood the RRC reconfiguration messages include execution conditions and conditional measurements as disclosed in [0073]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving, from the network device, in response to at least one of an addition of ta further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions; and updating the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions for at least one of the further candidate cell to be added or the candidate cell to be released or removed based on the received update without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells, as taught by Leng in Zhang to reduce overhead and/or latency and interruption time in handover.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches a method ([0018])) comprising:
generating a set of measurement configurations ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells. ” [0020] – “The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information, wherein the measurement information comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell. The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information.” Note: measurement configuration, although in singular form, indicates cell specific information such as candidate cell identification, cell basis offset and frequency information. It is understood, since measurement configuration includes “at least one of the candidate cells”, it can include more cells, or different cell identification, cell basis offset and frequency information for each cell which teaches set of measurement configurations) and execution conditions ([0018] “wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”), the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions being associated with selective activation of a plurality of candidate cells for a terminal device ([0206] – “The UE may also trigger the cell group activation/switch based on the pre-configured execution conditions and candidate cell group configuration”), the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions comprising respective measurement configurations and respective lists of execution conditions for the plurality of candidate cells ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells… wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells”); and
transmitting the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device ([0018] – “receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells … wherein the execution conditions are included in the configuration message for each of the candidate cells… wherein the UE receives the configuration message or the command from a basestation. ” [0020] – “The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information, wherein the measurement information comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification, or a cell basis offset based on the L3 measurement threshold for the candidate cell. The L3 measurement configuration comprises a list of measurement information that comprises at least one of a candidate cell identification a list of frequency information, or a list of measurement object information.”)
{and transmitting, in response to at least one of an addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells}.
It should be noted Zhang discusses removing/adding/changing configurations (e.g, [0006], [0012]) but does not clearly teaches all limitations
transmitting, in response to at least one of an addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells.
However, Leng teaches
transmitting, in response to at least one of an addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells ([0078] “Once a CPA/CPC procedure is performed successfully, the UE can retrieve the CPA/CPC configuration of the reserved PSCells and the configuration of the associated SCGs from the stored variable and perform subsequent CPA/CPC operation without re-initiation or reconfiguration. The PSCell reservation configuration can be maintained at the UE to enable successive CPC without re-initiation or reconfiguration at each time. By RRC reconfiguration messages from the serving MN, the reserved PSCell list and the associated CPA/CPC configuration as well as the configuration of the associated SCGs can also be updated via addition/modification/release”. It is understood the RRC reconfiguration messages include execution conditions and conditional measurements as disclosed in [0073]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature transmitting, in response to at least one of an addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, or a release or removal of a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions to the terminal device without reconfiguration or re-initiation of measurement configurations and execution conditions of other candidate cells of the plurality of candidate cells, as taught by Leng in Zhang to reduce overhead and/or latency and interruption time in handover.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 5-11, and 14-16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642