DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application 19/068,822 filed 3/3/2025 which is a CON of application PCT/KR2022/019853 filed 12/07/2022 and claims priority to KR10-2022-0112260 filed 9/5/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Royle (US 7,137,205 B2)(hereinafter Royle).
RE Claim 1: Royle discloses a comb for companion animal, comprising:
a handle (handle 2) part;
a body part (support 23) connected to one end of the handle part (2)(Figs 1-4);
a head part (cartridge 1) disposed to be spaced apart from the body part (space between 23 and 1 as seen in Figs 1-4) and configured to be rotatable (1 rotates with respect to handle 2 and support 23); and
a connection part (linkage mechanism 3) configured to connect the body part and the head part (Figs 1-4)(also col 5, ln 40-50), wherein the head part (1) is configured to be rotatable relative to the body part (23) via the connection part (3)(col 5, ln 40-50).
RE Claim 2: Royle discloses the comb for companion animal of Claim 1,
wherein the connection part includes a first connector (4) and a second connector (5),
wherein a first end portion of the first connector (end of 4 below 22 in Figs 1-4) is connected to the body part (23) via a first body shaft (9), a second end portion of the first connector (opposite end of 4 near 12) is connected to the head part (1) via a first head shaft (12),
a first end portion of the second connector (end of 5 near 21) is connected to the body part via a second body shaft (7), and a second end portion of the second connector (end of 5 near 11) is connected to the head part (1) via a second head shaft (11), and
wherein the first connector (4) is configured to be rotatable about the first body shaft (9)(Figs 5-7) and the second connector (5) is configured to be rotatable about the second body shaft (7)(5-7).
RE Claim 3: Royle discloses the comb for companion animal of Claim 2,
wherein a distance between the first body shaft (9) and the second body shaft (7) is different from a distance between the first head shaft (12) and the second head shaft (11) (a distance between 9 and 7 is different than a distance between 11 and 12)(Please note, as currently drafted, “a distance” is required. The claim does not require the entire distance. Also, the claim does not require specific start and end points or orientation. The claimed distance is interpreted broadly.)
RE Claim 4: Royle discloses the comb for companion animal of Claim 2,
wherein the distance between the first body shaft (9) and the second body shaft (7) is longer than the distance between the first head shaft (12) and the second head shaft (11)(a distance between 9 and 7 is different than a distance between 11 and 12)(Please note, as currently drafted, “a distance” is required. The claim does not require the entire distance. Also, the claim does not require specific start and end points or orientation. The claimed distance is interpreted broadly.)
RE Claim 5: Royle discloses the comb for companion animal of Claim 2,
wherein the head part (1) is configured to be rotatable according to a difference in forces generated when rotating the first connector and the second connector (based on pressure as someone shaves with the device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Royle as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilhelmi (US 4,970,990)(hereinafter Wilhelmi).
RE Claim 6: Royle discloses the comb for companion animal of Claim 1, as previously discussed.
Royle teaches a grooming device with blades. Many brushes, such as those designed for shearing comprise blades (instead of tines or bristles).
Where it is contemplated that Royle does not explicitly teach wherein a brush is provided on one side of the head part.
However, Wilhelmi teaches a comb for a companion animal (Fig 7)(analogous art) and further teaches wherein a brush is provided on one side of the head part (tines and blades per abstract and throughout)(see Fig 7 for attachment to a head and handle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Royle in view of Wilhelmi such that a brush is provided on one side of the head part as taught by Wilhelmi for the advantages of trimming hair during brushing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
These documents present alternative designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to the Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include various brushing and combing devices for grooming animals.
/MARIA E GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 3644